American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Martin GPCPA4 Performing Artist AE Guitar with Case  -  MAT GPCPA4 LIST

Best purchase I've ever made!
By: mannj48 from Tulsa, OK, USA      Submitted: 5/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. You notice the quality of the instrument as soon as you see it and start playing it. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Best made guitar that I personally have played. I can see this guitar being very dependable. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar feels fast to me. Neck has satin finish that aides in playability. The electronics onboard are top-notch and very easy to use. I can explain enough on the quality of this Martin. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is broad with a smooth sounding middle but with perfect pitch on the highs and lows. This guitar sounds amazing unplugged or plugged in! Action How was the action out of the box? Action was perfect straight out of the box. No adjustments needed yet. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was polished but with satin finishes on side and back. Immaculate finish! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have had no complaints yet. Only had it for a week so far but I can't imagine anything going wrong with it.
awsome guitar
By: johnny v from forked river nj      Submitted: 12/20/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. this guitar plays great Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? well made as martin is always Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? fast neck plays awsome Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? deep tone resonates great harmonic's are beautiful Action How was the action out of the box? played it right out of box keepstune Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looke very wello made Reliability How has it stood up over time? just got it will let u know
perfect in every way!!
By: dyessalbert@yahoo.com from castleberry alabama, dyessalbert@yahoo.com      Submitted: 8/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have always wanted the best and now I own one!!!!!!!!!!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? extremely well made and dependable. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels like I am a country singing sensation!!!!!!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Love this bad boy!!!! Action How was the action out of the box? Better than sex in a box!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? purrrrrrrrrrrrrrfect! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Don't know, I just got, but I'll get back to you!!!!!!!!!!
Great guitar for this price
By: Brian from Irvine, CA      Submitted: 4/13/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I bought a Dent & Scratch GPCPA4. When I got it, condition is very nice. I found a light scratch at the back of the guitar no one recognize. I saved $300 and happy with it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? never had a problem General Your general opinion of this product. It is much more than I expected. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is little bit thicker than I thought. Fast. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright tone. Sounds like Tayor but has more middle tone. So I use Phosphor Bronze strings. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I expected lighter color. But still beautiful. Action How was the action out of the box? Nice action, no Buzz.
Just Awesome!!
By: Terry from Fort Worth, Tx      Submitted: 2/22/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? You cant beat the quality of this guitar in this price range. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it about a month. And it is holding its own so far. General Your general opinion of this product. THis is a great guitar. Solid Hardwood and Made In USA!!!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Very light! kneck is fast and the controls are very simple. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sound is awesome. The sustain is very good!!Sounds as good plugged in as unplugged! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looks beautiful Action How was the action out of the box? The action is great right out of the case. No set up required.
Awesome Guitar
By: Jeb Stewart from Murfreesboro Tn., jeberpillar@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/28/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes,very.And after the tuning factor,G string only...what else could I say.I have never had a guitar arrive tuned so near perfect after being shipped.Great set up guys. Reliability How has it stood up over time? It will..... General Your general opinion of this product. I had a 514 CE Taylor that was involved in a Mis-hap and I replaced it with this.No regrets... Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast,I put some finger ease on it so I could fly.I am not used to the strings.I play elixirs but I will use Life Span from now on with this guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Beautiful tone,the pickups are mellow until attacked and they respond accordingly. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect after a 3 day trip in the cold.Neck feels great...I tuned the G string from sharp to perfect...
I won't get rid of it
By: The pro from Bc, anonmyous60987      Submitted: 10/12/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Love it Reliability How has it stood up over time? Yes vary well General Your general opinion of this product. Its a well made guitar Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Perfect for big hands Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Beautiful sound Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect no mistakes Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect that's all I can say
Best value American made guitar under $1500 or more
By: RGBGT from Celina, OH, USA      Submitted: 8/28/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Light, but appears and feels to be built like a rock. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just had 2 months. General Your general opinion of this product. Outside of the fact I'd have liked a bit more saddle to work with to lower the action over the years, I have no other squawks on the guitar. The Fishman analog system does a great job but has a bit of consistent break-up (3 different amps) with an agressive pick on the A string. May be unique to mine, don't know yet. Otherwise, Excellent! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck was very thin like many electrics. Has a 1 3/4 nut and I'll guess the fret radius at 14 or more. Excellent for finger picking. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is great. It projects even when lightly finger picking. I knew that was true when my wife commented "it sounds wonderful but I'll bet it won't hide mistakes like your other guitar does". Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great. The gloss top was well done and the satin looks great but is barely there. May be why the sound is so open. Action How was the action out of the box? Right at 7 and 5 but had a bit too much relief.
Loading....