Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen DTuna Drop D Tuning System  -  API DTUNA LIST

Works Perfect every time!
By: Mike from WV      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Once you get this thing installed, all you have to do is pull it out to drop to D. Then just push it in to go back to E. It’s just that simple!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Works great
By: Jeremy      Submitted: 2/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is my second purchase I already had 1 on one of guitars but as long as u tune the guitar like the instructions with the set screw lose then tight and,engage it u will be good to go
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money !
By: James Manuel      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Works exactly as it is supposed to. A must have for Floyd trems. However, some useful information before you purchase, you MUST block your trem for down motion only. You can not go full float. So if you do a lot of pulling up on your trem do not purchase !
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Works pretty good if you have trem stabilized.
By: james osbourn      Submitted: 1/2/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It's a bit sloppy when disengaged. could have slightly better tolerance.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great product
By: Steve      Submitted: 1/26/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a must have for any Floyd Rose player saves time and stays in tune Eddie is a genius we know that though
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
genius
By: David S Fitzgerald      Submitted: 12/21/2016

Product Rating




Product Review Note: This will only work on a Floyd Rose style bridge. It is also worth noting that this will not work well at all on a floating Trem. The D-Tuna makes it impossible to do pull back harmonic screams as the units length will rest beyond the cut out in the wood, and on floating trems your guitar will go out of tune. Only install this on Non floating Floyd's.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this feature
By: Daniel,Daniel.vizzo@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/15/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Is it possible to install the drop D tuna on a hard tail? I would love to have this feature as part of my fender EVH USA Custome Deluxe HT guitar that I own. But a I've found through research is only for Floyd rose tremolo applications only. Is it possible ton install one on a HT and if so what actions would have to be taken in order to do so and achieve the drop d tuna serving it's true purpose and for it to function properly without any issues? Any information on this subject would be very much appreciated. Thanks
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Does good.....NOT GREAT..I can use it though!!
By: Chris Majors from Mebane, NC USA, anonmyous25494      Submitted: 2/17/2012

Product Rating














Well....its a screw...so...but it is made from the materials it needs to work. It lasts a long time....and continues to work...my Wolfgang is a 1998 model...and it is still smooth as ever. Your general opinion of this product. Well....a little costly for a screw and a spring..I am positive it cost .95 cent to make and package....but I have one on my Wolfgang and wanted one for my Charvel So-Cal. EASY TO INSTALL AS LONG AS YOU FOLLOW DIRECTIONS....honestly took 5 minutes and I was ready to play...YOUTUBE AN INSTRUCTION VIDEO.. Can't even tell its there...just make sure your bridge is adjusted correctly so that is doesn't dig a hole in your guitar body!!!!....also if you install it right, it is smooth to switch the tunung. Hits D tuning, so you dont have to tune before those certain songs or change guitars when you play those Creed songs... Buy the chrome....cause the black wears down too fast from always putting your grubby fingers on it...looks kinda cool on your guitar anyway. You have to stabilize, flush, or block your trmelo...if you don't, it will fall so far out of tune that you won't be able to use it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
It works!
By: Don from Massachusetts, USA      Submitted: 6/7/2009

Product Rating














Well made. Seems like it will last just fine. Your general opinion of this product. Works perfectly. I used it on my Ibanez, with a tremsetter to keep things in tune, but still allow a full floating bridge. Absolutely flawless combination. The installation and setup can be tricky, with the possibility of drilling, routing....etc., but the end result is well worth it. I'm going to buy another set for my other axe. Switching is a little awkward at first (mostly because I set it down low in the cavity, and need to dive the trem a bit to switch it), but I'll get used to it. No tone issues. Looks ok. Required tweaking, which is to be expected.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
not very acurate
By: Sweet Johnny from Syracuse, NY      Submitted: 3/9/2009

Product Rating














Its steel sent it back Your general opinion of this product. Cool concept. Could work. Needs tweaking. Make sure your bridge is stabilized. My bridge is blocked and I found it not accurate. After you engage it, your guitar needs tuning if your ear is somewhat decent. If the bridge is blocked anyway save some money and just tune the guitar manualy. its just a piece of metal on the bridge. no sound no finish no action
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
mooses review
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
excellant

FEATURES:
dropping to d from e easy!

EASE OF USE:
awesome just wish it included a tremsetter :D

VALUE:
yes

SOUND:
same but kooler

STYLE:
metal

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
daly player

OVERALL:
rockin like evh
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Good if it fits...
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
In order to make this tool really ultimate, the creators need to take into account the Jackson guitar and others that have the fine tuners in a different location.

FEATURES:
Very handy tool for the snap tunings back and forth.

EASE OF USE:
Couldn't really install it...sadly

VALUE:
Decent price, wouldn't mind all that much if it was cheaper.

SOUND:
I gave it a 5 just because if you do prevent the bridge from moving , theoretically it should not disturb the sound, so thats a good point.

STYLE:
Rock, from the Van Halen era

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
Gigs and lots of practice

OVERALL:
I can't give an overall review since it does not fit my guitar properly, if only I had found out about that sooner after trying to install it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Don't drop your cash on a D tuna...
By: Jason Mathis from Greenville,Ohio USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
seems alright. It's metal...

FEATURES:
It provides a battering ram for your guitars' body whenever you pull on the bar.

EASE OF USE:
It's easier to use your bridges' fine tuners to drop to d then to install this unit. It does go from e to d and back quicker than using the tuners though. Easily allows you to dig a gouge in your guitars finish while simultaneously preventing you from pulling your bar fully.

VALUE:
I'd rather save my money and use my floyds' fine tuners than purchase this item.

SOUND:
Maybe, but just maybe adds a slight bit of sustain to your low e string by adding some mass to the bridge.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback