American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Takamine EG524SC Jumbo Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  TAK EG524SCNS LIST

Amazing value - great tone
By: Big Tom's Music from Tampa Bay Florida, USA      Submitted: 2/1/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Good Quality Built Guitar
By: Steven Prchlik from Flushing, Michigan      Submitted: 9/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The guitar is a well built nice looking guitar. The only criticism I have is that the action was fairly high and a general setup is required. But this is a fairly common thing as most people have specific feels they like. The factory rated playability as 16/20. The sound it great and the quality of build very good. Once I get this guitar setup it will be a excellent guitar. The price per quality ratio is second to none. Excellent purchase for the money. I am a fairly picky guitar consumer but all I can say is that a setup is needed and that is typical for me. Excellent guitar which I would recommend. Sounds great and nice full bodied sound with good volume. I have not plugged in since I do not have a amp currently but I am confident it will be great. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well built with beautiful wood used. Bracing is very good and guitar feels very solid. Was not built by just throwing together. Care was used in building. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Light weight, nice neck. action a little high for my liking but this is an easy fix. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Warn rich tone, smooth tone. Good loud volume from the jumbo body. Action How was the action out of the box? Higher then I would like. Definitely requires a setup for my liking and a different lighter gauge string installed. I do not see this as a game changer. No big dal to makie right to my liking. To each is own. others my find it good. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very pretty guitar with quality finish Reliability How has it stood up over time? I think it will be great. Very well built.
The Sound of this Takamine G- series is unbelievably Awesome !
By: hadzimurad- usa from N Hollywood, CA- usa, hadzimurad@yahoo.com      Submitted: 9/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I got this Takamine from AMS. They are good online Musical Supply online Store ever. They are email me the Holiday Promotion and I bought it at once. Great Guitar! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Craftmanship is good, Not quality like Yamaha A -Series but still OK, Remember: the Takamine has A big body, but is not heavy. Tune didital on board work well! Frets are Precise ! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I can Play Smoothly, very EZ to run finger thru'uot to 17 th Fret. Neck feels very comfortable.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is bright, not mellow like Yamaha. But The latter is Twice of the Price ( Yamaha included avery Good Hard case for FRREEE!..though) Action How was the action out of the box? Action out of box- of the Brand NEW guitar- is Bad. I have to adjust several times the Bow- Warp nut to my own liking. I'm kind a bithchy about Guitar Quality and Feel.!And in the end I got the Action I want. Must Stretch the new set A'ddario string to your liking. If you are Pro. OK. ( See video by Joe Walsh- of The Eagles) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Guitar paint and overall is better than the Martin Guitar @ music store.which I tried. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I think Guitar will last( lifetime Warranty) , BUT Not sure about the Electronixs inside TK 40 preAmp. Warranty only 1 year by A company in CT. state..
Exceeded my expectations
By: Ed Ryland from Monroe, La USA      Submitted: 9/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Finally-Resonable and Very Nice
By: Neil from Texas      Submitted: 5/1/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar. Huge sound, warm and expressive, nice small neck for easy of movement and fingering. Awesome guitar and I've been looking and testing many guitars, this passes the reasonable price guitar with an amazing, warm high-quality sound. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very Nice Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fantastic--I had a Taylor Grand Auditorium and prefer this guitar feel, neck and sound. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Really expressive mids and highs--resonant lows somewhere in between warm and bright--- Action How was the action out of the box? out of the box, just perfect.
A Disappointment from Takamine Guitars
By: Jerry Brown from Denison, Texas USA      Submitted: 4/14/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I own 3 other Takamine guitars and have always been impressed with Takamine Guitars regardless of the price but this one is the exception. I sent the first 2 back and the third one still has issues. The issues are with the binding on the neck. It has a hump at where the binding is at where the neck and body meets. I asked AMS to check this location out before sending a replacement and they replied that all of this model have a problem at this location, I don't believe that this will affect the guitar with time but it is a disappointment they are all like this coming from Takamine. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't had this one to know. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall the guitar has a loud and clear sound and other than the binding the quality inside and out is marginal. There are areas where it wasn't sanded down enough where you can see lines of wood not sanded even to the surface. Looks like someone hurried to finish this guitar. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It definitely needs a setup when you receive the guitar. The action is high (at least for me). The neck seems smooth but bumpy in spots. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has a bright tone and the bass isn't overbearing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish looks clean and the wood stands out. Overall is it a stunning looking guitar. Action How was the action out of the box? Action on the first two guitars was decent compared to others I have purchased. The last one I received Is way high.
Can't believe this guitar!
By: Paul from Metairie, LA      Submitted: 3/25/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? A+-And to think I only paid $320 with free shipping for a guitar this good. Friends who've played it are all blown away. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it a few weeks but I play it every day. I take care of my guitars so this one will last me a very long time. General Your general opinion of this product. I have a Yamaha, Zager, and other lesser named guitars and this one if the best of the group. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It's a big guitar (duh, Jumbo) and it sounds like it. Great action all the way up the neck. Stays tuned after hours of playing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The stock strings are Elixir and that's what I buy for my guitars. Rich tone, spreads thru the room. The electronics may not be as good as some of my guitars but are more than adequate. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful finish. Looks like it cost 3 times as much. Action How was the action out of the box? I didn't have to do anything to this guitar when I got it. Still haven't weeks later.
A super high quality BIG guitar.
By: EGB from Dryden, NY USA      Submitted: 9/6/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a very well made guitar. The solid top is thick, not flimsy at all. I do have to say the first one I recieved had a few issues, but AMS paid all shipping charges for the return and sending the exchange. They were VERY helpful and supportive. It, quite literally took 3 days from the time I sent it back to having the new one on my doorstep. Superb service in every way. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I haven't had it for all that long, so I'll get back to you on this one. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a beautiful, elegant and sounds shockingly wonderful. I was playing an NEX sized guitar and this one just blows every other sized guitar out of the water. I, for the most part, love the string through bridge and, obviously, not having to deal with bridge pins. They also chose to use the two saddle bridge they, mostly, only use on their much higher end models I don't know how Takamine can make a guitar of this quality for such a ridiculously low price. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Being a Jumbo, it is naturally very big and quite hefty. The exceptionally great sound makes it worth every inch and ounce. The neck is slender and smooth, therefore very comforatable and easy to play. It has the top of the line electronics available for G series guitars. Everything seems to be in order, but I've only spent a small amount of time trying it. The onboard tuner is always a nice little feature. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Just a gorgeous all around smooth sound and loud enough to wake up just about everyone in the house, even when it's unamplified. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No issues at all. It's all satin and very elegant. Action How was the action out of the box? The action was really good, too. Medium although, I assume like most Takamines, there are easy to remove shims under both the saddles to make the action as low as you'd like. Be gentle with the pickup, but it's not rocket science. I'd remove the same number of shims under each of two saddles.
Loading....