American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Universal Audio Apollo Duo Audio Interface  -  UAD APOLLODUO LIST

If I could do it again .. I wuldn't !
By: FM from LA, CA - Nashville, TN.      Submitted: 6/25/2014

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? What a nightmare ! Unit works good if you plan on using UA Plugz and only working at 44.1 .. whci I never use .. From 88.2 and up .. i get about 4 - 7 plugs. Unit came with a problem , been back at UA for almost 3 weeks and their repair tech says nothing wrong , even though I spent lots of time with there techs , who took control of my system and saw the same problem .. hmmm Not a Artist friendly company ! Talking with metric Halo and Apogee abd selling this unit. I spent a lot of time doing research regarding plug count .. several phone calls , etc .. all very misleading .. never a direct answer .. nw I know why. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How well are the controls and connections laid out? unit is easy to use .. install , set up .. except for the problem with this unit which is Firewire / TB related. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? I originally liked the idea of UA .. where they are going .. idea wise .. thunderbolt , newer technology and such .. My Black Lion modified Digi 002R sounded better and no problems. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? No
My Dream Interface have landed!!
By: RussP from Columbus      Submitted: 3/29/2014

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I've been wanting to upgrade to a professional interface for over a year now, but couldn't afford it. UAD Apollo has always been on my wish list along with Apogee Symphony. When I saw AMS offering 8 pay payments...my dreams became reality. This interface sounds EXCELLENT!!! The Analog Classics Bundle gets you going right out the box. If that wasn't enough, UA through in the Helios 69 Eq free as well. This purchase took my studio to professional level with one purchase. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How well are the controls and connections laid out? Setup was a breeze... Software and hardware loading up in sequence and was playing music in 15 minutes. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? The features were what I expected. I would have like to see an easier way to route an additional pair of monitors. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Apollo is the leader in it's class...hands down!! The converters and pre-amps are wonderful by itself. With all the I/O and sleek design chassis I couldn't ask for more.
Worth every dime!
By: Mike Narain from Queens,NY USA, mnarain@vocaladdictionmusic.com      Submitted: 3/9/2014

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Went from the Avid Mbox Pro to the Apolla & was nervous about the hardware not sounding as good but I wanted to use their plug-ins. I have to say its ever bit as good & in some small but significant ways, better. The hardware doesn't need the plug-ins to make it sound good it stands alone & the plug-ins do as well. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How well are the controls and connections laid out? This unit is extremely easy to set up, register & use.. I thought I would have a rough time gettin the headphone mix going like I did with protools headphone mix but it sooo easy. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? What I was expecting & more! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I felt the price was a bit high when it was introduced but now that I actually have it I realize for what you are getting its worth it all.
"I love this thing"
By: Juan L Santana      Submitted: 3/5/2014

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

There is so much re space in the mix
By: Rob G. from Chicago      Submitted: 1/10/2014

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

Impressive
By: Studio 139 from Kalamazoo, MI, USA      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Rating


General


Ease of Use


Features


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? The Apollo is very well made. The knobs and switches seem of very high quality, the unit is dead quiet and the preamps are very neutral, with a good amount of head room. Being able to run the UAD-2 Plugins in real time and monitor or record the effects is like a dream come true. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How well are the controls and connections laid out? The software and authorization process is very easy, the software interface works flawlessly, and when they say "near zero latency" it is accurate. The hardware is pretty straightforward and the front panel gives you plenty of information. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? The Apollo is everything it is advertised to be. It sounds very good. While it may take a little time to re-tune your ears to it, you soon realize that it is a lack of hyped frequencies that gives it a very pristine sound. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The only reason I didn't give this a 5 out of 5 rating is the external power supply (brick) and that the unit only has four XLR inputs. I would prefer not to have the ADAT interface and had another four Mic inputs, but the build quality, sound quality, ease of use and features are all top notch.
Great interface
By: Leo      Submitted: 7/17/2012

Rating




Features


Ease of Use


General


Value




Was this review helpful?

Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I would say the sound very pro Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to use, the mixer is great and tracking from it with plugins even better General Your general opinion of this product. If you are serious about taking your studio to the next level, buy the apollo and you wont be disappointed Value Was this item an overall good value? Yes
This sounds good.....period!!!!!
By: BustaBrowne from Gary, IN, bustabrowne738@gmail.com      Submitted: 4/24/2012

Rating




Features


Ease of Use


Value




Was this review helpful?

Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The features are good! The fact that you can run UAD plugin on the inputs through their console is a major plus. I put it through the test by running Reason 6 as my DAW instead of Cubase 6 and ProTools 9 which I do own. You have for example Neve1073 channels going into Reason 6 inputs!!!! Banannas!!!....u can use any DAW you want that supports UAD and you will have a pro sound. Oh yeah and the Pre Amps are clear and clean!!! The knobs feels like the "real deal" . The Pre knob control gives you access to all the inputs by pushing the knob in. I love the vu meters per track. You can also use it as a live mixer too without having the FireWire hooked up. I can't wait for the new ThunderBolt hook up. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? It didn't take me long to setup. The manual was easy to read and there are YouTube vids that gives you more insight. Value Was this item an overall good value? It was expensive and I wish they included more plugins than they did. You get their vintage bundle which is still good though.
Loading....