American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Yamaha MOX6 61 Key Synthesizer Workstation Keyboard  -  YAM MOX6 LIST

"Exceeded my expectations!"
By: Dee from Chicgo, IL      Submitted: 5/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Feel


Value


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This keyboard is a lightweight version of the acclaimed Motif XS. This fits right in the backseat of my car and I don't have to do any heavy lifting. Many products that are this light in weight are usually associated with lower-grade keyboards that are often sold in retail stores. Not this one! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I bought this to replace my Roland XP-30 which was damaged. I wasn't bitter because I was ready to retire it anyway. I currently own the original Motif 7 Classic which came out in 2001. I still use it in my live shows with my band and worship services in church. I also own a Motif XS Rack which I use in my studio. In terms of the sounds, one word: Superior! I mostly work in genres of Straight Ahead & Smooth Jazz, Classic R&B, House/Dance, Neo-Classical, and Classic Rock. This keyboard fits all of those genres! Years ago when the Motif XS came out, I wanted it but couldn't afford it. I tend to use the FM-based electric pianos like the type from the legendary DX-7. This has ALL of them, plus the Fender Rhodes-type sounds suitable for Neo-Soul. Acoustic pianos are rich. They may not be as full as the "Power Grand" from the first Motif, but they are not weak at all. Ease of Use How user friendly is it? Would it work well for a beginner, intermediate or experienced player? When my Roland XP-30 was destroyed, I missed the ease of use of that keyboard. The Yamaha MX61 makes up for that and I don't have to go through a lot of complicated menus. I can transpose the key at the push of the button, as well as change octaves. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? The features on this keyboard was beyond my expectations. I knew I was going to get great sounds, but I never expected this board to have the exact sound engine as the Motif XS. I was amazed. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? The sound quality of all of the patches were exactly like the ones that I use in my Motif Classic. The acoustic and electric pianos, organs, flutes, horns, and trumpets sound like the real thing, which is why I consider the Motif to be one of my all-time favorite keyboards. Feel How is the feel of the keys? Are the controls laid out well? All of the controls are laid out well. The although the keyboard is made out of plastic (very fragile), but as it is said, you get what you pay for, but don't let that term scare you. If you can take care of any other keyboards and treat it with such care to where it will last you for years, you can do the same thing with this keyboard. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? In the price range that this keyboard was in, I thought I was going to get lesser-quality sounds that were PCM based. I'm glad to see that I was wrong. At this price range it is practically a steal. Even though the MX61 doesn't have all of the bells and whistles like the Motif XS and the Motif XF (and I'm glad because I can do without ALL of those things), it is a keyboard that is perfect at any level. This keyboard replaces the Roland XP-30 that was destroyed (a driver accidentally ran over it in a cramped parking lot while I was packing my car) and it just about replaced the Motif Classic that I have been using for the last 10 years. The original Motif has a sampler, but I don't even use that feature. I'm a musician that relies on "live" sounds. Another feature that is has that I don't use is the supplied Cubase software. My laptop has delayed latency and I use a digital multi-track recorder which I am more than content with. The MX61 rocks!
Great board
By: Bernie haithcock from riverview florida USA      Submitted: 4/10/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think its very well made Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? the features are very user freindly and easy to get to !!! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Great !!! Sound How is the tone? Very real sounds General Your general opinion of this product. I would not trade it for the world Value Was this item an overall good value? goood !!!
Great Keyboard for the Money
By: Ron Skidmore from Stoneville,NC,USA      Submitted: 3/26/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be made fairly good, however would recommend a case or bag for the gigging musician. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The Sounds are Killer in this keyboard, I own a Mox8 and was so impressed with it I went ahead a got the Mox6 as well... Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? There is a learning curve to this keyboard, the manual is somwhat helpful, I have ordered the video from Yamaha, hope that helps also. Sound How is the tone? Tone is absolutely fantastic. General Your general opinion of this product. This is really a nice keyboard with killer sounds. The software that comes with the keyboard, USB Drivers etc were weak, I had to search the net to find drivers that would support win 7 64 bit software. Value Was this item an overall good value? Great Value, you won't go wrong with this keyboard especially with sound quality.
Excellent sound, but...
By: Joseph Seraphine Amadeus Bumaco from Madagascar      Submitted: 3/3/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Cheep, plastic, you can see through gaps bteween back panels, well, its made in China... Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Bingo! The same sound engine as the Motif XS (which is FANTASTIC!) with 8 elements per Voice, the same quality DAC-s, same quality effects, same 4 Arp-s, same sequencer (so both pattern and linear song building is possible with ease), etc... Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I used to own the XF, and the ES, as well as the MO6 before, I still find some features rather cumbersome and complicated to access (but theay are all there...!) Sound How is the tone? SWEEEET! Drums are fantastic for any genre. There is a three layered, velocity switching saxophone sound that sits in the mix as if David Sanborn would have played it. Not only in the mix, I actually used it for intro, as well. It takes some massaging, after the melody is in the sequencer, but it's worth the time, it's absolutely life like (and sax was my first instrument...) Guitars are good, with arpeggios they are very convincing. (No guitar sounds/riffs come even close in the $3000 range Roland Fantom G or Korg Kronos!) General Your general opinion of this product. Cheap made, but everything works just fine, and the sound is excellent. Shortcomings: only 64 notes polyphony, only 3 insert effect blocks, NO DRUM VOICE EDITING in song mode! Value Was this item an overall good value? It is way better value than let's say the XF (and I think that one is woth its price, too!) If you do let's say Dub Step , or engaged in some other brainless noise making, Korg's Chrome ($1099) might be worth to consider, I say "might be...", but for everything else it's UNBEATABLE! (...and if you in to Dub Step, you probably use some software - sampler - controller configuration anyway...)
Our of sight
By: from unkownlocation82735      Submitted: 1/9/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? One of the most musical equipped and versatile keyboards Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The sound and fill is incredible, no need to add anything Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very multi and easy to use Sound How is the tone? Great quality sound Value Was this item an overall good value? Great price for so much musical in a small package
Ok for live gigging, but that's it
By: Talonslash from USA      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The build quality, while plastic, seemed to be made fairly sturdy. Keys and Knobs had a good firm feel to them. Faders were a little cheap feeling but nothing majorly bad. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? For live playing it has a lot of features and if you're doing everything "in-house" it will certainly suffice and provide adequate options. For DAW Integration, it is an absolute nightmare and if considering this for that reason, look elsewhere. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? In house use everything was pretty easy to understand. When trying to integrate with my computer, I had nothing but trouble. I was originally using an Edirol PCR-800 and decided that I wanted a hybrid workstation/controller. This does not work for that purpose. It's DAW/PC integration features are buggy, counter-intuitive, and unless you use Cubase, it's totally useless. Sound How is the tone? The sounds are quite decent. I use Software synths and samplers so the sound on this doesn't quite compare to what I'm used to, but live gigging the sounds should be quite useful. General Your general opinion of this product. I'd say for live playing it would do quite well. But if you try it with a computer for DAW integration,you will grow to hate it. Value Was this item an overall good value? As stated if using for live gigging or in-house songwriting it is a good value keyboard. But, that is all it is really good for.
Amazing Value
By: Bart C from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA      Submitted: 6/22/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General




Value


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Thought it was going to disappoint me when i pulled it out of the Box.. But It seems pretty road worthy! Been gigging with it for 3 weeks and no problems.. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Great keyboards and the best guitars you can find on a synth. Pads are few.. But what it has are very good! Needs more and better Organs. The cheezy ones are very cheezy but the perc organs are just Ok. Pianos are good as well Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? It takes a bit to know the layout of the keyboard. But once you get it, it is easily understandable. Although it does leave some to be desired in a performing setting. Changing patches are clumsy unless you re-assign them and make note. (i was a korg user till now for this reason) Sound How is the tone? Rich and very authentic. Love many of the patches General Your general opinion of this product. Amazing Value for the Money.. MUCH Better Value than the M50. Still trying to figure out WHY they put it in a black case. It is impossible to see what you're doing at a gig. I had to purchase a USB Light, which hooked up easily and made life easier. Value Was this item an overall good value? ABSOLUTELY! Considering the 88 key version! In Addition to the MOX6. I wish they sold a 76 version!
Tight Work
By: The dude from Misawa Japan      Submitted: 4/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Pretty good Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Arps Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Cakewalk Sound How is the tone? FFA= Fairly Freakin' Awesome!!! Value Was this item an overall good value? Very Satisfied
YAMAHA HA DONE IT AGAIN!!
By: ANOINTEDKEYS from PEMBROKE,NC, anonmyous64004      Submitted: 2/23/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I WAS A LITTLE CONCERNED ABOUT THE BODY,AND CONCERNED ABOUT KEEPING IT PROTECTED!! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? THE BEST FEATURES IS THE RECORDING OF PATTERNS AND BEING CREATIVE WITH IT!! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? THIS KEYBOARD WAS PRETTY SIMPLE TO USE,IT DOESN'T TAKE A ROCKET SCIENTIST TO UNDERSTAND.ALONG WITH THE MANUAL ON THE CD AND IN ORDER WHERE A BABY CAN FOLLOW, MADE IT VERY PLAYABLE AND ENJOYABLE!! Sound How is the tone? HAS REAL GOOD STUDIO QUALITY SOUNDS ESPECIALLY THE PIANOS AND ELECTRIC PIANOS AND LOVE THE ALL THE ORGAN SOUNDS!!! Value Was this item an overall good value? 4.5 STARS
Best Budget Workstation Available!
By: Elwood Blues from Toms River,N.J., greendeathstudio@aol.com      Submitted: 9/16/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? For a keyboard made mostly of plastic,it's very solid and the portability is fantastic! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Clear & easy to read display screen(much better than it's predecessor,the MO),direct performance recording & key-start recording,audio interface is a dream and the most usable amount of voice presets I've ever heard...of ANY workstation I've owned! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? With regard to the on-board functions,it's fairly straight forward and relatively easy to navigate through,despite that it's layout is considerably different,than that of Korg. As for the included Cubase AI5,it's a very tedious process in setting up & even more of a nightmare to understand & use. When I asked for help on the Motifator forum,the guy who makes the tutorial videos for the Motif series told me to forget about Cubase and I discarded the program altogether. I am now using it with my Presonus S1 DAW and it works wonderfully well with my MOX6! Sound How is the tone? Completely uncompromised sound quality...in fact,every bit as pristine as any flagship workstation! I spent 2 hours just running through the program presets and storing them into my favorites...yes,they're that good! The included software editor is a HUGE plus!! Value Was this item an overall good value? This is my 6th workstation in the last 23 years and the MOX6 has more depth,realism and features than anything I've ever owned and it offers more for the money than anything else out there currently....this is the buy of the century!!
Yamaha mox6
By: Mr. Keys from Shelby NC, USA, anonmyous64010      Submitted: 8/26/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This unit is very portable. I love the fact that this board is light weight. I HATE the fact that this board feels cheap and flimsy. Gigging is less of a pain because of the light weight. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The MOX's strongpoint is its midi capabilities. You can plug this unit into a computer, and do all sorts of cool things. I read many reviews outlining what this unit can do. I didn't get into all the features, so I can't go into details, but I can say that this board can do a LOT. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The manual is not nearly as long as the manual for the MO. I only perused the manual briefly, but from what I read, it seems pretty straight forward. if you know how to use a MO, then you will notice that some of the functions and button layout is different. The whole reason I bought this board was because it was advertised as an upgraded MO. This is a totally different board, in my opinion. The catagory search button is still there, but the buttons with the different instrument categories are gone. You have to scroll through the categories using the selector wheel and the screen. Not a big problem, but different. The sliders are gone completely. Now, this was a BIG problem for me. I use the drawboard organ patch alot, and I used the faders like drawboards. Yamaha could have left the faders, and kept all the knobs. The MO had the perfect button layout and functionality. At times, this unit seems like a stripped down version of the MO. Sound How is the tone? This is where this unit shines! The MOX shares the same sound engine with the Motife XS. The piano patches are the best ever in my opinion. The patches are very realistic, and high quality. The sound engine is what saves this board. Value Was this item an overall good value? The sound engine makes this unit one of the best on the market in this price range. However, the cheap constuction really lowers it's value. I couldn't fathom spending $1200 for a.board that feels like it can break easily.
MOX6 - Sounds like a Motif, scratches like a new car....
By: Donnie      Submitted: 8/8/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound




Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I gave this a 3, because Sound quality is a 10/5!!!!! However, the case quality is very poor. Just unboxing it, I put a scratch on the bottom of the keyboard. Of Course, it's what it sounds like, rather than what it sounds like, but the casing is VERY cheap. Gigbag/box is required. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? There's too much to address in such an off the wall review. The features are out of this world. Theres hundreds of different tweaking options, as well as many different live synth options (the reason why I purchased it). Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? This model does have a slight learning curve. Some things have change from this (compared to a motif or a MO), but overall very easy to use. Sound How is the tone? The sound of the Keyboard trumps the Motif. I know that's a crazy assumption to make, but the grand piano sound has the best sounding resonance that I've ever heard. The Motif has it's pluses over thie MOX, however, the MOX makes up for it in light weight and design. Value Was this item an overall good value? This is a very good valued item. I'm so glad I purchased it. Out of the box though, make sure you have some time to read endless threads and forums on how to set it up with a PC. The Yamaha ports are very finicky; and if you have it wrong, you get delay or nothing works.
Loading....