American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Hartke LH500 Bass Guitar Amplifier Head  -  HAR LH500 PAK LIST

It Nearly Works!!
By: Andy Vernon      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love the concept of this amp, too bad it only worked for about 20 minutes. I will be returning it this week. Quality How is the quality of the product? Was it well made? I suspect most of it is high quality. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Features look like they are exactly what I was looking for. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Sounded great. Feel Are the controls logically laid out? yes. Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? awesome. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? no friggin' way.
Excellent in every way
By: Terry from Missouri, tgriley62@yahoo.com      Submitted: 2/28/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is my first bass amp head. I did a lot of research on different brands comparing prices and features. I could not be happier with this choice for the wattage it produces for the price I paid Quality How is the quality of the product? Was it well made? It seems to be a solid & well made Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Yes. The limiter is a great feature & it has a fan that is so quiet that I had to look to see if it was even on Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? I am not in a band yet & I am only using it with one 2x10 cabinet for now & it sounds great Feel Are the controls logically laid out? Yes Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? This head only has 3 tone knobs but, with just this three knobs you should be able to get any tone you would need out of it without any additional pedals Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Since this is my first amp head I can not compare it other brands but, for me it has more than enough power for the price wise
EXCELLENT BASS HEAD!!!
By: Stevo from Hemet, CA      Submitted: 7/28/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I was in the market for a powerful bass amp that sounds great and wasn't loaded up with unnecessary knobs and features. I was considering a few different heads like the Ampeg Portaflex 500, the TC Electronics BH500 and the Mark Bass Big Bang, as well as a few others. This amp stands out as far as killer sound w/o having to fiddle around all day with knobs. I was really impressed with its sound when I checked it out at GC. It's really solid and sounds better than many amps that are three times the price. It thumps and looks great in my rack! Quality How is the quality of the product? Was it well made? Very well made. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Features are very basic. I love having the "direct out" on the front because it makes it easier to record into my interface. Sounds awesome going into a direct in. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? I bought this to replace my old SWR. This LH500 sounds way better than my old amp ever did! Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? Sounds amazing with very little effort. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is a very good deal for an amp of his quality! I am very happy with my purchase!
GRUESOME TWOSOME!!!
By: DEAN from Vinton, VA USA, zaxbls@cox.net      Submitted: 5/31/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I've played guitar for 30+ years. Decided to play bass and researched and reviewed many, many rigs and decided on the LH 500 AMP and HARTKE XL 4-10 CAB. I'm absoloutely ecstatic about the tones that come out of this reasonably priced amp and cab! This is my first bass amp I've ever purchased. Any genre of music can be played with this amp setup, jazz, country, rock, metal-you name it. I play a Squier Tele w/ humbucker in neck position and Duncan-designed bridge pup, this cheap bass sounds awesome through the Hartke rig!!! Thanks, NUFF SAID, DEAN Quality How is the quality of the product? Was it well made? Designed and engineered in the USA, made in CHINA. The sound is the bottom line, arrived with a 1 year warranty plus another FREE year warranty coverage from AMS!!! Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? A very simple layout on the amp, VOLUME-BASS-MIDS-TREBLE. Turn it on, dial it in, strap in and take off people!!! Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Clear bottom, smooth mids and crisp highs. Excellent response and clarity. Feel Are the controls logically laid out? The tone controls are in perfect order. Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? There is absoloutely NO distortion from this head. Even with the 12 AX7 you'd expect a bit of growl, but none here. I use a pedal for any sort of overdrive. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The price for this amp, compared to others I tried, cannot be beaten, hands down. A rugged built piece of gear for all types of music and built for the road.
Simple...and perfect!
By: D. Johnson from Helena MT      Submitted: 12/16/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Super solid. A tank with tone! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love that this head has decent power, the features you really want (like balanced DI out), a great tone with no tweaking required, and not a bunch of crap you don't need but would have to pay for. Sound How is the tone? This thing is awesome with all the tone knobs straight up. Solid bottom end, a little bit of bite, crisp high end without being piercing. I love it! General Your general opinion of this product. Best amp I've ever had (and my wife would tell you I've bought and sold WAY too much bass gear in my time...). Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? See above: (This thing is awesome with all the tone knobs straight up. Solid bottom end, a little bit of bite, crisp high end without being piercing. I love it!)
Solid and well built!!
By: XMikeEdgeX from Lancaster, California, USA      Submitted: 6/16/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well built and sturdy metal. Weighs a bit but what the hell! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Pretty basic, volume , bass, mid, treble which is why I bought it. I do like the bright switch and find myself using it pretty often Sound How is the tone? Not the Ampeg sound I'm used to and seems to lack that punch I normally like. Not bad for rehearsal and smaller gigs. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a very dependable amp to say the least. With the basic preamp set up it is what it is. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pretty good tone as it is
Ahhh... A Fresh Breath of Simplicity
By: Josh from Greensboro, NC      Submitted: 3/16/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp is heavy. I would rather have a heavy amp than one of the new micro amps that are 4 lbs from fear of the micro amp getting blown off my cabinet when a patron to the venue I'm playing at opens the front door... Heavy, solid, seems reliable. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Breathe in the freshness of simple controls! I've always been a fan of Hartke amplifiers, but I found them cumbersome to use because of the massive 10 band EQ of the previous models. Once you dial in your sound on one of those, you're golden; its just getting there with all of the adjustments... This amp is so simple, a caveman could use it. ;-) Input jack, volume, 3-band boost-only EQ (like what old school Ampeg amps used) with killer frequency centers, limiter (if you want to use it; I prefer to have it on), DI, and on/off switch. Setup with this amp takes all of two minutes to get a good tone dialed in. Sound How is the tone? Just about any sound you could want. If you can't get a sound that you like, you could easily purchase a rackmount preamp to enhance your EQ options. I have a BBE BMAX pre that I plan on running through the effects loop of this head when I purchase it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin?
Love this amp!
By: Jim from Oklahoma, USA      Submitted: 2/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems very well made and have owned several Hartke products in the past, always dependable. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Love the simplicity of it only 4 knobs. That's really all you need to get a great sound. Sound How is the tone? Sounds great and with only bass, mids and treble it is very easy to dail in the right sound. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone sounds awesome with all set at 12 o-clock. Like the brite switch too.
Excellent equipment and powerful!
By: Dennis from Caguas, PR      Submitted: 9/1/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Built to last. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Eq just gave you infinite possibilities for different styles. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Gives you the presence, the punch and the clarity necessary for live performance
Loading....