American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Tascam DP24 Digital Portastudio Recorder  -  TAS DP24 LIST

I'm Amazed
By: massimo88 from Pottsville, PA      Submitted: 4/8/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I had a Tascam T-38 1/2" 8 track that I used for years. Which means, I had to have a mixer, a rack packed with compressors, reverbs and delays. Spend an arm and a leg to have heads replaced. Now bouncing channels doesn't mean loss of sound quality. Oh yeah, and it doesn't cost $80.00 for a 20 minute roll of 1/2 tape. And, you don't have to have a two track real to real to do the mix down. It does take some getting use to using the inboard effects, the compressors and especially the delays don't have the same detailed settings as the compressors and delays as the outboard gear with my analog rig, but then again, you mix with your ears and not with your eyes. Plus, the capability to not ony mix down, but to master also. I do miss are being able to do individual headphone mixes for the other players, and not having the capability to set individual instrument compressions when recording rhythm tracks. But for the price, it really is a steal! The sound quality is amazing! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is the third recorder I've owned by Tascam, and it's well made. And after two years still working like a charm. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Being that I had experience in using multitrack recorders it was relatively simple to use. The only difference was learning that unlike analog, driving a signal into the red "is not" musical. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best thing about this package is the sound quality, and ease of use. Added features, being able to record twelve tracks at once, and insert points on the channelsfor use with a patch bay and outboard gear Sound How is the tone? As said earlier, what you put in, is what you get out. Use good recording techniques, decent mics, know the magic frequencies of the instruments, and you you could make a very good quality recording. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have it almost two years, and it's doing great.
Ya Babe!!!!
By: Craig S Blanchard from United States      Submitted: 8/15/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Best investment I could have made for the price. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Very sturdy. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Super easy to use. Was up and recording in 5 min flat Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? All the effects built into the board sound great. The display guides you through all the way. Sound How is the tone? Sounds great. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Totally!!!
Isn't compatible with wav files from some other sources.
By: FloydtheBarber from Hammond, LA, USA      Submitted: 6/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. for stand alone, if this is all you will use, it works well. If you are using and mixing other external wave files, it's a no go. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality is good Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Easy to use Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Make Darn sure the wav driver is compatible with imported wav files. Sound How is the tone? good tone Reliability How has it stood up over time? so far so good
Very Nice product
By: spider from Beckley usa      Submitted: 4/23/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The materials used to make this product appear to be very good. It is very well made. The buttons and sliders are first rate and should last Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I haven't used it enough to really give a fare assessment, Bouncing tracks is very easy. I was recording immediately.I haven't fully explored the inboard guitar effects but some are very good and some I didn't care for that much...I rather record from the amp. I haven't mastered anything as of yet but I am sure they will be great. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Well I bought the video from tascam so it gave me a head start. Although the video was pricey it was worth every dime. I highly recommend it. Everything so far has been very easy. Sound How is the tone? It is very true to sound . I use a SM-57 and record from the amp. I was very pleased that it recorded true to sound. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Unknown as I have only had it for 3 weeks General Your general opinion of this product. I haven't used other products that are comparable. But I have used computer based recording and have always been very frustrated. This unit put the fun and enjoyment back into music for me.
Finally Satisfied
By: Ordained for The Work from North Charleston, SC      Submitted: 4/1/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's very well made. Solid with a great functional feel on all moving parts. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I favor the ease of use with the EQ, effects, and mixing/mastering functions. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? not a difficult learning curve, the system takes most of the guess work out of it, so achieving your goals comes a lot sooner. Sound How is the tone? Professional sound with no-noise preamps. makes me sound better than I might be....lol Reliability How has it stood up over time? haven't had it long, so it's hard to say; but so far, so good. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm loving it. I think TASCAM has hit a sure homerun with this one. If my daughter, who is not engineering savvy, can learn this in a short time, anyone can. Finally made it easy for everyone. Outstanding!!!!!!!!!
works good with updates
By: paul from fresno,ca,usa      Submitted: 2/12/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? if you download the updates from tascam site it's fairly easy to transfer to the tascam with usb from computer.you dont have to put the smart card in computer. so far it's dependable but get a 16 or 32 gb card if you want to record in 24 bit. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? the best feature is that you can get a decent recording without a buch of add on components besides mics and amp simulators and drum machine,i do instrumentals.i dont like recording on computers this is more convenient. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? if you recorded before no problem. if your totally new than read carefully the manuel and go on a forum to ask questions or you can and should get the video on it. Sound How is the tone? the sound is clean and defined in 24 bit or even 16 bit the ears cant tell the difference but you can somehow sense it's cleaner in 24 bit.tone is warm also Reliability How has it stood up over time? only time can tell if it will last, i hope it last long. General Your general opinion of this product. so far it's a very good product and bottom line. it's very inexspensive,, not too long ago this technology would have cost well over one thousand as someone mentioned.
The Big Boy's dont have all the fun!
By: Audie Milligan A from West Hollywood, CA, audieaguirre@netzero.com      Submitted: 12/2/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made.If you make an attempt to take care of,it will give you years and years of service Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? 24 channells to record with,this could get dangerous.more ways of accessing outboard F/X's unit's. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? very easy once you read the manuel or heavan forbid you could buy a DVD for something like $24.95.a total rip,it should have just come with the unit considering how abject is the operating manuelis to understand Sound How is the tone? It does not have tone but it faithfully reproduces what you record and thats stone cold awesome. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I had mine a little over a years know and despite the constant use it gets,it's in the same shape as the day as I bought it General Your general opinion of this product. 24 channells of Heavan.
The best recorder
By: Roses on Fire from Northumberland New Hampshire      Submitted: 9/28/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Totally dependable Sound How is the tone? This could sound as a ton of bricks, just awesome
Great concept but it has design issues
By: from unkownlocation77912      Submitted: 7/6/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks nice and sounds nice but the hardware/firmware integration is not mature. Perhaps in a future firmware release. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? It has the best features ever. I have a Tascam Porta Studio 488 I acquired in the 90's, and they concept has evolved to compete with DAW's. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? If you have used mixers, this product is super easy to use. Sound How is the tone? Beautiful. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Negative. I went through 2 units in two months and they have major issues. I am not a big complainer, and I've never written a bad review, so I hope to be constructive here, but these units have the tendency to go into feedback loop, especially when you use the marker function in conjunction with the punch-in function. This resulted in the loudest feedback you can imagine (I took it through the headphones). It is still "imprinted in my brain" if you know what I mean. After I returned the 1st unit I was going to "keep it to myself", but after the 2nd unit did the same thing, I decided to share my experience with the music community. Maybe Tascam will come up with a fix (i.e. a new downloadable firmware release). General Your general opinion of this product. Is a great concept and I hope Tascam acknowledge this issue and comes up with a fix. I've been a Tascam user for many years and I'd like them to continue through a successful path.
I love it
By: Monstaar from Watertown, WI      Submitted: 5/2/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality seems good and rugged. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to use. I just skimmed through the manual before use and really didn't even need to do that. Works quite like any analog multi-track. Sound How is the tone? Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had this unit almost a month and it is doing fine so far. General Your general opinion of this product. I have been using this unit to capture my 4 track analog demos to digital for remastering, so my experience is only 4 simultaneous tracks at a time. But the recording is flawless and I have had NO problems after about 200 songs captured so far. The only thing I wish it had was a pan knob for each track. Panning is easy, just not "ideal".
Excellent recorder-this will work for anyone.
By: Gary M from Nunda NY      Submitted: 4/8/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Heavy recorder. Seems very sturdy. If you take care of it and give it a nice padded room to live, should outlive me. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Great for live recording of a band, or if you are a do it all yourself musician/singer and like to multi-track all by yourself. I have done both and am extremely pleased with this recorder. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Fairly simple to use with simple instructions mapped out in the manual. Sound How is the tone? Reproduces sounds true to form as any digital recorder should. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only just recently purchased (3/2012), but I have Tascam recorders from the 80's and 90's (cassette) that still work fine. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall a quality device for not a ton of money. Tascam is one of the best and always has been.
Loading....