American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson SG Standard Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB SGSTD LIST

Love It!
By: Mark from Laguna, California      Submitted: 12/6/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I own several Gibsons, this is probably the best finish on any I have owned. Fit & finish on this one is also better. Tuners great, Chrome great. General Your general opinion of this product. I have been playing guitar for 42 years and never owned an SG. I just thought it wasn't me. After playing live a few times I realized it's light, plays like butter and can peal the paint of the walls. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I like that it's different from my LP's. It has it's own personality, like a midrange bark to it. The more I play the more I can hear Angus Young without really trying. It's a lot of fun when it's cranked and it also sounds sweet for clean tones. I thought the neck pickup would sound like I was playing under a blanket but it's go a nice full warm sound. It's very versatile. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's black so it's hard to screw up. A little bit cheesy on the top of the head but you can't see unless it's standing up.
Greatest guitar I have ever owned, nothing I have played compares.
By: Joe      Submitted: 11/16/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Mine is very well made, it is a 2010 model SG Standard in Ebony and everything on it is absolutely exemplary. It is one purchase that I was hesitant about but have never regretted. General Your general opinion of this product. I kind of liked the Gibson SG, to me, the Ebony is very elegant with the contrast of black and chrome with just a little bit of a mean streak. It's super light weight and weighs about the same as my Strat. The tones that you get out of this guitar make it the best all around guitar I have, you can really feel, as well as hear the attack but it's not noisy. It's very responsive and easy to get the nuances when playing. If you play harder, it's notably louder, and vice versa. Gibson has gotten a lot of bad rap in the past few years, they aren't what they used to be, etc. I can tell you, after 2+ years of owning this one, it is the best purchase I have ever made and I would do it over again. It's definitely a great guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is one of the most versatile guitars that I have ever played, it has that country sound and can go to full on metal chug, it's responsive enough for jazzy or even funk. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice finish, I was expecting and judging this by the (less expensive) shiny paint, this is a real nitro finish (smells like vanilla for many years) and therefore you can still see the wood grain in it in places. This is actually a good thing and makes a much more rich and soulful sound.
hands down the best guitar i have ever played on.
By: marinus hawk from edmonton,kentucky,usa      Submitted: 10/14/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes it is very dependable i have only had it for 4 months but i can tell this thing will last for a lifetime. General Your general opinion of this product. it is absolutely amazing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the pickups are perfection in a beautiful guitar. they are great for metal and clean jazzy sounds. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the paint job was blemish free and amazing in it's own great job gibson.
GET IT WHILE YOU CAN!
By: Kris from Morris, Illinois USA      Submitted: 9/8/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made... It's a Gibson! Just got this dent and scratch... saved some money and all it had were two little scuffs that can easily be buffed out... Beautiful guitar!!! Excellent sound... Love the heritage cherry. General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this guitar because of the price. I wanted another Gibson before I couldn't afford another Gibson. I've had 3 Les Paul's and enjoyed them, however, I don't want another one. They are way too over priced and really heavy. This SG sounds every bit as good as a Les Paul... Seriously Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? These pick-ups are my favorite Gibson pick-ups. Everyone talks about the 57's. There nice. But the 498t and 490r are my favorites. You can play anything you want on this guitar, and it sounds great. From hard heavy rock to jazz you can enjoy that haunting Gibson humbucker sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Gibson guitars are such a beautiful piece of furniture. I like to prop this SG on the sofa and walk out 10 feet or so and it has a sort of flamed or quilted look to it due to the heritage cherry and the wood grain. Love it!
Most AMAZING SOUND!
By: Kristin Rich from Texarkana, Arkansas US, kqueenbee30@hotmail.com      Submitted: 11/29/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is truly a work of art that's for sure! It is unbelievably gorgous and at times I have a hard time picking it up for fear I will scratch it and take away some of it's beauty. But truly it is a tough guitar! I have played it each time with my rings on and it's not gotten a single scratch! General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar has such a clean, polished perfectly constructed body and it is really gorgeous. Thin, light weight and an excellent choice for a female musician! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This thing sounds amazing, it has stellar tone and I would say it is bright and smooth, with mellow pickups. This review isn't going to give this guitar justice I can not tell you how impressed that I am with the overall guitar. Gorgeous, light weight, superior high quality, AMAAAAZING SOUND and ease of playing. I would say all of those make a guitar that is hard to beat! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This guitar is so shiny and gorgeously cured it is almost blinding with shine!
Gibson SG Standard Scratch/Dent
By: Donnie B. ANGUS from Cortland, NY, dbuttaccio@aol.com      Submitted: 9/29/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely well made sound instrument. General Your general opinion of this product. I could not find a single flaw on the instrument. Looks beautiful and plays great right out of the box. Superior product at a great price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This particular SG's pickups are pretty bright tone wise.
Top Quality
By: Thomas Moore from Daggett California USA      Submitted: 9/5/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright with thick tone sounds great down tuned Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful Cherry finish
SG Standard & AMS excellent service
By: Tony from Batesville Arkansas      Submitted: 6/21/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made right out of the box ready to go even down to the case not a blemish. General Your general opinion of this product. No word I could put here could desribe how satisfied Iam with my new SG Standard GIBSON and the service I have gotten from AMS Incredible Ams has all these other music store beat by miles they return calls promptly. They make ordering a guitar simple and easy and you wont beat thier price! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the tone is so good you can play blues, rock, country, just incredible guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? my Black SG u can see yourself in the finish just looks beautiful
love it
By: julie      Submitted: 6/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
A classic, and with good reason
By: Ryan C. from Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.      Submitted: 6/9/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Craftsmanship is top notch. You can tell the folks at Gibson take great pride in their work. Extremely pleased with the quality of this guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is great. There's a reason why guitar gods like Angus Young, Tony Iommi, Pete Townshend, and many many others play Gibson SG's. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The neck pickup sounds very warm and rich, the bridge pickup has a fat tone with alot of bite. Sounds great. Hard rock and metal are this guitar's forté. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The ebony finish still looks wet. Excellent, couldn't be happier.
Gibson SG standard " outstanding"
By: Ed Peters Brooklyn52 from Fayetteville North Carolina still USA      Submitted: 6/5/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? guitar is made very well, this is a fine instrument, you take care of it, it will last a lifetime General Your general opinion of this product. have several guitars, all good instruments, Gibson is definitely, a good guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the Angus sound is definitely there, but so is Mr. Claptons, this guitar can satisfy, any players musical taste Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I am a master carpenter, 40 yrs. finish was real nice, fretwork, trim, inlay work, all fine quality, anyone whob says Gibson is not worth, no offense, are those who wont spend, to get it.
Dent and Scratch? I don't think so.....
By: Onnery from Surprise, AZ USA      Submitted: 5/21/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes it is well-made. Probably better made than some of the high-end Gibson guitars. I do not expect to have any problems with it is it ages gracefully. General Your general opinion of this product. I was a bit leery of the D&S, but with a 45-day return policy figured I had nothing to lose. I and my guitar techs could not find a thing wrong with this guitar- even the case was fine! And saved $150 from full retail- great deal... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Lots of Gibson humbucker dirt, to fairly clean and smooth. With a few well-chosen effects, you can get a lot of tone out of this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is beautiful. I will never get tired of looking at the Heritage Cherry...
Best electric guitar ever when useing a slide
By: rockinjay8 from Denver,Colorado USA, Rockinjay8@gmail.com      Submitted: 5/12/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? What can i say it's a Gibson all Gibsons are top quality General Your general opinion of this product. i just love this guitar had it set up an when you finger her she just sings out Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can make this guitar sound how ever you what it to sound i love this guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i love the finish i have the cherry finish
Lite anf Fast!!!
By: Mark Wolf from Jacksonville, Florida      Submitted: 5/3/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Ten out of ten!! General Your general opinion of this product. My first SG and I was totally blown away by this guitar. I have owned Les Pauls all my life and now I found myself needing a good guitar a decent price. And I got a Great Guitar with a fast neck, never goes out of tune, and plays like a race car. Very fast neck!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Hot pickups , thick with graet sustain and distortion. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is beutiful.
Big Guitars.
By: Rocky from Harlan,Ky., wardrandolph@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/23/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The only flaw was on the handle of the case had some scruff marks.Other than this the Quality is fantastic. General Your general opinion of this product. This is The Best guitar made. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I play through an old(1986)Marshall Artist 3203 with 1965b Marshall cabinet w/4 10's.I can get all the tones I love.The SG and a Marshall were made for each other. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is Heritage Cherry and its Beautiful.Found no flaws and yes,you can smell the paint.Rosewood fretboard,head stock are flawless.
Loading....