American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
Item Reviews for: Marshall DSL40C Dual Super Lead Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  MAR DSL40C LIST

an all out marshall monster!!
By: brad schultz from denver, colorado      Submitted: 8/12/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. this is definately an amp you want to play. ive had mine for a little over a month now and cant stop fiddling with the different tones that this things makes. the difference between my les paul standard and custom shop stratocaster gives the amp even more versitility. love this thing, its my third marshall and i think ive found my go to amp, still love my fender 4x10 deville for cleans, but if you love distortion this is the amp for you.
What Reverb????
By: Disappointed Musician      Submitted: 8/5/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I love everything about this product but I've ordered two now and neither had working reverb; I have had to deal directly with Marshall and so far it has taken 2 weeks and still expect it to take another 10 days
Cloud 99
By: MrYeats from CRP TX USA      Submitted: 7/5/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I just received my 40w DSL this a.m. and cannot voluntarily take my hands off this great little package. Going from the clean to the crunch, to the ultra crunch is as easy as thinking about it. The tone controls are vintage Marshall and are super sensitive to adjustments. I can easily dial in the two sweetest tones ever for either my single coil strat or humbucker guitars. One on the clean channel, which can be ultra chimey to a nice crunchy bite tone, and channel two comes in on the noiseless footswitching and can go as saturated and ballsy as any Marshall I have ever played. Then comes the reverb which is anything from subtle to ballroom rich. Dial in the fine tune with resonance AND presence, a kind of new feature, I suppose. I have read some iffy reviews on the 70 80 Celestion speaker but I don't see a problem, but then I am not trying to blow it up either. Priced just right , I cannot imagin a more versatile little package. I have not used the bypassable FX loop.
Well worth the money"
By: Lars Guitar from Canada      Submitted: 6/16/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Marshall distinctive sound qualities that suit my playing style. I also use Fender as my clean amp. Stereo set up is phenominal.
IT'S A MARSHALL!!! THAT'S ALL YOU NEED
By: Mike M.      Submitted: 5/15/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Unbelievable Tone without exception
By: Keith Peterson      Submitted: 4/28/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I am impressed with the compact design and portability. The amp is easily understood to set up and play
Awesome Amp
By: Brad Bishop from Beaumont, TX USA      Submitted: 4/23/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

It's a Marshall.........nuff said!!
By: Ken S from Illinois      Submitted: 3/25/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Stand back! This thing rocks!!
By: TS from Morrison, CO, USA      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. What a great amp! And what a great price point! In the past I have only been able to afford the non-tube Marshall amps (i.e. AVT series, MG series, etc.). But now with this Marshall (built overseas) I can enjoy that killer Marshall (real tube) tone without the huge price tag. I know it is not a JVM or other high end Marshall, but this thing has tone for days, and it is LOUD! You can dial in just about any tone you want, and the 2 settings per channel, give you 4 distinct templates that you can customize with EQ, Presence, Resonance and reverb! Not to mention the tone shift switch! This amp is very versatile, You can get great clean tones all the way to melt your face high gain and everything in between. I read other reviews that say the reverb is a little weak. Maybe the reverb is not as prevalent as the spring reverb on the Peavey Classic 30 or the various Fender tube amps, but for me, the reverb on this amp is perfect for the type of Marshall sound that we all know and love!
It is what I thought it was - Nice Amp
By: Bobby D - Chain Reaction Band from Detroit, MI USA      Submitted: 2/13/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I like this amp! For the price it is a very good amp! I have owned several Marshalls over the years. From an original JCM 800 and JCM 900 half stack to several combos including the MG series and Valve State. My favorite of all is the Artist 4203 and this amp!
Tone...its in there!!
By: Brian      Submitted: 2/11/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What a Killer Amp
By: Jim Weasel Kingery      Submitted: 1/31/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. It is more functional than I actually imagined - beyond my total expectation for my recording and live performance needs.
MONEY WELL SPENT!!!!!
By: Andrew demory from Mechanicsville, MD      Submitted: 1/9/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Don't let the fact that this thing is only 40 watts fool you. This sucker is over 50 pounds and is more than enough. All the amp I will need. Ido however wish the clean/crunch and lead 1/lead 2 were switchable from the footswitch.
Great entry level all tube Marshall
By: John from Tamassee, SC      Submitted: 10/17/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Great amp out of the box. Except after I owned it for about a month it started making a weird sound to where sometimes I couldn't even play. That lasted about 2 weeks then seems to have gone away on it's own right before I was about to send it in for repair. now it has a new problem. sometimes when I flip the Standby switch on it does nothing and is still off. Flip the Standby off then back on and works fine. I dunno.
Great Amp - one BIG problem
By: MarKus Lee from Treasure Island Florida, markus@markusleemusic.com      Submitted: 10/9/2013

Overall Rating


General














0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Great Amp, amazing variety of tones. One problem, effects is NOT series. NO matter what you do part of the signal bleeds through and causes phases cancelations. Wish I knew how to fix this….markus@markusleemsuic.com
** Not that Great **
By: Michael      Submitted: 10/7/2013

Overall Rating


General














0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Very Nice
By: hoghead1976 from oxford, ma      Submitted: 9/27/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

I'm so happy I bought it
By: Eric from Walnut Creek, Ca. USA      Submitted: 8/29/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. It's a great amp. Simple, perfect size because it's a little larger than an average size practice amp. It's loud too if you want it to be. Best practice amp I've owned. I say practice amp because I have a jcm 200 TSL in the other room I take out to destroy people with if I need to. This DSL40c is for practicing at home but definitely can gig with it.
Perfect amp for the working musician
By: Maurice Venedicto      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Overall Rating


General














0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

All Marshall all the time!
By: Paul B from East Coast      Submitted: 7/25/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Like the title says, all Marshall all the time! Fabulous classic Marshall tone no matter where the knobs are set!
Awesome Amp and easy to dial in tones!
By: Conor from Tega Cay, SC USA      Submitted: 5/5/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

A good platform for modding as a stock amp. A tone beast once modded properly!
By: Branodn from Austin, Tx      Submitted: 5/2/2013

Overall Rating


General














0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. This amp, as it comes stock from Marshall, has some serious drawbacks in the tone department. the lead channel is extremely harsh and fizzy on both Lead1 and Lead2. The stock Celestion Seventy 80 is a "budget" speaker that adds to the high end tinniness of the tone. I understand that this is intended to be a budget entry level giggable amp but Marshall missed the mark on this one in a few areas. There are many sites out there that already have mod recommendations for this amp, with a little bit of time for a single capacitor desoldering, and money invested for a new speaker this is an awesome amp.
Marshall, there is no substitute!
By: Greg W from Terra Bella CA      Submitted: 3/26/2013

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Overall I'm a very happy player with this amp.
Pure Marshall at an Affordable Price!
By: JDye from Elizabeth City, NC      Submitted: 2/22/2013

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I have owned a lot of tube amps (Peavey, Fender, Mesa, Egnater etc...) and I can honestly say, this mid-priced Marshall has the tone and sound that I wanted right out of the box. Crank all the knobs up to 12 o'clock and boom....Marshall in your face! The dual voiced clean channel on the "clean" setting leaves a little to be desired. Nice enough tone for Marshall clean but seems a little weak. Select the "Crunch" setting on the clean channel and that's where the Marshall comes out to play.
Simply The Best
By: Rc from El Paso, TX, USA      Submitted: 2/5/2013

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Great Amp...it's a Marshall what can I say..very dependable
good luck
By: fst hand from el cajon ca.      Submitted: 1/31/2013

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. it would be nice 2 buy but checkout is a drag at ams!
CLASSIC MARSHALL SOUND WITH ALL THE NEEDED FEATURES THAT A GUITARIST WANTS
By: bigdogsguitar from west palm beach, florida      Submitted: 10/14/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. the sound of a marshall amp is like no other the clean is its own and the gain chanel is heard on everthing from hard rock to alternative to heavy metal music, easy to use and flexable for any type of music you want to play
Loading....