Item Reviews for: Boss SD1 Super Overdrive Pedal  -  BOS SD1 LIST

Like it!
By: John      Submitted: 8/19/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review The only pedal that I use. Durable and the price is right.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
it makes a good booster.
By: kevin brooks      Submitted: 8/18/2019

Product Rating




Product Review well. I never liked the sound of this pedal ,but it's cheap and it makes a good overdrive booster.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A pedal board Staple
By: Curt      Submitted: 7/10/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Probably one of the very first pedals you are wanting to get is an Overdrive. BOSS makes one of the very best and at a price where you can easily add another pedal to your board without breaking the bank. Its durable, its affordable, its BOSS. Its worth it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Overdrive
By: Kunst22      Submitted: 7/3/2019

Product Rating




Product Review It Has Been On My Board For Several Weeks. At 12 O'Clock - Just The Right Boost. At 75% - Beautiful Vintage Sound. Fully Cranked Up - Hairy Overdrive. +++++fK
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great drive!
By: Japhet      Submitted: 5/8/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very distinct sound and tones available compared to my ts
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great sounding pedal, just what i was looking for. Boss has always satisfied my needs when needed.
By: Charles Andrews      Submitted: 5/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I really like the Boss Super Overdrive SD-1. I play in a Country/Southern Rock Band and I can adjust quickly for each song as it requires.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Tone for days
By: Sam      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It is durable and it sounds great. I fully trust this pedal to work every time I stomp it. It is definitely made to gig. Also, it sounds wonderful. I use it for my worship sets and for personal classic rock style playing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
great sound, versatile
By: kevin      Submitted: 4/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Boss pedal pedals always add extra dimension to my sound
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this pedal!
By: David Arnold,mrlongball17@comcast.net      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This pedal is making my Les Paul scream like Led Zeppelin guitar solo. It totally enhances my sound and I could not be happier having purchased this over drive pedal.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Good deal
By: Jake      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review If you like the Ibanez tube screamer, you'll like this. It's a nice addition to my pedal board. Gives a nice warm drive, without sacrificing tone
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Time tested and true
By: Jeff      Submitted: 1/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a great overdrive pedal. Can be used as a volume boost to drive the front of your amp or increase the gain and use the overdrive on board. Can not go wrong with this one if you are looking for a smooth and solid overdrive. Boss quality at a great price.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
$50 to clean up low end, or to drive an amp...worth!
By: Brian C      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The Boss SD-1 has been around for ages. It's truly a staple in the studio and in live situations. I use this on a Marshall Plexi clone to just give it a bit more gain, and it rocks. I use this on a 5150 III as a boost to the gain channel to clean up the low end and make the amp perfect. Every once and a while I run it with a power amp and use it as a preamp for some overdriven rock tones. The thing is a beast in a pedal and it's built like a tank! Buy it. You must.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
An original
By: Tommy      Submitted: 11/12/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review There's a reason why this thing is still in production after all these years and when I bought it I hear why. From blues to hard rock this pedal has it covered. Works well when you use it with a overdriven amp. I am very pleased with this pedal. 5 stars 4 BOSS.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
the original and still the champ
By: Greg      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review this pedal can take you everywhere from Stevie Ray to Steve Vai. If great tone, inexpensive and indestructible are all things you're in to, buy this pedal. simple and intuitive but useable controls make dialing in whatever sounds you're looking for a breeze.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Stoked ! ! !
By: mikey      Submitted: 5/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Cant go wrong with Boss
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Overdrive for the price
By: danny      Submitted: 2/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a great overdrive. There's a reason boss has been making these for over 30 years. Great for boost, bluesy drive or light crunch.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great pedal, great value!
By: Ben      Submitted: 1/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great as a boost or a stand alone overdrive.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great sound and quality
By: Mike Stegmiller      Submitted: 12/26/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review A friend gave me a Boss SD-1 in 1993. I have used it in my setup for the last 24 years until I fried it last month by accident. It still looked and worked as well as it did the day he gave it to me. I replaced it with a new SD-1. The quality was the same but the sound was better than old one. I am almost thankful for my mistake and can hear a defiant improvement of my all around sound do to this pedal. Boss makes great equipment. I expect to have and use this one for a very long time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Complements my tone nicely
By: Mark      Submitted: 12/25/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The extra grit and presence this pedal adds as a boost complements my tone nicely and gives me a different flavor from my modded Bad Monkey OD which is my usual go-to boost. I've used various other ODs as well but will keep the SD1 on my pedal board for sure.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Solid overdrive pedal with great tone
By: Joey W      Submitted: 12/13/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This pedal pairs well with every amp I have plugged it into (jr blues, bassbreaker, orange rocker). It has good tone, a good classic rock overdrive sound, the pedal is sturdy and feels solid on the board. I am very satisfied with this pedal.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Classic staple pedal
By: Jesse W Gamble      Submitted: 11/25/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Is there anything new to say about this pedal? Ive used screamers before and never really liked them. So I figured why not try an sd1. Zakk wylde used them for ages so I figured good enough for me. Its boss so its built like a tank and is just a solid boost pedal that also does some great mid crunch tones.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great OD Boost and good on its own
By: Bluesy Chris      Submitted: 8/31/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I use this as a OD Booster for my Ibanez Super Tube. There is little to complain about. It is also good on its own.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
One of my favorites
By: Duke      Submitted: 1/4/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have TS10, Bad monkey, SD1, I really like the SD1 about as well as the TS10. The Boss SD1 is built way better than the Ibanez TS10 so I use it in my chain more. Good boost good overdrive, reliable. TS10 is discontinued but the SD1 is half price of a TS9. Great deal.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
great od
By: Terry from Albany OR.      Submitted: 2/11/2014
verified
Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product. Out of all the pedals out there and the ones I have had, still love this OD. Boss Boss Like a boss Great
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Reminds Me of My Old "Big Muff Pi". Liquid Tone Like a Sweet Jelly Roll, um-hmm.
By: Marty Carlson      Submitted: 12/2/2013
verified
Product Rating
















Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
awesome pedal
By: John Duncan from Gulfport Ms, southern_man2000@yahoo.com      Submitted: 7/12/2011

Product Rating














like i said you never have to worry when buying a boss pedal quality is great metal housing i just dont have no no worries buying boss. built like a tank i expect it to last a long time. Your general opinion of this product. i love this pedal boss quality as you would expect, i never worry bout buying boss products tone is great pushing the front end of a amp if you never have tried it try it world of difference. really woke my amp up using it as a boost wish i had tried it sooner now i have a awesome tone. yellow i love it pedal works great no complaints
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
superb sound
By: mark from salinas,ca      Submitted: 1/28/2011

Product Rating














well made and has been very reliable great quality Your general opinion of this product. adds excellant tone n/a excellant great
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
feel free to od!
By: Derek Sanders from Lenoir, NC, anonmyous13443      Submitted: 1/11/2011

Product Rating














Boss is # 1 in reliability. Any Boss pedal can fall off a truck, get hit by a truck, and get picked up and still sound and work properly at your gig. Your general opinion of this product. ive used other pedals in the past but this one has the perfect tone that doesnt take away from your sound. Incredible pick articulation.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great OD Pedal
By: Kevin A. from Folsom, Calif, USA, 844walker@sbcglobal.net      Submitted: 12/30/2010

Product Rating














Very well and and dependable Don;t know yet Your general opinion of this product. Well made, sounds great, versatile Very easy to use. Hey it has 3 knobs. Good OD spank on this OD pedal Perfect, well made.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sweet warm overdrive pedal!
By: Acoustic gigger from Illinois      Submitted: 7/18/2010

Product Rating














Very well made. This pedal will go on long after I'm gone. I haven't had the pedal for very long. But BOSS compact pedal's reliabilty is well documented. Your general opinion of this product. Great looking pedal. Boss compacts are the best! Very nice price! Every guitarist should have one of these in their arsenal.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great sound great price
By: Jonathan from Bellingham, WA, USA      Submitted: 3/28/2010

Product Rating














Built like a rock. 5 year warranty and overall a very reliable product. Your general opinion of this product. A great pedal at an awesome price. You can't really find ANY pedal for this cheap, much less a boss pedal. Definitely a good investment. Definitely a brighter tone with more on the high end.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Essential Pedal
By: Jerome from Indianapolis      Submitted: 1/24/2010

Product Rating














It's a Boss. It's a Boss. Your general opinion of this product. This pedal is a must have. You can use this for everything from a power booster to mild distortion. Very nice range. If Johnny Greenwood had this on his board then you should too. It's a boss. This is the only area where i ding it a bit. The very low end of the Tone nob range is a bit useless. Kind of muddy. I think you could probably just cut the whole bottom third right out. The mid to high end is quite good. Nice n yellow. It's a Boss.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Works great between my guitar and Metal Zone.
By: Matt "FatFingers" Clapper from Colorado, nihilist74@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/28/2009

Product Rating














Well made metal casing like all boss pedals. I have had it a year, still sounds the same as always. Your general opinion of this product. Is a great boost in front of my Boss Metal Zone distortion pedal. Helps me get a great high gain sound for hard rock, punk, metal death metal and grindcore. Knobs and foot switch seem to work well. Has a nice bright sound. Its bright yellow. Looks good next to my black Metal Zone pedal. It is a pedal.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
amazing
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product. great pedal
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Bitchin overdrive
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product. lookes good, sounds better.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
useful, affordable, and overall incredible
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product. i find this to be a reliable pedal and will probably never have to replace it
comments on Quality: Boss pedals are built to last and buying one wouldn't be a mistake. They are durable and attractive. I expect it to last my whole guitar playing career.
comments on Features: The best feature of this product would be the ability to duplicate classic sounds. For this price, the features are substancial. For the price i bought it at, i thought that it would be more complex.
comments on Ease of Use: Just plug it in and set the knobs. It doesn't get much easier than that
comments on Value: I bought this product when the price was doubled what it is now, and I thought it was worth every dollar.
comments on Sound: when used by itself, the sound is unmatchable. However, if I play it with my metal zone, an annoying hum sounds that is hard to diminish. Boss should have this problem eliminated.
Style: rock ''n' roll
Music Experience: been playing for almost 4 years
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
If You Start Me Up!!
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Not worth talking about. We are through the looking glass people!!

FEATURES:
None!! It is not supposed to have any!!

EASE OF USE:
Too easy. Like Jodie Foster in "Taxi Driver".

VALUE:
First rate.

SOUND:
This is one of my favourite OD pedals. But remember, it is an overdrive NOT a distortion pedal. Think Rolling Stones in the early 70s; not too much crunch but loads of earthy overdrive. There are smoother pedals out there for those lovely liquid lead solos, but for overdriven rhythym guitar this is quite simply one of the best overdrive pedals on the planet.

STYLE:
ROCK!!

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
Play on my own and sometimes in church bands.

OVERALL:
This is a one of the best pedals on the face of this planet. Value, construction, performance; this baby has it all. I love it. But you have to remember what it is not: Iron Maiden, Deep Purple and AC/D
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Buy this pedal, dude!
By: Brad from Potomac, MD      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
This is built rock solid, and should last me quite a while.

FEATURES:
I like how they have the volume pedal on the outside unlike the DS1, so I can change volume while playing.

EASE OF USE:
The actual switch is large and doesn't stick like the small metal switches.

VALUE:
This pedal costs only $50 and has the same circuit as an Ibanez Tubescreamer with a single capacitor turned around. You tell me!

SOUND:
Creamy. Smooth. Like good peanut butter should be.

STYLE:
Jazz, Metal, Hard Rock, Classic Rock, Funk, Blues

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
4 years guitar playing

OVERALL:
An increbidle pedal. Worth the $10 more than the DS1.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback