American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
Item Reviews for: Roland GR55 Guitar Synthesizer  -  ROL GR55S LIST

Not as great as I hoped
By: Joe      Submitted: 10/24/2014

Overall Rating


General


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Too many odd combinations of sounds, not really usable as is. The GR33 had great patches that werent combined with other things. Im sure if I spend hours programing I can get what I want, however this thing is not usable right out of the box....Unless of course you are looking for an abundance of odd patch combos. I like the fact that you can setup patches for different tunings, more presets like this would have been a great feature out of the box,. The 2 or three I have found again combined with unusable synth patches. Really expected more professional patches from Roland.
Looks nice however, I can't use since it didn't came with the 13 Pin cable
By: Benjamin Lopez Jr      Submitted: 10/8/2014

Overall Rating


General


Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Seem excellent, if I only had the 13 pin cable... How can?
Pretty Cool Piece of Gear
By: Bryan Thompson      Submitted: 10/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Product works as i expected, one note you need a full range system to make all the tones and patches sound good or at all. I normal guitar amp will not be adequate for this piece of gear.
It's a pleasure to add this as part of my studio gear.
By: Pauly Bags      Submitted: 10/1/2014

Overall Rating


General


Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? The samples are very accurate and the variety is endless. For a composer that plays guitar it's a professional tool to create and explore many options.
AWESOME!!!
By: RODNEY ROANE from coos bay or.usa, rodneyroane@charter.net      Submitted: 6/27/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

This unit is SICK!
By: Jason Reese from Chapel Hill, NC Orange      Submitted: 5/6/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. With the touch of a button, a flick of the switch I'm instantly shredding on violin/piano/synth/brass etc. Get the f*** out of here. This thing is so stupid and amazing. I'm in love all over again.
Fantastic
By: Gary      Submitted: 4/10/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Amazing sounds. I have had an embarrassing amount of guitars, amps, and effects over the years and none of them match the fun factor/inspiration of this thing!
Endless Possibilities !!
By: Reuben Hill from San Leandro, CA,USA      Submitted: 4/2/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

This Guitar synth is Amazing. It is so much more than I thought it would be.
By: Frank Sciara from Burnsville NC USA, oldmanshredd@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/19/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

great product
By: Richard Tomak      Submitted: 8/18/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Great sounds if you are patient in learning the device.
By: wmh0901 from Jackson, TN USA      Submitted: 12/7/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Ok, there are some things I did not know when I purchased this. I wanted to sell my GT-10 when I bought this as I saw no need in both units. The problem with this one is that it has no other guitar in except for the GK3 pickup. I cannot simply plug my other guitar into this and use the tones. I has a guitar out but it only outputs the clean tone of whatever guitar model you choose. Now the cool part is that I can make my Les Paul sound like a classical guitar. I think this is where this unit shines is the guitar modeling. This is different than the regular synth tones as there are no tracking issues whatsoever. The nylon string guitar with a string overlay really sounds great. It even models bass guitars very well. Another issue that I have is that the Wah function is a modulation and falls under the other mod categories like Uni-Vibe, tremolo, etc. The problem is that you can truly only have one modulation at a time.
Absolutely "TOP SHELF"
By: Michael Rutherford from Culloden,WV USA, mykoe9@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/4/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. This is what I've wanted for a long time(years) and could not afford, but it's perfect how it worked out, being a new product that has been recently updated, and the latest version so I don't have to throw and old one away(like would anyway-NOT)Price is good plus a $100.00 rebate-can't beat that. The sounds in this synthesizer are absolutely incredible. I am playing orchestration on my songs and it sounds just like cellos/violins/brass/ all of it. My original material is now sounding like I did it in a huge pro-studio. Beautiful stuff.
Great opportunity for guitarists to expand their ideas
By: Michael Irvine from Californian      Submitted: 8/22/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I like the Product. Great sounds in it. I plan to spend a lot of time creating my own patches and altering some of the presets.
Best effects ever!!
By: Dave from Akron, Ohio      Submitted: 8/22/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Greatest ever!!
Roland does it again
By: AJ Nemasis from Sierra Vista, AZ, USA      Submitted: 7/12/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I really like the GR-55. The COSM system really allows you to create some sounds that you would need to purchase multiple guitars and amps. Also the ability to run 2 different synth systems allows for a huge amount of sound landscape to make your dream music come alive.
Amazing Possibilities
By: Jack Servello from Shippensburg, PA, USA      Submitted: 6/5/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Finding new and different things everyday, I am loving it more and more!!
Guitar Synth at its best
By: Darryl Cliett from Augusta, GA US, drcliett@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/29/2012

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Got this unit as a birthday present. Definitely one of the best investments that could have been made.
Best Guitar Synth Ever
By: Jerome E. Mathews from Waukegan IL, USA      Submitted: 3/13/2012

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I'll start by saying I'm a big fan of Roland products, they are well made and can yield professional results once properly configured. The GR55 is a perfect example of that. I've owned the GR20 & GR33 and found them both to be very good synths. However with the GR55 there is no comparison. The tracking with the GR55 is incredible, I can practically "shred" on ANY patch with minimal to no droputs or errant ghost notes, and this is straight "Out the box" with minimal setup. I'm left handed using a Fender strat with the GK3 pickup. If you are left handed be SURE to install the pickup with the wire side under the low "E". This may seem like a no brainer but it's a lot easier installing it the other way because the cord is kind of short for us "Lefties". Once done however there are no problems with string senstivity setup , tuning , or tracking.
A little bit over priced but worth it
By: jumborabbit from hurricane wv      Submitted: 2/23/2012

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I think the sounds are amazing and the control over all the tonal aspects is great. I think it could be a little cheaper but I guess considering the great sound and control, if lowering the price at all would affect this then I would say its priced good.And I didnt even have to remove my strings to install the gk3 pickup..its fit was just right on my Ibanez RG series guitar and all I had to do was put the double sided tape on it and slide it under the strings and press and it was installed.
Roland For The Win
By: from Oakland, CA      Submitted: 11/27/2011

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I was so excited to get this item. It has completely changed the way I play and write music. I'm so excited to learn this piece in and out but so far it's been an absolute pleasure to play with. It is well made, had great sounds, and tons of possibilities and options. A+ Roland!
Loading....