Item Reviews for: Marshall DSL40C Dual Super Lead Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  MAR DSL40C LIST

    great sound, dysfunctional reverb
    By: Raymond Jess Lewis      Submitted: 4/22/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This amplifier has a number of very positive features such as a nice distinct sound even at high gain. However, the reverb is substandard. In fact, while the reverb is indeed functioning, it is so light that one can scarcely discern whether or not the reverb is operational even when turned to the highest setting. Unfortunately, an online perusal indicates that this is not an unusual occurrence for this amplifier, and one will find numerous similar complaints. This is really quite a pity. Nonetheless, I am keeping this amp.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Box of Rock
    By: DudeFaceBro      Submitted: 3/27/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I couldn't be happier with the Marshall DSL40C. I chose the dent and scratch and it looks brand new to me. It's a fantastic value, and you get a sweet 1x12 combo with 4 core tones at your disposal between the classic and ultra gain channels plus two modes for each channel. The classic channel takes overdrive and distortion pedals like a champ, and the ultra gain channel goes from high to much higher gain. I've read a lot about mods and speaker upgrades that people do on these amps, but I honestly find the stock sounds to be very usable. It would be a lot cooler if they had made the crunch mode on the classic channel foot-switchable, but for the money you really can't complain.
    Was this review helpful?
    True Marshall sound .... LOUD :)
    By: HiggY,chris@higgycomm.com      Submitted: 3/10/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I may own others but I play Marshall.Perfect for bedroom to jam to gig.A bit heavey for me (age 65) but toteable, recommend side handlesHigg
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Nice amp,
    By: scott,greatscentsco@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/8/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Solid amp. The digital reverb not so great. Your gonna need a pedal.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Sweet tone
    By: Dave      Submitted: 2/8/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great sound and eq shaping, wish the reverb was better and the pedal had more controls for the amp's different switches on the panel, speaker is ok but could be better
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    This amp is a keeper!!
    By: Schecterlegger      Submitted: 2/2/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Changed the 70/80 speaker as soon as I opened the box. Haven't done any mods yet but it handles all my pedals nicely(8-10). Feels solid and well put together. It has a nice tone on any setting I have played with yet at any volume, and it roars. I plan on using a 2X12 cab with it and can't wait to hear it then. Love it, love everything about it.
    Was this review helpful?
    By:       Submitted:

    Was this review helpful?
    Perfect for beginners and professionals. Everyone loves this amp.
    By: Fil      Submitted: 12/1/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Very solid and reliable.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow the perfect Marshall Combo for gigging and home tonal bliss
    By: TranqB      Submitted: 11/17/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Awesome... Perfect size and the lowest wattage that retains the True Marshall EL 34 tube rock monster Give the speaker time to break in.....Rule 1... New speakers are not flexible yet and therefore resonate more in the higher frequency range. This is a keeper!
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I LOVE IT!!!!
    By: Dustin Henson      Submitted: 11/13/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I just am so happy with this brand new Marshall AMP. It's perfect!! IT was bigger than expected and just cranks!! It's fresh off the line and it just ROCKS!!! I can't stop playing. Thank you Marshall and American Musical. The Item arrived fast, and packaged very well!!!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Excellent!!
    By: Robert      Submitted: 11/11/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It is so crisp and clean it is a joy to play
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    A little dissappointed
    By: Brooks Cardwell      Submitted: 11/9/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Weak reverb.
    4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Hissing crackling noise
    By: Kam      Submitted: 9/6/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Crackling hissing sound after 6 months of using it on weekends in a bedroom. Unacceptable. Marshall is lost it.
    5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    awsome
    By: mark      Submitted: 7/29/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? So much fun. Thanks ams for making it happen worth every cent!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Absolutely Marshall Madness
    By: Charles      Submitted: 7/15/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? perfect, needs a speaker change but great!
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love this amp
    By: Jack      Submitted: 6/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? well I was going to get the DSL 100. This DSL 40c is plenty it amasing. I mean everything about it. the power.The sound that comes out of it is unreal.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Marshall......Worth much more
    By: K.B      Submitted: 4/23/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have owned this amp for 2 years. I gig with it on a regular basis playing all size rooms. I mic it up through the P.A. Most of the time I use the 20 watt output feature. This allows me to run it a little harder making it really scream! It has been my rock solid go to amp. I have owned Marshall amps for 30 years and I can honestly say that I love it. Soon after I got the amp I swapped out the speaker with a Celestion Creamback. Then I immediately replaced all the tubes with Tung Sol. It totally smoothed out the "fuzzy" edge, added more feel, and low end making this thing sound and respond like one of those rich guy boutique amps. I also added some color LED's on the footswitch so I can read it on a dark stage. My only complaint is the weak digital reverb. Considering my investment I'd say that I have the sound and performance an ideal Marshall live gigging amp.
    11 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love it !
    By: Mike B      Submitted: 4/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? My first Marshall and it doesn't disappoint !!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Quality Marshall tube tone!!
    By: Darrell      Submitted: 3/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This amp exceeded my expectations. In an era of high price and mediocre quality, this amp is the exception to the rule. Sweet Marshall tone and quality built. The foot switch was better than expected. I purchased another name brand amp and the foot switch was light plastic. This is not the case here. The switch is quite heavy in comparison and is very well made. Two styles of reverb is very nice and overall, Marshall gives you the tools necessary to craft the tone to your liking. I would highly recommend this amp.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    i dont know it does not work
    By: james shipley      Submitted: 2/24/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? it dosent work
    1 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money .Always wanted a marshall
    By: Bob      Submitted: 1/8/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Fantastic sound great looking well worth the money .If i ever need another amp this will be the one.
    4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money grate sound .
    By: George Baker      Submitted: 1/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's a Marshall Sounds fantastic.
    3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Marshall tone!!!
    By: David L. Brown      Submitted: 11/15/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Don't want to repeat what has been already said, I agree with 98% of the Marshall dsl40c reviews. All I can say is that I'm glad I finally got mine! Happy as f#%&!!!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    an all out marshall monster!!
    By: brad schultz from denver, colorado      Submitted: 8/12/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. this is definately an amp you want to play. ive had mine for a little over a month now and cant stop fiddling with the different tones that this things makes. the difference between my les paul standard and custom shop stratocaster gives the amp even more versitility. love this thing, its my third marshall and i think ive found my go to amp, still love my fender 4x10 deville for cleans, but if you love distortion this is the amp for you.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    What Reverb????
    By: Chris Grace      Submitted: 8/5/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar














    Your general opinion of this product. I love everything about this product but I've ordered two now and neither had working reverb; I have had to deal directly with Marshall and so far it has taken 2 weeks and still expect it to take another 10 days
    6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Cloud 99
    By: MrYeats from CRP TX USA      Submitted: 7/5/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar














    Your general opinion of this product. I just received my 40w DSL this a.m. and cannot voluntarily take my hands off this great little package. Going from the clean to the crunch, to the ultra crunch is as easy as thinking about it. The tone controls are vintage Marshall and are super sensitive to adjustments. I can easily dial in the two sweetest tones ever for either my single coil strat or humbucker guitars. One on the clean channel, which can be ultra chimey to a nice crunchy bite tone, and channel two comes in on the noiseless footswitching and can go as saturated and ballsy as any Marshall I have ever played. Then comes the reverb which is anything from subtle to ballroom rich. Dial in the fine tune with resonance AND presence, a kind of new feature, I suppose. I have read some iffy reviews on the 70 80 Celestion speaker but I don't see a problem, but then I am not trying to blow it up either. Priced just right , I cannot imagin a more versatile little package. I have not used the bypassable FX loop.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money"
    By: Lars Guitar from Canada      Submitted: 6/16/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Marshall distinctive sound qualities that suit my playing style. I also use Fender as my clean amp. Stereo set up is phenominal.
    Was this review helpful?
    IT'S A MARSHALL!!! THAT'S ALL YOU NEED
    By: Mike M.      Submitted: 5/15/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Unbelievable Tone without exception
    By: Keith Peterson      Submitted: 4/28/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. I am impressed with the compact design and portability. The amp is easily understood to set up and play
    Was this review helpful?
    Awesome Amp
    By: Brad,brad9052@gmail.com      Submitted: 4/23/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Was this review helpful?
    It's a Marshall.........nuff said!!
    By: Ken S from Illinois      Submitted: 3/25/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Stand back! This thing rocks!!
    By: TS from Morrison, CO, USA      Submitted: 3/22/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. What a great amp! And what a great price point! In the past I have only been able to afford the non-tube Marshall amps (i.e. AVT series, MG series, etc.). But now with this Marshall (built overseas) I can enjoy that killer Marshall (real tube) tone without the huge price tag. I know it is not a JVM or other high end Marshall, but this thing has tone for days, and it is LOUD! You can dial in just about any tone you want, and the 2 settings per channel, give you 4 distinct templates that you can customize with EQ, Presence, Resonance and reverb! Not to mention the tone shift switch! This amp is very versatile, You can get great clean tones all the way to melt your face high gain and everything in between. I read other reviews that say the reverb is a little weak. Maybe the reverb is not as prevalent as the spring reverb on the Peavey Classic 30 or the various Fender tube amps, but for me, the reverb on this amp is perfect for the type of Marshall sound that we all know and love!
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    It is what I thought it was - Nice Amp
    By: Bobby D - Chain Reaction Band from Detroit, MI USA      Submitted: 2/13/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. I like this amp! For the price it is a very good amp! I have owned several Marshalls over the years. From an original JCM 800 and JCM 900 half stack to several combos including the MG series and Valve State. My favorite of all is the Artist 4203 and this amp!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Tone...its in there!!
    By: Brian      Submitted: 2/11/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    What a Killer Amp
    By: Jim Weasel Kingery      Submitted: 1/31/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. It is more functional than I actually imagined - beyond my total expectation for my recording and live performance needs.
    Was this review helpful?
    MONEY WELL SPENT!!!!!
    By: Andrew demory from Mechanicsville, MD      Submitted: 1/9/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Don't let the fact that this thing is only 40 watts fool you. This sucker is over 50 pounds and is more than enough. All the amp I will need. Ido however wish the clean/crunch and lead 1/lead 2 were switchable from the footswitch.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great entry level all tube Marshall
    By: john gorman      Submitted: 10/17/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Great amp out of the box. Except after I owned it for about a month it started making a weird sound to where sometimes I couldn't even play. That lasted about 2 weeks then seems to have gone away on it's own right before I was about to send it in for repair. now it has a new problem. sometimes when I flip the Standby switch on it does nothing and is still off. Flip the Standby off then back on and works fine. I dunno.
    Was this review helpful?
    Great Amp - one BIG problem
    By: MarKus Lee from Treasure Island Florida, markus@markusleemusic.com      Submitted: 10/9/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Great Amp, amazing variety of tones. One problem, effects is NOT series. NO matter what you do part of the signal bleeds through and causes phases cancelations. Wish I knew how to fix this….markus@markusleemsuic.com
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    ** Not that Great **
    By: Michael      Submitted: 10/7/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar














    3 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Very Nice
    By: hoghead1976 from oxford, ma      Submitted: 9/27/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Was this review helpful?
    I'm so happy I bought it
    By: Eric from Walnut Creek, Ca. USA      Submitted: 8/29/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. It's a great amp. Simple, perfect size because it's a little larger than an average size practice amp. It's loud too if you want it to be. Best practice amp I've owned. I say practice amp because I have a jcm 200 TSL in the other room I take out to destroy people with if I need to. This DSL40c is for practicing at home but definitely can gig with it.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Perfect amp for the working musician
    By: Maurice Venedicto      Submitted: 8/5/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    All Marshall all the time!
    By: Paul B from East Coast      Submitted: 7/25/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Like the title says, all Marshall all the time! Fabulous classic Marshall tone no matter where the knobs are set!
    Was this review helpful?
    Loading....