American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson SG Special '60s Tribute Electric Guitar with Gig Bag  -  GIB SGSP6 WXCH1 LIST

super guitar with a small price tag.
By: mr. ed from texas      Submitted: 12/23/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes, a no nonsense killer for a low budget. hasn't failed yet, feels good! General Your general opinion of this product. i like it, i wish they would offer it in blue! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? bright warm p90s. works good for red dirt from a hard rock player! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? ok,can see the wood grain through the satin black finish.
Very Nice
By: allen crumb      Submitted: 4/19/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It`s a Gibson, so the quality is there. General Your general opinion of this product. I received it about 2 weeks ago and have been playing it every day since. Very enjoyable guitar to play. I love P 90`s so this was an excellent purchase. The guitar is really light too. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I play through a Marshall amp so the sound is very versatile. I`m from the old school and Gibson`s and Marshalls were made for each other!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the white finish and it looks great.
Love this SG
By: gtrslide0707 from Ft Wayne IN, anonmyous60552      Submitted: 7/26/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Had guitar for a couple months now and it seems very well made. It is a gibson and american made General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar! I own some quality electric and acoustic instruments and this has become my favorite. I have a really nice eric johnson strat that is getting extremely jealous of the time i'm spending with the sg. I can get about any sound i want with this guitar thru my fender deluxe reverb RI and some good effect pedals Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can get nearly any tone you want out of this guitar and a good tube amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Love the natural finish. With the black pickupcovers this thing just looks freakin cool!
get it
By: tilla from ocala fl usa      Submitted: 6/17/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? gibson.gibson.gibson ive played so many guitars in 37 years.{THIS IS A QUALITY GUITAR} and the price is so low for this one. General Your general opinion of this product. awsome guitar had it 3 weeks and its all i want to play fast neck and light. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? the pickups are hot, mellow, thick, thin? you can get any sound you want out of it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great looks nice
Mine was worth the price
By: zimmazamm      Submitted: 6/7/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Worth the $800 for certain! General Your general opinion of this product. Gibson can be hit or miss...but the money I paid for the ONE that I got was worth it for sure. I've owned many Gibsons and several SG's through the years and this one is very cool. I got the natural and have installed a Bigsby with the Vibramate and it is just awesome looking and plays as good as the standards I've owned in the past...just doesn't have the trapezoid inlays, bound fretboard and high gloss finish (I really love the feel of a satin finish on the neck) I love these faded SG's because they make great project guitars and I don't mind beating it up a little. Overall...awesome cheap Gibson. Like I said though...mine is good...depending on the guy at the plant that day and how hungover he was may depend on what you get, but that's true(unfortunately) with much higher end Gibsons as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is one area where you're saving many dollars, so to complain about the finish would be silly.
Best Gibson SG variation of recent years
By: Mike Loce from Merrimack, NH, USA, anonmyous60555      Submitted: 5/5/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made and very dependable. Unless you hammer it into the floor like Pete Townshend did. Then it'll snap. General Your general opinion of this product. There have been tons of SG types...this one comes at a time when the American economy is bad, the guitarists making money tend to use P-90 equipped guitars...Gibson has been using it's R&D/marketing department well!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Good range of tones from rock to jazz. Experiment. If I weren't concerned about breaking a string, I'd gig without backup. I play all types of styles on guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have the natural. Very pleasant to look at and feel. Woodgrain Gibsons are my favorite.
Holy Mama!!!! I'm in Luv!!!!!
By: mike from oxford mississippi from oxford mississippi, anonmyous60554      Submitted: 5/3/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gibson USA....need I say more? General Your general opinion of this product. Was very nervous about the purchase of this guitar, however once she arrived, it was LOVE at first sight!!!!! Tremendous guitar for the value, with awesome tone and playability! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? pick ups are very responsive to different settings I have tried with my amp and blues driver pedal. LOVE the tone squeal i get high on the frets when i really dig in on some solos!!! P-90's seem to be the perfect choice for this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i personally like the "Worn" look......i have the Natural SG and it is simply a beautiful guitar. Fantastic wood grain striations, including back of neck and guitar!
First Gibson
By: John P from Chicago      Submitted: 5/1/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Overall, lieterally the best $800. I have ever spent on gear. And US made to boot. Thank you Gibson. You have a customer for life, and I have since bought a Les Paul Jr and currently looking at the 50th Anniversary SG.. couldn't be happier. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall one of the best guitars I've ever taken in.. and I've owned tons, including (New England) Parkers. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds very well if you know you have hot single coils. Somewhat noisy, but otherwise you can coax anything you want from her..with a good amp that is.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not a knick or ding. Frets finished as well as my Parker and better than the most expensive Schecter I have ever had.. I don't know what all the complaints about Gibson are for...? this thing is perfect.
Loading....