American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: TC Electronic BG250 Bass Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  TCE BG250 LIST

Not Disapointed!!
By: Rick from Virginia      Submitted: 10/16/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love this amp!! It has all the power of the Acoustic B200 stack I have been using,,, Had this amp for about a month, on a daily basis, recording and live. Lots of power, used it now on both indoor and outdoor gigs. I did not have to use it with house PA indoors, the pre-eq direct out is awesome! I ran thru the board outside, volume never exceded half-way the whole gig. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? So far so good! No complaints what-so-ever on workmanship, Ihave used it alot in several differant venues, no heating, or distortion problems as of yet..I would suggest however getting a cover for it, the baggage-handlers that load gear could destroy the vynl! Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? I wish they had made it to store more than one effect at a time... Only other thing is I feel they should have added an external speaker jack to add a couple of 10's to the mix! Also list the foot-controller as a MUCH NEEDED option. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? Has more low-end sound than I expected from a combo wieghing only 35 pounds,I use it with my Fender Jazz-Special, along with a 5-string,,, plenty of tonal range both hi and low! Feel Are the controls logically laid out? I like the lay-out, tuner and mute control, and the on-off buttons for effects,,, they are small and light, a good reason for using the optional footswitch. Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? Tone is great! Tube settings you can actually dial in a about any tube sound you want. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? A far as price goes, you cannot beat the value! Much lighter than most 15" combo's...
I love this amp
By: john gaither from forest park ga usa      Submitted: 9/7/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

I Like This Combo Amp
By: JBass from Portland, Oregon      Submitted: 7/10/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I feel The BG250 is a solid amp with great sound and volume. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I believe the BG250 well built over all, though the the tolex covering may be the week link as it seems to mark or damage easily. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Yes, I like the features the TubeDrive and TonePrint features are awesome and very easy to use. The EQ section make it easy to dial in a great sound for different genres. One thing I wish it had the option to add an external cabinet though as is it is a very capable combo amp. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? I can easily dial in the sound I like with the BG250. The sound is clear and punchy. I have been playing without added effect pedals love it. Feel Are the controls logically laid out? Control layout works fine, for me it makes good sense. Tone How is the tone? Distortion vs clean? The tone is clear and punchy and with the BG250's ability to make tone adjustments it's very versatile. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I like this combo amp and find it to be a very good value. I am happy with it and feel my money was well spent.
Done Searching!
By: Mike DeRuiter from Grand Rapids, MI - US      Submitted: 4/23/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think this is the only area that could be improved (a pinch). I'm not a huge fan of the black Tolex covering. It just feels like if you're going to run into something you're going to have a nice sized tear in it. The push buttons on the control panel have been absolutely fine, but they do feel kind of odd and cheap. You really have to push them to know what I'm talking about. So far, so good... all buttons are working. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Features are where it's at with this amp. TonePrint... I've had a ton of fun playing with this. The tubedrive feature really adds some great tones... everything from warmth to growl. Built in tuner is cool, it's always nice to have it there and not have to worry about batteries. The balanced out is pretty flexible. The only thing I would like to see is a phone app that would let me download the different pedals from TC Electronic and make my own TonePrints. Sound How is the tone? Finally... a tone that makes me happy. Between TonePrint, TubeDrive and the nice EQ, I've been able to really dial in what I like. Normally with an amp I mess with it for 1/2 hour and there is not much left to explore. This amp, I feel like it was easy to find what I like but I could fiddle for hours just for fun and not get bored or annoyed. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm not 21 years old anymore. I can't haul my old 70 lb. Ampeg rig up and down flights of stairs. 35 freakin' pounds!!!! 250W - you can gig small and medium sized shows. The last and final kicker to this amp is the price. $399 This will never end up on Craigslist.
An Awesome amp!!!
By: Henry B from New York      Submitted: 4/15/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely well made,IMHO. Sturdy, relatively light and compact. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Where do I begin? The Toneprint, the sound, ease of use, etc. Sound How is the tone? You can dial up various tones relatively easy. It comes with what I would call a "Get started quick" template card on top of the amp, that you can use to quickly dial in 3 different settings. all quite useful. General Your general opinion of this product. It turned out to be alot better than I expected. I especially like the Toneprint feature that lets you download different effects with ease. Chorus comes preinstalled. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It comes equipped with a 15" woofer and a tweeter as well. You get the best of both worlds.
None Better!
By: Peter P Jones from Metairie      Submitted: 3/19/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The construction materials are "little" suspect. However, in its defense the unit is terrific in its light weight appeal! I would advise a case or cover at the very least for the combo. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The light weight, controls, and Toneprint features are worth the price of admission. The tuner adds a candle to the cake of the combo. If I could add one feature, the feature would be more power, maybe a 500w unit or head. Sound How is the tone? The tone is to "die for." You can get practically any tone, especially with the Toneprint feaure! General Your general opinion of this product. TC Electronics has a home run with this product. Not one musician I let play through the combo has a complaint about it. When I tell them to pick up the combo, they are simply amazed. They cannot belief the sound coming out of the 15" speaker with only that much weight. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? NA
Half the weight, all the tone...
By: Kurt O'Dell from East Coast United States, skurtodell@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/11/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Built solidly - even at higher volumes I detect no buzzes or rattles that would indicate slipshod construction. The class D amp runs cool even when pushed. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Finally - one amp with everything you need and nothing you don't. Mute. A built-in tuner. Tube emulation. Programmable effects. Direct XLR out to the board. Versatile EQ section. All of this in a lightweight package. Sound How is the tone? The tone is incredible - tight, punchy and deep. The EQ section makes it easy to dial in a vast array of useful tones, from old school rock to modern funk. Whatever tone you're looking for, it's available here. General Your general opinion of this product. Typical TC Electronic build quality - sturdy, great tone and awesome features. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Any tone you could want you'll find in the BG250 - clean, warm, overdriven, deep, punchy, throaty, bright, snappy - they're all just a twist of the EQ knobs away.
The ABSOLUTE BEST Bass Amp ever created!
By: Petruzzelli from USA      Submitted: 2/20/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This baby is so dependable and can easily power thru a full band on stage! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The TonePrint is one of the best features out there but certainly not the best feature on this amp! YOU must try it out if you can get the chance. But for what you get it is worth the buy! I cannot believe how lightweight this thing is! Sound How is the tone? The tone quality is phenomenal. I used to be a huge Yorkville Bass Amp fan until I bought this. If you don't love the sound from this amp you are out of your mind! General Your general opinion of this product. I recommend it to anyone. Pro or just starting out. This amp goes far. My last set up was a Yorkville Bass Stack and I certainly didn't downgrade when I bought this. I sold my equipment because this was the absolute best sound quality and easiest to take to clubs. I'm so impressed! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can create whatever tones you need via pedals. But it will certainly clean up or make muddy by driving up the bass and bringing down the high end. I play every kind of music at home but I perform in a Post Rock band and I can literally get whatever I need. I play a Fender American Special Bass into this amp and it certainly brings out the best out of my bass.
pro sound
By: E Thaggard from Fayetteville N.C.      Submitted: 12/21/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes nothing is rattling. Very solid it has the feel of an expensive piece of equipment. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The tone is beautiful no distortion. Does not sound like a toy, love the warmth of this amp. You can not beat this for the money. Features are good but im all about tone and this amp has it. I hope they come out with a 2x10 model with more wattage that would be sick. Sound How is the tone? to my ears this amps sound is close to accoustic and markbass amps. I have achieved both sounds, thats how versatile this amp is. I also bought the new peavey max its horrible but thats another story im sending it back but keeping my bg 250 I luv it. General Your general opinion of this product. TC didnt put a cheap product on the market that does not sound good. When volume is turned up it does not sound like its falling apart. Im not a fan boy of any particular brand I like any thing that sounds goood, and this does. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? versatile tone. read the manual and watch videos to understand how to operate the eq sections bass mid and treble all respond differently. you can get a perfect sound be patient with it you will be glad you did.
Best combo amp under $500, hands down.
By: Allen H. from Harpers Ferry, WV, USA      Submitted: 8/13/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far so good. Took this out for a 3 hour gig and used it at home. The wood under the tolex/wood seems softer than normal and can dent easily. Other than that seems really well built. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? It's light, has great effects, and inexpensive compared to other light combo amps. The Toneprint app is nothing short of incredible. Hold the smartphone up to your pickup and swap your effect. While you can really switch effects during a song, for recording or switching between sets it is awesome. Sound How is the tone? This is where this amp shines. It lets your bass breathe. Doesn't overly color the tone and the Toneprint effects are great additions. The Tubedrive gives you a nice gritty tone when needed. This amp easily kept up with a live drummer and guitars with headroom to spare. General Your general opinion of this product. TC Electronic hit a magic point with this amp. I am bought or at least tried a ton of amps. For the price, weight, and features there is no better combo amp on the market right now in this price range or even slightly higher. Make sure to grab the TC Helicon Switch-3 footswitch to have the ability to mute, disable Tube Tone, and turn the Toneprint effects on and off. Having an Android or iOS app available all for FREE to change effects on the fly is a great addition to this wonderful amp. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A
Loading....