American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Roland GR55 Guitar Synthesizer  -  ROL GR55S LIST

Fantastic
By: Gary      Submitted: 4/10/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Amazing sounds. I have had an embarrassing amount of guitars, amps, and effects over the years and none of them match the fun factor/inspiration of this thing! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/a Action How was the action out of the box? N/a Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/a Reliability How has it stood up over time? N/a
Endless Possibilities !!
By: Reuben Hill from San Leandro, CA,USA      Submitted: 4/2/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

This Guitar synth is Amazing. It is so much more than I thought it would be.
By: Frank Sciara from Burnsville NC USA, oldmanshredd@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

great product
By: Richard Tomak      Submitted: 8/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Great sounds if you are patient in learning the device.
By: wmh0901 from Jackson, TN USA      Submitted: 12/7/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is well made. Metal housing no loose pieces. It is a quality device. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only had it about a month. The first pickup was not working properly but AMS set out a replacement very quickly. General Your general opinion of this product. Ok, there are some things I did not know when I purchased this. I wanted to sell my GT-10 when I bought this as I saw no need in both units. The problem with this one is that it has no other guitar in except for the GK3 pickup. I cannot simply plug my other guitar into this and use the tones. I has a guitar out but it only outputs the clean tone of whatever guitar model you choose. Now the cool part is that I can make my Les Paul sound like a classical guitar. I think this is where this unit shines is the guitar modeling. This is different than the regular synth tones as there are no tracking issues whatsoever. The nylon string guitar with a string overlay really sounds great. It even models bass guitars very well. Another issue that I have is that the Wah function is a modulation and falls under the other mod categories like Uni-Vibe, tremolo, etc. The problem is that you can truly only have one modulation at a time. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Take your time and set this thing up according to the instructions. I slapped the pickup on a Stratocaster with the the double sided tape and got ready to play. It sounded horrible. You need to get the distance correct from the strings to the pickup and you need to spend a lot of time with the setting to get it right. Once you do it will do some amazing things. You can run the USB into Logic or whatever computer program and see the notes you are playing in real time. It is not as good at translating the notes as the unit itself does but it is cool to play other instruments in Logic or Garageband. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Telecaster sound is great and a few of the acoustic guitars sound nice. It is a full blown synth so you need to study up on LFOs and TVAs and things like that and you can create some ridiculously cool sounds. Unlike other devices where you can get tired of the same sounds, I don't think that will be the case with this unit. My favorite tone is a jazz guitar, with a vibraphone and a little snare hit every time you play a note. Sounds like a three piece band. Alternate tunings on the fly are also awesome. I created a Kashmir tone and a classical guitar / cello tone tuned to an open G. Each patch can have a different tuning if you so wish. You will need to free user created floorboard editor as it makes getting around the device A LOT easier. Some tones sound like cheesy Casio sounds but that is always the case with multi-effect units. Some synth models don't cross over to guitar very well like the Harmonica. It sounds like crap. I do like the rotary organs with a crunch sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great look and bright display. I got the black unit. Action How was the action out of the box? You need to take your time and install the pickup correctly or you may want to send it back like I first did. You will also need to adjust your playing style slightly. You can't just plug it in and expect to play a Grand Piano sound note for note without adjusting the pickup and possible playing your guitar a little differently.
Absolutely "TOP SHELF"
By: Michael Rutherford from Culloden,WV USA, mykoe9@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/4/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Roland GR55 w/GK3 is the Absolute "Best" I've ever heard/seen/used/played, best guitar synth ever. It is extremely "Road Worthy", built like a tank, made for guitarists with a heavy foot(that's me). It does what I want it to do, when I want it to do it. I won't be wearing this thing out anytime soon, made for longevity and absolute dependability. Highly durable, down to the finish. Reliability How has it stood up over time? The switches and buttons on this unit are top notch, they won't wear out for quite some time, giving me a lot of years of the best synth sounds I've ever heard. I'll be workin' it hard as I play all the time and record on my off times. I love this thing, it is built right to last. General Your general opinion of this product. This is what I've wanted for a long time(years) and could not afford, but it's perfect how it worked out, being a new product that has been recently updated, and the latest version so I don't have to throw and old one away(like would anyway-NOT)Price is good plus a $100.00 rebate-can't beat that. The sounds in this synthesizer are absolutely incredible. I am playing orchestration on my songs and it sounds just like cellos/violins/brass/ all of it. My original material is now sounding like I did it in a huge pro-studio. Beautiful stuff. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The tracking on it is "Great". I always wondered about that with the older versions. A friend told me the older ones did fairly well also, but this one is a WOW in my book. It follows me wherever I go, and as fast as I can get there,(and that is pretty darn quick) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? There's a place in here that you can go into and change the tonal quality if it doesn't suit you, I did NOT have to do that at all. I use a real nice active PA cabinet(woofer & horn) and it's perfect all across the board, couldn't ask for more perfect tonal qualities. Sounds GREAT! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the black one, everything I have is black, so it matches all the things I have on stage, and just looks killer w/the big display that's easily seen. I don't have great eyesight, and I can see it just fine. Blue is nice but Black is beautiful on this Item. The finish will not be easy to hurt. It is a very nice looking piece of gear and it will look nice for a long time. Action How was the action out of the box? It tracks beautifully and goes where I go just as fast as I can get there. It does a GREAT job of following me. And I drive really fast. The action on the expression pedal is much better than I thought it would be, and an excellent wah-wah.
Great opportunity for guitarists to expand their ideas
By: Michael Irvine from Californian      Submitted: 8/22/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The product is made well. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a couple of weeks. General Your general opinion of this product. I like the Product. Great sounds in it. I plan to spend a lot of time creating my own patches and altering some of the presets. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It plays well for the most part. I will have to continue playing with the sensitivity some patches don't respond well, particularly on fast passages. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is nice for the most part There is not enough instruction on how to change patches and tone. I wish their was a better manual or a third party book on the subject. I have been relying on You Tube videos and internet searches which are most helpful. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The blue finish is great! Action How was the action out of the box? Like I mentioned above the response of the pickup is not always what I would like it to be.
Best effects ever!!
By: Dave from Akron, Ohio      Submitted: 8/22/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Best ever! Reliability How has it stood up over time? This will last and last. General Your general opinion of this product. Greatest ever!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels great and easy playing! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright & snappy. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great paint job.
Roland does it again
By: AJ Nemasis from Sierra Vista, AZ, USA      Submitted: 7/12/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The GR-55 is very well built. The only thing I would consider changing would be the 4 plastic selection foot switches to metal switches to match the rest of the units construction. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had the unit for about 1 month and I feel that it should last for a good many years. General Your general opinion of this product. I really like the GR-55. The COSM system really allows you to create some sounds that you would need to purchase multiple guitars and amps. Also the ability to run 2 different synth systems allows for a huge amount of sound landscape to make your dream music come alive. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The 4 foot switches and 1 continuous controller make for the system easy to control and run while practicing or gigging. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The unit has a full range of tonal control. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint job is very clean. Action How was the action out of the box? The unit worked well right out of the box with my Godin XTSA Solid Body 3-Voice Electric Guitar (Dark Trans Red)and it also worked well with the GK3 pickup that I setup on my ESP UltraTone Guitar.
Amazing Possibilities
By: Jack Servello from Shippensburg, PA, USA      Submitted: 6/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Top notch Metal case and great interface with the computer Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't really had all that long but I think it will hold up under the strain! General Your general opinion of this product. Finding new and different things everyday, I am loving it more and more!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It plays just as fast as I try to play! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great sounds all around! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Love anything in blue! Action How was the action out of the box? NOt applicable here
Guitar Synth at its best
By: Darryl Cliett from Augusta, GA US, drcliett@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Solid steel construction is great. Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. Got this unit as a birthday present. Definitely one of the best investments that could have been made. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box? Out of the box had some pretty good presets, just a little tweaking and they really jumped at you.
Best Guitar Synth Ever
By: Jerome E. Mathews from Waukegan IL, USA      Submitted: 3/13/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The build quality is "Tank Like" drop this on your toe it's off to the ER for sure. As I said before Roland makes some sturdy stuff. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't had it but about three weeks. Haven't put it down much in that time either , so far so good. General Your general opinion of this product. I'll start by saying I'm a big fan of Roland products, they are well made and can yield professional results once properly configured. The GR55 is a perfect example of that. I've owned the GR20 & GR33 and found them both to be very good synths. However with the GR55 there is no comparison. The tracking with the GR55 is incredible, I can practically "shred" on ANY patch with minimal to no droputs or errant ghost notes, and this is straight "Out the box" with minimal setup. I'm left handed using a Fender strat with the GK3 pickup. If you are left handed be SURE to install the pickup with the wire side under the low "E". This may seem like a no brainer but it's a lot easier installing it the other way because the cord is kind of short for us "Lefties". Once done however there are no problems with string senstivity setup , tuning , or tracking. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/A Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
A little bit over priced but worth it
By: jumborabbit from hurricane wv      Submitted: 2/23/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? the casing is pure metal the expression pedal is metal and the switches are very hard plastic..it is very heavy..its not gonna move around under your feet on stage ...very sturdy construction Reliability How has it stood up over time? dont know ..only had it a few days General Your general opinion of this product. I think the sounds are amazing and the control over all the tonal aspects is great. I think it could be a little cheaper but I guess considering the great sound and control, if lowering the price at all would affect this then I would say its priced good.And I didnt even have to remove my strings to install the gk3 pickup..its fit was just right on my Ibanez RG series guitar and all I had to do was put the double sided tape on it and slide it under the strings and press and it was installed. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? felt heavy Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? whatever you want you adjust it to your likes Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the color..although Ive seen others that wouldnt agree...they want black or whatever..but this if for studio use only and I like it Action How was the action out of the box? had to set up the pickup and adjust things...took about two hours all together ..after that I was jamming and having fun
Roland For The Win
By: from Oakland, CA      Submitted: 11/27/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, very well made. Seems quite sturdy so far. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Still pretty new to me General Your general opinion of this product. I was so excited to get this item. It has completely changed the way I play and write music. I'm so excited to learn this piece in and out but so far it's been an absolute pleasure to play with. It is well made, had great sounds, and tons of possibilities and options. A+ Roland! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? You can save your own modified sounds and with the GK3 pickup you can switch to the next sound without having to touch the synth. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Amazing tones! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looks fantastic. Action How was the action out of the box? Easy to get started - simple after pickup installation.
AMS Rocks
By: Gregerr from Caro,MI, USA, trentsrv@yahoo.com      Submitted: 8/30/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Roland gear is great made well for the road. Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. Roland is one of the best the GR-55 rocks out of the box. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box? Out of the box it took 2-3 days adjusting it took it to the gig on day 5 left my old gear at home sounded great.
Worth the wait.
By: cigarsnguitars from Lancaster, PA, anonmyous59736      Submitted: 5/26/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Have only had it a couple of weeks but seems to be well made. General Your general opinion of this product. Great product. Realistic modelling for amps and guitars as well as excellent synth sounds. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? See above. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? n/a Action How was the action out of the box? Right out of the box I was able to use the product. I have since tweaked a number of the patches (mostly guitar modelling) to suit my personal taste.
Noticeably better than any of the previous models
By: Guitarman from New England      Submitted: 5/25/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. I've owned most of the past Roland guitar synths and this new version doesn't disappoint. More synth sounds that work better an inclusion of some of the guitar models and amps is a huge improvement. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Wow. Finally Roland nailed it! The tracking is perfect...the sounds are phenomenal
By: Robbo from Cleveland, OH, napets@aol.com      Submitted: 5/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Reliability How has it stood up over time? Tank like construction General Your general opinion of this product. Great job Roland.....I kept up with the Roland synth evolution. But it was never quite right....until now. The sounds are beautiful...the tracking is spot on, and the versatility Of the gr-55 is much more than anything they've done in the past. I finally can recommend this powerhouse to anyone looking to sound great live or in the studio Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/A Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
I Love This Thing!!!!
By: Louis Schulte from Cincinnati Ohio, lschulte@cinci.rr.com      Submitted: 4/17/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The very highest quality construction. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I just purchased mine from American Musical last week so it’s too new to judge, but every Roland Product I own (and I own quite a few) has held up well over the years. General Your general opinion of this product. To truly appreciate the incredible power this device possesses you must invest your undivided attention to studying the manual and working with the editing parameters. And keep in mind... this is not a plug and play toy... It requires meticulous setup and calibration, but if you take the time to follow the instructions, the payoff is enormous .... The GR-55 is an extraordinary and sophisticated piece of equipment that is an instrument for creativity limited only by our individual imagination! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? If you set up your Guitar and the unit as instructed you will love the way it plays and sounds. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds Killer! Really wonderful... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This thing seems well designed and well constructed. Action How was the action out of the box? The GR-55 requires setup, but if you follow the manual to the letter you will appreciate what you learn and your experience with the unit will be much enhanced.
Loading....