American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Jet City JCA22H Tube Guitar Amplifier Head  -  JET JCA22H LIST

If dirt's your bag this amps got you covered! Worth ever penny and more!
By: Bob R      Submitted: 12/25/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great "bang for the buck!" Bought it on a whim and glad I did. Two dirty channels is great for my needs. That said if you dial down the crunch channel its does a decent clean too. Its dirt is where it excels though. If that's your bag its got you covered! Playing classic rock covers I can dial in a good rhythm dirt and hit the OD channel for solo's. Seems well made and definitely exceeded my expectations at this price point. Time will time how it holds up as Ive only had it a short while. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Overall its on the bright side but that's what the tone controls are for. I dial down the treble to around 3-4 and push the mid's.
Fantastic amp for the money
By: Chris from Tucson, AZ      Submitted: 9/15/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great product, very affordable. Inspiring tone. Newer effects loop works great compared to JCA50h or 100h. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Knobs and switches seem durable. Footswitch is durable steel and has a long cable. Head is much more light weight than I had imagined. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls glide smoothly. Good pots, i'm guessing. Easy access to all controls. Experienced some buzzing and noise when I first started playing, but it seems like the amp has settled in since that's not occurring anymore. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? As close as you can get to the SLO 100 sound on a budget. It's actually closer to the HR 50. Good rock sound, even slightly metal at higher gain and volume levels. Looking to tube swap the 12ax7s to get the best sound. The bias is slightly cold to allow compatibility with most EL84s, so i'll be taking it to a shop to have the bias set slightly hot. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not really a fan of the blue and black color scheme. I'll probably replace the front panel in exchange for black wire mesh or diamond plate steel. Some screws on the front panel may be difficult to remove because of the transformer positions. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't had it that long. Should last a long time, may have to replace tubes over time, but that's how tube amps work.
sounds great
By: from unkownlocation83864      Submitted: 2/10/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? made well seems solid Reliability How has it stood up over time? dont see having any problems General Your general opinion of this product. good amp for the price sounds really nice all the way threw the range
Jet City JCA22H=Amazing Deal!
By: Alex Leefson from Frankfort,ky, geoffspringer@doowop.com      Submitted: 4/26/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Just got it.. Noticed the foot switch it came with although simple seems well made and the whole amp over all has nice fit and finish. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I'm counting on using it live and I think it's goona deliver. General Your general opinion of this product. This amp is just an amazing amp nevermind the fact it's only $399.00. I own a lot of nice amps, some expensive and some are other low watt heads that would be in competion with the Jet City. The 22h is the coolest amp I own because it does it all. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Again it's not a guitar. But the amp is very responsive to picking attack and does very well when you roll your volume back. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I've notice a lot of the low wattage heads i either own or have tried soun reall dark and kinda cover up the sound of the guitar your running through then. Not so with the Jet City. If you back the treaple back you can get that darker sound without the amp being muddy. The tone controls really work well together. Again the is a very versitile amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless Action How was the action out of the box? Well I think this part is aimed at guitars. But I pulled it out of the box ran it trough a couple different cabs and it was very easy to get a great sound right off the bat.
awesome buy
By: mcdorkle from gainesville, fl, usa, anonmyous70641      Submitted: 4/10/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great so far. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Great so far. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great amp. I have the combo version which is the same as the head and the cab is closed back so it is essentially the same as the head and cab setup. The solidness of this thing is awesome. Very roadworthy. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice. Action How was the action out of the box?
JCA22H Probably Best Amp For The Money
By: Rod Venger from United States      Submitted: 3/26/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It seems to very very well built, sturdy, with a simple and well thought out design. You can replace the front baffle with grills or whatever too, if you like. This amp does what I ask it to and then some. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good though I've only had it about 10 days. In general, if something is going to break, it usually either arrives that way or breaks shortly after arrival. If it's gone 10 days without a problem, more than likely it will go another 10 years, less any issues I inflict on it, such as tubes. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall this head sounds great, works great and looking at it's innards, was well thought out in it's design ans simplicity. The cheap "China" tubes can be replaced easily enough if you are a DIYer or by a qualified technician and you'll improve the sound somewhat. Bear in mind that the "China" tubes are a low-bid item. They work though and work well but I found their quality control a bit odd. You can get some more clean out of the amp if you put an 12ATX in V3. I have clean headroom up to 6 on the crunch channel where before I only had it up to 3. The amp is plenty loud yet will play nicely quietly too. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The amp is better than I am and has more capabilities than I do. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone might be a little trebly with the "China" tubes, but nothing that can't be solves with a little bass a midrange. Lay off the Presence! It's a powerful little beasty and will add a ton of highs, not a good thing if you don't want them. I keep mine around 2. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Yuppers, the tolex and grill are all good. It's as advertised or better. Action How was the action out of the box? Rock n Roll, Baby! All the knobs, jacks and tubes work. I hooked up 2 of the JCA12S cabs to make a full stack out of it. For that setup use the 2 1x8ohm jacks.
The All Time Best Value of ALL TIME
By: Brown from Crowley, TX, anonmyous70639      Submitted: 3/21/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It seems very well made. I know several people knock it for being made in China, but seriously, you would be hard pressed to find an amp of this quality, at this price point anywhere else. Reliability How has it stood up over time? It's still new, so I don't know. I do have a JCA20H that I've had for a while and it's still going strong. In fact, when the pilot light went out on my 20H(for which the first gen JCA20H's were notorious), I emailed Jet City and immediately got a reply and a replacement sent to me at no cost EVEN THOUGH it was out of warranty. Great people and great customer service. General Your general opinion of this product. The JCA22H is an astounding amp right out of the box. In my opinion, which I respect very much, it is the best low wattage rock amp on the market. While it lacks the clean headroom of some other small amps, it more than makes up for it on the overdrive channel. Channel 1 is the same as the JCA20H (which is a mid-gain Soldano Atomic 16 circuit) and channel 2 is a revision of the world famous Soldano SLO circuit. I retubed it shortly after purchase (not that the Chinese tubes were bad at all, quite the contrary...they were just a little too fizzy on the top end). Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks very clean. The stock logo is kinda cheesy, but I ordered a metal logo from their website and it classed it up a ton. Action How was the action out of the box?
This is a tone machine
By: redlb2000 from       Submitted: 1/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? High quality just as good as my usa made amps Reliability How has it stood up over time? Very reliable this is my 2nd jet city amp and both have been very reliable. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this amp the tone's you can get are almost endless. You can anything from old school rock'country'hard rock'exc. Great quality. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? amazing tone Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? amazing tone Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Awesome Action How was the action out of the box? its an amp
Loading....