American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Taylor 314CE Grand Auditorium Acoustic Electric wCase  -  TAY 314CE2012 LIST

Pleasantly surprised
By: Bryan from Manistee      Submitted: 1/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. For an entry level Taylor, it plays and sounds beautiful. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I would say that this guitar is good overall quality and should hold up to whatever paces I will put it through. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels very comfortable. No hard edges. Not too big, not too small. Neck is comfortable and smooth. The fretboard is very smooth and comfortable as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I'm sure the strings it came with have a little to do with the overall sound. That being said, the sound was very balanced. Not too dark, not to bright. Plugging it into the pa is where this Taylor really shined. The bottom end was very punchy and pronounced. The top had just the right amount of brightness and chime. I was very pleased with the tone and the response to the changes I made in the eq setting. Action How was the action out of the box? The action out of the box, was a little high for my taste, but I just did a quick truss rod adjustment and yielded the results I was looking for. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Clear was perfect. there was some light spots in the spruce top where the laminated pieces were joined. I suspect maybe a little adhesive stain. Noticeable but not hideous. I felt that it added a little character. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just purchased it so I can't share anything on the test of time.
great in every way,looks, sound, and customer service
By: greg bower from bryan tx. usa      Submitted: 1/3/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

very nice guitar.. worth the money..
By: james from Haughton, La.      Submitted: 10/6/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Hard to find flaws. Only negative thing I can say is that it was not in tuned when I got it. Very nice guitar!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? OOhh yes!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? plays great.. I do not like the sound through my PA. Through the Marshall is a lot better.. could use some improvement in this area.. Still not bad after adjusted with effects - I am talking straight sound.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? without amps no problem - I can live with it.. Lacks a little in the electronics - But it is the cheapest model and I DO plan on getting an upgrade.. Still very happy with this guitar!! You have to be - very fun to play.. Action How was the action out of the box? Out of tune.. Only problem and not a bad one if I do say so.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great.. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Had it for about 5 months and only gets better..
Worth every penny.
By: Hubcap from Kentucky      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Always liked the 314
By: Pleasant Lindsey from St. Louis MO      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Tone wood preferences are subjective, I prefer the sound I get from this guitar un plugged. For references my other electric acoustic guitars include an Ovation Celebrity, a Faith Venus and a Composite Acoustics. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have never seen a poorly made Taylor. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is smooth, the action was low but buzz free, which is good for my touch - your mileage may vary. The neck is not chunky and the guitar is light weight. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The back and sides are solid Sapele, which seems to help the notes project. There is still decent top end to the notes and chords. Action How was the action out of the box? I have not adjusted bridge, don't think I will. It is humid here in the summers, will wait until winter and see if it needs any adjustments. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Scratch-and-dent purchase.
Great Guitar But....
By: Dave from Texas      Submitted: 6/30/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar! This is my second 314CE, I have a 2003 model 314CE which is now my backup guitar live and the new 314ce I just bought is my new player. This is a review so I am going to be honest and I have to say The ES pickup system sounds great in live situations but I personally dont like it when recording, it makes your acoustic guitar sound like its in a tin can, I tried eq-ing the tin can sound out with a mixer, LR Baggs para DI before tracking and with Pro Tools post Tracking to no avail. The guitar sounded great with a mic on it though. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very, my 2003 model still sounds great even after 2 fret jobs and live stage use every weekend for years, outdoors on a festival circuit. I hope the new one is as good. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels great, I didn't want to get used to the feel of a new guitar so I ordered the same model I had before and they feel exactly the same in my hands. Cud-dos to Taylor for consistency. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Guitar its self has great tone, it's loud with not too much bass and not to much treble (didn't like the elixer strings at all though, first thing I did was get rid of those). The ES system however is great live but I don't really care for the ES tone if you put it under a microscope in a recording situation. Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect Reliability How has it stood up over time? I still use my 10 year old one for backup and mostly as a DADGAD tuned guitar on stage, so from my personal experience Taylor makes a very solid guitar.
Taylor, enough said.
By: plm from Marshallberg NC 28553      Submitted: 4/29/2013

Overall Rating


Action


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Craftsmanship and dependable, in tune every time I take it out of the case. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far it looks like a show room piece. General Your general opinion of this product. Love it, I have 5 Taylor's and 1 Martin. I tend to pick up the Taylor's every time. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck on a Taylor guitar was one of the major selling point with me. It is hands down the most comfortable guitar I have ever played and I have played a lot of different guitars since 1976! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Love the tone, the woods are beautiful to look at and sound better. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish on this guitar is great. Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect, I have never had to adjust the action on any of my Taylor's.
Great Guitar
By: Steven Orta from San Antonio, TX USA      Submitted: 3/7/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes... Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it, but appears to be excellent quality. General Your general opinion of this product. Love it...excellent! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Light, easy to palm and very responsive. Neck is easy to finger and sounds great. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and snappy Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great. Very nicely done. Action How was the action out of the box? Fantastic. I can tune the guitar, play for 2 hours and have never had to retune during play time.
The best in this price range, handsdown!
By: Jimmy from CT, anonmyous74787      Submitted: 4/2/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Its a Taylor
By: John from Texas      Submitted: 3/29/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is made from high quality wood, even though it is the bottom of the line in solid woods. I really love the satin back and sides as I have hit the guitar on chair corners several times and had it been a gloss finish it would have left a mark, but none can bee seen. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it about a month, the case is very nice protection for it, all of my coming and going, playing outside the house it is protected. General Your general opinion of this product. I got this beautiful instrument, and my playing has greatly improved. The ebony fret board with the combination of the small frets and Elixer stings make this a very wonderful guitar to play. I have troulble putting it down at night. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This guitar plays and feels excellent, I can play for hours and not notice hand cramp as I did before with a lesser value instrument. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Unplugged the tone is a bit brighter than I'm used to but it sounds excellent. Plugged in the Expression System sounds OK. Not what I expected.I wish they would have a piezo under the saddle as an extra part of the Expression System and maybe blend the two sounds together. I plugged it into my SA220 and it sounds great, but if I plug it into my aux port of my line6 spider jam the B string seems to overpower everything else. I have used this little amp as an acoustic amp for a couple of years and have had no problems with my other guitars, but now it seems the only one I can use for the Taylor is the SA220. When you are used to hearing the piezo sound coming from your acoustic guitar and then hear the Expression System, lets just say it takes some getting used to.Would be nice to have an under saddle pickup as an option with the Expression System. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Again the satin back and sides I feel has helped me not have a couple of nice dings in it. Also the gloss top of mine has a couple of bear claw spots which really gives the book-matched top a bit of character. The lines in the grain of the Spruce are beautiful as well. Action How was the action out of the box? Action for me out of the box was spot on, intonation is perfect.
Loading....