Item Reviews for: Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom Plus EX Guitar with Case  -  EPI ENCH XXBH1 LIST

    THIS GUITAR IS JUST "TOTALLY AWESOME".
    By: TONY LAMB      Submitted: 8/24/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? FOR A BUDGET LES PAUL, YOU CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER. I HAVE 2 GIBSON LES PAUL'S......A STANDARD, AND A '59 GOLD TOP. I HAVE A SUN AMP (THE SAME KIND JIMI HENDREX USED), AND THIS GUITAR PLAYED JUST AS GOOD AS THE STANDARD, AND "ALMOST" AS GOOD AS THE GOLD TOP. IF I COULD, I"D GIVE IT 6 STARS.
    Was this review helpful?
    Great guitar
    By: Bryan      Submitted: 7/22/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have been wanting a Les Paul guitar for quite some time but could not afford to purchase a Gibson USA version. Hopefully someday I can. After reading many reviews and researching Epiphone guitars I decided to purchase on of these for my first Les Paul. I have been playing for over 30 years and this guitar is an outstanding instrument and the quality is great. I purchased a blemished version from AMS and I cannot see any imperfections on it. Just need to adjust the action a little on the guitar to suit my needs. It came with a hard shell case and delivered to my door. Love the guitar. Thank you AMS!
    Was this review helpful?
    Check the BACK of the Head Stock
    By: Rotten RHETORIC Records      Submitted: 4/30/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The Quality of these RED CHINA Guitars is Declining. The tuners are installed wrong (cocked off center on left side when viewed from Back of headstock) This may not effect function BUT it points to the NEW standards of QA thru out Epiphone. Some models no longer come with cases and the prices have gone up on almost ALL models. Can ANYONE justify $2100 for a China made Epiphone? I have owned several Epi's over the years and everyone was Very Well Made. I have wanted one of the Prophecy models for a long time and they still include a case, this makes the decision even harder, will I receive a "KEEPER"? I do not enjoy returning anything(just lazy). AMS is NOT at fault, they have earned 4 stars from me since 2003. Sorry to vent BUT $$ is hard to come by these days and I read all the reviews(date of review would be helpful)and watched the RAzer video(It Rocked and he covered a lot of playing styles)so a clever man(never been accused of that)would think "What Could Go Wrong"? I will Return..
    Was this review helpful?
    Superb value for the Quality.
    By: Israel Guajardo      Submitted: 2/9/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I tried modest priced guitars for a couple of years ( I am not an expert, rather a beginner), and did not want to spend more money on a guitar that I was not going to squeeze the dollars out of it with my skills, so, after several trips to local stores and comparing the quality and price level of other guitars, I leanrned the differences between them. Knowing Epiphone for its quality but accesible prices, I saw this guitar online and had all what I wanted on a guitar but the price tag was way lower than other brands with similar specs. That is why I bought it without hesistating, even though I could not find it at the local store to try it, only online they said... Bottom line, is beautiful, you can feel the quality, set up is right on out of the box, I don't know how to describe more techicalities but without breaking the bank I feel I got more for my money. Just the case is worth at least 80 bucks!! If you take that from the price of the guitar, is just great, great value.
    Was this review helpful?
    great guitar beautiful
    By: mark DALTON      Submitted: 2/7/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? what a mean sound from some awsome emg's 81 85 you don't even need a distortion pedal
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow
    By: Playing guitar for 35 years, my fifth les paul.      Submitted: 8/7/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I'm blown away by this guitar. I've actually owned a real Gibson LP Studio, and I had nothing but problems with it after two professional setups. It was a pain. I figured what did I have to lose with an Epiphone at this price point? I didn't lose any, I gained. Maybe I got the good apple of the whole bunch, but the workmanship and quality on this guitar beats the Gibson I had. Perfectly set up out of the case. Tone of the EMGs is amazing. If you're on the fence, get this guitar!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Beautiful instrument
    By: Vanessa Nomad      Submitted: 6/6/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Overall, this guitar met my expectations. I got the Midnight Ebony finish, and the quilted maple adds an alluring ripple effect under the glossy finish. And of course the inlays are very elegant. This is my first Les Paul. I've owned a Strat with EMG's for many years, so this LP with the P51/55's gives me a nice bit of tonal variety, though not as much as I had expected. The classic warm tone of humbuckers is evident, however. The back of the headstock had a sticker stating it was set up in the USA to Epiphone standards, but it still needed a trussrod adjustment, a bridge adjustment, and the low E (6) string needed an adjustment for intonation. It was pretty far off when I got it. The strap locks are more strap "clips", and since the guitar doesn't fit in the case with a decent strap, you have to remove the strap every time you put it away. As for the sound ... well it's a Les Paul with EMGs and no weight relief, so, yeah ... it sounds great. Just get yourself a padded strap.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    This Little Bluebird Sings..!!!!!!!!
    By: Finnuchi      Submitted: 5/15/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I was in the market for a nice reliable Les Paul. Did not have $3000.00 to buy a Historic.So....Seeing this little beauty on the AMS webpage..I ordered her online.I have owned several Les Pauls over the years from Jr.'s to Customs..Even a Les Paul Recording Model.What a surprise when I opened the case.!!This Epiphone Prophecy is the most desirable Les Paul I have ever owned ( also...the least expensive...)The finish is beautiful..the EMG's just sing with power and even harmonics.I love the satin finish on the neck and the long scale.I had a "pro setup" done on her and now this guitar just plays and sounds incredible..!!!A little heavy...but not a backbreaker.The hardshell case is sturdy and great looking.This guitar was listed as a "scratch and dent"....Well..so far,I cannot find any scratch or dent..Very happy with this "Little Bluebird"..Awesome guitar at a fantastic price.!!!!!
    Was this review helpful?
    Nice Guitar for the price
    By: Gil Talamantez      Submitted: 5/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Nice guitar for the price and has a great tone. Also plays very smooth. There was a snag during the ordering of this as AMS did not give me an option to pay in way of payments. I decided just to pay it all at once because it sounded like it was going to be red tape to undo it. Other than that everything went smooth.
    Was this review helpful?
    Great guitar, plays and sounds as good or better than any I've ever played. I love AMS
    By: Robert Porter,robertporterishome@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/21/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Sounds mean, plays smooth and fast. Well worth the money which isn't expensive at all.
    Was this review helpful?
    Scratch and dent?
    By: James Bowens      Submitted: 3/15/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I ordered a scatch and dent and I think they sent me a brand new one lol. I could not find a defect on it. The only thing I found was a missing rivet on the case. It looks like brand new condition. This guitar is amazing. I'm a bass player learning to play guitar. I bought a used Fender Strat. I was in ### and picked up a Les Paul and I was hooked. I had to have one. The fretboard seems much easier to play that my fender. All my guitar player friends talk about how beautiful this thing looks
    Was this review helpful?
    Massive tone!!!!
    By: lloyd green      Submitted: 2/11/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Bought a dent and scratch model. Price with a case beat out my old epi special 2 les paul($399 retail at the time) that got jacked. It was a translucent black with a quilted maple top and single binding. I had switched out p/u to seymour duncan pearly gates and a duncan distortion added strap locks and a case. So for years I have wanted to replace but as I no longer gig it wasn't a priority. Well This purchase replaced that guitar and more. The only cosmetic damage was a couple of scratches on the back where you would get buckle rash and it saved me $250.00. You can't see it very well in the pics but it is a trans finish with a quilt top. The EMG's sounded great and I was just running it through Amplitube 3 with their 5150 II patch. The neck is really slim not jackson slim but fit my hand so well I can fly easily up and down the fretboard. The satin finish makes playing a breeze as well. Weight was great, just right. Epiphone hit a home run with this for sure. Better than expected.
    Was this review helpful?
    Possibly the best guitar I've owned.
    By: Dick Mock      Submitted: 1/24/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This might possibly be the best damned guitar that I've owned... and it's an EPIPHONE!Over the years I've played strats, knock off strats, Gibson Les Pauls, Epiphone Les Pauls, Gibson Firebird (a real one, not the $1000 model being offered now). The first thing you'll notice about this beauty is the weight.. She is Gibson heavy, not a light Epi style model. Indeed, she's heavier by far than my last Gibson Les Paul. Of course I like to feel the heaviness on my shoulder, you may not. The tone is killer. More than half of the reason I got it was due to the stock EMG pick ups. They are amazing to me, great tone, no whine, no nasty feedback. And gods above is she gorgeous! From the sleek black, the mother of pearl inlays, I mean wow. If you are looking for a great Les Paul and don't want to pay the Gibson price, then brother this one is where you need to go. Honestly, having played Gibson Les Pauls, I'd take this over any of them, save the extreme higher end models ($2000+)
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    fantastic
    By: Tank      Submitted: 1/4/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The Les Paul Prophecy EX is the best guitar I've owned - very clear sound. I let a guy who's been gigging for at least 20 years play with it, and he said it's comparable to his Gipson Les Paul Custom, but lighter. What we didn't count on was the active humbucker quirks. The guitar won't play without battery, but an AMS rep confirmed that ahead of time. I got it freezing cold and thought the battery was too cold. I changed it, and the guitar still would not play. Apparently, the electronics in the active humbuckers can also get too cold. I went to eat, came back and it worked like a dream! ***And an AMS note*** AMS told me there was no way to tell me ahead of time why a scratch and dent was listed as a scratch and dent. Just refer to the policy that most people can't tell what damage is there. I chanced it and it found small cracks in the binding on each side where the neck connected. A lot of guitars don't even have binding, and most people really wouldn't notice that.
    Was this review helpful?
    Nice!
    By: Trever Heath      Submitted: 9/18/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great les Paul ! Epiphone did a good job on this design.
    Was this review helpful?
    Poorly setup.
    By: Josh Bush      Submitted: 9/9/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Overall this is a great guitar, great price. AMS was real easy to deal with customer service wise. My only complaint is the guitar came poorly setup. Completely out of tune, old almost rusty strings, the action at my 12th Fret was so high I can fit my thumb under the strings. Satisfied with the instrument, not with the condition it arrived.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Absolutely love this guitar....amazingly beautiful! !! Will definitely buy from AMS again
    By: Ben Brewer      Submitted: 8/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Amazing guitar...customer for life!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Epiphone has another hit!
    By: Kenny Kilmer,mr243kil@hughes.net      Submitted: 5/25/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? As I get better I appreciate more the effort by guitar makers to produce an instrument like this. I applaud you!!
    Was this review helpful?
    Nothing but greatness!!
    By: Joey D      Submitted: 4/30/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This guitar is amazing. It's everything you would expect and more. The emg's sound great and work extremely well with this les paul. The streamlined look and setup of it,makes it great for easy playability. If you like or are thinking of getting a les paul, I would definitely recommend giving this one a shot.
    Was this review helpful?
    Definition of great value
    By: john      Submitted: 4/27/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Bad a** guitar and deal
    Was this review helpful?
    sounds great, andit's gorgeous
    By: generalyota      Submitted: 2/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? First one I got had a cracked neck. Ams sent out a new one in a couple days. Drop c it sounds mean!!! Holds tune great, very well made.
    Was this review helpful?
    I love the guitar just expected better quality control from a company like epiphone
    By: daniel biciste      Submitted: 2/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? For starters one of my inlays are cracked! Next the finish on the neck binding has stain from the neck on the white part of the binding.then where the neck meets the body the binding looks like crap! Now on a 3 or 4 hundred dollar guitar I could except these flaws but this thing was 7 hundred! For a brand-new axe I would not expect these flaws or imperfections. Other than that the service was great.
    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Oh Yeah!!!
    By: John      Submitted: 1/22/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? More than I was expecting. Tones are awesome. Pickup combination is ideal for my styles of music, rock, metal, blues, and funk. Finish of guitar is immaculate. Delivered to my home within two days of placing order. Tuned to drop C and setup was spot on. Cannot say enough about this purchase. Ordered midnight sapphire and am more than pleased with the color.
    Was this review helpful?
    Not your daddy's Epiphone!
    By: Brandon      Submitted: 1/16/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This guitar is absolutely amazing! It's definitely not like the Epiphones I remember from 20 years ago. I've owned Gibson LP's and IMO this guitar is every bit as good as they were. The body is solid, the neck with the satin finish is incredible, and the overall build quality is top notch. Sounds absolutely great with the EMG's. And it comes with a case! If you're thinking about buying one, DO IT! You will not be dissapointed!!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    awesome
    By: shane samson      Submitted: 1/5/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Everything i expected.
    Was this review helpful?
    Loading....