American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Rickenbacker 4003 Electric Bass Guitar with Case  -  RIC 4003 LIST

That Rick sound...but overly high priced
By: John from Little rock      Submitted: 12/14/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love the classic rick sound. But the price just keeps going up and up. Rick is notoriously bad to deal with . I had a few guitars that were sub par. They are not customer oriented at all. Very cocky and arrogant. Back to the bass... Plays good when set up properly. The dual truss rod is a pain in the butt. The horse shoe thing over the bridge is just plain dumb. When removed, the pickup cavity is uncomfortable but hipshot makes a nice cover that smooths out the harsh metal edges for your right hand. Overall its a great bass that is unique but when you can buy an ibanez that plays far better its almost a no brainer and if you must have a USA made bass there is MusicMan. Rickenbacker could learn from a company like musicman that genuinely appreciates its customers. Still, a rick is a rick and has that great sound. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? 8 out of ten. Fret work was meh. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not a slap and pop friendly bass. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? See general comments.
Awesome guitar
By: David from New Braunfels. TX      Submitted: 7/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Beautiful guitar. Plays very well. American made, very good craftmanship Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? It will work for anything you want to play. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Relatively simple layout. I particularly like the look ever since I saw C.F. Turner of BTO use one in a concert I saw in the 70's Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Very nimble. Less heavy than I expected, a good thing. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I didn't want to touch it. I got the Maple Glow since I like the wood Rick uses. I was going to get the Jet Glow, but once I saw the natural wood, that did it for me. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Good deal all around Playability How was the action out of the box? Set up was perfect.
Handmade in the USA... Buy american made you wont be dissapointed..
By: Ben from Manchester nh      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Amazing. Better than I had envisioned. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Top Notch. Great tone and playability. Well balanced and just great fun to play. Hard to put down. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fits like a glove. Neck is slightly larger than my jazz bass but I find it really comfortable, Fast and smooth. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Hot Pickups, Classic Rick Tone, overall this bass is a great investment. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is flawless. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Top of the line. Best bass available in my opinion. Playability How was the action out of the box? Need slight adjustment for my style.
Nothing Like A Rick But.....
By: GG from Patriots Land      Submitted: 1/16/2013

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It took 6 basses till I was satisfied with the quality. It was a different problem everytime. Rickenbacker was NO help at all like I thought. American Musical did finally resolve but it took months. What a headache. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Love it. General Your general opinion of this product. Love it, wish the quality and my shopping experience was better. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Love it, Geniune Rick tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice, Rickenbacker needs to step up quality.
Everything you heard is true
By: Michael Cairns from Boynton Beach Florida      Submitted: 12/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have wanted 4003 for years and I researched Rickenbackers web site they are made amazing by true American craftsmenship with the best materials and they have not compromised Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The treble bridge pickup gives it a sound like no other bass - I would want to be able to have a Rickenbacker made insert to replace the Bridge pick up protector General Your general opinion of this product. I am 100% satisfied - it's pricy but worth every dollar - this is an heirloom instrument Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Rickenbacker 4003 has a very distinct sound. That's why I got it. It's all because of the Bridge pick up. It's very bright and snappy with a growl that rings out. The neck pick up is mellow with a a more traditional sound. This is a Rock bass and not a mellow backround sounding bass Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have a Jetglow - It's the best gloss black I've seen - It looks like a glass coating without any flaws - I'm certain that it will age well
cool
By: Cristian from Naranjito,Puerto Rico      Submitted: 10/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? wonderful Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? magnifucent General Your general opinion of this product. very coolwordy Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone manageable Finish How did the stain or paint job look? very artistic
The beast of basses!!!
By: J.H.L from Seminole Fl. GOOD YOUNG USA      Submitted: 9/24/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made to laste 5 life times... Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? well I know there is not juust one so I'll say all.2 question # 2 is me... General Your general opinion of this product. Just overwhelmed Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? bright,hot Finish How did the stain or paint job look? just fabulus
This Ric Does the Trick
By: Dr.Dave from Bemidji, MN, USA      Submitted: 6/21/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Mine is a Fireglo and the fit and finish are immaculate. Lots of binding, and inlay in this instrument and everything looks tight and clean. The tuning machines on my Jazz Deluxe have a nicer feel, but these are just fine. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I actually like the tone switching you can do with this instrument. It's a push pull on the treble tone knob that flips you from a more vintage sound to one that sounds a little fuller, bassier to me. It has separate "bass" and "treble" volume and tone controls. Haven't played around with the Ric-o-sound jack yet. General Your general opinion of this product. Really a fun instrument to play. Amazing looking, plays like a dream. I'll have a lot of fun with this one! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can find a string and tone control combination that will get you about any tone you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mad cool. It's got about a foot deep shine. The neck even has a shiny lacquer finish. Perfect wood used throughout.
Ric o Sound!
By: Chaka Hypoxia from NYC USA, anonmyous15418      Submitted: 10/2/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, well-crafted. She is like a brand new car! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the Ric-o-Sound feature! This bass comes with a second output jack to enable one to attain stereo sound! This requires the owner to seek out additional equipment such as a "y" cable and an additional instrument cable. fairly inexpensive and worth it for the sound. I just tried it today for the first time! I used my Ampeg PF500 and a Marshall 200 watt! this baby sounds better than ever. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Love everything about this bass and it's pickups. Especially the ability to split them. (See above.) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Like a mirror!
Waited nearly 30 years to get this.....Worth the wait.
By: Paul Werkmeister from Pittsburgh, PA, miser42@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/18/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This bass is solid. From Head to base, this instrument is top-notch. The quality of the hardware is match by the pick-ups, tone and the finish. It comes with a rugged case with ample room for everything you take with you. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The pick-up capacitor switch is a great feature. This makes the instrument very versatile. The standard mutes add a bit if class to this. I use them mainly to reproduce the Pino Paladino fretless tone. It does a pretty good job with that. Especially since it isn't a fretless. The neck through is rock solid and the binding looks fantastic. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone varies from extremely bright to the classic treble punch all the way down to a boomy low. Personally, I feel it shines in the mid/treble punch area. I use it with it's natural growl and some added overdrive but it sounds great at any setting. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I cannot describe the finish without using words like "brilliant", "gleaming", "slick", "beautiful" and "amazing" so I won't. It is a work of art. I opted for the Maple Glo because most of the reason I wanted to own this bass was because of Chris Squire. I grew up on his playing and his was nearly the same finish. You cannot understand how great this looks until you actually see it up close.
Love It!!!!!!
By: Jason from Windber, PA      Submitted: 5/23/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've had this bass since just before Christmas, and it hasn't let me down yet!! This is a very well made bass!! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best feature of this beast of of bass is everything!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I love the bright, snappy sound it produces. It really goes well with most music styles. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have the JetGlo finish, and it looks amazing!!
Loving my Ric
By: Mia from Lancaster, CA      Submitted: 5/1/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, this bass is of high quality. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? the sound. the overall feel and the appearance make for an awesome bass! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? There are so many different ways to adjust and set the tone. The tone is a little on the bright side, but with my rig, i have made adjustments and get the low growl I love! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have the Mapleglo and all I can say is that it was breath taking! BEAUTIFUL! I always get compliments on how great it looks!
Loading....