American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Zoom R24 Multitrack SD Recorder Controller and Interface  -  ZOO R24 LIST

Gotta love it!!!
By: Jimmy Johnson from Scotia, NY      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Finally!!! An all-in-one that allows you to take your field work, download/upload it to our chosen DAW on your computer and make the final professional changes from there!!! OR, if you wish, mix everything down on the unit and finish there. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? One of the very few units that I've been able to use before having to read the manual. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Stand-alone/Interface/Controller - all in one unit?!! Holy mackerel!!! None to add that I can think of at this time. Sound How is the tone? Awesome! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had this a few weeks. I've put it through a good amount of use already... I expect it will last a long time.
Great Product with
By: Martin      Submitted: 12/4/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I record critical piano, acoustic guitar and keyboards for professional use and CD production. I took a step back by using a recording "box" because my computer replacement was making too much noise. So now I record raw tracks quickly and easily to the R24 then transfer to my computer for editing and mastering. This is the only product offering a standard 44kh@24 WAV file for direct import. The R24 shows up on the computer as a storage device with a simple file system. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Recording quality is as good or better than computer, with enough headroom for lack of distortion on peaks but good strong levels. Built in mics sound very good for scratch ideas, not for actual production. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I chose the R24 only because of the display, I don't need 24 tracks. I can't imaging using that two line display on the R16 for navigation, no thanks. Menus are logical and quick to get to. I wish the display was bigger though. Tactile controls feel good and consistent. Setting up raw recording is very fast. transport is a pleasure after computer mouse control. Setting up overdubs (multitracking) just got very fast and convenient since all the control is right in front of you. I learned how to use all the features for recording last night in about 4 hours. Drum and sampler will not use. Effects are only for monitors and do not print. Effects are easy to use and apply to monitoring. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The standard WAV format for direct import into my DAW is why I bought this. The Tascam does not do this directly, plus it's footprint is too big for my needs. 8 inputs for 8 track recording makes it possible to use the R24 outside the studio easily. Sound How is the tone? Sound is good, have not tested the pre-amps for condenser mics yet, but I am sure they are superior to my old Tascam interface. Direct injecting keyboards sound good and detailed. Reliability How has it stood up over time? New, we will see. second Zoom product I own.
Great Recorder
By: Art      Submitted: 7/2/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is my first Digital Recorder, so I am learning all that it has to offer. So far it has done exactly what I wanted it to. I will be putting it to the test. But so far it is very good. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It seems well made and dependable. I was surprised at how small and light it is.It runs a long time on battery. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Since this is my first digital recorder I had some trouble getting it to work with the software. I still have not quite got that part. Once I stopped using the softward and just listened to the recording I found it to be very good. I am still learning how to use it. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best features, recording to a SD card this is really great. Sound How is the tone? Sounds very good. Reliability How has it stood up over time? N/A since I have only had this for about 3 weeks
VERY EASY TO USE YOU WILL BE RECORDING WITHIN MINUTES
By: GAMALIER RIVERA from KISSIMMEE FL      Submitted: 2/18/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? IS ALL PLASTIC BUT DOESN'T LOOK THAT IT IS GOING TO BREAK, SD MEDIA IS A PLUS YOU CAN TRANSFFER ANYTHING TO YOR COMPUTER THRU USB. Sound How is the tone? GREAT QUALITY SOUND General Your general opinion of this product. IT'S WELL MADE, VERY EASY, GIVE YOU THE AVILITY TO RECORD 8 INPUTS AT SAME TIME, AND BUILT IN CONDENSER MICS YOU CAN RECORD ANY IDEA ON THE GO, IT USE ALSO BATTERIES SO VERY PORTABLE.
If you record, GET THIS!!
By: Toekneesee from Auburn, ME, USA      Submitted: 4/2/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? VERY well constructed. The only exception being the SD card situation mentioned above. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love all of the features - from the way there is no shutdown sequence that you have to remember before shutting down the unit to the effects, to the meter bridge to the drum machine to the sampling capability to the adaptability/versatility of it being a stand alone unit or DAW control surface. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Within 15-20 mins, I was recording using the on-board drum machine, the effects on guitar that made it sound like a wall of Marshall stacks, and a bass sound that was full and rich ... all with just plugging in direct!! It doesn't get much easier than that, folks. Sound How is the tone? I think the sound is exceptional considering its tiny size and price point. I've had friends who attend university for recording ask me how I master my recordings ... a lot of times, I don't! One of my more hyper-analytical audiophile friends was blown away at the radio quality recording I was getting ... PRE MASTERING!! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had this for about 6-8 months and with only one glitch that was corrected by switching out to a new SD card, this unit is super reliable. General Your general opinion of this product. My ONLY complaint is that the memory is SD oriented. The least little quirk seems to corrupt the SD card. However, I'd rather whatever quirks only corrupt an SD card than to have the entire unit crash, like what happened repeatedly on other units I've owned. I'm VERY, VERY, VERY satisfied with this unit. Its portable; has 8 XLR inputs that also accept 1/4"; built in meter bridge; on-board effects; on-board mastering; DAW control capability; ... LOTS of bang for very little buck, comparatively. Like I said in my subject line ... GET THIS!!
Zoom R24 Controller and Interface
By: Tom K from Roseville CA, USA      Submitted: 2/13/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks good and sturdy Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Computer interface is great Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Real easy/intuitive Sound How is the tone? Sound is good but could do with a little more brilliance Reliability How has it stood up over time? Had it only for a short time General Your general opinion of this product. Does exactly what it says it should do
WOW
By: Demetrius (MAVEN) from Asheville NC, mabvn@bellsouth.net      Submitted: 11/20/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The faders could have been a litle better but look at the price. You will NEVER find all of the features and ease of recording anywhere else. I hated ALL zoom products and they have redeemed themselves. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? If you are a guitar player you will ove the design capabilities for sound. No more amps to lug around, no more pedals. You can do virtually anything you want for sound with this box. the tuner options are awesome and maybe will finally teach some of the "guitar gods" about tuning and alternate tunings...they are spot on. The mix section is incredible...no more guess work and running back and forth between stereos to see if sound is right. I do wish they would have included a cd burner. It is the biggest draw back to the whole system. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The manual is little vague at times. The one feature i do not like is the selection from the d pad, It gets tiring at times. I am a degreed sound engineer with 30 years of playing and recording under my belt and own a studio so trust me if you want to do some serious recording on a budget this is the deal. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Get a padded bag to protect it. I do not think it would stand up to a drop over a foot. General Your general opinion of this product. It is really an amazing recorder although I wish the mics that are built in were protected better than the plastic they are housed in. Looks great and sounds great.
For the price, DO NOT pass this up
By: dlcoggins from Auburn, CA, USA      Submitted: 11/2/2011

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Dont worry about the comments about "it is made out of plastic". It is very durable. Those people that are concerned about it being made out of plastic should learn to take care of their equipment and not just toss it into the car when they are done. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? for my recording needs, this thing does it all. Not sure what else I would need to add as it seems to have way more settings, adjustments, FX, than I'll ever be able to figure out how to use properly. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The Zoom R24 Recorder was all plug n play. hooked it up, turned it on, plugged in mikes, pa, etc into the inputs and recorded my first studio gig with no difficulty at all. Installed the Cubase LE 5 software on my laptop, used the supplied configuration template for 8 channel simultaneous recording to my laptop and it all worked without having to fight anything. Worked first time right out of the box. Sound How is the tone? It sounds great when playing thru my PA from the output lines, it sounds great as a USB audio device for my laptop. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I know how I treat my stuff so I'm figuring the unit will last me for as long as I want to use it. I've only had it for a few weeks. I figure if the electronics last longer then the warranty, then it will last me for as long as I need it. General Your general opinion of this product. This device has it all. I'm so glad I purchased it.
Loading....