Item Reviews for: MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal  -  DUN M116 LIST
MXR M116 Fullbore Metal Distortion Pedal
review title:

Get used to the knobs

By: Al B.      Submitted: 5/21/2020

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Rating Product Review Works great...would highly recommend....great chunky sounds
review title:

Gain for days

By: Marc      Submitted: 9/27/2019

Product Rating





Product Review In the never ending search for "tone", I decided to add this to my arsenal. Not a bad pedal, if a bit one dimensional. But I guess a pedal called Fullbore Metal has a right to be.
review title:

It sounds great!!!!

By: gary White      Submitted: 7/12/2019

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.

Product Review I love the way it sounds. I had this product for two weeks now. So far it rocks!!!!
review title:

Awesome pedal

By: Gary H      Submitted: 2/23/2019

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Love this thing. Just what I was looking for in sound. I would recommend this to anyone who wants some serious metal tones.
review title:

Great pedal!!! Imo

By: JC      Submitted: 11/26/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Very cool pedal, i really like the tone I'm getting from this, using my fender noir telecaster with Seymour Duncan 59 stacked bridge pickup . I've used it to push my blues junior, and also used to record into our home studio as well. I think it's always better to try a pedal before purchasing a new amp. Great quality and tone it works for me.
review title:

The search is over!

By: Sw      Submitted: 9/14/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review Finally. A pedal that really delivers the goods. Awesome metal tone great scoop and a solid noise gate. But this is not a one trick pony. You can go from blusey rock to melt your face if take the time . I have tried countless distortion pedals. All good in some way. But this monster is like an overdriven 5150
review title:

Amazing tone

By: John      Submitted: 12/4/2017

Product Rating




4 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review This is one of the best pedals i have ever owned, amazing tone and amazing quality. Well worth the money.
review title:

It does the job!

By: Randy B.      Submitted: 8/25/2017

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I bought this for the purpose of recording a couple of videos. I must mention first, that I'm running it through a solid state Tech 21 Power Engine 60 (a powered speaker with no pre-amp). It sounds good, but it is important to take your time dialing in your sound, using the freq & midrange controls.
review title:

ONE BAD MAMA JAMA

By: Guitardoode2000      Submitted: 8/4/2017

Product Rating




verified
Product Review This pedal is an absolute beast. Covers everything from Guns and Roses to full on modern Djent (the built in noise gate is excellent) and everything in between. Truly impressed with this pedal, one of the best distortions ever manufactured IMHO and absolutely unbeatable in this price range. WARNING: this is a very high gain pedal!!! The distortion turned all the way to the left starts right off 80s hair metal! Not for blues/classic rock at all!! Buy one, it's all any metal head will ever need. On a scale of 1-5 it's 10.....
review title:

love it !

By: Terry from Albany OR.      Submitted: 2/12/2014

Product Rating
















1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Your general opinion of this product. Brutal pedal. Lots of control. Would buy again if lost or stolen...already did :-) on my 2nd pedal. Yes well made. Very dependable. Heavy-brutal-metal. It can be tamed down or with the gate option and mid scoop sounds very tight and heavy. You can open the back and fine tune the gate option but, sounds good right out of the box.. Nice mXR make good pedals. Stand tall over time.
review title:

Alright

By: Ralph      Submitted: 1/18/2014

Product Rating
















verified
Your general opinion of this product. I researched several distortion pedals and settled on this one. I use it for effect as another distortion sound apart from my amp tube distortion. I found it hard to carve out a decent sounding distortion but I,m still experimenting with it. yes it really focuses on the mids but is hard to get a non scooped sound. scooped good brushed stainless look.
review title:

Dimebag Darrell tone in a box!!!!

By: Jason from Palmyra, PA, USA      Submitted: 9/17/2012

Product Rating
















1 person found this review helpful.

Built like a rock I haven't had it but 2 weeks, but it's built really well I don't see having any problems with it as I never did with any of my MXR pedals. Your general opinion of this product. You can get so many different sounds out of this pedal. All the controls are very responsive and dynamic. I don't need the noise gate because I have active EMG pickups. I did try out the gate though however to cut off as soon as I palm mute. It works great. You can get very harsh sounds out of this box on solid state amps. I use it on a Bugera V5 tube amp so it's not as harsh. The mid scoop works fine, but I don't really use it. Lots of tone in this pedal. It's easy to dial in a good sound. It works good on dark or bright amps. Buzz saw treble. You can get Pantera 'walk' right out of the box with little effort tweaking it. the finish is the only thing they cut corners on. There's no paint!
review title:

decent metal pedal

By: d.norris from iowa, gtarmn75@gmail.com      Submitted: 6/25/2011

Product Rating















Dido My 1st one came broke and I had to mail it back. I went with a less known company and tried to save money. All manufacturers have mistakes assembling products. I've put wrong PCB boards in products myself. It happens when you hire new employees till they get the hang of things. Your general opinion of this product. Decent pedal for the price Quality built like all mxr products. Like I said distortion is tight and very sizzley dimebagish or fearfactory sounding . I think with a half stack you don't even need the scoop button. On my halfstack it sounds better without the scoop button in. I have a plexi and it has great headroom and takes pedals well. So I know my pedals. For the price its worth trying. The metal muff rules though. Looks cool polished steel and small. Would fit on a pedal board well. Or in your case for practices or gigs. Very useable and sounds decent. Just not for my rig. You may like it though. I use a metal muff and my other guitarist bought my mt-2 and likes it better than the fullbore. I gave him the choice of the two.
review title:

Metal Zone has met it's match!

By: goodnoize42 from Santa Fe, NM      Submitted: 6/16/2011

Product Rating














1 person found this review helpful.

MXR quality all the way through. I own MXRs from the 80's up until now. you can pass them to your kids and they can pass them to their kids and they'll still work. It's made by MXR, and they make their pedals like little steel bricks. My 80's MXR phase shifter hit me right smack on the top of my head, when it fell off my Marshall full stack back in 1984, and when it hit the stage floor and didn't even have a scratch, but my head had a bump. The dials on the FullBore are tight and the footswitch is stiff and rugged. Pure MXR quality! I have 12 MXR pedals, and I should know. Your general opinion of this product. Boss Metal Zone and Boss Metal Core are the two right now that actually do the job well. Then this baby comes out; BEWARE! This deadly little silver nuclear powered box is full of six dials to adjust your sound, and also has two push buttons to make it even better. You get parametric eq, not traditional bass and treble dials; and it's 9volt battery powered (or ac adaptor) and it has a neat bright blue led and is built like a little steel brick. Like I said, just work with the dials a while and you will get your tone. And don't be afriad of it's strong treble, cause those are the chainsaws it has inside of it. Remember, sometines treble can make your leads stand out when the drummer is bashing away, and the bass player is cracking the plaster in the room with his 70's Ampeg tube head. Like I said, it sounds different through different amps, but you will find your magic metal tone whether your your playing it through a 100 hundred dollar Fender Frontman combo amp or a 2000 dollar Mesa Boogie head. It comes in unpainted, unbrushed steel finish. It looks like MXR made the casing out of a valve cover from a 70's Chevy engine. This little unpainted pedal looks fantastic, hence it's name FullBore Metal! When you first put the battery in and plug your guitar into it, depending on what kind of an amp your using, you have to adjust it for a while until you find the sound that's right for you. I have found though that it likes dark sounding amps such as the Peavey JSX head or the Peavey 6505 head the best. Because I have those amps and I've tried it. However it won't sound too good through a Marshall JCM series amp because they're too midrangy. It doesn't really like my JCM 2000 head that much. And if you play it through a 12 inch combo like I said BE CAREFUL WITH THE BASS CONTROL!