Item Reviews for: Zoom G5 Guitar Amp Modeling Multi-Effects Pedalboard  -  ZOO G5 LIST
Plays well with others
By: MRW      Submitted: 6/11/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


General What is your overall opinion of this product? My favorite toy. So many functions, so little time. Seriously though, read the manual. If you don't, you may miss functions you never knew you have. I wrote the review "As Advertised" on the Trademark 30. To continue, When using the effects on the G5, I let the T30 handle the distortion/overdrive/amp selection. I'm not a big distortion fan and prefer a clean-overdriven sound as opposed to thrash metal distortion. So, not all the amp modeling and distortion settings will work for me. The rest of the effects sound great running through the effect-loop of the T30. Of course I have not used/listened to everything, even a year after purchase. Time will tell. Well worth the price. There is a learning curve with multi-effects and effect loops and more than one way to hook them together-lots of info on line.
Was this review helpful?
Shockingly Good!
By: RCB-CA-USA      Submitted: 4/30/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I've owned a bunch of multi-effects, keept the zoom g9.2tt because, for the money, it had the most features and most useable sound after upgrading the tubes. But it's falling apart after much abuse, the midi connectors got munched, the 3D pedal is loose, one switch on the back needs cleaning or replacement. The G9 served its purpose, was an amazing deal, and will be saved for parts or parted out. So, I got the G5. Wow. Knowing the g9 for so long, this thing was easy to navigate. The sound is 100% better for the desktop/practice experience and I see it being used in any setting with the right PA, no guitar amp! I read a few complaints about the layout and buttons. It's a bit tricky, but once you learn the interface, it's better than the g9, but very...sensitive, so you have to hit the changes right and setup your patches right. The possibilities are profound and I haven't really dove into it deep, deep. I have no GAS for another pedal...!
Was this review helpful?
The Zoom G5 Is Worth Every Penny
By: Doc Montana      Submitted: 1/12/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I usually don't write reviews but the G5 deserves it !!! It is easy and fun to program and nails any sound you want with a nice tube feel and sound. Oh, and by the way, the tube booster really works and an excellent feature. To really get your sound you should program it for yourself and that is a blast programming from a computer or the unit itself. I got this G5 to run through my Fender Hot Rod Deville 4x10 for super clean to blues to classic rock using a custom Strat with the Duncan Hot Rod Humbucker set using StewMac's P switch. This combination and the G5 nails any sound. Sure I got the Marshall Stuff downstairs but to get that nice glassy bell like strat tone, I gotta use this rig for sure. Don't be fooled, the G5 can easily get the Marshall grind and far beyond. All this at this price, no way to beat it !!! Well built and metal tough, you got the 'Z' pedal for control , tube booster, pro sound, ready for flight for beginner or pro, stereo and direct outs, plus USB !!!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Zoom G5 - The tube really makes a difference!
By: Matt P.      Submitted: 10/3/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Let me start off with what I can compare this to. I have owned Boss, Line 6 , Zoom G3 and Digitech processors. I hate digital distortion but I play in a rock worship band in church and cranking a tube amp is not an option. So I tried every analog "amp-in-a box" distortion pedal I could order and return! Wampler, Tech 21, etc. Being a lead singing lead guitarist, I couldn't stand the "tap dancing" that you have to do for a solo without coming off the mic by looking down at the pedals . I decided to try the Zoom G5. Unlike the G3, The G5 has dedicated buttons (3 per bank) that can be assigned to clean, crunch and lead or whatever you want. The tube "booster" made me want to try this one, because another reviewer said that he leaves the tube on all the time to warm up the digital sound. It really does work! I set the boost knob to 10:00 and the tone to 12:00. A/B with the boost switch and you’ll hear the tube warmth. Without the tube I would have returned this one too, but with it, it sounds pretty darn realistic. It is really easy too program, and has more effects than you’ll ever need . I’m definitely going to keep this one !
Was this review helpful?
A Great All-Around Tool For Any Situation
By: T Page from Las Vegas,NV      Submitted: 6/11/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. Be it playing live or laying down tracks, there is something here for everyone.You can't go wrong for the money.Just make sure you read everything carefully.
Was this review helpful?
By: Jose Cruz from United States      Submitted: 4/7/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
This pedal is like having a guitar effect shopping spree
By: Carey      Submitted: 3/27/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. When I purchase a piece of guitar equipment, I heavily rely on the collective reviews of others, especially if done online without trying the unit out first. I will include in this review some helpful information that I didn't find in reviews or the online manual, since I was swayed from purchasing this pedal years ago because of certain functions I thought it didn't have. Unlike what I thought the pedal could do, it can scroll, patch select, and every other function via foot switches, except a foot pedal tap/tempo, which can be added with an external pedal. There is a lot of mod information out there that may be unnecessary, if you understand that these functions can be selected with the pedal as is, and you accept that they have to be done with two switches at a time. My first multi-pedal ever was a Zoom 505, then I moved on to a floor POD, then I was incredibly disappointed that the older Zoom sounded far better than a modern Line 6 pedal. Later came the Boss ME-25...
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great pedal, Great tone, great size, intuitave
By: sasquatch,sasquatch711@aol.com      Submitted: 1/31/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
Great little multi-effects unit
By: Lightning Lee      Submitted: 1/26/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. This pedal comes with some cheezy sounds from the factory but once you start programming your own patches you'll see that it's not hard to get exactly what you're looking for from it. Whatever tone you want can be found. I use this pedal professionally and have had no issues with it in the 3 months that I've had it. The only thing that I would like to see from Zoom is a version that allows more patches per band, 3 is not enough for some of us and when you switch banks it also switches the patch at the same time, most of us can get by with 3 patches per bank though. You also have quick easy access to stomp box mode for whatever patch you're on. And programming this thing is a breeze! Setting patch levels is a breeze too! Kudos to Zoom for the ease of programming of this unit!
Was this review helpful?
tube tone with endless options
By: gerard jones      Submitted: 7/11/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. Seems easy to operate, looks great
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Good unit for the money!!
By: Mike from Virginia      Submitted: 6/12/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
The zoom g5 i everything and more a must have ! (O:
By: Kenny I am a hobbiest guitar player and I have been a zoom fan for most of my life. from Ocala Florida, sveltwolf39@yahoo.com      Submitted: 5/2/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Suprised
By: Jon from Saint Louis Mo      Submitted: 2/13/2013

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. I really like it. I've played alot of gigs and was very weary to purchase something like this. I like my halfstacks on stage. Great tone and versitility in this product.
Was this review helpful?
G5 Alive
By: Larry Conklin from Lawton MI. U.S.A.      Submitted: 8/27/2012

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Overall I'm very impressed with everything about it,the sound,construction.programability and ease of operation are all excellent.
Was this review helpful?
like neo this is the One
By: ivanman from Carson, CA      Submitted: 8/19/2012

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. 20yrs i waited for something like this, you should buy one, the best investment for a serious guitar player. read what this thing can do for you.
Was this review helpful?
Zoom G5 Rocks!!
By: Robert from Harrison,Tn, USA      Submitted: 8/17/2012

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Very surprised with the sound, factory pre-sets are useless though.
Was this review helpful?
Best Multi Effectts Ive ever used.
By: Average Joe from FL      Submitted: 8/11/2012

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Easy to get good sounds. Sounds REALLY Good!!! The ease of use is unbelieveable! You could easily spend hours tweaking, not because it's hard, just because it's fun!
Was this review helpful?
Loading....