Item Reviews for: Ampeg SVT Classic Bass Guitar Amplifier Head  -  AMG SVTCL LIST

Killer amp!!
By: Robert Leinfelder      Submitted: 5/22/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review This is a great head. Nice and thick!! Great when paired with an svt410hlf. The staff at American musical supply were also great in getting me hooked up with this bad boy!!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great amp
By: Anthony      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Sounds killer, what I’ve been looking for
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The BEST!
By: Matthew Wood,renual351@gmail.com      Submitted: 11/12/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The best tone ever! I should have gotten it years ago!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The Last Amp I Will Ever Buy!
By: Troy Roemer,troemer68@gmail.com      Submitted: 5/31/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I waited to do my review until I had a chance to gig with it. This amp is exceptional. It provides the tone you have heard on countless recordings and at concerts for decades.I am an audio engineer as well as a bass player and I have never been happy with my live bass sound. This amp is the definition of "set it and forget it" It is dynamic and almost like playing an instrument onto itself...play lightly and you get nice warm tone, dig in and play hard and you get the Ampeg grind. Why 4 stars? The front amp grill board shipped warped. This is a known issue that happens on these amps. AMS offered a return but I didn't want to ship a perfectly good amp back for such a small thing. The Grills are available from Loud Technologies for about $25.00. Frankly if it weren't for the 12 pay...I wouldn't have this thing.Get yourself one! Thank you you AMS.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
B-STOCK PROBLEMS GOOD SOUND, FOREVER IN REPAIR....
By: Robert Bayless,homeinmyhead23@Yahoo.com      Submitted: 2/11/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great sounding amp, but had major issues, was a b-stock model and buzzed for 2 seconds on standby, and direct out and effect in/out did not work! other than that sounded amazing! Ive had it in shop for months hopefully it will be up and running well again... I use a 7pro now and its decent.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Everything you ever read is true
By: Michael Cairns from Boynton Beach Florida      Submitted: 5/22/2012

Product Rating


















The Ampeg SVT Classic is built like a tank - It was shipped to me at 90 pounds postage. From what I read this is the most sought after and used amp for bass of all time. I have not had any problems. It actually is simple in it's design, however the range of tone is astounding. The quality of sound is the best feature. This is not an amp you use for light gigging. It's a beast. My only suggestion would be to make it lighter, but absolutely not if it were to compromise any of the tone. I read reviews about other bass amps and they are always rated by how they sound similar to a classic SVT. Nothing else sounds like this amp and you can feel it take over the room your are playing in. The tone is amazing. It changed the way I play Your general opinion of this product. Everything I ever heard about the Ampeg Classic SVT became apparent the day I played through one. I ordered mine that day. Honestly has there ever been something negative said about this Amp? Enough said...........demo an Ampeg Classic SVT and make your own judgement. Enough said...........demo an Ampeg Classic SVT and make your own judgement. Enough said...........demo an Ampeg Classic SVT and make your own judgement. My judgement........I own one
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Ampeg SVT CL - The Original TUBE BEAST!..!
By: Brandon Kapshandy from Anderson, South Carolina, USA      Submitted: 6/26/2009

Product Rating
















Considering this item was a factory refurb it's pretty nice. Looks like it will be dependable, and last a long time. I was a tad disappointed that AMS sold this item as brand new, but after they discounted it $170 I'm satisfied now. The best things about this head is the frequency knob with 5 different settings for the midrange, and the ultra low and high buttons, which make your bass sound more hi/fi. And saving the best for last: The classic Ampeg tube overdrive A.K.A: tube growl. This head sounds amazing!!! I never knew bass could sound so good. You can dirty your sound up by cranking up the gain, and at the same time you can roll off the gain and it cleans right up. I have this head paired up with the SVT 810E and its like a match made in heaven. With that wall of 810's you can get a thick, xxxx to the wall bass sound that will cut through any mix. The low end that this rig produces is VERY DEEP and it makes the floors in our house pulsate, the midrange really growls and the highs sizzle. This head is extremely versitle and user friendly. This head is a dream to play and it feels great too! No wonder countless numbers of bass players swear by this head, because it gets the job done! The tone from this head is, (only one word to describe it) WOW! It can go from being fat, thick, and mellow, to being bright, clear, and snappy. You can say that it combines the best of both worlds. Besides the repair, this head is flawless, and it really turns heads on stage, because they're wondering what is making that thunderous sound. This head played great right from the box.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
SuperValveTechnology
By: EMT-BASS from Elmwood, IL      Submitted: 12/28/2008

Product Rating
















Built like a tank. Save your money till you have enough to buy this one, it will be the last head you ever buy. I have owned this for about a year and have gigged with it and NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. My head however is USA made. Tubes and lots of them. Simple 3 knob EQ with high and low boost buttons. Pure vintage Ampeg tone. Amp has a nice growl to it. I play through the Ampeg 8-10 cab I can blow away two guitar players with 4-12 cabs. It's heavy but the tone is like that of no other You can make this head sound crystal clear or turn up the gain to get the growl out of it. Classic ampeg look Plays well right out of the box, I did however replace the pre-amp tubes with some VOS pre-amp tubes for what I thought was a more colorfull sound.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
It heavy...but worth its' weight in output!
By: Jim from Rohnert Park, jamles17@aol.com      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Built like a tank!!

FEATURES:
The unbelivable thunder from the ORIGINAL 6 power tubed output stage.

EASE OF USE:
Very easy...lots of tone options.

VALUE:
I got this product a year ago at a lower price.....quite a bargin.....

SOUND:
very ballsly.....it blew away my previous Ampeg SVT 1000 s/s amp!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The last bass head you'll need to buy.
By: Tefar the Magnificent from Chico, CA, Amerkuh      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Very solid construction and it looks great!

FEATURES:
This has 3 band EQ plus 2 switches for extra treble or a cut of mids. It could use an extra mid in place of the 2 switches. It has biasing dials on the back so when tubes need to be changed, it is very easy to adjust.

EASE OF USE:
Stupid easy to use. Experimentation is the key to getting the most out of this head.

VALUE:
$1500 is a lot of money, but it is so well spent. I don't plan on buying another head for a very very long time.

SOUND:
I run this into an Ampeg 4x10 pro series and an Eminence 1x15. It is thunderous.

STYLE:
Impending Doom Prog Metal

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
2 Years

OVERALL:
It took some time to get this dialed in where is fit in with my band, but once it got there, it was awesome. Tubes are great! At concert levels, you get this grind when you really start digging into the
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback