American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Tascam 2488neo Multitrack Digital Recorder  -  TAS 2488NEO LIST

This is great
By: Dennis Mendoza from Central Texas      Submitted: 6/8/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? First time user, very easy. One the way to doing big things. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? This is a perfect tool. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very playable, easy to use, out of the box. Sound How is the tone? Superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it brand new. General Your general opinion of this product. I am very pleased.
I have original 2488 have no problems with that unit ,bought new one for spare
By: Steve from Wilbraham Ma. USA      Submitted: 6/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Im assuming the NEO will perform the same Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? havent got in to that yet but i have done a couple of song i like it Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? almost the same as 2488 Sound How is the tone? I like the sound, room to play with the Reliability How has it stood up over time? really i can only rate the original, with 5 stars its been trustworthy General Your general opinion of this product. i like enough to buy a newer version ( neo )
Soooo easy to use
By: Tommy from Phoenix, AZ, anonmyous42052      Submitted: 3/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made, but it's still very light considering the physical dimensions Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Stand alone unit, no PC or MAC needed. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to use, especially since there is no PC or MAC needed. The manual is good, describes functions of the features, but the DVD really shows you how to use all the features. Sound How is the tone? n/a Reliability How has it stood up over time? Used almost every day since December 2011, no problems. General Your general opinion of this product. Worth every penny.
Great Value
By: Lance from Spring Grove, IL      Submitted: 3/19/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be well made. Everything seems solid. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Best thing: The size and amount of features contained within the small size. I would add visual meters to the dynamics i.e. so you can see how much reduction is taking place with the compressor rather than just dialing up the numbers. Also, add trimming capability to master track without having to go back to original recording and cut and edit that and/or allow master recording (mixdown) to start wherever you desire rather than always starting at head of recording. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Machine is pretty simple to use. I do find myself refering back to the manual a lot but it only takes a minute to figure out whatever it is I'm trying to do. Understanding the effects and dynamics section was the most confusing part for me. Still not sure I totally get it, but it's doing what I need it to do so I'm happy. Sound How is the tone? Have had no issues with sound quality. So far no drops, glitches, freezes, or anything negative. I was concerned the little meter bars might be an issue but they are very responsive and easy enough to see. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Have only had for a couple weeks. Maybe logged 30 hrs into it so far. General Your general opinion of this product. So far, worth every penny. The couple things that bug me so far wouldn't deter me in the least from having bought the machine.
Easiest way to capture your band live.
By: Seth Hofstetter from Smithton, MO, USA, anonmyous42048      Submitted: 1/28/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far, so good. The pots and sliders seem very fragile, so I definitely recommend getting a case for it. We got the World Tour case made specifically for the NEO, and it works perfect. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best feature...multiple inputs, with more tracks than most would ever use. Internal effects are decent, but a much better quality can be obtained from external peripherals. I would add more inputs, including at least two stereo inputs. I would also include some amp modeling (such as the COSM that's in my Boss ME-70). A direct control interface for a peripheral computer would be nice, as well. Currently it takes a good portion of time to transfer wave files back and forth, a direct interface would likely be faster. A better visual of the actual wave forms would negate even having to use a DAW for precise editing. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I bought my Neo about a month ago. There is a bit of a curve in it's use, and if you are unfamiliar with the terms used in recording, or in the function of the various effects, I would strongly recommend educating yourself before purchase. With no additional externals, the Neo is capable of producing a high quality home recording. With a little extra money in added equipment(mics, processors, effects) you can achieve a studio quality recording at a fraction of the cost, if you have the know-how and stubborn determination. The manual is somewhat helpful, but brings up about as many questions as it answers; and again, if you already have some working knowledge of audio engineering. I intend to have my Neo for some time, and through many projects. Sound How is the tone? However you want it to be...The Neo captures exactly what goes in. We've experienced some e.q. issues with Line 6 (too much high end, but it doesn't show till moved to a DAW for detailed edits), easily overcome with software or just the internal e.q. on the NEO Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't owned it long, but, from what I've seen on user forums, and product reviews, and even from my own limited experience, it's a well built product with excellent customer support. General Your general opinion of this product. I love the product. The first night of recording my band I knew this was exactly what we needed. Our rough recordings are better than anything we'd done previously, and with the capabilities of the NEO we can capture better quality recordings, as well as live recording to sync up to video clips (to use in the press kit, and on the website).
Easily worth the money spent.
By: Jeff Crook from Hammond, IN - United States      Submitted: 12/28/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The features and flexability this unit offers is unsurpased. I would buy this again, it is very good. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? let's see, 24 tracks, 250 virtual tracks, 80 gig HD, usable guitar effects from distortion to chorus to acoustic simulation. Great EQ capabilities per individual track, compression per track or when mastering, Phantom power available on 4 of 8 inputs. Ability to record up to 8 tracks at once. Ability to cut and paste just like on computer based software. Just a really well thought out machine. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The manual that comes with this machine is BAD with a capitol B. Had I not bought the "How to" DVD I probably would have returned the machine. That would have been a shame because as a "studio in a box" this machine is fantastic! Well worth the money. I've been playing for over 30 years. Sound How is the tone? sound is fantastic, ability to record at 24 bit or 16 bit, can't be beat. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far, so good, had it for about 2 1/2 to 3 months but it feels solid and well made. General Your general opinion of this product. Very happy with this purchase. Prio to this I owned 2 Fostex machines, MR8 and MR 16. Neither gave me the kind of control over my tone this does nor did they offer phantom power, compression, and could only record up to 4 tracks at once. They had no virtual tracks either and the built in distortion was bad. Having said all that, even with several years of recording experience with the Fostex, the manual that comes with the Tascam is possibly the worst i have ever tried to comprehend. Buy the DVD, you will wish you had if you choose not to.
Never Miss Another Killer Session Again
By: SHof from Smithton, MO, USA      Submitted: 12/25/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's fairly well weighted, and balanced...the outer casing seems fairly rugged, and metal, for the most part. The pots and sliders seem relatively fragile, but sensitive, so I bought the appropriate case for added protection when in transit (with the price, as low as it is for what it is, I strongly urge anyone buying this to get the case as well). Nice Thick power cable. I do, however, worry about the durability of the LCD screen, as it's profile could run the risk of being damaged, if in the hands of a buffoon or a klutz. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the fact that each channel is recorded as a separate track, if anything, I'd love to see more channels. I did NOT like the internal effects provided for guitar, too much high end, and not enough depth or presence. I really like that live sound an amplifier makes, though. I am eagerly anticipating the results of the mastering function, and hope to produce more than a few albums on this machine. The simple fact that for so little you can record, mix, and master as many recordings as you want, liberates bands from the more conventional means of production...just remember, it takes years to master anything, when you pay a professional, you buy their experience. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? If you've had a little recording experience, at least enough to be familiar with terms, you should be able to learn 2488's use with relative ease. I've been messing with digital recorders, DAW freeware, and this has been a major upgrade for my band. 8 channels in, no BS, just major flexibility. When you find yourself not knowing what to do next, consult the manual...it's really that easy. Sound How is the tone? Great, what goes in comes back out, or really close to it. It's really important to know that your recording will sound like what you played when you recorded it. Especially after spending the time to get just the perfect tone from your amp. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Don't know, only owned it for a short time....I have high hopes. General Your general opinion of this product. I LOVE it. This machine is exactly what I've craved for the last decade. The only improvements I could possibly suggest are more of what Tascam has already done in the 2488.
Dont Let Me Down
By: Mario aka MAYHAM MANIA as well as BROSKIE from Kenosha Wi, USA, marioddavis@hotmail.com      Submitted: 12/13/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This product looks sturdy. Does it come in differnt colors. I saw someone on youtube unboxing one and his looks like its a darker shade of black. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Just being able to record at home and burn a cd is whwat I was looking for to begin to dive into this project. I know that there are free softwares available (audacity, etc) that can allow for multitrack recording however I wanted something sturdier within my garage studio. I have yet to record but I just did purchase my drums so I just need a bass which is coming any day now and a new guitar. All the features look nice, its favorable to have effects within the 2488 itself, I will utilize them as I begin to record my sounds. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I purchased this with hopes of releasing my own garage produced LP. I have looked at many youtube videos and I feel that this should be a piece of cake to administer. I use to have a fostex vf160 but I gave up on my dream at the time but since the vf160 is discontinued I decided to go with the 2488. i HAVE GONE over the manual and everything appears to be ready for me to begin the recording process, "wish me success." Sound How is the tone? In the works... Reliability How has it stood up over time? Well I havent had it for more than 2 weeks however this machine looks like a great tool to utilize for live recording. I'm a singer songwiter so this is a tool that Im counting on for the recording of my songs.. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall I like the look. I purchased this to record music and I feel that once the learning curve subsides, I should be recording any day. Currently its 12/13/2011 and I have the item under my tree. I opened it just to marvel at its beauty
I knew this would be the one....
By: Michael Sullivan from Spokane, Wa.      Submitted: 11/27/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? A lot of people complain that it is plastic. But it is only the top caseing, the bottom is metal. It is very well build, I wouldn't have any problem taking this out to record a band live. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? It's a Tascam and they know how to build a great product in a world of do everything half-way, this product does alot and does it very well. The ease of use and layout is supperb. I do recommend as other have here, to order the Proaudio dvd on the machine to get you running right out of the box like I did. The manual is a must read too, no cheating. Lots of features which are outstanding so far. I will love the mastering section for final touches on cd's! Great addition to the line. Buy this machine if you are serious about home recording!! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Took it out of the box, hooked up the monitors and some tube preamps I own and processors, was playing the demo song and messing with controls immediately! Sound How is the tone? This this sounds fantastic. I never knew my little M-Audio Studiopro 4's could sound like that! I've got a Tascam U-800 interface on my computer which sounds great but this....wow! Reliability How has it stood up over time? All my Tascam equipment has stood the test of time and travel. Never an issue, General Your general opinion of this product. I've had it for less than 24 hrs and I am stooked!! Can't wait to use this on my next project.
Easy to Use Great Sound
By: from Newport Vermont      Submitted: 11/8/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far so good Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? TIP FOR WEAK MIC SIGNAL: Assign Input Source EQ pregain +6 and Input Track EQ pregain +6. MASTERERING is a big feature not found in other recorders. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? After I read the manual and read some forums online I found this easy to use. Sound How is the tone? I bounce individual real tracks from Band in a Box into the 2488, add vocals, lead... Voila complete song in less than an hour Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far no issues General Your general opinion of this product. I love Tascam Products. I owned a Tascam 388 Reel to Reel years ago. I also own a Tascam DR 07 handheld to capture field jams and songs in the rough.
MY 2488NEO
By: GR4 PRODUCTIONS from NYC      Submitted: 10/3/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? GREAT Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? ALL Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? LOVE IT Sound How is the tone? GREAT Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. THE BEST RECORDING EQUIPMENT I INVESTED IN
well worth it!!
By: Mikel from Hardwick NJ      Submitted: 9/15/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? not sure of the dependability I havent had it that long but the quality seems all there Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? lots! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I personally need time to fully work it but if you can be patients no problem. Sound How is the tone? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. A great recorder packed with options and priced right!
Outstanding Recorder for the Money
By: Ron Skidmore from Stoneville,NC,USA      Submitted: 8/31/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The 2488 NEO is built reasonably well, theres a lot of plastic but it is not a flimsy peice of junk either. So far I have had no problems with the recorder, it seems to be a dependable peice of equiptment. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? This recorder is loaded with features such as eq's, compressors and multi effects etc. For me it has all I need to make a very professional recording. I would really like to see Tascam create a Monitor interface for this recorder, having a computer monitor attached to this recorder would be awesome. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The Tascam 2488 NEO has many features and for the most part easy to use and the manual is very informative on how to navigate thru the menus and different functions this recorder has. I highly recommend the Tascam 2488 Neo DVD Tutorial, this video is very helpful to get you up and running quickly. Sound How is the tone? This recorder sounds GREAT, I am recording keyboards into the 2488 NEO stereo and the effects from the sounds in the keyboards are killer on the recorder such as panning etc. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have owned the Tascam 2488 NEO for less than a month so it's a little soon for me to give an accurate report on it's reliability, however in the short time I have had it I have really put it through the paces and it seems to function just fine. It being a Tascam really sold me on buying this recorder because of the quality gear they have had in the past. General Your general opinion of this product. I am very pleased with this recorder, I am still learning everything it does because it has so many features but so far this is a great recorder.
it comes with a 160gb hard drive
By: jumborabbit from hurricane wv      Submitted: 8/24/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? ive only had it a week so I dont know how dependable it will be..but it is made well form what ive seen so far Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? so far i havent had it that long but I like what ive used Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? it takes a bit of time to get used to it but its worth it Sound How is the tone? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. I think for the price it cant be beat..
8-trks at once 4 leaa than a grand? You Bet!
By: F. H. from Colorado      Submitted: 7/25/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is not an SM-58, or a cheapy drum set, It's a recording unit. Treat it like one, instead of treating it like your road gear, and you will NEVER have a problem. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? With out question, the ability to record 8-tracks live, for less than a grand, AND it cariies the Tascam name, IS the reason to buy this unit Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? There is a learnig curve, but there always is with new equpment, and if you've ever work with a computer recording program, this will become very familiar, very quickly. Sound How is the tone? This is as transperant and true as it gets. Reliability How has it stood up over time? This is an upgrade, second generation of a machine I had for 3-years before selling it to buy this one. Never had a problem with the old one, and expect the same from thisone. Have owned many Tascams over last 45 years, and never any un-expected servicings. General Your general opinion of this product. At the top of the "Bang 4 Buck" scale here. My only complaint is a minor cosmetic problem that maby one in a million would ever even have seen. One of the buttons on the face was soldered to the cucuit board slightly out of flush to the rest. ;)
get what you pay for
By: drell from bradenton, fl      Submitted: 6/21/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Tascam is an old "g" and you can't beat the price Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? If you are into recording live whether its a band or straight vocals this is great. But if your more into digital sound recording and voice effects its not. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? With a little from the.manual its a breeze. Sound How is the tone? Sound is pretty good. Just check and recheck volume levels to get that high studio volume Reliability How has it stood up over time? Don't move while.in use but I guess that goes for anything. General Your general opinion of this product. Live recording great.
Loading....