American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Zoom G5 Guitar Amp Modeling Multi-Effects Pedalboard  -  ZOO G5 LIST

A Great All-Around Tool For Any Situation
By: T Page from Las Vegas,NV      Submitted: 6/11/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Be it playing live or laying down tracks, there is something here for everyone.You can't go wrong for the money.Just make sure you read everything carefully. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The unit is solid. Dropping it from a 10 story building is probably not an option but,well constructed. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The unit was flawless out of the box Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far,good.
By: Jose Cruz from United States      Submitted: 4/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

This pedal is like having a guitar effect shopping spree
By: Carey      Submitted: 3/27/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. When I purchase a piece of guitar equipment, I heavily rely on the collective reviews of others, especially if done online without trying the unit out first. I will include in this review some helpful information that I didn't find in reviews or the online manual, since I was swayed from purchasing this pedal years ago because of certain functions I thought it didn't have. Unlike what I thought the pedal could do, it can scroll, patch select, and every other function via foot switches, except a foot pedal tap/tempo, which can be added with an external pedal. There is a lot of mod information out there that may be unnecessary, if you understand that these functions can be selected with the pedal as is, and you accept that they have to be done with two switches at a time. My first multi-pedal ever was a Zoom 505, then I moved on to a floor POD, then I was incredibly disappointed that the older Zoom sounded far better than a modern Line 6 pedal. Later came the Boss ME-25... Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I really wanted a guitar pedal that had everything inclusive that I couldn't afford or have the time to build, a built in tube, XLR, the works. If you are to get multiple effects, then you need some way to transport it around so you don't have to constantly plug/unplug everything in. Hauling around equipment, that is the crux of every guitarist. This pedal has saved me much grief by including everything possible in a great sounding, compact package. By having access to everything, I no longer need to worry about what I need next as much as shutting up and playing my guitar. Once again, if a guitar pedal has been around for a few years and the price starts dropping, it won't be long until you can't buy them new anymore. Nothing lasts forever and I will feel like I have lost a ton of effects when this thing goes. I may need another one:) Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The controls are far easier to get to than was originally portrayed in reviews from other sources. You can also output the untouched guitar signal at the same time as the effect via the XLR pre/post. Another unspoken feature is this pedal will remember every move you make as you set it, no save button necessary. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This pedal has the brightest, most detailed signal I have heard of yet. The presets will disappoint, but at least they give you the general idea of what you can do. It's like having your own guitar effects schooling. It's really all up to how you set it up. The software makes the task of laying out an effects chain much less daunting. Acquiring multiple amps, such as an Orange, through this unit has been a real treat to me. Action How was the action out of the box? No action to speak of, but I am impressed by how fast AMS got the box out to me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Silver metal chassis, with plastic sides that have easy to grab handles, through the OO's in the indented logo. The tube booster has a natural glow you can see through the window. Not at all toy-ish or cheesy in real life compared to the pictures. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I hope I can say so for many years.
Great pedal, Great tone, great size, intuitave
By: sasquatch,sasquatch711@aol.com      Submitted: 1/31/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Great little multi-effects unit
By: Lightning Lee from Bethune, SC, USA      Submitted: 1/26/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This pedal comes with some cheezy sounds from the factory but once you start programming your own patches you'll see that it's not hard to get exactly what you're looking for from it. Whatever tone you want can be found. I use this pedal professionally and have had no issues with it in the 3 months that I've had it. The only thing that I would like to see from Zoom is a version that allows more patches per band, 3 is not enough for some of us and when you switch banks it also switches the patch at the same time, most of us can get by with 3 patches per bank though. You also have quick easy access to stomp box mode for whatever patch you're on. And programming this thing is a breeze! Setting patch levels is a breeze too! Kudos to Zoom for the ease of programming of this unit! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This thing seems to be built well enough for the road, it's nice and stout feeling and actually has a little weight to it so that shows that they're using good materials. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Most features are usable on the fly without needing a free hand. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is awesome on this pedal, just remember that your tone is in there, but you have to find it. You want tube tone? It's in there. You want a more modern, digital solid state drive? It's in there. There are plenty of amp models and effects and EQs but you have to decide what to put where in your loop to get what you want to hear. Action How was the action out of the box? Yes, it helps to get me action. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks and feels great, very solidly built. Reliability How has it stood up over time? 3 months so far and no issues but time will tell. I have some other Zoom products that still work after over 20 years so I'm hoping this one will be the same.
tube tone with endless options
By: gerard jones from minnesota      Submitted: 7/11/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Seems easy to operate, looks great Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Built sturdy Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Simple controls Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Full range of sound, fantastic tones Action How was the action out of the box? Plug and play play play Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Just like the space shuttle Reliability How has it stood up over time? 3 days and no problems
Good unit for the money!!
By: Mike from Virginia      Submitted: 6/12/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

The zoom g5 i everything and more a must have ! (O:
By: Kenny I am a hobbiest guitar player and I have been a zoom fan for most of my life. from Ocala Florida, sveltwolf39@yahoo.com      Submitted: 5/2/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Suprised
By: Jon from Saint Louis Mo      Submitted: 2/13/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, actually much heavier built than I thoug ht it would be. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it for 1 month. General Your general opinion of this product. I really like it. I've played alot of gigs and was very weary to purchase something like this. I like my halfstacks on stage. Great tone and versitility in this product. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? As I said, very heavy and sturdy. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Whatever you need, you can get. And I LOVE the software that came with it. SO easy to edit and create patches. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great Action How was the action out of the box? great
G5 Alive
By: Larry Conklin from Lawton MI. U.S.A.      Submitted: 8/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Construction reminds me of that saying.."built like a tank".Everything feels strong and solid,like it should. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had this product for about a month and have had no problems and can't really forsee any in the future. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall I'm very impressed with everything about it,the sound,construction.programability and ease of operation are all excellent. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Effects,amp simulations and cab sims. are all really great. No complaints here.
like neo this is the One
By: ivanman from Carson, CA      Submitted: 8/19/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? simple perfect, though i hope next time aluminum would be nice for the body and ingraved labels.... (is that too much to ask??) Reliability How has it stood up over time? i had it 3weeks still ok!? General Your general opinion of this product. 20yrs i waited for something like this, you should buy one, the best investment for a serious guitar player. read what this thing can do for you. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? heavy so it could take the beating... lcd so you know where you at.... ac adapter so you wont have to worry about the batteries... get it and enjoy! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? imagine the power of all.... in one.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? its ok?! i love it! Action How was the action out of the box? ready to rock and roll..
Zoom G5 Rocks!!
By: Robert from Harrison,Tn, USA      Submitted: 8/17/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, Metal Construction frame, Sturdy foot switches. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Had it for 2 weeks, so far so good, I don't foresee any problems. General Your general opinion of this product. Very surprised with the sound, factory pre-sets are useless though. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Editing is as simple as a normal stompbox and you do not have to hit a save button when your done, all adjustments are saved as you go. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Right out of the box I was very disappointed in the sounds that were pre-set from Zoom. The signal from the pedal was so loud it was clipping my amps. There was a useless amount of high frequencies on all the patches. After editing the output signal in the Global settings and adding the para-eq and exciter, the 6 Band eq had to have the 12K and 6 K frequencies reduced to a minimum. There are over 120 different stompbox simulators in the G5 but I found running the Tube Screamer in front of the Z Scream gave the best distortion sound I've ever heard. The delays are perfect and the different chorus effects are brilliant. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect, no flaws Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Best Multi Effectts Ive ever used.
By: Average Joe from FL      Submitted: 8/11/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great build quality. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Ive had it a couple months, not problems so far. I had another zoom pedal for years without any problems and this one seems pretty sturdy. General Your general opinion of this product. Easy to get good sounds. Sounds REALLY Good!!! The ease of use is unbelieveable! You could easily spend hours tweaking, not because it's hard, just because it's fun! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Ive tried just about everything except the Axe FX. So far this is my Favortie. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds great! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice looking board. Action How was the action out of the box? Presets are a little over done for my taste, but its so easy to tweak you can turn just about any preset into something great in a few seconds.
Excellent pedal
By: Guitarboz from Ogden,UT      Submitted: 5/26/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very sturdy chassis. The pedal is solid and all the footswitches feel pretty tight as well. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Not sure as I just got it today, but it does seem very well built. General Your general opinion of this product. I got this pedal today and it took me an hour just to go through the effects. And, I was very brief. This pedal sounds AMAZING right out of the box. I have used line 6 for quite a while now and this is just a sigh of relief. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The pedal is a bit heavy, but if you have used pod floor models it's right in line. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sexual tones. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks pretty darn good Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Its Awesome!
By: Jediael S oliveira from Philadelphia PA      Submitted: 5/21/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, and the sound is awesome you can easily navigate on the interface of this pedal. It feels very durable. Reliability How has it stood up over time? so far so good! General Your general opinion of this product. Zoom really made an improvement on the GUI and the sounds. It feels very sturdy and well made. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? no neck Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sounds you can achieve is just as if you were using separate pedals. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks really good Action How was the action out of the box? no action
Loading....