American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Line 6 POD HD500 HD Amp Modeling Multi-Effects Pedalboard  -  LIN PODHD500 LIST

Great effects - But not friendly user at all.
By: james from Haughton, La.      Submitted: 10/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. did what I wanted - replacing my GSP 21. There are plenty for sounds than the GSP but harder to find and adjust until you play with it a while. I found the website (not the first day) and only went through the first 700 or so - out of thousands.. Cool but come on.. Still do not like the way you have to have it hooked up to this and that to get "that sound!!" I am very picky on my sound.. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes - no problem there at all.. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? very easy to go through all settings after input and adjusted. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? has everything. Action How was the action out of the box? Not friendly user instructions at all.. Give them a very bad grade on this one - out of the box. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? chrome shined. Reliability How has it stood up over time? have had it for approx 6 months and happy with it.. Out of the thousands I have only have found about 10 "I" like.. I am an eighties lead player and like my 440 though..
Simply Amazing!
By: Larry from Tucson, AZ      Submitted: 8/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

I would be so lost without it Live
By: Brian      Submitted: 8/9/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I like that they went back to a metal case Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had three and was not a fan of the plastic case on the POD x3 Live but this one has held up well so far even when at an outdoor festival it survived (as well as a 1st generation POD) a sudden down-poor of rain before it was quickly covered and it never has missed a beat. The switches are durable and I've had no problem out of them. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? if you are used to the Line 6 floor pedal system it is virtually the same. Action How was the action out of the box? Out of the box all the banks were empty which for me was a little disappointing at first because I like to play around with the factory presets and see what they have come up with. but I quickly settled down and started programing my own towns and after about a month or so I was downloading and tweaking tones from online which is a blast. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was un marred and perfect Reliability How has it stood up over time? It has stood up with constant gigging. I have played many years and lugging around a bunch of equipment gets old. so this is my live set up everywhere I go.
The best pedalboard for budget minded musicians
By: Jim Klaproth from Pagosa Springs, CO, USA      Submitted: 7/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Simply blown away with this piece! You can download tons of patches from Line 6 or sculpt your own tones with this. It marries perfectly with one the Bogner DT series amps, so you get 30 different amps for an amazing pallet of tones, not to mention about 100 effects from the M13 series stomp boxes. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This thing is built like a tank with bent sheet metal and quality foot switches. I keep it on all the time and use the built-in sound card plugged into my laptop with headphones. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It plays quite well, either as a stand-alone unit with headphones, plugged into my DT25 combo amp, or straight out into my recording set-up (Apple Logic using a Presonus Firestudio) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tones you get out of this are really quite good, really. Some say the Ax-Fx is better, but its over $1500 for that unit. For under $500, this unit will do most of the work of the Ax-Fx. Action How was the action out of the box? Out of the box, the unit needed a software update on the Line 6 Monkey, which taak it from 16 amps to 30 amps. It was fast and easy to update. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far, so good.
I Love it!
By: Janetta from Cleveland, TN      Submitted: 6/24/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. My wife Janetta purchased this for me and I love it. Thank you dear! I bought one three or four years back, and didn't like it at all. It was of another brand. But I am very pleased with this unit. Very convincing. I'm playing it through a Classic 50 and my distortion sounds great as well as all my other effects. I've been working on my shredding, so this is also a big plus. This unit is capable of doing quite a bit. I'm looking forward to the journey. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think it's built like a tank. I see no problems. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Very practical. When you get it, install the drivers from line 6. Reboot. Plug in your USB cable and you're off. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Whatever you want! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I believe I will use this unit for many years good Lord willing.
Line 6 PodHD500
By: L Edmisson from Buffalo, Mo, USA      Submitted: 6/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

A little perseverance goes a long way
By: Todd      Submitted: 6/9/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Love this Thing!
By: BrewHaus223 from Boston, MA      Submitted: 5/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

The tone master
By: Randy from Phoenix, Arizona      Submitted: 3/24/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It appears that Line 6 has really made an outstanding product! It is very solid and seems like it will take the rigors of live situations easily. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I haven't had it long enough to judge but this pedal is very well put together. No plastic pieces on this equipment. General Your general opinion of this product. The tones I have been able to coax out of this jewel is all but magical. Forget the presets and get inside to tweek to your delight. The spot on sounds are simply amazing and I am not the most savoy of programing digital products. This unit reacts like what it is modeling. Great amps and the effects are also wonderful, very full sounding. Just a delight to play with. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It sounds like the real deal. I mean for real. Close your eyes and you will be hard pressed to pick out the modeled sound. I have had a lot of equipment in my years and this machine is simply magical. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Every thing you expect it to be and better. Can not say enough. It needs to be heard to believe! Go pass the presets and bring out your sound because it is in here. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really looks tame considering what it can do. Very user friendly after you acclimate yourself with the controls. Action How was the action out of the box? Some of the presets are ok but I just started tweeking with knobs and switches. Took a couple of hours and I was making killer sounds I had only previously heard in my head. It is that cool.
Excellent Product, Great Sound
By: Carlos Núñez from San Juan, PR, USA      Submitted: 2/28/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great constructino, very strong feel Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it for a couple of weeks so I could not have a proper impression. We'll see but for now I'm pretty happy with it. General Your general opinion of this product. It is an awesome product. It can take some time to understand editing but the computer software makes this almost intuitive. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It has a very real feeling on the tones and the simulators. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great tone, lots of choices. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great and tough
Everything you need and more!
By: D. Martens from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA      Submitted: 1/29/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks like it will stand up to some serious gigging. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only owned it for a few weeks. General Your general opinion of this product. This unit is extremely flexible with a lot of amp and effects to choose from. The computer based edit software makes auditioning and creating sounds a breeze. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Quality sound!
Tone is unbeatable
By: Kyle from Seattle, WA, USA      Submitted: 11/10/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, this is immaculate. I got a b-stock item, I expected it to have some sort of scratch or dent or something, but it was a factory sealed box and the LCD screen still had the protective covering on it, so it must have been refurbished, so for $100 off, it was TOTALLY worth it. This is great and sturdy. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it for a few days but I have no worries about any problems, it is built like a tank. General Your general opinion of this product. I love it. I was hesitant of Line 6 multi-effects pedals in the past because, to be honest, they just look a lot more confusing than the Boss pedals (I used to own a GT-10, then an ME-70, now the HD500) and after learning the layout of the system with the GREAT software, I was creating amazing sounding tones in minutes. I almost want to use just the amps because the various tones are so amazing, but I have used some choruses, delays, and my favorite effect so far is the Script Phase. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I like it, I bump the 'tap' button every now and then when I'm using the expression pedal (I primarily use this for volume control) but that's just when I'm sitting at my desk at a funny angle. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Excellent. These amp models live up to Line 6's word on the Pod HD series. I love the Twin Reverb, the Twin Reverb Vib (might be my favorite) and the AC30 but the Treadplate (great metal) sound is also amazing but isn't useful in my situation (worship pastor). I haven't gone too deep into the distortions/overdrives. I'm still learning the delays but I'm very impressed. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful. Action How was the action out of the box? Its a pedal. The expression pedal comes with an alan wrench to adjust how loose or tight it is. And you can calibrate it so its completely accurate
Pure inspiration
By: Paul from WV      Submitted: 11/9/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made well. metal casing, good switches. Should last. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good. havent had it long enough to say. General Your general opinion of this product. Really nice. the amp sims are so good, really.. and you can tweak to your liking in so many ways.. easy to spend an hour or five "tweaking" just because you can. Then the effects - and the way you can set everything in the path the way you like it, and all the available parameters for each... just endless. It's like having an infinite amount of effects and an infinite amount of cables. well, up to the allowed number (8 at a time)... but really infinite possibilites. You can even assign two or more effects to a single pedal, assign many things ot the expression pedal.. and the looper? Great fun! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Responsive. Feels and breathes like a tube amp - roll back the volume and it responds accordingly. push the top end and add compression and it swells like a tube amp. Nothing fizzy about the sound either - all very organic sounding. But.. the presets are "okay" - I'd take your favorite preset, and tweak it to YOUR liking... that is my one recommendation. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? all of the above, when and how you want it to be so. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks good.
Great sounding unit
By: Mike from Snowflake, Az USA      Submitted: 8/31/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Just got it yesterday but it appears very sturdy. Time will tell how the footswitches hold up. The rest of the unit is built like a tank though. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell. I don't see any issues with the construction. General Your general opinion of this product. This thing has some pretty amazing tones and once you plug it in to your computer it is incredibly easy to creat custom tones for what ever you play. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls on most of these things are clunky and a pain to learn and program. You truly unleash this unit's potential when you download the editor/librarian program and plug it into your USB port on your computer. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds are so amazingly close to the real amps. I was very impressed with both the Marshall Plexi and JCM800 models. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Black Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Problem with power connection!
By: Pat of SouPatchMonkey from Bensenville, IL      Submitted: 8/15/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? played thru it and love the versatility but the power jack keeps coming in and out poor connection. only used it about 10-15 times. I am an electrician and when you don't have power to your rig you have nothing! Reliability How has it stood up over time? not good Power jack connectivity is loose. I have had it a year and it has been used maybe 15 times General Your general opinion of this product. i want it back from the repair shop to see if I can really bring it out live. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tones are there everything you need once you dial it in. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? cool. Action How was the action out of the box? all the preset sounds are very interesting.
POD HD 500
By: Jason S from Imler, PA      Submitted: 5/8/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had no issues in the past and I can forsee on issues with this unit. It is built like a tank. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Once again no issues before, can't see any in the future. I have played 2 shows with it so far. General Your general opinion of this product. I have been a long time user of Line6 equipment. This is the best unit I have had so far. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? NA Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I love the tone of all the amp models. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? NA Action How was the action out of the box? NA
great sounds live and studio
By: big daddy from cape cod      Submitted: 2/25/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. great quality for the price Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? very versitile and gives you room to characterize and customize your own sound Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? ggreat tones right out of the box Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great look and built to last Action How was the action out of the box?
The tradition continues.....................
By: Joey from Mishicot, Wi USA, i_samsyn@hotmail.com      Submitted: 1/26/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Hevy duty casing will keep this unit rocking for years Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a month, but i predict a long life and fun General Your general opinion of this product. From the first of companies to set the stage for amp modeling, The tradition continues with the flagship of line 6. I still own the Axsys 212 and being able to utilize my favorite tones to the introduced tones of the pod, i was blown away.No doubt, this item will carry the line to the next level. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice paint job and easy lettering Action How was the action out of the box? Easy set up- pretty much plug and play, depending on experience and how it is used.
Very Happy
By: Neil M from Chester, VA, USA      Submitted: 12/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Being made of metal, I do not doubt its ability to be dependable. 4 stars because there is no off switch. But I just run it to a surge protector and use that as my switch. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only owned about a month. So far, so good! General Your general opinion of this product. Really well built. Although somewhat intuitive, it will take some time to learn to set up your patches. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels sturdy. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looks fine. Action How was the action out of the box?
Awesome tone
By: Mitchell Willis from Gainesville, Ga.      Submitted: 10/24/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Owned this unit about 6 months now, no issues yet. I still own a AX212 that is 12 years old, and it still works, it looks rough from road use, but of all the amps in my arsenal its the one I still go to for a gig..... Reliability How has it stood up over time? Well time will tell, so far so good..... General Your general opinion of this product. I have owned the HD500 for about 6 months now, it is a part of my live sound rig, the sounds I am able to create with it are awesome.. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very good.... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice..... Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
awsome pedal
By: dnorris from iowa, anonmyous56553      Submitted: 8/5/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very good quality metal and very solid. I owned a spider iv 150 combo prior to this and I really missed the line6 effects and looper so I bought this to incorporate with my Bugera 1960. It was a very good choice and I'm happy. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I take care of my stuff so it should last awhile. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall it has a steap learning curve. But worth the extra effort. Total switching system in one package. You can assign any effect to any switch.the amp sounds take awhile to dial in. You may need to mix some of the onboard amps and onboard pedals to get the right blend of gain to get your sound. The great thing is you can use multiple delays or multiple delays at the same time. It is so much more versitile than any other pedal on the market. Save and get the 500 for the extra flexability it has to offer.the only thing its missing is a on off switch. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Can't tell much different between the feel compared to my spider iv. But sounds great regardless. I love tube amps and solid-state amps and pedals. A good tone is a good tone. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Any tone you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great.very impressive will defenatly make others jealous when they see it and hear it. Action How was the action out of the box? Great presets out of the box.
Loading....