American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Laney Cub 10 Tube Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  LAN CUB10 LIST

Amazing little amp!!!
By: Lars Guitar from Canada      Submitted: 12/28/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have owned a variety of tube amps over a 40 year period. The Laney CUB10 has clarity and balls when you want it. I hooked it up to a Marshall 8412 cabinet and cranked it up. Full bodied punch and creamy overdrive with sustain that lasts forever. It accepts pedals extremely well and has enough volume to gig. It won't make your ears bleed but for 10 watts, it's pretty impressive. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality is par with the other Laney products I have experienced. I expect it to last a long time. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A. It's an amp!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is awesome!! This amp may be my go to rig, once I gig with it a while. Clean or over-driven it sounds great. Great 6V6 tube amp sound. Action How was the action out of the box? Double packed. I'm impressed how AMS packs all products that I have purchased in the past 5 years. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Well finished and solid cabinetry. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Too early to tell. Just picked it up yesterday. I expect it will outlast me....
A British Monster
By: Old rocker from Metairie Louisiana USA      Submitted: 11/21/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Outstanding quality! It is very tight and well made. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only had a few weeks but it will last as a friend of mine is a Phd. in electronics and invents vacum tubes . He took a look at the specs and loved the Laney and so do I. General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent sound and pedal friendly. It is LOUD and clean or nasty when picked hard. A perfect all tube ab amp. Get one before the price goes up. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It is a amp!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All tube, think early Page and sweet Gilmour.
Beautiful Cleans in a small package!
By: Mike from Memphis, Tn      Submitted: 3/10/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? it's light and appears to be well made. Reliability How has it stood up over time? The first one I had lasted about an hour then quit...the second one is doing fine! General Your general opinion of this product. Best bang for your buck in small amp if you're looking for clean tones. I've tried many of the small amps and this on is the best by a far. up to about 3 one the gain and the volume wide open you get beautiful cleans (I'm using a MIM Tele). After that you can continue to increase the gain and get into some nice overdrive ( I don't do any high gain stuff). Stock tubes are great, the stock speaker is passable, but plug it into a cab and it really sounds big. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone has plenty of bass, more than any of the small amps I've tried. Highs are there but subdued, easy to bring out with a brighter speaker but the stock one work fine. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Neat looking cab, well assembled. Action How was the action out of the box? You can play it stock with great results.
The BEST Tube Amp for the Money BAR NONE!!!!
By: STEVER from WESTERN NY      Submitted: 2/26/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Outstanding. Built like a TANK! Very solid construction and it feels solid and dependasble, I'm very pleased with the construction of this amp..VERY Durable! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I just got it but judging from the reviews on "you-tube" People all speak of it's reliability so it's reputation is good and AMS gives you an extra year. How can you lose? General Your general opinion of this product. For the money all I ca say is Buy This Amp!!. It i shead and shoulders over a Blackhear for less money witha GREAT tone second to only a Blues Jr but over $300 less. The best back up and second amp any person could own. I only wish it had reverb it would get a 5 Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It responds to your playing very nicely.The harder you hit your chords and notes the more Voice you give to the amp..Something you will NEVER find on a Solid State amp Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Second (IMO) only to the blues Jr and the ACC1C and perhaps to the Cub 12 but it has it's own voice and it is one excellent sounding amp. The PERFECT "second" amp Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent looking just the right size to "Grab and Go" and very solidly buily. A GREAT second amp only behind a Blues Jr or a VOX ACC1C....This is the best second amp you can buy.The clean is amazing Action How was the action out of the box? It's an amp-not a guitar
Your first or last Tube Amp
By: Yak from Oklahoma      Submitted: 1/10/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Its China but well built Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had a few days General Your general opinion of this product. For the price Amazing Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Clean and defined or driven,whatever you want Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Built well Action How was the action out of the box? Amps dont have action ,guitars do
I. friggin'. love. Laney.
By: Dil.B from Arlington, Tx, dil.bee11@gmail.com      Submitted: 12/7/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Only had it for a few weeks, but so far it's been great. It doesn't weigh much, but feels sturdy. The Tolex looks good. It's all British retro-ie looking. There's not a lot to it really. Just turn it on and play. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I'll let you know. So far, so good. General Your general opinion of this product. My friend has a laney solid state amp that I loved so I decided to order a Laney amp for myself. Went with the tubes and very glad I did. It's warm, and fuzzy (when you turn the gain up). Even my little cheapie telecaster sounded great through it. It's easy to transport, has a decent amount of volume, and I think it will be a great little recording amp. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Easy to use. Big fat knobs on the top of the amp if you need to make adjustments while playing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Warm and full of mids. The highest treble setting was still pretty mellow. The gain is really nice. I'm mostly an acoustic musician, but for the first time in awhile I have the electric urge. Has a lot to do with this amp, I think. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks really cool. I like equipment that inspires me to play and this totally does. I Just turn it on, let it warm up, then lay down on my bean bag chair and play until I pass out. Action How was the action out of the box? Oh! There was action all over the place.
Great sound - loves pedals - My new gig amp
By: John Meehan from Somerset MA USA      Submitted: 9/18/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems solid. Some good stuff starting to come out of China. Wish it was USA made, but then it would be much more expensive. Cage on the back is good for protection of the innards, but the cord now has to be coiled and wrapped in the supplied velcro strap - just an extra 10 seconds in breakdown time Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only gigged it twice in the couple weeks I've owned it so no real value in me rating this - but it's still works! General Your general opinion of this product. Fantastic sound, build solid - a real sleeper - hit the buy button, you won't be disappointed Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Great little amp
By: John from Nashville, TN USA      Submitted: 8/29/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems well built. Haven't had it for long. Reliability How has it stood up over time? The first Cub 10 I received made crackling noises, so I sent it back. No problems with the new one. Laney has a warranty, which is great. General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this as an apartment-friendly tube amp. It gets great sound out of the box. No bells and whistles. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/A Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Loading....