American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Studio Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB LPSTU LIST

I love this guitar! And, at the price I paid for it, man, I absolutely stole it!
By: Rob Fish from Granite Falls, WA, USA      Submitted: 6/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is probably the best guitar I've owned. I've been a Stratocaster guy for forty years, but I'm having loads of fun with this Les. The coil-splitting pots give this guitar a whole new realm of versatility. I would highly recommend this guitar with complete confidence! An excellent buy! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I got this guitar at a significantly marked down price, sight unseen, as a "scratch and dent" deal. I was prepared for the worst, but have yet to find a scratch or dent on it. The quality is as good as anything you would expect from a genuine Gibson guitar. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The action was a little close at first, but was easy to adjust. The neck is smaller that the necks on my Strats, therefore it allows me to be the "thumb cheater" I've always been. The pots are very easy to manipulate while playing, and the "coil-splitting" feature brings a whole new dimension to my playing. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone was perfect across the spectrum. I really like the option of changing the pickups between dual and single coil. In single coil mode, I've found that I can get that "liquid" sound resembling the Strat sound. It also has that heavy, straight ahead rock and roll sound made famous by so many well-known players. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint is fantastic! I got it in "Radiant Red," And for a scratch and dent item, well, I have yet to find anything wrong with the finish! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? At the price I paid, I could have had any number of guitars, but this one is a genuine Gibson. Enough said! Playability How was the action out of the box? I found the action to be a little low and close, kind of buzzy, but it was easy to adjust to my satisfaction.
Outstanding Guitar!
By: Martin Carlson from Naperville, IL USA      Submitted: 5/1/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Superior. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Superior. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Slick as a cat's a--. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? PU's are phenomonally adjustable Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Just like a '57 Chevy Bel-Air convertible. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Spot on Playability How was the action out of the box? Adjusted it for my own style and tastes.
I would expect to pay 10x the price for this quality!!!Good job Gibson,beautifully crafted
By: Alex Prater from Mcalester Oklahoma, lizord34@yahoo.com      Submitted: 11/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? wow gibson has done it again with quality!!!!!!!!!!perfect in every way from the tuners to the flawless finish and the superior white soft lined hard case!!and the wine red is to die for what a beauty!!!!!and the sound will melt you i have a line 6 spider iv 75 watt and it makes every tone on it reality!!!!!!and on my computer i have a line 6 ux1 and i can be any rock star i want with a simple click of a button or turn of a knob!! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The best quality for the price and cost less than the best les paul on the market and sounds as good!!!!!!!from rock to blues to whatever you want to play a very versitile and beautifull guitar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!who needs fancy binding and all the bells and whistles for looks!!!ITS A GIBSON a-1 quality from the tree to the final product!!!!! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? smooth,great action played like a well oiled machine no nonsense controls ,stays in perfect tune !!!!!i cant put it down it feels like it is part of me !!!! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? the tone of this guitar will make your skin crawl,the pickups are hot,from a shred to a bluesy warren haynes tone ,,,even an acoustic tone from a line 6 ux1 podfarm sounds good on this baby and the sustain will last forever!!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? flawless the best finish i have ever seen on a guitar,silky smooth and perfect in every aspect!!!!!!the wine red you can see the beautifull wood grain below i sit and stare at it like a fine picasso! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? i got 10x what i paid for in quality and workmanship it is worth the msrp that it is originally listed at on the gibson web sight!!!!! Playability How was the action out of the box? Superior i took it to a luthier for set up and he looked at me and said "what do you want me to set up its perfect in every aspect from pickup height ,intonation and action,he has never seen a guitar straight from the case from the factory this perfect !!!!!!!GOOD JOB american music supply for selling such quality!!!!it is as fine as the 50 gibson les paul studio humbucker and martin ooo1axe i bought from you guys!!!!
Better than I hoped!
By: Nate Weeks from Brattleboro,VT 05301      Submitted: 11/26/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I spent a lot of time reading up and thinking about this guitar. I had owned a Les Paul 60's tribute previously and was not impressed. Having played a Tele now for a couple of years I was ready to take the leap back into a Gibson. I was skeptical of getting another studio model but could not justify spending another 400.00 for a standard which has a prettier top and binding. I've had the guitar for about 2 weeks and am more than satisfied with everything about it. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality is good. I would expect it to be for 1400.00 The coil taps really offer a neat single coil tone that humbuckers alone couldn't offer. I think this guitar has great tone whether you coil tap or not. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar is not heavy, nor does it feel hollow! I think for me at least its the perfect balance. The neck feels great and the Granadillo fingerboard which I have never played before is super comfortable. The vol/tone knobs are tight not sloppy but easy to turn, Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I have read that a lot of people don't like the 490-498 pick ups, that they're to hot or don't produce the best tones, but I find the combo works great, again the coil tap has tons of usage here and both single and double coil option has nice clarity good snap etc. the bridge pick up the 498T is very nice especially, I've never liked to use the bridge pick up clean on any guitar and what sold me on it was how not thin it actually sounded! another thing that stood out to me was while just sitting back on the couch picking away (no amp) the notes rang out through the whole body of the guitar unlike any other I own, sustain for days! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice! I chose the vintage sunburst. Nice shine on this studio not like the cheaper matte finishes. No dust under the nitro no imperfections very nicely done. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got what I wanted for sure. I guess if you want that headstock to say Gibson you've gotta shell out a little dough. It's a bragging rights thing I guess. I have owned a Schecter Solo for several years now that have (to me) a lot of the same features. I know its not American made but its well built gorgeous finish, set neck, coil tap, rosewood board and, body and neck binding for 1/3 the price. I think Gibson could throw in some extra features for the price you pay for these things. But it is that name everyone wants on their guitar... Playability How was the action out of the box? Absolutely Perfect!
I love it! Very nice purchase. Happy customer!
By: Benjamin S Wright from Tracy, Ca, USA      Submitted: 11/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It is a fantastic playing and sounding guitar. I set the action and adjusted the neck and tunes the strings, all just minor tweaking to fit my playing style, and it feels great and the sound and the tone are amazing. I'm very happy with this guitar! Shipping was fast too. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Very high quality. I bought it from the dent and scratch and was a bit nervous about what the dent or sctratch would be but was surprised to find the guitar in excellent shape! After a week I think I found what the problem may have been. The finish on the bottom of the nech at the 12th fret is peeling just a bit. Definately nothing serious. It doesn't affect the playing of the guitar at all and since it's on the bottom of the neck it doesn't affect the look either. As far as how it works for different genres of music.....It's a Gibson Les Paul! I can play Ozzy or Willie Nelson:) Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not heavy. The heavy ones don't bother me but this one feels good. Great neck, very smooth and fast, easy controls. Again it's a Gibson. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is very good. Very clear. Very smooth. I play blues, rock and also country, strumming and picking, and the pickups work great for all. I play thru a Peavey classic 30 tube amp and they really seem to like each other. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stain was flawless as far as I can tell. Except for the above mentioned peeling at the 12th fret. But if that's what the scratch was I'll take that any day! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got what I was expecting. I paid $998 and compared to other $100 guitars this one was very good. It plays very similar to another older Les Paul that I used to have. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was pretty good just as it was. I adjusted it just a bit to lower the strings for the feel that I like. But the guitar was very playable right out of the box.
$$$$ Fantastic. Money well spent.
By: kolbe thaggard from ada,oklahoma      Submitted: 5/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. i have a 1996 wine red version,mahogany top.rosewood fretboard.covered 490r / 490t pickups. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? everything is flawless,well made you wont have issues. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? warm as you would expect from all mahogany guitar,but the 490r and 490t pickups give is that good bite it needs,dont go and put emg's in it because mahogany and that will make mud. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? flawless wine red finish nitro.
It's Les Paul. What more is there to say?
By: Gitter Guy      Submitted: 4/28/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Just buy it!
By: Erik from Washington      Submitted: 1/9/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Um, It's a Gibson Les Paul so yeah. General Your general opinion of this product. Great tone, heard people complaining about newer models(I have 2012 Alpine White, Gold) lacking tone but trust me its there. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Whatever you want. So easy to go from slightly distorted dirty blues to full death metal, separate tone and volume knobs for each pickup is so nice. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not a single fingerprint! Cleanest instrument I've ever handled. If only I could keep it that way.
Loading....