American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Peavey ValveKing 112 Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  PEV VKING112 LIST

The best tube combo amp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By: scott kyle      Submitted: 8/20/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The best tube amp I've ever used. The best in every way.The cool thing is you can get it in a combo or stack-able. Fantastic!!!!!!!!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made great and very dependable!!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? For a tube amp it's not that heavy, but tube amps are heavy. The controls are on the front and its easy to see the numbers. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!! Reliability How has it stood up over time? yes!!
This amp is perfect
By: Danel from Virginia      Submitted: 5/13/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This amp has blown me away Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've had this amp for two years now and have had no problems at all Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The controls are well laid out and easy to dial in any sound you seek. I play everything from country to 70's glam rock and this amp can do it all
I LOVE MY VALVEKING 112!
By: Surf Guitar Joe from Van Nuys, California, U.S.A.      Submitted: 4/12/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Overall, I feel the amp is made very well. It has a durable, rugged feel to it, and feels at least as solid and substantial as a 1960's Fender amp. There have been some minor compromises needed, in order for Peavey to hit a price point. The wiring, I suspect, may be an area that is a wee bit rushed in the production line. But, the amp makes an excellent impression, and I love the way mine looks, responds, and sounds. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I got mine used, in 2012. I'd guess it's about 5 years old. Only one issue with it. They are now (Fender is doing this too) installing a plug-in power cord instead of hard-wiring the power cord direct to the chassis. This saves a few seconds in production. Sadly, when it's rush, rush, rush, pressuring the assembly workers to HURRY UP, something's gotta give. The factory is in China for God's sake. It started losing all power, in the middle of band rehearsals. NOT COOL. Sometimes the power could be restored by jiggling the power cord end that plugs into the back panel of the amp. Last time it happened, that solution was a NO-GO, and the power stubbornly remained "off". It was a case of the solder joints failing. One of my band mates is handy with schematics and a soldering iron, and he restored the solder joints to better-than-factory condition. Otherwise, this amp has performed flawlessly. General Your general opinion of this product. I love it. The sound is so infinitely shapeable, the controls allow the widest range I've ever had on any amp, which includes the top end Fender and Peavey products over the past 5 decades. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Irrelevant, this section is for guitars. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can have the most ear-splitting high-frequency tones if you want, or the other extreme, heavy pumping bass, and anything in between. There's 3-band EQ on each channel, plus a Treble-Boost switch that REALLY works. There are two levels of channel switch, so overdrive can be boosted to all-out FUZZ. My only beef, is that even with very light overdrive, the EQ loses most Bass response, so one needs an external EQ-Booster pedal, to overcome this. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The amp has a traditional look, and the tolex and grill cloth are cleanly, neatly installed, the back panel, and the tube housings keep much of the more delicate componentry protected against unintended impacts, that could damage tubes. Action How was the action out of the box? Action refers to the height of the strings on a guitar, so the question is irrelevant to this review.
BEST TUBE AMP UNDER 400 BUCKS
By: JOHNNY from STATEN ISLAND, NY, USA      Submitted: 3/27/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? YES! Reliability How has it stood up over time? so far so good General Your general opinion of this product. wonderful tube sound Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? excellent Finish How did the stain or paint job look? n/a Action How was the action out of the box? n/a
Best Amplifier Under 400 Bucks
By: JOHNNY FLAVER from STATEN ISLAND, NY, USA      Submitted: 3/6/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes... built like a tank Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had for a few weeks but it has held up with no problems whatsoever General Your general opinion of this product. Two channels, easy to use, sounds great Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? variety of sounds Finish How did the stain or paint job look? black tolex with silver grille Action How was the action out of the box? n/a
An awesome all tube 50 watt amp for under $400
By: New Peavy Tube Fan from Charleston, SC      Submitted: 10/4/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's built like a tank. The tone is fat and sweet, just like your favorite Aunt. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Peavy's are built to last... General Your general opinion of this product. Why would anyone spend $600+ for a similar amp? Just for a name? Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Up and playing sweet tones within 2 minutes. Also, pedals love this amp... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds like a great tube amp but, if you want to find heaven, hit the clean channel with a TS9 and a Cry Baby...OMG!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? beautiful Action How was the action out of the box? easy to use
Time tested
By: Alanbama from Birmingham, AL. USA      Submitted: 5/11/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes. The valvaking is made very well. I gig with it most weekends and have had no problems. Reliability How has it stood up over time? The amp is several months old and so far there has been no issues what so ever. General Your general opinion of this product. I have been playing for over 35 years so I have owned many amps. This amp soumds very good to my ears and I am very impressed with it. I would buy it all over again. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? NA Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very wide range of sounds. You should be able to get any style you need. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? NA Action How was the action out of the box? NA
ALL THE AMP YOU NEED
By: Dozer from Boston MA USA      Submitted: 12/20/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Put together very well. I've dropped it a time or two because I gig pretty regularly and it hasn't missed a beat. Reliability How has it stood up over time? See quality. I've had this amp for 5 years and not a single stutter out of it. Peavey IS the most reliable gear around hands down General Your general opinion of this product. With a speaker upgrade and jumpering the FX loop this thing turned from a good little amp into a tone machine. If you discriminate just because of the logo and don't give this amp a chance you are missin out big time. I will take this over any Mesa Combo I've ever tried or owned and at 1/4 the price. How can you miss? Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It is a little heavy but if ya want toobs yyour gonna get weight. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? As I said earlier from Country to Sludgecore and everything in between. Ya gotta know how to tweak an amp and get to know it's nuances. I hit it with a Tubescreamer now and again but other than that it's al good stock. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the 90's era Peavey block lettering better than the pointy lettering but I could care less in the end. Action How was the action out of the box? NA
ValveKing - Sweet Amp
By: Kernel from NY, USA      Submitted: 8/9/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far it hasn't given me any problems. There was some adhesive at the edges of the tolex in the back of the amp but I can look past that. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it for about a month but already practiced and played a party with it and no issues... it sounded great. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a nice amp. I have a Vypyr Tube 60 and actually like the ValveKing better. Not only is capable of comparable volume, it's a little lighter and less bulky as well. I would have liked an MP3 input for practicing but I just bought a Behringer mini mixer and hook it through the effects loop... it gets the job done. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Lighter compared to the Vypyr and less bulky. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Depends on how you set it. I like it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks nice. As mentioned, there is some adhesive splash in the back but overall I can ignore that. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A - not a guitar
Loading....