Item Reviews for: Alvarez MDA66SHB Masterworks Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar  -  ALV MDA66SHB LIST

Great Quality, Sound And Playability
By: Ricky C      Submitted: 3/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review The Guitar Is Quality Through And Through. Plays And Sounds Great Right out of the box. The Tweed Hardshell Case Is Certainly A Bonus. Don't Think You Can Find A Better Quality Guitar And Case In This Price Point.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely amazing for the price
By: Danny      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Stands up to many other higher end guitars. Best bang for the buck.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Can't go wrong with this one!
By: Kendall      Submitted: 1/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am a slow learner on the guitar and have been trying for decades. 6 years ago I bought an Alvarez RD-6, entry level laminate dreadnought. It was bullet-proof and held up to any condition/abuse and the bridge held up to heavier strings. I pursued a solid wood Alvarez and settled on the MDA66SHB. I found a leftover and bought it without playing online. I couldn't be happier. I thought at first that it had week bass but realized it was only because it came with ultra-lite strings. The setup was perfect out-of-the-box. Intonation right on and super easy to play. The clear snap of each string rings through with great sustain, no buzzing anywhere on the fretboard. The construction and finish detail are almost perfect (very slight wavering of solid wood side only reveals the solid wood character). Beautiful guitar! I knew from the RD-6 that Alvarez had a commitment to affordable quality and their neck design was right for me. No disappointments. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful guitar and sounds great! Love it!
By: Eric      Submitted: 1/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Beautiful guitar, finish and wood look fantastic. Guitar sounds very good. Love it and love the payment plan. Customer4 life!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is a beauty with great sound
By: ajax      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Any reservations I had about this guitar are now put away after owning it for a few weeks. Plays wonderfully. The case is super cool too. Love it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome guitar well worth the money
By: Dan      Submitted: 10/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar happens to be a masterpiece. Construction is exceptional and it’s comfortable in hand. The tuning pegs are well made and tuning is held pretty well. The bridge is great and the pegs have a very nice inlay. This guitar is an easy strummer but excels when fingerpicked. It’s a great guitar for all occasions and is a real head turner. The Alvarez Masterworks guitar is an excellent value for the money. I love mine and I’m sure you will too.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The most beautiful looking and sounding guitar I've ever owned
By: James      Submitted: 9/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar is an incredible value. The case alone would cost close to $150 by itself. The appearance of this instrument is incredible and it sounds fantastic the sustained projection and tones are amazing. If you're thinking about it do it by this guitar.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Buy it now!
By: Shelby      Submitted: 8/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review You can't beat this guitar for tone and price. I wish I had another one for open tunings. If you're looking for a great sounding acoustic at am affordable price, buy this baby.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Came with a pick-up
By: gtrlfty      Submitted: 7/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review We purchased this for my son who suffered an all-to common whiplash on the neck of his Epiphone J-200. The fit and finish are outstanding and the tone is spot on with my Martin (a bit warmer with the mahogany top). Excellent value for a solid wood guitar for less than a grand. Although it's not listed on either the Alvarez or AMS sites, this guitar came with an under-saddle pickup. Not sure what brand - but sounded pretty good plugged in. We DID NOT want a bulky battery box or pre-amp which it does not have. We shopped pretty hard - honestly, I think Alvarez has one of the best product lines under $1000.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Extreme value!
By: John      Submitted: 3/2/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have owned Alvarez guitars for over five years now, and this one is amazing. I have also owned a 2013 Martin D18. This is comparable to the D18 in the fact that it really can project the deeper registers while accepting heavy handed, hard playing well. After a quick setup on the truss rod, and a changeover to Martin Monel 11-54 strings, this thing is a true instrument. I prefer more mellow and deeper tones, and this has got it for someone who isn't looking to spend thousands. I returned another guitar and got this one, and I am deeply satisfied. The case is absolutely gorgeous too!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfect guitar, amazing sound and craftmanship
By: Jeff      Submitted: 9/28/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have owned at least 30 acoustic guitars and i have played hundreds. This is the best sounding guitar i have ever heard in anything under 5 grand.Nothiing needed to be changed or setup, it was perfect and the wood inlay fretboard and action were perfect. I don't know how or who thay have making these guitars but i would never buy anything else. I have owned martins and taylor 7 series guitars. Excellent work on this!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
You should try a "hog" top guitar like me- from AMS of course
By: Yankee Despot      Submitted: 5/27/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I got this a few weeks ago, and am delighted. I first had the Folk model, but it was a little buzzy. These guitars are beautiful. Impossible to photgraph well, but the hog top had lovely figure and very nice, bright finish. The neck on this guitar is near perfect. It's thin, but has enough mass to resonate well and grab for bends. The fretboard was filled, or very fine grain. It feels more like ebony. Its smoother than my es335. Fretwork immaculate. I always grab a flashlight and mirror and the internal bracing is clean, with no glue drips. The dark fretboard with the subtle 12th fret inlay looks great. The headstock and body abolone is flawless, and the headstock is white abolone and contrasts nicely with the colorful abolone on the body. The finish is near perfect, with just a little spot near the neck. As I wrote elsewhere to tone is different than a spruce top-in no way bad- just different. It's fun. It's a little growly with great balance among the strings. Get one!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback