American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Gibson SG Original Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB SGOR LIST

Much Better Than Expected
By: Lrak from OC, CA, US      Submitted: 1/10/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great guitar, caught me off guard. Bought it as I've always wanted on and whne it went on sale, I couldn't refuse. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Very well made. First guitar I've purchased online vs usually having to touch and feel before I buy. Excellent quality. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is 60's style and feels great. It has a Les Paul feel but without the weight. You have to get use to the pickup placement, otherwise nothing to complain about. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone was nice but I felt the neck pickup was a little dark for my taste. I've replaced them with EJ pickups and they sound just where I want them. I didn't care for the stock bridge and replaced it with a Faber setup and now sounds solid. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No problems with paint or stain. Looked perfect when I received it. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value. It normally lists for $1900 but AMS/Gibson had a blowout sale for $1200 and I just couldn't pass it up. Playability How was the action out of the box? It is my first Gibson that played perfect right out of the case compared to my Les Paul's that I've had to perform setups on them. Big improvement on Gibson factory setups.
Perfection
By: Wes Carter from Morrison, TN USA      Submitted: 11/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It exceeded all expectations. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I own several Gibsons in various price ranges. I don't own any Custom Shop instruments, but I can't see how they could be any better than this. The finish is flawless, even all the way around the neck joint. The frets are well dressed, the neck binding shows no file marks, and the neck & headstock inlays are perfect. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It weighs 7.8 lbs. with the strap balanced on my finger it does gradually tip towards the neck, but wearing the strap it feels perfectly balanced. The thin taper neck was worrisome at first. I thought it was going to be too thin but it's about the same as my other Gibsons. It's .815 at the first fret which is thinner than I prefer but the feel of the neck is very good. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? This is THE tone I was looking for. This will be the first Gibson I've ever owned other than models with P90s that I'm totally happy with the sound. It's warm, nice mods, and nice overtones. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. See above. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Yes, with the clearance price of $1239 I feel like I stole this instrument. Playability How was the action out of the box? It's ok. It's the standard Gibson setup. I'm going to take it to Joe Glaser in Nashville for a proper setup.
By: from United States      Submitted: 11/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

"I love this thing"
By: ed from knox in, USA      Submitted: 10/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great guitar I love it! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? really good quality and I have played jazz rock country and it is a very good for all types of music. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? the neck lets you go down and back with ease. I really like how the tremolo and knobs are set up, easy to play! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? the thing is I play one type of music and I get a thick sound and it is easy to change sound, the pickups can be mellow or you can set it to peel paint. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? the price is right compared with other guitars, I have other guitars but now that I have my SG I don't play the other electric guitars I have. Playability How was the action out of the box? great
Have one without the trem
By: Rick Rivets from NYC, NY      Submitted: 8/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar but why did Gibson stop using the ABR1 bridges and start using those tone bridges. Seems they are using them on to many of their new guitars.Ruiningvintage reissues to save a few cents. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I bought mine 15 years ago. The quality of Gibson is really gone downhill. They need to fire all the young hot shots and get people that know the Gibson history. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright but also a nice bass tone. The pups are hot and mellow. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Good
I had a 1965 and this Original holds up to the Original
By: Craven Justice      Submitted: 4/30/2013

Rating


Tone


Finish




Quality




General




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Exceptional
By: hoghead1976 from oxford, ma      Submitted: 4/27/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great tone Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent finish
Had this guitar since 1971, ( fourty-two years.)
By: Seasoned Musicial from Champlin MN      Submitted: 4/8/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very light, well made with the longest, thin speed neck of any guitar. Powerful hum-bucking pickups. Add a lock nut to the VOS vibrato stick to keep it tight. I have a full pick guard. Put on very light strings and install nichol tuning knobs like Carlos Santana did. This was his guitar in the 60s and 70s. its a great guitar. Top of the line, best of the best. Mine is still like new after 42 years. General Your general opinion of this product. A very light weight famous guitar, way better than a standard Les Paul. It has a thin fast speed neck that is about six inches longer than a standard Les Paul which is a very heavy guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Powerful pickups, trebble pickup is sharp and the middle base pickup is full and mellow. I use the middle pickup for jazz and BB King style leads. On light distortion I use the treble pickup Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Heritage Cherry is an excellant color My guitar is still high gloss and bright.
lovley
By: Dalton Church from Scootsburg Indiana U.S.      Submitted: 3/12/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? my Gibson is one of the smoothest playing guitars i use it more then my Custom Fender General Your general opinion of this product. This is one of the greatest guitars i have ever had any guitar player should own one Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the tone is dark and smooth deffiantly a metal guitar the pick ups are deffiantly hot and thick Finish How did the stain or paint job look? it is amazing it may be the standard color of heratiage red but it is still the best guitar ever
Loading....