American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: PreSonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Digital Mixer  -  PRS STUDIOLIVE LIST

don't be fooled
By: allstars from atlanta      Submitted: 12/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. not reliable Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? supposed to be easy, but not at all. this board has a mind of its own and fights against you constantly. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? it's a great paperweight. Sound How is the tone? it only produces bottom end, and clips everything else. Reliability How has it stood up over time? it clips like crazy. if you are playing the iPod in the garage, it sounds awesome. if you are mixing live music, it will let you down every time.
I'm really enjoying this studio live!
By: Michael from Maumee, Ohio      Submitted: 9/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

PreSonus StudioLive 16.4.2
By: Menace from Jacksonville, FL      Submitted: 1/28/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Holy Cow…YES! This board is just ridiculous! On board effects and processors on EVERY channel. You will never need any more outboard gear. This board has it all. Loaded with channel presets that you can build off of or build your own. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I don't know where to begin…I think the main feature that I like the most is the built-in processors on the Fat Channel. It's got everything on it. You can sell your analog board and your rack of EFX…just sell them. You don't need them at all. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? There is a little bit of a learning curve to the board just until you get familiar with how everything is laid out, but once you get the idea, it's off to the races. Definitely download the manual BEFORE you buy the board just so you can be familiar with it before you get it in your hands. I had the manual about two months before I bought it so when I finally got it, I was ready to roll. Sound How is the tone? N/A - the fat channel feature is, well, PHAT! Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good. I drag this thing out almost every weekend and it is has been just great. General Your general opinion of this product. It rules, get one. Just do it.
Best Mixer For Home Studio
By: Lee H. from Houston, TX      Submitted: 1/20/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made very well, it's solid and will last a lifetime as long as you show it some TLC. And the software that comes with it makes so versatile, you can't find a better deal for home studio production for $2K. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? As a novice at recording I can't say what to add, but the fat channels seem to be the best feature so far. All the software that comes with it makes this mixer a workhorse for recording! The virtual Studio Live is great as well. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to use and understand. It can be used with most DAWs with ease and works great with my Akai MiDi keyboard. It didn't take me long to get recording with the automatic channel routing with Capture and Studio One Artist. The manual is very helpful and easy to understand. It's playable almost instantly. Sound How is the tone? Great! So far my recording are sounding awesome! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I haven't had it long, but it seems very solid, and if you move it a lot, invest in a hard case to protect it. General Your general opinion of this product. Best mixer for $2k on the market, even better than some that cost more. The ease of use is especially great for a beginner!
I don't know how I every lived without it!
By: Ken from Cheyenne wy      Submitted: 12/10/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had this since September. You really can feel the quality of this unit when you take it out of the box. I have used it quite a few times since purchase and it hasn't let me down yet. I really don't think that it will let me down. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Features? Where do I start? Not only do I not have to carry around a rack full of gear, the quality of the features is higher than most gear that is available for your traveling rack. Comp, Eq, FX, Ect. are very intuitive and impressive. A new feature since I purchased is the room analysis, time offset, and output wizards. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The manual that came in the box is a little outdated. Of course presonus is always adding features to this system, so it's better to go to their website and download the latest version. I wouldn't consider this product to be simple to use and there is a little learning curve when integrated with a pc. but once you take the time to play with it, it really does make sense. Sound How is the tone? OMG!! The sound is incredible. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So Far So Good. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this board. If I was to do it again, I might take a closer look at the 24 ch. version. It's really not that much more. We now use an ipad with it for foh and really like the mobility it gives our sound person to make adjustments from anywhere in the club or venue. On stage the guys are using iphones with qmix to mix their own ear monitors. Works very well. iphone had a few problems this weekend, but I think it was our adhoc network. In the future we will carry a router.
Sell Your Current Gear and Get A Studiolive!!!
By: Jack from Eastlake, Ohio,USA, mrbluesky@sbcglobal.net      Submitted: 6/4/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far the mixer has been perfect. No issues at all. It feels solid all the way around. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? You have a whole rack full of great effects, processing, compressors, gates, EQs and a 16x4 stereo mixer with 6 aux mixes all in one easy to carry unit. I sold off all my old rack gear already, it's no longer needed. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Once you get the hang of the "Fat Channel" it's super easy to dial in a great mix. The fat channel presets are an excellent starting point and make dialing in the instruments and vocals a snap. I will be starting to hook it up to mix with the iPad this weekend, so far on a practice run at rehearsal it worked flawlessly. Sound How is the tone? It sounds great when zeroed out and flat. Once you start EQing things it gets even better. The recordings we have made on it are clean and pristine. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it a month so far no issues. General Your general opinion of this product. Best money spent on any gear in the last 10 years, I'd buy another if this was lost or stolen.
Fantastic when they work
By: LH from Boise Id USA      Submitted: 5/17/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Didn't listen to the nay sayers about the unreliability. Had to be isolated issues and I wanted one. 8 performances and the thing totally died. It's now on it's way back to the factory. Very nervous about putting it back on stage. We'll see..... Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Fat channel with all the outboard gear built in. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Board itself is a piece of cake. Very analog feel. However, making sure you have the correct firmware loaded and being compatible with your computer is another story. Confusing. And if you get it wrong you can really get lost and the system will just freak out. Sound How is the tone? Phenom. Clean, clean, clean. Warm tone Reliability How has it stood up over time? Hasn't. Not at all. 8 shows and boom!!! General Your general opinion of this product. I love it and want it to work so badly. Just don't know if I can trust it any longer.
Love my Presonus
By: Weston Hinson from Caddo Mills, TX, anonmyous46021      Submitted: 3/7/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The EQs are true and the effects are amazing. I love the capture function where you can save settings and recall them for another song. The copy and load feature is a huge plus as well. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I am a huge fan of the whole "Digital Board with analog feel" thing. It's so easy to mix with this board. Would recommend 100 times over its other digital counterparts. Sound How is the tone? Awesome Reliability How has it stood up over time? A+++ General Your general opinion of this product. Can't say enough good things about this board. The first weekend I got it I almost sold about 4 to fellow bands.
Great live digital mixer and records well also!!!
By: Jim      Submitted: 3/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels solid, as solid as any other analog or digital mixer out there. Faders feels the most delicate but their response and operation seems high quality. Everything else is build to last. I work my stuff pretty hard and have no fear this won't keep up. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? ONE OBSERVATION: The mixer case that everyone (including AMS) sells bundled with this board DOES NOT FIT!!! The SKB Pop-Up Rackmount ATA Mixer Case - 12 Space, it will not lower into the case, the metal bracket which the pop-up partrests on, gets in the way and will hit the XLR's and other hardware on the board. Instead I sent it back and traded it in (AMS's return policy is awesome) for an SKB Gig Safe 14U. And yes it will mount in the gig safe and you still have plenty of room to plug everything in as well as having some storage space for the manual, firewire and XLR cables in the back and underneath. No matter what case you get, it will be big so don't think you can do better unless you just want a case to housae it and pull it out for every gig with no extra space, I prefer to leave it in. If I drop a $2000 mixer because I wanted to go small on the case, I deserve what happens! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The FAT channel is a great idea and the fact that it not only pertains to the individual 16 channels but also the aux's, busses and mains makes it that much more useful. Be careful of updating the firmware, it will lose your saved scenes and depending on how much of a firmware change it is, it can even screw up the "zero-out" feature. Had to go back and zero out the board and save it to another preset, the zero preset is screwed! Sound How is the tone? Great sound, great Presonus dynamic processorsand effects. It is a great smaller digital console and for the price, you won't beat it. The comparable Yamaha is more expensive and not as easy to use. Great preamps, effects, dynamics, very well thought out. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Presonus is near impossible to get in touch with, I've emailed, left messages and had no response. If you are counting on them to solve any problems, just forget it, they are no where to be found after the purchase. General Your general opinion of this product. For under $2000, you cannot get into a digital mixer of this caliber. It has so many features that you would normally expect and then some. If you are worried about understanding it compared to an analog mixer, don't worry they have made it easy and their manual is pretty good as well as their discussion groups. Just do not expect to get Presonus on the phone or to respond to email, I really believe they don't check the phone messages or emails.
Loading....