American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Gibson Limited Edition SG Standard 24 Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB SG24M EBCH1 LIST

Super versatile shredder
By: LSinclair from North Hollywood, CA      Submitted: 12/20/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Solid construction. It's a Gibson. General Your general opinion of this product. For the price, it in AMAZING deal! 24 frets, Grovers, upgraded bridge, and tons of mojo. With new pickups, a setup and some cleaning, it will be a STEAL and my number one guitar for sure. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Not a fan of the pickups, but I was planning on swapping them out anyways. The Iommi is dark and the Firebird has average tone. And yes, it's a FIREBIRD, not a mini-humbucker, it even says so on the Gibson factory sticker on the top of the box. FYI, I'm going with a WCR Cherrybucker in the bridge and a Curtis Novak Firebird in the neck. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent finish. Solid black paint and at an angle you can just make out indentations of the wood grain, which tells you how thin the nitro coat is, which is great because it allows the wood to resonate better. The black is badass. Whoever handled this the first time around left sticky residue all over it. Nothing a cleaning can't get rid of.
One Great Guitar
By: MMarcuzzi from Ona WV      Submitted: 6/29/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Rock solid construction. Beautiful finish. Great sounding pickups. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Tony Iommi pickup is one of the best that Gibson makes. It provides a wide range of tones sutible for just about every style. But crack up the distortion and it's War Pigs time. The Firebird pickup in the front is slightly brighter so it sounds great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is perfect. It might have been nice to be able to select from a few outhers. It's a good thing I really like black.
An Iommi Special it's not
By: Mic from New Rochelle, New York, USA      Submitted: 6/9/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Under the batwing pickguard is a 50th aniversary SG standard waiting to come out. This is the same guitar they just put the batwing pickguard over it. The Iommi bridge pickup is not real, I order one returned it and got another same thing. The bridge pickup is not an Iommi, has the cover but not the extra magnet under the pickup. Maybe they fixed them by now. The out put of the bridge PU was weaker than the neck and the Iommi is the hottest Gibson PU so I took her apart and the bridge PU was not an Iommi ! Love the bridge posts on this wish I can find them for my other SG's General Your general opinion of this product. Except for the fake Iommi it's a 10 Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright, not a burner like i expected the fake Iommi is weak Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was great.
tuned or not tuned
By: jay mccarty from 9820 west mountville rd., anonmyous71090      Submitted: 3/13/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i think its made very well although i must say there may be a problem with the 24 fret neck on the body seems to be a keep in tune problem still ongoing and being broke in hope to see soon. if the results change? General Your general opinion of this product. i dont know whats up it wont stay in tune after a song or two its getting broke in still i know but seems not wanting to stay in tune will see. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? chunky and dark with sustain would describe the pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? awesome paint high quality
Gibson SG 24
By: Michael Connell from El Paso, TX      Submitted: 3/10/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm making another review as the last one was horrible. It turned out I had a manufacturer's dud. Once American Musical exchanged it I got a great guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Tony Iommi pickups were really good. I was very surprised. The rhythm half humbucker is really strong. I was going to swap them out but no longer going to. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I gave it a 3 because it shows dust and finger prints really easy. Looks great but is hard to keep clean.
Gibson SG Standard
By: Michael Connell from El Paso, TX, anonmyous71095      Submitted: 3/1/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks made pretty good. No problem on the frets or the guitar as a whole. General Your general opinion of this product. I think it's a good Guitar and a great bang for your buck. Being the first Gibson I bought I was dissapointed that the setup and quality check was horrible yet there was a quality card in there and everything checked when obviously none of it had been done. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Both. Can get really nice cleans. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Ok not great. Can't keep finger prints off of it. Hate the color but needed a 24 fretter. AMS needs more of a selection
Love this guitar!
By: Phread Cichowski from Bridgewater, NJ, USA      Submitted: 2/5/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Guitar is well made, and even though mine was a blem, the finish is perfect, materials seem fine, and everything seems to work perfectly. I'm glad that Gibson is finally putting Grovers on their regular production guitars. General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar brings together so many good features, it's refreshing to see that someone actually designed a guitar that plays so well, is so practical, and is so well made! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tonal range of this guitar is what impressed me the most. The Iommi pickup in the lead position has the gain and clarity that is unique to this pickup and is why I've put them in a few other guitars of mine. The mini-humbucker was the real surprise! I had planned on replacing this when I got it, but it is a great sounding neck pickup with a great tone that's not too dark, and it puts out a respectable amount of signal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint job looked great even though it was supposed to be a blem. If there are any real flaws in the paint, I have yet to find them!
Modern SG for the next 50 years
By: MMX SS3 from Maryland      Submitted: 11/9/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Gibson. General Your general opinion of this product. Upgraded 50th anniversary Standard 24. It's a monster! The Iommi bridge and Firebird neck are a perfect combination and produce a rich range of tone. Depending on which paragraph you read on the Gibson website for this guitar, the neck pickup is either an Alnico 2 or 5. I suspect it's an alnico 2, which would make it the bridge pickup in the Firebird X. Either way it's the right neck pickup for this guitar. Plek cut nut. (I wish Gibson would Plek the frets too, like G&L does now) Grover tuners. Deep beveled horns, extra pointy!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Wide range of tones with this amazing pickup combination! Iommi + Firebird = \m/ Finish How did the stain or paint job look? "It's like, how much more black can this be? and the answer is none. None more black."
An Iommi Special
By: Mic from New Rochelle, NY, USA      Submitted: 10/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar is very well made did fine anything wrong in the craftsmanship. The setup out of the box was not right, but they are almost never are, to many changes in the climate and seasons, not a biggy, you have have to setup any guitar to your persomal tastes. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall a great example of what an SG can be. This is a 50th Anv Sg 24 with a full face pickguard and Hot pickups. A great factory Mod. The Pennical bridge post are great I wish they all had these makes adjustments so muck easier. Love the looks of this SG. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and Snappy bridge to a Dark and smooth Neck. The Iommi is not as hot as I wood have thought. I have a SG standard with a 498T that is hotter (this is not the avg 498T) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The black/ebony is dark and shinny, nothing wrong with it.
Loading....