American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Marshall DSL40C Dual Super Lead Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  MAR DSL40C LIST

It's a Marshall.........nuff said!!
By: Ken S from Illinois      Submitted: 3/25/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Stand back! This thing rocks!!
By: TS from Morrison, CO, USA      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. What a great amp! And what a great price point! In the past I have only been able to afford the non-tube Marshall amps (i.e. AVT series, MG series, etc.). But now with this Marshall (built overseas) I can enjoy that killer Marshall (real tube) tone without the huge price tag. I know it is not a JVM or other high end Marshall, but this thing has tone for days, and it is LOUD! You can dial in just about any tone you want, and the 2 settings per channel, give you 4 distinct templates that you can customize with EQ, Presence, Resonance and reverb! Not to mention the tone shift switch! This amp is very versatile, You can get great clean tones all the way to melt your face high gain and everything in between. I read other reviews that say the reverb is a little weak. Maybe the reverb is not as prevalent as the spring reverb on the Peavey Classic 30 or the various Fender tube amps, but for me, the reverb on this amp is perfect for the type of Marshall sound that we all know and love! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp seems to be well made. It weighs about 55 pounds and seems solid. I just got this amp today, so I can't comment on dependability yet (this is actually the 2nd amp I ordered. The 1st one I ordered had to be sent back because it had a terrible static noise on all channels at all volumes. But I called AMS and talked to Jay in tech support, and only 1 week later I received my new amp in perfect working order and ready to rock, great customer service at AMS). Everything works well, and the amp looks cool too! Classic Marshall styling on a budget. I really like the EL34 power tubes, they define how I think a tube amp should sound. Everyone is different, and everyone has their own perfect sound in their head, but if you like classic rock, heavy metal, and beyond, Marshall is the amp that was made for these styles! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls are intuitive and easy to use, and provide infinite tonal possibilities to suit your needs. Footswitch is useful, but doesn't have ability to switch between settings on each channel (i.e. you can't switch from clean to classic crunch on channel 1, and you can't switch between lead 1 and lead 2 on channel 2. I like the separate reverb for each channel and the presence and resonance controls really help shape your tone. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This amp does have a bright tone. I really have to dial in the EQ based on which pickup I am using on my Les Paul. The low end tends to get a bit muddy when using the neck pickup, but this is easily remedied by adjusting the EQ settings. Les Paul sounds great with this amp! My Telecaster sounds pretty good through this amp, but the Les Paul absolutely screams! Action How was the action out of the box? Everything worked exactly as it should. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great looking amp! It is bigger then I expected, and heavier too! but all that weight and size contributes that amazing Marshall sound! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it 1 day, but expect it to last a lifetime. I don't expect to buy another amp that does what this amp does ever again.
It is what I thought it was - Nice Amp
By: Bobby D - Chain Reaction Band from Detroit, MI USA      Submitted: 2/13/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I like this amp! For the price it is a very good amp! I have owned several Marshalls over the years. From an original JCM 800 and JCM 900 half stack to several combos including the MG series and Valve State. My favorite of all is the Artist 4203 and this amp! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It seems to be well made. I really like the the cable is of ample length for the supplied footswitch. I have only had it a week so not qualified to answer on the dependablity. I am a bit concerned that it is made in Vietnam instead of England but that's what keeps the price point right. I am hoping the Marshall brain trust is eyeballing the quality control of this off shore manufacturing. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Being a tube amp it is very touch sensitive. A true plus. It breaths nicely and pops harmonics! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is a bit bright and sharp at first. However, by cutting the treble and presence considerably I was pleased with the tone. But hey, it is a Marshall not a Fender or Peavey. I have read about taking out a capacitor to cut the brittleness. But, with the treble and presence adjustments I mentioned I don't think it is necessary. If those adjustments don't help try replacing the stock speaker with a higher end Celestion. Also using a 2x12 or 4x12 cabinet really adds some depth with this amp! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? FANTASTIC! Nice classic Marshall styling and looks Reliability How has it stood up over time? Too soon to tell
Tone...its in there!!
By: Brian      Submitted: 2/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

What a Killer Amp
By: Jim Weasel Kingery      Submitted: 1/31/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. It is more functional than I actually imagined - beyond my total expectation for my recording and live performance needs. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've had the amp for one week - so dependability is yet to be seen and heard.
MONEY WELL SPENT!!!!!
By: Andrew demory from Mechanicsville, MD      Submitted: 1/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Don't let the fact that this thing is only 40 watts fool you. This sucker is over 50 pounds and is more than enough. All the amp I will need. Ido however wish the clean/crunch and lead 1/lead 2 were switchable from the footswitch. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a marshall. The name speaks for itself. I just got it yesterday, so only time will tell. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Well I did a lot of research before I pulled the trigger on it. I didn't however think it would be as big as it is. I figured at 40 watts, it wouldn't be too much bigger than my mg30dfx I practice with. WRONG. This bad boy is twice it's size. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I'm not sure there is a tone this amp couldn't do. Action How was the action out of the box? Fast considering I plugged it right in Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks sweet and I'm digging the white outline on the cabinet tolex. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a day so......
Great entry level all tube Marshall
By: John from Tamassee, SC      Submitted: 10/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great amp out of the box. Except after I owned it for about a month it started making a weird sound to where sometimes I couldn't even play. That lasted about 2 weeks then seems to have gone away on it's own right before I was about to send it in for repair. now it has a new problem. sometimes when I flip the Standby switch on it does nothing and is still off. Flip the Standby off then back on and works fine. I dunno. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great build amp. a bit bigger than I expected. The stock 70/80 is a little lacking but I run it into a 4/12 Cab so problem solved. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Has all the Overdrive and crunch any Marshall should. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great sound on the Lead channel although I believe Clean 1 is a bit lacking. Action How was the action out of the box? Don't think this amp isn't loud. For 40 watts it cranks. Keeps up with my old MG 100watt Half stack just fine. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great. Love the white pipping like the big boys. Reliability How has it stood up over time? It still works and sounds good in spite of it's glitch.
Great Amp - one BIG problem
By: MarKus Lee from Treasure Island Florida, markus@markusleemusic.com      Submitted: 10/9/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great Amp, amazing variety of tones. One problem, effects is NOT series. NO matter what you do part of the signal bleeds through and causes phases cancelations. Wish I knew how to fix this….markus@markusleemsuic.com
** Not that Great **
By: Michael      Submitted: 10/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Very Nice
By: hoghead1976 from oxford, ma      Submitted: 9/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well built. always works when i turn it on. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? has that Marshall bite and crunch. a little lacking on the reverb end. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks like a Marshall right out of the box. Reliability How has it stood up over time? had it about 8 mos. no problems.
I'm so happy I bought it
By: Eric from Walnut Creek, Ca. USA      Submitted: 8/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. It's a great amp. Simple, perfect size because it's a little larger than an average size practice amp. It's loud too if you want it to be. Best practice amp I've owned. I say practice amp because I have a jcm 200 TSL in the other room I take out to destroy people with if I need to. This DSL40c is for practicing at home but definitely can gig with it. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent Marshall quality, sounds fantastic. It's perfect, you'll love it. Buy it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It increases my "playability" because I play more guitar more often because of it's awesome tone which makes me "Feel" great. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's all there - just adjust the knobs like the directions tell you and you're going to be totally stoked, no question about that. Action How was the action out of the box? Buying this amp will be a great decision because when you open it up and plug it in you will have taken a positive action in your life. It's total awesomeness. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Totally awesome. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Not sure, I've only had it for a week but I'm not worried about it. It's a Marshall, YES! Buy Now! I can tell you that it has a 5 year warranty and I've always owned a Marshall and they've always been reliable. They last a lifetime if you take care of them. Read the directions and pay attention to using the standby switch when turning it on and off. Use the standby switch it and it will be with you forever and the valves will love you too.
Perfect amp for the working musician
By: Maurice Venedicto      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

All Marshall all the time!
By: Paul B from East Coast      Submitted: 7/25/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Like the title says, all Marshall all the time! Fabulous classic Marshall tone no matter where the knobs are set! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I'm impressed with how well the amp is constructed, fit and finish are superb. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tones derived from this amp are incredible, very smooth controls. I had no trouble dialing in usable tones on each channel along with each channels different voices! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I dig the Classic Marshall appearance of this amp. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I think this amp, like any other amp, if you take reasonable care of it, should last you a lifetime!
Awesome Amp and easy to dial in tones!
By: Conor from Tega Cay, SC USA      Submitted: 5/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

A good platform for modding as a stock amp. A tone beast once modded properly!
By: Branodn from Austin, Tx      Submitted: 5/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This amp, as it comes stock from Marshall, has some serious drawbacks in the tone department. the lead channel is extremely harsh and fizzy on both Lead1 and Lead2. The stock Celestion Seventy 80 is a "budget" speaker that adds to the high end tinniness of the tone. I understand that this is intended to be a budget entry level giggable amp but Marshall missed the mark on this one in a few areas. There are many sites out there that already have mod recommendations for this amp, with a little bit of time for a single capacitor desoldering, and money invested for a new speaker this is an awesome amp. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well put together and dependable so far but I've only had it for three weeks. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fairly heavy, but it's a Marshall 1x12. They tend to be on the heavy side! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone from the factory is great on the Classic channel, both clean and gain, are extremely usable but unfortunately not foot switchable. the Lead 1 and Lead 2 channels leave a lot to be desired but can be remedied simply and quickly with a solder iron and about 10-15 minutes of time. Action How was the action out of the box? Amp, no real "action". Knobs are smooth and pots and switches are quiet. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? excellent fit and finish, top notch work. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it three weeks but with proper care and maintenance I don't see it being an issue!
Marshall, there is no substitute!
By: Greg W from Terra Bella CA      Submitted: 3/26/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very sturdy amp, at 50lb. it's a little heavier than I had hoped for, but a few pounds is a small price to pay for that unmistakable sound. Reliability How has it stood up over time? We'll see. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall I'm a very happy player with this amp. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Powerful, smooth, thick. The resonance control is a very nice feature for that butterlike smooth sound. The clean channel is perfect.
Pure Marshall at an Affordable Price!
By: JDye from Elizabeth City, NC      Submitted: 2/22/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Amp seems to be very well constructed with that classic Marshall look and feel. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had the amp for less than a week so only time will tell. General Your general opinion of this product. I have owned a lot of tube amps (Peavey, Fender, Mesa, Egnater etc...) and I can honestly say, this mid-priced Marshall has the tone and sound that I wanted right out of the box. Crank all the knobs up to 12 o'clock and boom....Marshall in your face! The dual voiced clean channel on the "clean" setting leaves a little to be desired. Nice enough tone for Marshall clean but seems a little weak. Select the "Crunch" setting on the clean channel and that's where the Marshall comes out to play. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The cabinet was a little bigger than I expected for a single 12 but by design. Gives the amp more bottom end sound. Very simple controls and I love the half power option. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I was a little worried that at the price, this amp would not deliver the Marshall tone I was after and it would be more AVT or MG series sounding (no offense to AVT or MG owners) but I was very surprised. This amp is all Marshall dirven by two fat EL34s. Very "touch sensitive" and can go from a very nice gritty clean (if I wanted Fender clean I would have bought another Fender) to a growling clean by using your volume and tone controls and pick attack. Switch to the gain channel (Lead 1 and Lead 2) and every rock sound is in there. Spot on for AC/DC, Slash, ZZ Top and everything in between. Classic Marshall tone. So long pedalboard! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks like a Marshall! Feels like a Marshall and best of all, sounds like a Marshall. Action How was the action out of the box? Easy set up right out of the box. Dial everything to 12 o'clock and play!
Simply The Best
By: Rc from El Paso, TX, USA      Submitted: 2/5/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made..Heavy duty Reliability How has it stood up over time? I just got it..but it looks like it'll be in the family for a very very lohg time. General Your general opinion of this product. Great Amp...it's a Marshall what can I say..very dependable Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Marshall tones are very well known for in your face sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect Classic black and gold finish. Action How was the action out of the box? n/a
good luck
By: fst hand from el cajon ca.      Submitted: 1/31/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? awesome Reliability How has it stood up over time? yes General Your general opinion of this product. it would be nice 2 buy but checkout is a drag at ams! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? h fast Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? hot Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect Action How was the action out of the box? nice
CLASSIC MARSHALL SOUND WITH ALL THE NEEDED FEATURES THAT A GUITARIST WANTS
By: bigdogsguitar from west palm beach, florida      Submitted: 10/14/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have owned a few marshalls and fender amps they both have there pros and cons and as with any product made in the usa or uk the quality is what made these products wanted by musicians world wide, can you have a problem sure but does there customer service and warenties cover most problems Reliability How has it stood up over time? The name marshall is a time tested amp and i think any of there products will be a great experience for many years of service General Your general opinion of this product. the sound of a marshall amp is like no other the clean is its own and the gain chanel is heard on everthing from hard rock to alternative to heavy metal music, easy to use and flexable for any type of music you want to play Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? na Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? na Finish How did the stain or paint job look? na Action How was the action out of the box? na
Loading....