American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Peavey 6505 Plus Guitar Amplifier Head  -  PEV 6505HP LIST

owned the original 5150,this is that on steroids. american made.whats to not like?
By: marky sinister from orange county,ca.      Submitted: 3/10/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Great hard rock / metal head
By: Scott from Michigan, actsinc@comcast.net      Submitted: 2/19/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great sound and tone. I have had this head now just over two years. Love the sound. However I had an issue where the head died. No sound. Took the head to the authorized repair place and they could not duplicate the issue. Got the head back and has worked perfectly since. I did get stuck with the $50 bench fee. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Outside of the the issue mentioned above has worked perfectly. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can get crystal cleans and the heaviest metal tones as well. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Except for issue mentioned before, fine.
Great distortion and very loud, Cleans O.K. but load!
By: Ken from Westland MI. USA      Submitted: 11/28/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great product does what its suppose to do. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I like the quality made in america product Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Plays easy and straight forward Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can adjust it how ever you want. Maybe get a noise gate pedal. Action How was the action out of the box? Great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Classic American Thunder Reliability How has it stood up over time? Havent had it long but It is Made in America.
Well rounded amp
By: Ray from North Providence, raypaquette@ymail.com      Submitted: 9/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Well voiced and pounding. For the music I play this works well. I slave the head through my Axe fx ultra. I use the 6505 for pre amp tones for lead and rhythm tones with all stomp boxes processed through the Axe fx. My cleans are completely for the Axe fx. All through the effects loop 4 wire method. Over all misted head room, brutal tone and all around great amp Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Built like a tank Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels traditional Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Dark crunchy
It's a Beast
By: Tony Raygor from Joliet Il, deadmanshand@att.net      Submitted: 9/12/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The perfect amp for metal . I'd guess for hard rock and other styles too but I don't play them so I couldn't say Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well built. Solid American made amp. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I 'm still tweaking the resonance and presence controls but it has a nice deep full sound and tons of gain . For the style I play the clean channel is fine Reliability How has it stood up over time? brand new so I don't know yet but I've never had issues with other peavey products
Its a Beast
By: Jack      Submitted: 5/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Its a perfect head for most metal styles. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? its made in the usa so yeah it well made. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? it has a good feel to it. very easy to operate. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? you can make it bright or dark. best of both worlds in my opinion. Reliability How has it stood up over time? haven't had it long. but from what I hear it should out last me.
A meat and potato amp for a meat and potato guy!!
By: Les from Wichita, KS      Submitted: 1/9/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp is super tough, I've dropped it, kicked it, had a n00b "roady" hook it up wrong, everything...still sounds new! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Its a goin strong and meaty! General Your general opinion of this product. The clean leaves a little to be desired but I make it work. I was suprised when I got it, I thought it would be noisy, for my distortion taste it actually is very quiet. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The controls do what they say, and are super easy to fine tune. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Everything I can get from this amp except for super super warm clean with no saturtion... but if you use your dynamics and pick lightly, you can get this amp to chime like a bell or release the beasts of h*ll. DEFINITELY GET AN ORANGE CAB IF YOU CAN....AMAZING!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It stays in a rack...don't care what it looks like...but it is sexy Action How was the action out of the box? ....
IT ios here to last!
By: Miguel Castaneda from Dallas,Tx      Submitted: 10/17/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Just ordered this but ive heard its a very durable amp and i cant wait till it gets here! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Hopefully it lives up to my expectations! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Im hoping to get a good death metal tone using the ibanez ts-808 tubescreamer!
wow this is awesome not mention very loud
By: james clark from corning N.Y. USA      Submitted: 10/14/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well built and looks fantastic no cheap feeling anything peavey really knows how to build there equipment very much a professional piece of gear . Reliability How has it stood up over time? haven't had it long enough to say but everything I can see says it should out live me even the switch box is metal very sturdy . General Your general opinion of this product. everything I could ever want the tone and clarity even with distortion is amazing you would have to hear it to believe it . the clean is great has just enough rasp to make it metal and crunch and now it's perfect add the lead channel and wow this the amp you want if you play hard rock or metal plus it is very loud just simply awesome piece of gear . Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? almost any tone you would ever want more gain and volume than you are likely to ever need but it's there if you want it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? just play with controls and you will find any tone you want very capable amp you can thin it out or fatten it up bright to dark it's all there Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks fantastic nothing cheap here professional quality all the way MADE IN THE USA ! Action How was the action out of the box? I was pleased with it as soon as I plugged in and started playing tweeked a little and now I can't stop playing very impressive sound I couldn't do with out it now .
Bang for your Buck!
By: Bo Cashman from Bakersfield, CA      Submitted: 4/14/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very good quality. Peavey takes pride in making their products with pride. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good...after 3 days...however I've heard many stories that these amps can get beat pretty good and keep on working with no problems. General Your general opinion of this product. Couldn't have spent 1200 bucks any other way! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Lighter than my last head by about 6 pounds, and the knobs are easy to get too, and the footswitch works great! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Whatever you want, if you have the time to work with it! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Came with no dings or scratches. Looks very metal! Action How was the action out of the box? All I can say is that everything works. All the knobs, and buttons work very well, and Just going from 1 to 1.5 on a tone makes a huge difference in sound.
6505+ is a beast!
By: Chuck McGillicutty from Deltaville, VA      Submitted: 12/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp is very well made, in the USA. Peavey has a long history of quality products, particularly the USA made stuff. More importantly, if there is ever an issue, Peavey's customer service and support is second to none. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only had this amp for a short period of time, but if it is anything like my 5150, with reasonable care, it will operate normally for a long time to come. I bought my 5150 new in 1999, and it is as good today, as it was when I brought it home. General Your general opinion of this product. The 6505+ is basically a 5150, only better. With the addition of seperate eq's and resonance/presence controls for each channel, I think Peavey hit a home run with this one. I can get ANY tone I need out of this amp, with the exception of Fender clean. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels great when that heavy chunk is drop kicking you in the chest! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is a pretty versatile amp. With a little time to familiarize myself with the controls, and a little bit of experimentation, I am able to get ANY tone I need out of this amp, with the exception of Fender clean. If I need that, I use my Super Sonic 100. Problem solved. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Typical USA Peavey product. Looks great. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
amp for the masses
By: TIM SMITH from Springdale,ar,us., vikingkombat@yahoo.com      Submitted: 10/30/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? had for a year in and out of clubs,havent replaced a a tube.that doesnt mean you shouldnt always have extras. Reliability How has it stood up over time? yes General Your general opinion of this product. f**king love it! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Action How was the action out of the box? best amp ever out the box,a spring reverb out of a tubed amp would be nice.
Loading....