American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: PRS Paul Reed Smith SE Santana Electric Guitar with Gig Bag  -  PRS SECS LIST

My Go-To Guitar
By: Greg from Citrus Heights, CA      Submitted: 5/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I really love the look of this guitar. The double cut-away body is pretty sexy. It has a thick maple cap on the body with a thin flamed maple veneer on top of that. I wish I could show you photos of the guitar I had shipped to me. The flamed top is beautiful! I also own a USA Made PRS and love it but I grab the SE model as my go-to guitar. It's lighter, sounds just as good, and is almost as pretty. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I could not find one flaw in the finish. The neck is very easy to play and the knobs and switch are smooth and noise free. No slack in the tuners and they hold the strings in pitch, even when using the tremolo. Even the bird inlays on the neck are perfect. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The two Santana humbuckers are perfect. I paired this guitar with my Mesa Boogie amp and I have tone for days & days. I play a lot of blues and whether clean or with an OCD drive it really get's a nice almost violin sustain. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I wished it had a matching flamed maple headstock. Maybe PRS will do that someday - other than that the finish is great. I really wish I could post a pic of mine. It is not as yellow as the web sites show it. It's a much warmer color that the taxi cab yellow they show. And, the flame is much more prominent.
Its All In The Neck
By: Mark from Marion, Ohio , USA      Submitted: 9/30/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think the Quality of this Guitar out of the box it is just as good as PRS high end Guitars. I'm talking about Quality Control, and Quality of workmanship. You will not be unhappy. General Your general opinion of this product. I will be honest, I have never bought a new guitar I liked playing till I set it up the way I like it. I will not gig PRS for setting this guitar up to Factory specs, That's the way it should be. But after setting up the strings and a small tweak to the neck to set it up to MY stile. I can honest say it has fallen into the top 3 best guitars I own. Finish on this guitar is Perfect. Looks are just that. What you see in the Picture is what you get, Fantastic looking Guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's Bright and its Dark and it is Smooth, The Pick up are not like any I have ever owned before. I have used it for Santana Smooth, Dead on. and I have used it for a very Clean "Highway Song" Dead on. I personally have not been able to find a blues Tone in it YET. But understand I tend to use my Gibson for Blues. I LOVE the fact this Guitar has its own Special Tone that none of my other guitars have. It inspires me more that way. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? 100% under the control of PRS they must have a system at this factory that all other oversea company's should go visit and emulate. I don't know for sure but I just bet they have to send a HD picture of ever guitar made to Paul Reed Smith to look at before it can be sold. Lol but its perfect. I read it in other reviews and it TRUE.
One of the Best Buys you will Ever make!
By: Aguitargrl from New Castle,PA USA      Submitted: 6/28/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I could not find a single flaw!..very solid guitar but not heavy..Excellent workmanship! General Your general opinion of this product. I buy alot of guitars and I sell alot of them too..This guitar is a Keeper..The finish is flawless I bought the yellow one..The tuners,bridge,neck,frets etc..and all high quality for the Low cost of this guitar.Plus I received my REBATE package in less than 2 wks !!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I have used this guitar with several different amps..and it will do whatever you want.! It can been smooth mellow and dark,then with a few tweeks,hot and in your face..It has all the music basses covered..You can Play any Type of music you want with this.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Amazing...no flaws in the paint,the wood grain is beautiful..
THE Best Buy In a GUITAR you can get!!!
By: STEVER from WESTERN NY      Submitted: 5/2/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Rhese are some of the finest instruments made they are virtually flawless. PRS is known for not letting ANYTHING with flaws leave the factory and the Santana SE is no different. The guitar is FLAWLESS and don't let any wanna be tell you different General Your general opinion of this product. This is the finest guitar you'lll find in the SE line bar none. It is flawless and anyone who complains about overspray or drips in the pain DOES NOT OWN ONE and is just finding fault with something they can'y afford to justify their POS Squire Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds so close to Santana it is almost sureal. It has incredible sustain. The best I've ever heard and I'm 55 and been playing for over 40 years and owned Les Paus and Own an American Deluxe Fender strat and no guitar comes close to this guitar sustain. It is incredible! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Absolutely PERFECT you will never have to woory about over spray or dripping unless your buying a Squire You'll NEVER get that on a PRS and if anyone says they did they don't own one. There just finding fault with what they wish they could afford
Very Nice Guitar!
By: TKHumbucker from Hilton Head Island, SC      Submitted: 9/29/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality of these import guitars continues to get better and better. PRS does a great job of quality control on this PRS SE. General Your general opinion of this product. This is one nice guitar that surely makes Santana proud. It plays super fast and has that precise sustain that you hear in Santana's personal PRS. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Smoooooth, Like Santana Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. No issues at all.
Great playing guitar for the price!
By: P.J. from Lake Forest, CA      Submitted: 9/4/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes! General Your general opinion of this product. This PRS electric guitar is easier to play than my acoustic and I've had no issues with it so far. The action is good and I only had to tune a couple of strings out of the box. This Korean quality is very good in my opinion. There are no nicks, flaws or bad looking spots on the finish anywhere like some people have experienced. I was pleased after examining it with my magnifying glass. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent!
Very Happy
By: S.O.V. from Crestwood KY USA      Submitted: 7/21/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Have found nothing to complain about. I find myself playing the guitar and enjoying myself, instead of wondering if I have drifted out-of-tune. This factor alone was worth the purchase. General Your general opinion of this product. Best guitar I've ever owned. Love it. Can't believe how well it stays in tune with whammy bar use. I've never owned a Floyd Rose equipped guitar, but I've owned plenty of trem-equipped guitars that I found were more hassle then they were worth. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Smooth neck humbucker, snappy bridge humbucker. I guess the only thing I would like would be separate tone/volume knobs for each pickup. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I ordered the Santana Yellow. It is beautiful, a tangerine color maybe?
Long Time Guitar Player
By: Teddy Scott from Slidell, La. USA      Submitted: 7/19/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? You can't go wrong buying this guitar for the money. In my opinion, it is a high quality instrument at least comparable to guitars 2-4 times its cost. General Your general opinion of this product. This Santana guitar made by PRS Korean Unit is a high quality, well made, easy to play, sound good, instrument. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is excellent. I personally like a clean, mellow, tone, with a lot of sustain, and this instrument gives that to you, but you can adjust it to sound like a lot of different guitars, depending on your amp and effects. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is the Yellow PRS and the finish is excellent. It is smooth with no flaws that I can find.
Loading....