Item Reviews for: Epiphone AJ220SCE Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  EPI EE2S LIST

At first I was skeptical, but now I'm impressed
By: JamminGeo      Submitted: 6/26/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review I purchased it on Sunday. It just arrived this morning (Wednesday). I chose the one in Mahogany Burst. I own four other Epiphone guitars, three electrics, and one acoustic--a Dove (which I LOVE). I have never been disappointed with any of them so I felt confident that it was at least a passable guitar that I could use as a knock-around for taking outdoors and writing songs. I will admit that at first, I was skeptical. "How in the WORLD can a 366 dollar guitar be a quality instrument?" I thought, but I was lured in by the price, the features, and the cutaway. I also liked the fact that the Mahogany Burst is not the same-ol, same-ol. I have several burst finished guitars and love them all but this guitar's finish is a nice change from the mundane. I purchased a "Scratch and Dent" guitar for a bargain price so I expected some imperfections, but when I opened the box and pulled her out of her packing shroud I couldn't find a scratch or an imperfection of any kind: the finish is beautiful. The neck straight as an arrow; the binding perfect with no gaps or waves; the neck joint perfect--nice and solid and tight; the tuners are really nice for a guitar this price too; and the fretwork was surprisingly good--they need a little polishing but there are no sharp ends or any sign of lousy fretwork. The neck binding is well done and the finish on the neck is really, really, super nice. The action was a little high but I expected that and am going to fix it to my own taste when I change the nut, saddle and bridge pins with some quality Tusk replacement parts this weekend. I also plan to polish the frets and replace the strings with a quality set of Martin Phosphor Bronze. Honestly, that's the only complaint I have. But you pretty much have to expect cheapo strings on any new guitar. Now the best part: the SOUND of this guitar is really impressive! Clear as a bell with beautiful projection and resonance. I've never played a Jumbo Body guitar--only Dreadnought--and am super impressed with this guitar's sound, even with the cheapo strings. Beautiful, Clear. Comparable to my Martin. Seriously. Comparable to a MARTIN. Honestly--no B.S.--I don't regret buying this guitar at all. Matter-of-fact, I'm really happy to add this instrument to my collection! I've been playing this guitar all day and just CAN'T put it down! You'd figure my family would be tired of hearing me play it but they love it and want me to keep playing. My fingers hurt . . .
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I do love this Guitar
By: Mitch Russo.....      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is by far one of the best sounding Electric Acoustic Guitars, It sings. it also stays tuned. I recommend this even to the Pros. RATE A 10
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love this guitar
By: Allan R Reiter      Submitted: 9/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I absolutely love this guitar, plays very well and keeps it's time, very affordable for any level of play. I definitely recommend this guitar for th enthusiast, skilled, and beginning player.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
First Epiphone
By: Michael Borden      Submitted: 8/10/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very nice guitar, excellent quality for the money.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money
By: Abraham      Submitted: 11/17/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Nothing negative, I got what I paid for
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
OUTSTANDING
By: XO      Submitted: 11/13/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am so glad I bought this.I was going to get the AJ 200 but after reading the details on the 220 it seemed like the best buy to me.The construction is top notch,finish is flawless,action and intonation is perfect and price can't be beat...it may not be as flashy as the 200 but this instrument should not be overlooked because it is one of the best deals out there !
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Always satisfied with gear from AMS
By: Bill B      Submitted: 3/9/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Love the big sound and amazing sustain. Beautiful looks and great feel.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
OK, for the price.
By: JFisherSr      Submitted: 12/12/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The "J" is for JUMBO. Good enough guitar for the price point... honestly, it's more of a $200 level guitar. Can be made better with a few alterations. Action is more that "too high", from nut to bridge. Add a quality set of tuners and strings and you have a playable guitar. Not a slam on AMS, they hold up their end, but Epi could do better on this one,.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic acoustic guitar
By: Douglas Flash      Submitted: 8/26/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My AJ 220 SCE EPIPHONE acoustic guitar arrived well packaged, and in flawless condition. I was surprised at how nicely set-up it was right out of the box. The shadow Nanoflex system does a great job on both of my amplifiers, a Fender Mustang and a Fender Acoustasonic 15. My biggest joy is the intonation, which is spot on. I highly recommend this Epiphone Acoustic!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
really nice electric acoustic,, nice slim tapered neck ,feels good,, sounds great looks awesome
By: joe green      Submitted: 12/10/2014
verified
Product Rating




Product Review it is a great instrument for the money! mine came in excellent shape right out of the box, I also purchased a Yamaha, jumbo hardshell case to put it in ,a week later.its awesome too!! the jumbo body ephiphone single cutaway fit the Yamaha case very nicely,. they were both a great bargain for the $$ I spent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar, so-so QC
By: H. West      Submitted: 12/3/2014
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I played a used AJ220SCE in a guitar store and fell in love. So I bought a new one from AMS on Sunday, got it today (FAST shipping!) was overall happy with the guitar, fret ends smooth, great sound, accurate Shadow tuner/pre-amp, tuning keys very good. my one and only problem and the reason I rated it a 4 is, the "G" string fretted out from the 5th fret up....a 1/2 hour or so setting the neck and leveling the frets and this is a worthy player. just a shame that a company like Epiphone missed the mark in QC.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Solid practical instrument for Beginers
By: Nighthog from Hillsborro, TX, USA      Submitted: 8/21/2014
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I already owned a tobacco sunburst of this model that has a beautiful tone and smooth action and true tone up and down the neck. I bought this one for my 12 year old grand daughter. I find that students do better on a better quality instrument that they don't have to fight with. Learning is tough enough for them with out having to fight with an instrument that is tough to play. This model is a much better instrument to start them on than less expensive models and they tend to succeed more often from this approach. Now the guitar I just purchased (the Black One) did not perform as well as the first one. The frets were roughly polished and I had to do some minor filing and polishing to get the action correct. Seems the inspection process on this one was not what it should've been. After some minor touch up though it has the tone and play ability it should have had right out of the box. Not a big deal but would have been nice if it had been set up and inspected a little better.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
"I love this thing"
By: Singer/Songwriter from Connersville, IN USA      Submitted: 4/25/2013
verified
Product Rating
















I got what I expected as I always have from Epiphone. They honestly need to upgrade their inspection and setup procedures as I've always had to tweak out their acoustic guitars. Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar. I bought one right out of the store, got it home and took out the bridge shim, lowered the action and presto, I lost three frets at the 13, 14 15th fret. I replaced a new shim and regained all but the 13 and 14th on the high E. The frets were horrible at the ends but a little smooth filing and I smoothed it out, so it plays nice with d addario 10-47 strings. The acoustic volume is awesome and has that great slope shouldered Gibson sound. I'm happy now, but I must say beware of the necks on these things. Its a comfortable guitar and the neck is great, either for a beginner or an old picker like myself. The controls for me are very tiny and with bifocals, are difficult to get used to. I play through my PA and like it dark and smooth. The shadow electronics are good enough to get you what you want. Mostly very good except for sloppy work at the end of the neck and sound hole. The neck is really smooth! Overall, the sunburst is gorgeous. As I said, I lowered it first thing and screwed it up, so I got to say it was set good if you leave it alone. Action is a matter of taste and experience.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Mostly Junk
By: Steve Southers from Grant,Al,USA      Submitted: 1/8/2013

Product Rating
















Its made ok,but more a beginers guitar. Has some rough edges on some frets and the binding on the neck at the cutaway dosent seem to be set just right Just bought it so i dont know how well it will hold up. Your general opinion of this product. Don't like it, been playing Epiphones sence the 60's and this is the worst one i ever owned.. It feels good in your hands, and action is ok, the low E(6th),has a weird almost echo sound,the neck feels good except for a couple of rough edges on some frets,and the controls are in a good place,easy to use the low E(6th),has a weird almost echo sound. not impressed by the tone. Great looking guitar ok
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback