American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Mackie DL1608 iPad Controlled Digital Mixer  -  MAC DL1608 LIST

packs tons of functionality into an easy to use, incredibly cool little package
By: Jim W from Huntington, NY      Submitted: 6/2/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is my first mixer and I think it's amazing. Before buying this one I was tempted to keep it simple and cheap and go for an analog mixer with the bare minimum. I'm so glad I bought the DL1608 instead. The ease of use and the built in effects really make it worth every penny. I use it for a 5 piece cover band and it does everything we need. The other guys in the band are amazed at how much smaller and easier it is to set up and use than what they're worked with in the past. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems very rugged and well made. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The Master Fader app is incredibly well done. I don't think they could have made this much functionality any easier to use, and I'm a complete beginner to live sound. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Being able to walk into the crowd with an ipad and make adjustments wirelessly is amazing. I love being able to save and recall presets for channels and whole shows. Sound How is the tone? Sounds great Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only used it for 2 gigs, but so far so good.
A lot of punch in a small package.
By: Gary from Adams, NY      Submitted: 3/25/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Very impressed with it so far. Very intuitive interface through the app. I was able to set up shows, snapshots, and groups very quickly and easily. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Typical Mackie sound, which is excellent. The one thing I was disappointed with was the amount of plastic used in this mixer. It does not have the 'built like a tank' feel that Mackie mixers typically have. I would have like to seen more metal in the chassis, but to hit the price points they were able to hit, I'm sure they had to make compromises. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to setup and use. New features and functions added essentially for free with app updates is a plus. The software does have a few quirks and shortcomings, but they are things that could be fixed with a software upgrade. Mixing on the mixer is a joy, and very responsive. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Best features include the quiet preamps, and the app to control it. There are a few features missing, but many can be added with a software upgrade. A built in power supply would be much better than the power brick that is included with the mixer. Sound How is the tone? Typical excellent Mackie sound. Reliability How has it stood up over time? We will see...
By: from United States      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

dont play catch up get into the digital age
By: Brian      Submitted: 2/18/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Mackie DL1608
By: Jeff from Hilliard, OH USA      Submitted: 11/14/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great, small board. Easy set up, easily connected to wifi. The software is pretty user friendly. I was hoping the Behringer X16 would be out but there's no release date, so I went ahead with this. Mackie is a good name and tho it doesn't do as much as the X16, it's a great unit so far. Will definitely keep it and looking forward to using it in a live setting. Even at home, it's great to be able to adjust my sound without having to go back to the board every time. I will get the X16 when it comes out, mainly bc of multi track recording. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes. It's a Mackie, so it is made well. So.id construction. Only had it for a few days so can't comment on dependability, though again, it's a Mackie so I'm not worried (knock on wood) Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to use. Very intuitive software; user friendly. Easy to hookup and get running. Easy to find my way around without reading the manual in depth. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Best feature is obviously the wireless capability. Also, I love the fact that you can limit access to certain things from other iOS users that are connected. I would add the ability to do multi track recording, which is why I'll get the X16 later. Sound How is the tone? Tone is n/a. But, without EQ-ing, it sounded really good, but speakers have a lot to do with that too. Reliability How has it stood up over time? N/a only had it a few days.
Grab you iPad, it's time to sound GREAT.
By: Curtybob from Cape Girardeau, MO, USA      Submitted: 7/6/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is a very easy way to get into the realm of digital mixers. The preamps are sound very good, and can take a lot of signal before they start clipping. The built in effects are actually pretty good, and cover a lot (actually, all for most) of what you will need in a live setting. The setup is very simple, and the ability to recall show settings is a valuable addition. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Like all products these days, there is plastic parts everywhere on this thing. But, it does feel very solid. I think the chassis gets a little warmer on the bottom than I would have expected, so that might be an issue down the road if you constantly set it up in direct sunlight, on top of a carpeted or foamy surface, or just don't use any common sense whatsoever. But the gain knobs feel nice and solid, the input and send jacks all feel nice, and the recessed area for the power supply and networking cable inputs make for a very well thought out and assembled piece of equipment. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The day before the mixer arrived, I downloaded the Master Fader app to my iPad and took a look at the interface. When the mixer arrived, I had no qualms about how everything would work. Without reading the manual, we set up for our first gig with the new mixer, and in 40 minutes, I had 4 monitor mixes set up, rung out, and the mains sound set with 10 inputs... from scratch... including each input's own compression, EQ, reverb and delay. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The very intuitive interface is at the top of the list of best features. It is a good blend of classic layout and new functionality. The compression is also pretty good, considering the limited control scheme. Very easy to keep our female singers from slamming into the clip zone without sounding horribly obvious that there was some strong compression going on. Being able to save each show's settings is another huge plus. The only problem with this is that the input gain is not included in the settings that are saved. BUT, if you set up the gain the same way every time, this is not such a big issue. Still, a way to record the gain knob's position would be great (this is the biggest drawback for me). Also, some more effects would be awesome... although it is still possible to use an AUX send to feed signal into an outboard effects processor. Sound How is the tone? It sounds very clean, and has some very flexible EQ capabilities. We plugged acoustic guitars straight into the board and got a very nice tone with minimal fuss. All the vocals were crisp and clean, and the surprisingly good compression helped to punch them up to the next level. Kick drum sound was so nice. The parametric EQ really helps to emphasize the boom and the click, without having to include all the muddiness. With all the EQ options, if you can't get a good sound out of this board, it is only because the tone you are feeding into it is beyond trash. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it, and only had a few shows with it so far. But, I cannot see why it would not be reliable. No faders to get scratchy, no complex routing to the effects rack, and no more need to have a huge table for the board(this this is amazingly compact for a 16 channel board with 6 sends).
Revolutionary Addition To Live Sound
By: GASMusic      Submitted: 6/30/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Finally, An all-in-one that you can move about the room and really get a good mix!
By: Eric Turner from Phoenix, AZ      Submitted: 1/9/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I checked it out and it worked with my iPad fine and was easy to set up. Just add powered speakers and off you go. And you can link up to 8? Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Portability. But this unit needs more FX still>>> Sound How is the tone? Sound is digital,what more can I say? Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell. though I am optimistic. General Your general opinion of this product. Well thought out and designed with upgradeability in mind. I expect updates on the OS soon for enhancements....
Mackie Did very good on getting this out fast
By: Willbass from West Melbourne, Florida      Submitted: 1/1/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The product seems good for home and local venue use.. Does not look like this could take abuse of the the road and out door venues Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best features are: quick set up, no need for Snake if not desired, ease of use, portability, great quality sound, plenty of in and out hook ups, quick and clear access to controls via Ipad.. Very well thought out for us out there who are not Engineers and are musicians who cant afford engineers, wish we could afford the good ones.. Okay more effects would be good, delay and reverb and that it??!!! Really Mackie?? No internal WI FI???? what was the point of wirless if you have to go get another piece of gear( Wirless Router) Recording tracks is limmitted, and I hope Mackie will come out with software and App updates for master fader.. For sure more effects and mulity use of effects is in order, and maybe a foot switch to turn effects on and off.. More flexability with channel 17... Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Okay I have no mixing skills but I watched three pod cast at mackie.com for this product about 4 minutes each and I was able to set up and have up and running in less than 15 minutes, this is Scary considering my lack of Skills.. This is very easy to use and I know there are alot of sound people out there not to happy about this Sound How is the tone? Well its a mackie, the pre amps are awesome.. Remember this, cheap PA speakers and Amps, and cheap mic cables, and speaker cables cant be fixed by this system.. If you already did not know how to mix sound this will not help.. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Still new but no complaints yet, as I said before The housing of this unit does not seem like it will stand up to much abuse or extended out door venues.. I may be wrong time will tell.. This product seems okay for home and small club applications.. General Your general opinion of this product. Okay 1000.00 for board, 500 to 700 for decent ipad, 100 for good router, so ask your self if for just the mixer your willing to invest 1600 to 1800 dollars?? I purchased this system because the relaible, good Engineers in my area where not always avalible or would cancel gigs with us for better paying gigs because of low pay area we are in. So we decided this product is perfect for our small project.. This reduces the amount of equiptment we need and set up time and give us portability to walk around room and tune our system to the room and crowd conditions on the fly. You sill need some good ears and some good understanding of how to EQ a band and the different instruments.. There is no magic bullet for that yet??
Save your money and mix both monitors and house speakers yourself!
By: Alan from Maryland,USA      Submitted: 9/11/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very dependable!! Finally, Mackie thought to work on the front end of technology and not the back end. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The high pass filters (HPF) are the bomb!!!! Watch how loud your speakers will pump. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? So easy even a caveman could do it... LOL!!!! Sound How is the tone? The tone is simply perfect. I have officially sold my old mixer. General Your general opinion of this product. This product is going to a lot of companies out of business.
Loading....