American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Traditional Plus Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB LPTDP LIST

Nice guitar but.......
By: Paul Nedden from West Bend, WI, USA      Submitted: 3/26/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Everything exceeded my expectations except had sporadic shorting in pick-ups, 2 months old. In for repair at "local" Gibson service center. They have waited over 24 hrs for response from Gibson. Not happy! General Your general opinion of this product. very mixed Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can make them do what you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nothing like the picture. Ordered Red wine and got something closer to a transparent brown stain.
Great quality, beautiful guitar.
By: William Triplett from Ironton, Ohio USA      Submitted: 3/6/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It will outlast me General Your general opinion of this product. It is everything I have imagined for years Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great sound. Can sit and play without an amp it resonates so well. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Had to put the guitar under a light to find a blemish. Already buffed it out. Everyone that has seen it are amazed by the wine red finish. Just one beautiful guitar.
Chicago Blue Les Paul Traditional
By: Bryan Geer TopGunHighFive from Johsonburg, PA, Elk      Submitted: 12/9/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made is USA. Enough Said. I would not depend on any other maker and level of quality. General Your general opinion of this product. Amazing product. Amazing order. Shipping Fast. Truely a professional guitar players guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the above... anything needed, this guitar combined with even a just-decent amp will warrant more than any musician needs. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? PERFECT.
Les Paul-errific!
By: Mark Jaeger from Lafayette, Indiana, USA      Submitted: 11/8/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Outstanding quality. Best guitar I've ever owned hands-down. I haven't yet gigged with this item, but I fully expect it to be very dependable. General Your general opinion of this product. Again, an outstanding guitar in every respect. I've owned several Gibsons, but, until now, never a Les Paul. Now I see what all the fuss is about! :) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very nice sound through my Marshall JCM900 head. The Classic '57's sound very good although I might swap out one or both for something else down the road. I do think I'll need to switch out the current pots as the sound goes "fuzzy" when I turn down to lower volume. Clarity at low volume is important for what I do. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I purchased my Les Paul in wine red finish. Very classy and attractive color, especially contrasting with the gold speek knobs. Wine red makes my Paul look "like it's going 50 miles an hour standing still." The finish itself from all appearances is perfect. I've heard the Gibson has some quality control problems in this area, but I'm very satisfied with my guitar.
the best guitar i have ever brought........
By: joe robison from chicago,il usa      Submitted: 7/29/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? got it out of the box and its was tune to play the show General Your general opinion of this product. i always wanted a gibson this one the the bomb, because i cant get a 59 Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone is great the 57 style pickups are hot. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? its like a 59 or 60 model
Incredible guitar!
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 6/22/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Absolutely! No doubt about it. This guitar will last a lifetime and then you can pass it down to your heirs and then their and the ones that follow for generations. General Your general opinion of this product. I played all of the Les Paul models and even own the Studio Satin. This one plays incredibly well. Sustain is great and you can use it for any style of music you want to play. The extra wide neck (it's really just a bit wider) is more comfortable to play and allows your fingers to move without cramping up. Neck is pretty quick and every note comes to life. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups have a full range of tones from mellow to snappy and crisp. I don't think there is a style of music you can't play with this guitar. The jazz tones are to die for and the high tones have a wide spectrum to choose from. You have to play with it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Incredibly beautiful. I got the Chicago Blue for a change instead of Sunburst or White etc and it is absolutely stunning. The pictures don't do it justice. The case it comes in is pure white inside and when the guitar is in the case it is a sight to behold.
Better than I expected.
By: Adam from Funroe, Georgia, US of A      Submitted: 3/27/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is my 4th Gibson Les Paul, and I think it's made better than any of my previous 3, two of which I paid more money for. General Your general opinion of this product. I'll be honest, I own 3 Les Pauls, and this one is by far the best quality from the factory I've ever gotten. Ever. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Through a Marshall JVM410h with a custom cabinet with vintage EV's, it's evil. The sound is like a creamy metal, it's wonderful. Neck 57 is coming in a little bright, but the bridge 57 is viscious. Can't wait to throw this through my Soldano head and see what comes out. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great finish. I chose Honeyburst and it is gorgeous. It's not overly flamed with these Chevrons and cornea impaling bursts. It's just enough in the light, just enough to be perfect. The guitar does not have one single flaw on it anywhere. Best I've seen.
Reunited with an old friend
By: Scott from Aliso Viejo CA      Submitted: 12/1/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Having had a LP before they are absolutely dependable General Your general opinion of this product. My new Les Paul arrived today. After I opened it, I spent a few moments looking it over and admiring the amazing craftsmanship that went into this guitar. Next I plugged it into my rig (Fender twin/Mesa Boogie triple rectifier) and entered the zone all guitar player know....completely lost in the sweet tones I was hearing. At one moment I drifted back to the early eighties to the Les Paul Deluxe that I used to have. The shape of the neck, the ease/feel of moving all over the fretboard, and the '57 pickups are the icing on the cake! I have always regretted letting my other Paul go, but I am so happy with this purchase Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The 57's are a great pickup. This guitar just has its own personality and I know now after playing it for the last 4 hrs that it will perform all of the tonal characteristics of the music I play Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish has the same quality as the craftmanship of the guitar...really love the woodgrain coming through the cherry sunburst
Gibson Les Paul Lover Forever
By: Tony from Batesville Arkansas      Submitted: 10/18/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Quality is is perfect the finished maple top the over all beauty of the guitar and sound Gibson has the best quality General Your general opinion of this product. The Les Paul tradtional is just an amazing guitar from the time you open the case just to stare at the beauty and craftmanship Gibson has put into these guitars this is the second Gibson guitar I purchase from AMS I could write sevearal pages about how good and friendly they are to buy from. If you have questions about there products they will get them answered for you they are just awesome. Thanks AMS Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the pickups can deliver just about any tone you desire From bright and snappy to mellow and Hot I encourage anyone that can go try A Gibson Les Paul Traditional somewhere to do so because you will fall in love with the sound,finish,quality and just over all beauty of this guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish on the Les Paul is just so hypnotic you just want to stare at the beauty of the guitar again Gibsons craftmanship cant be beat
Gibson!
By: Russ from Mogadore, Ohio      Submitted: 9/28/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? My guitar is well made. I took it to my pro setup guy. He aid the neck is almost perfect. We discussed the bugger in the binding. Minor and on the bottom edge of the guitar. He said that was the only thing he could find. Because of the neck being so good we decided it was a keeper. General Your general opinion of this product. I finally got my first real Gibson Les Paul! The sound is fantastic. I love the 50's neck and other than a bugger in the binding I love this guitar! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is true Les Paul. The 57 can be nice and clean or growl at you too! I played all versions and for me the 57's are the right pickups for me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is great except for the already mentioned bugger in the binding!
What a Great Guitar...
By: Daniel from Cottleville, Missouir      Submitted: 6/14/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Except for the finish problem I mentioned before was the first and only time I had a problem with a Gibsson Product. General Your general opinion of this product. This Les Paul is an outstanding playing Guitar. The action right out of the box was perfect. The first time with all the guitars I bought I can say that. The finish is perfect not a blemish anywhere. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's a Les Paul, sound delivered! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is the second Traditional I received from American Musical. The first came in a sealed box from Gibson ans it had a flaw in the finish just above the Neck Pickup. Looked like a bug crawled across the finish when wet. Had to come from the factory this way. I contacted American Musical and also the Gibson Factory Repair. Gibson was going to take it back and repair. American Musical also said send it back for an exchange. I sent it back to American Musical but the Honey Burst was backordered. It took 8 days to wait and my new one was on the way!! Came in perfect condition. Very happy with the treatment from American Musical Customer Service. Top Notch could not be better.
Everything a Paul should be and a little too much more!
By: Don from Concord, NH USA      Submitted: 6/9/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? People love to complain about Gibson. I've bought three new Gibby's in the last year and the quality has been outstanding. General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar. Fantastic quality, sound, playability and looks to die for. My only complaint is that it weighs a TON. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Smooth as silk with as much bite as you need. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Stunning. It was worth the extra $$ to get the "Plus" version. Mine is the Desert Sunburst. It is really just a tobacco sunburst with awesome tiger stripes.
Loading....