Item Reviews for: Epiphone Exclusive Run LE 1958 Korina Moderne Reissue  -  EPI EDMD ANGH3 LIST

Great guitar at a great price
By: Willy      Submitted: 8/6/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review When I recieved the guitar my expectations were not very high but boy was I surprised. Great fit and finish, great fret work with no sharp edges. The pickups were actually better than expected. All in all a great guitar at a great price.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Strange, yet satisfying!
By: Madman      Submitted: 7/30/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I looked at the Gibson and the Epiphone Moderne. Both very comparable, side by side. Not knowing much about the Moderne, besides the Gibson fable, I decided to play it safe/economical, and give the Epi a spin. That and who can argue about a guitar made out of Korina wood? I am not disappointed, in the least! The Moderne has got to be one of the strangest guitars I have ever owned and played, but this baby will surprise you! It's got that strange vibe going on, and the clean and overdriven sounds are stellar! Want something out of the ordinary to rock with? This is The One! It fits right in with my Explorers, Firebirds, and Thunderbirds! It's not going to be a backup guitar for me, but one of the main players! Pick one up today! You will be pleasantly surprised! I certainly was!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Pleasantly Surprised
By: OLDBOLDDIVER      Submitted: 7/14/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This is my first Epiphone guitar. Kind of an impulse buy, I didn't even know these existed. I saw it and bought it the same day, and am glad I did. It has become my most played guitar. First I was blown away by the quality, the finish was flawless. The sustain is surprising, better than some high end guitars that I have owned. I adjusted the intonation a little and at some point will have it professionally set up, but for now I am very happy with the way it sounds. The wood is beautiful, it is very light and the electronics and hardware seem to be of good quality. The only issue is that one of the tuners was screwed on to the back of the head stock a little crooked. It works fine and didn't bother me enough to send it back or even try to straighten it up. I am pretty picky with my guitars and most people would never notice it. I have owned a Gibson with way worse problems than this. I bought the Epiphone case to go with it and it also seems to be of good quality. I have had it for about four months now and am still very happy with it. I think it is a great guitar for the money. I would buy it again.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
To have your guitar set up where it practicly plays its self . Low action without any fret buzz .
By: Darrell campbell      Submitted: 5/31/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This guitar has a great tone spectrum & very good sustain plays very easy . Lots of fun to play ...........
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
great guitar
By: james bailey      Submitted: 4/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I got this a few weeks ago I just love it it sounds great easy to tune stays in tune just a nice guitar worth the money
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar, very comfortable to play
By: Paul Ouellet      Submitted: 4/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review excellent playability , great sound good value for the price .
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Axe
By: Texas Axe Slinger      Submitted: 4/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar is Very well made. I know you think China makes junk, but not this! I have owned and played just about all of the “Big boys”, and let me say, this puppy is serious about tone. Maybe a pickup change in the future, but for now, we’ll this thing is amazing, really. Affordable too!! Blows away the Gibson at one third the price!!????
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Really cool retro-futuristic vibe, completed my set
By: Reese Slater      Submitted: 3/21/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have a vintage Gibson Explorer and Flying V, decided to complete the futuristic set with the Epiphone Moderne. Appears well constructed , love the korina body. However, getting a good bit of hum from the humbuckers. Need to do some tinkering, until then the jury’s still out.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Better than expected. Close to the Gibson reissues.
By: Robert Gerosa      Submitted: 2/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar is beautiful and is much more impressive in person than the pictures show. Light weight with a big sound, easy to play, perfect fret work, beautiful finish and wood grain, stays in tune, excellent hardware, classic sounding pickups. And despite the way it looks it's well balanced and even easy to play while sitting. It's a big plus to have it made from korina rather than another mahogany for the Moderne history, light weight and classic nasal but beefy ringing tone. Although, it's considered a rock and blues guitar I think it could be used for many other styles. The Epiphone case is form fitting so the odd shape can't shift around.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very good instrument, needs a setup
By: AC Stee      Submitted: 2/11/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I decided to take the plunge on this.. been a Loooong time since I had a V or Explorer or other non conventional body shape. Was initially disappointed with the action and hated the string set that came with the guitar..it should not be shipped that way..So after some truss rod tweaking and a set of 09-042 strings to replace the heavier set it came with, the guitar plays very well and sounds great... Be prepared to buy the case if you are going to gig with this and also a guitar stand that can work with unusual body shapes, otherwise you are going to be in an awkward situation if you need to change guitars mid set and many clubs and bars do not have a convenient place for cases..The guitar is worth the price, just be prepared for the neck adjustment and a new set of strings.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Really nice guitar
By: James K      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Received the guitar within 2 days of ordering and I am very pleased with the fit, finish and playability straight out of the box. May do some minor upgrades (bone nut) and action adjustment but really is very nice as is. Great value regardless of the price. The staff at AMS was very helpful prior to ordering as well. Finish, set-up and playability are right there with some of my much more expensive Gibsons. Thanks AMS!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar for the money
By: Greg Putman      Submitted: 2/1/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Got this a couple of weeks back and have been enjoying it ever since. The action was a bit high when I got the guitar, but after a quick bridge adjustment and it plays like a dream now. It actually sits in my lap better than I expected, but a rubber strip like what are on some Flying V's would have helped a bit. Tuners, pots, and switch are just fine. Bridge and tailpiece could probably be a little better. The gold playing looks about as cheap as it comes. I expect it to tarnish pretty quickly. I don't care for the pickup at all. I am definitely replacing them, with something else......just don't know what yet. I really had reservations about the D neck profile, because I am not real crazy about the D profile, but this neck seems more like a cross between a C and a D. The case is beautiful. All in all, the Moderne is a guitar that always intrigued me, and I am glad to have one, at a very reasonable price.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Waited 50 years to have all three '58 McCarthy models
By: Doc      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Got it yesterday, need to adjust the action, but played it through my vintage Fender Champ yesterday for an hour. Sounded fantastic. Always thought it was a shorter, more compact body... Just as tall as my 2009 Gibson flying vee. Would have bought the Gibson, but made a recent purchase from Memphis factory and the bankruptcy is affecting QC and after purchase service IMHO. Own several unique Epiphone models, never an issue, so purchasing this one was a no brainer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love it!
By: Christopher Wright      Submitted: 11/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Just received my Moderne today, tuned up and the tuners felt great, very sturdy. It sounded big and full like my Epi Les Paul. Looked sweet can’t wait to further dial it in, the case for the Moderne fit like a glove, the plush grey interior will cradle it like a baby, massive storage compartment will hold all your cables and a strap. I would recommend the Moderne and the case for people looking for this particular model. Also to AMS for their easy payment plans there’s no reason not to shop for all your music gear, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
What a beauty!
By: Sprice6804      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review What a beautiful guitar this is! I finally managed to surprise my husband for Christmas, but in the meantime, I've gotten to check this baby out. You wont be sorry! Thank you so much AMS!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Now I've got all three of the '58s
By: Tom Kurella      Submitted: 11/25/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I'm becoming a big fan of Epiphones. They feel great, play nice, sound fantastic. It came set up, ready to play--well, for me--I'm sure everyone has their perferred set up, string gauge, etc.--this is nice--I can't keep my hands off of it; got a place on my wall picked out for it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very nice woodwork, super light!
By: Rob      Submitted: 11/15/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The woodwork is excellent. Nice frets, really nice finish. This guitar is very light! The pickups are thin and lifeless, though. I will be replacing with Gibson humbuckers. The hardware is average, but does look nice. If you want a great player, plan on changing out the pickups. I'll be adjusting the bridge and tuners, hopefully they'll be decent. If not, they will be replaced as well. This is a good value, but plan on replacing some hardware and electronics.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Light, resonant, tone machine
By: Cody      Submitted: 11/14/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I had been looking to buy a Joe Bonamassa Amos Flying V and upgrade the pickup with the SD Amos pickups. I'd read some less than stellar reviews about that guitar though and then I saw this. I've wanted a Moderne for a long, long time. But I didn't want a glue hog-boat anchor. I've had Epis in the past that were both. This guitar is a 3 piece body with front and back veneers. I can live with that. It's light, it's resonant, and it balances very well when strapped on. I was planning on replacing the hardware, pickups, and electronics, but it's not necessary. I've upgraded other recent Epihones with top of the line Faber bridge, tailpiece, studs, and inserts. It did nothing for the sustain, tone, or resonance. Epiphone has it figured out with their lock tone system. These pickups are really good as well. I may still replace them with Seymour Duncan Amos pickups, but I hate soldering, and these pickups sound so good. So I may never get around to it! The guitar came set up perfectly. Almost in tune as well! The strings are good quality and don't need immediate replacing either.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Guitar, worth the wait and the money
By: Kasey Minick      Submitted: 11/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Well made, Great finish and fit. The Pro Humbuckers sound great, will not change any electronics on this one - it is perfect as is. Neck feels good and plays good once I lowered the bridge to my typical set-up height. The fingerboard feels good and almost like ebony. Korina is light and top and back are veneers but look good.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money
By: Robert B Macdonald      Submitted: 11/3/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very unique guitar, super light, well balanced. It came nicely setup and in tune, pickups sound great. I couldn't find any manufacturing flaws at all.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback