Item Reviews for: Epiphone Tony Iommi SG Custom Electric Guitar  -  EPI EGTI LIST

A True Axe of GREAT Tone!!!
By: Woodchuck      Submitted: 9/19/2018
verified


Product Rating


Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? Read this entire review before you buy this guitar! This is one of the best guitars I own. Right out of the box after stretching the strings and tuning this bad boy up it’s a true rocker! When Tony developed these pickups then contracted with Epiphone to make this awesome signature guitar he did all of us guitar players a solid. My hat goes off to you Tony for such a great sounding axe. This guitar is a tone generating machine. I mean every Sabbath song I play now sound just like the original recording, simply amazing. Every turn of the tone knobs and volume knobs give a new tone and the separation of notes and chords is unbelievable. I pick this guitar up it’s so hard to put down. I only wish I could have Tony personally sign this guitar one day. Money well spent and if anyone wines about the price, they are not a true fan of Tony or Black Sabbath. I have 3000.00 guitars that don’t play or sound this good. So this being said buy one NOW before the price jumps a grand and if it did I would still buy one. Again Thank you Tony for this signature guitar, hats off to you my friend!!! AMS service and tech support is top notch there is really no reason to shop anywhere else. I only use AMS due to the world class customer service I have always received. They ship super-fast and never have I received the wrong product.
Was this review helpful?
Well worth the money
By: Tony Spillman      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? I like it. It needed to have set up and changed the front strap button because the original button was crooked.. It's a good guitar.
Was this review helpful?
not worth the money
By: Rich      Submitted: 6/22/2018
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? The neck looked like a roller coaster for one and this was due to the wood being to "green" when produced. After neck adjustments and keeping it in an extremely humidified room for a few weeks, its not perfect, but playable. Iv'e had to file down the fret ends because they were as sharp as a razor blade. Compared to my LTD's, BC Rich and Gibsons, it sounds insanely flat. Now this all being said, I expected a lot more than what I got for $850 of Chinese trash. $400, i would not be complaining what so ever. But $850???? Come on Epiphone. An EC-256 from LTD is built with better quality. Before anyone wants to jump my case, I've had this thing for 2 years now hoping that it would garner some redemption one way or another.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Beautiful guitar ... Perfect everything plays well
By: Flynn Patterson      Submitted: 5/21/2018
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? Black Sabbath is the greatest band ever can't express how much I love this guitar
Was this review helpful?
Amazing SG
By: Maddesthatter      Submitted: 1/21/2018
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? Such a sweet playing SG. So much so I bought another one.
Was this review helpful?
Great classic with upgrades
By: JD      Submitted: 1/4/2018
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? This model is much better than previous models. Good buy for the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great guitar!
By: Doug      Submitted: 11/23/2017
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? After getting it setup and new strings it plays awesome, frets are super smooth. It's a lot of guitar for the money. Every not as good as a new $1500 Gibson SG!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
only one issue!
By: Jason signore      Submitted: 11/18/2017
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? I love everything about the guitar except one thing.its hollowed out,and much to light.i am used to playing solid body guitars that have some weight to them.other than that I give it five stars.the neck is a little thin.aggresive players like myself have to handle the neck with a softer grip or you will bend all your notes!great when you want to stretch a note!the pickups are brilliant,love the iommi pickups.i just wish the guitar had more weight to it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Oh my lord....
By: Average Knucklehead      Submitted: 3/18/2017
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? My personal view about electric guitars is that there is a sweet spot between cost & value at somewhere between $900-1300, with further expenditure giving more quality, but with limited return. This guitar costs at the low end of this range, but I have to say I am more pleased with this than my 2001 Gibson SG Standard (made in Tennessee), all for ~50% off the price. I have purchased (& returned) Gibson knock-offs by Epiphone in the past & am neither an Epiphone fan nor a detractor. But in this particular instance, I've found a keeper. Based on the solidity, attractiveness, playability & screaming tone, I'd have guessed this for a $3k Gibson if I had not known better. If Epiphone continues with products like this, I have to wonder about Gibson's future.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great quality Excellent customer service.
By: Jeffrey Decker      Submitted: 11/10/2016
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? This guitar rocks. The sound of the Toni Iommi pickups played through my Laney TI100 Iommi signature series amp gives you the sound of Toni. All I need now is his talent. The workmanship is perfect on it. I searched it for any blemishes but could not find a one. Reviewed the string height at the 12th fret and the tension on the neck and it was perfect. I am very happy AMS called me and confirmed the purchase prior to charging the credit card to verify the online purchase which tells me they are proactive instead of reactive to identity theft. Thank you, AMS!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
MISUNDERSTOOD GUITAR
By: DAN PEROTTI JR.,DANOTTI59@OUTLOOK.COM      Submitted: 5/23/2016
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? BECAUSE THERE IS NOT A REVIEW FOR THE EPIPHONE GENESIS I WOULD LIKE TO STATE A FEW GOOD THINGS ON IT'S BEHALF...IT IS BY FAR A GREAT LOOKING AND PLAYING GUITAR....IT WAS A CLOSE OUT THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN MARKETED IN THAT WAY IN TODAYS WORLD SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED. IT LOOKS AND PLAYS BETTER THAN MOST GUITARS ON TODAYS MARKET. THE GENESIS IS A DOUBLE CUT AWAY EPIPHONE LES PAUL. IT IS A PERFECT INSTRUMENT TOTALLY VERY VERY WELL MADE.
0 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
SWEET SUSTAIN
By: FM BABS      Submitted: 3/9/2016
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? After reading all the reviews I pulled the trigger on this ax.I was surprised how well this is built.A thin neck makes it very easy to play and great sustain that rivals most of my GIBSONS !
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Much better than expected
By: David      Submitted: 12/27/2015
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? The Iommi pickups sound FANTASTIC! I had no serious issues with this guitar. It did need a setup and different strings for my playing style. This is one of the best Epiphones I've played. Very pleased and plan on buying another just to store for my grandson.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
no lefty?
By: coleman D. rhudy      Submitted: 10/4/2015



Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? i love the SG's for one reason, the double cutaway makes them easy access squealer notes when flipped lefty. but i'm surprised that the Iommi edition isn't offered in a lefty version, after all, he's a lefty. i can't flip one of these cuz the crosses would be upside down, and while i'll prob'ly catch alotta flak from other metal players for it, i don't really care, i'm not into that. as an old-school Sabbath fan AND a die-hard Christian, i'd consider paying $100/mo for this cuz it fits my branding model and i love the SG. i just think it's silly when companies offer a guitar based on a famous lefty, but don't make a few to sell alongside the righty models. correct me if i'm wrong, but i didn't see L on the specs. o well, they'd kill me if i spent $800 on a guitar right now...
3 of 60 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Well worth the wait!
By: JD      Submitted: 9/2/2015
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? The tone is EXACTLY what I have been looking for with the Gibson USA Iommi Signature pickups! Included Epiphone Strap buttons are a nice touch. After a quality setup this guitar went from good out of the box to AMAZING! Picked up the Epiphone SG case to keep it in great condition. Enjoy!
19 of 20 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
incredible!!!
By: john bowden      Submitted: 8/6/2015
verified


Product Rating


What is your opinion of this product? just received my iommi. ive had both the Gibson and the epi originals in the past. but....... this out shines and out plays both older models. one of the best things about this new version that nobody mentions is the back of the guitar at the neck heel! all gibbys and epis the heel sits down a little from the back, creating a little drop off. not this one! it gently contours and slopes up to meet the back seamlessly. which is not only easier to play the higher registers, but is so much more pleasing to the eye as well. I cant recommend this axe enough. im 58 years old , and this is one of the very best from epiphone/iommi ive ever seen. thanks , john
37 of 38 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
People who rated this item, also rated...