4 Pay Event

    Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen 5150 III 50W Guitar Amplifier Head  -  EVH 2253000X LIST

    Mixed Feelimng
    By: Elric Phares Tech OF Tomorrow      Submitted: 10/27/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? I have owned this head for short time, but my feelings are a mixed bag. The Good: The Blue channel is good for hard rock, but not metal and the clean channel IMO is weak and you have to turn the gain up so far to hear it it's not a real clean channel anymore. Red channel is great for hard rock and metal and to me the best channel for my style. The head is very light and easy to travel with. Tone control is located on the front of the amp. The Bad, power and standby are located on the back of the head making it hard to access them especially in low light. Green channel is not a true clean channel. The Ugly - Not really super versatile as it does not have a great clean channel AND IS MAINLY JUST FOR HARD ROCK AND METAL. I played this amp so long my ears were ringing, no joke with the volume on 3, and any louder it may have killed me, but for those wanting a metal amp that can double in the hard rock zone this amp is hard to beat. It took me a few hours to find my tone.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    NOT FOR ME
    By: Mike      Submitted: 8/22/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? No good tone at any lower volume. Sounded like it was being played in a tin can. Just could not dial in a tone I liked to fit brutal metal sound! Sadly this amp is nothing but a result of HUGE ego of who it is named after! How loud an amp is for me is never a reason to why I will buy any amp! The clean was weak at best and the red channel was nothing special compared to many of other amps that I have played that costed much less!!
    Was this review helpful?
    This thing is awesome !
    By: Andrew J      Submitted: 8/19/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? First of all let me say that "built like a tank" is pretty much the correct phrase of choice. It's solid as a boulder! I got the Ivory Tolex, and it's purrrty!! Playing through a Marshall MA 4x12 cabinet with Eminence AX75's it sounds great from really low volume to cranked. I will end up getting the EVH 2x12 cab in Ivory as well for portability. Second of all going back to the low volume tone this head can do it without a tube screamer or loading it up with a stomp box to get searing distortion on channel 3, and thump your chest brown sound on channel two. No distinguishing volume drop on channel 1 either, and I can roll the volume back on my guitar to get a nice tone shift on all three channels. What I'm driving at is that the EVH 5150 iii 50w head is an awesome amp for the money! I've played Marshalls for about as long as I've played, period, around 25 years or so, and I can say this thing does all! I need and more!
    Was this review helpful?
    Flatline Dynamics
    By: Craig Vitti      Submitted: 1/29/2017



    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This amp has plenty of power. The problem is there is no open air dynamics to this amp. Distortion is plenty as channel 2 and 3. I couldn't push the gain past 2, and if I did push the gain past 2, it sounded very linear and flat lined. I was playing this head through a Marshall 4x12 cab. Channel 3 is where the amp start to open up, but the gain is so powerful the amp only lends itself to one genre of music. Many people love this this amp; but being a Marshall guy for many years, the amp loses its open air Marshall feel and vibe. This is mainly a metal amp. Do not let the hype fool you that you can get a Fender Twin or a Marshall sound out of this amp. It has too much gain and is one dimensional. I ended up with a Marshall again, and I'm in heaven.
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    More than I expected
    By: David Brown      Submitted: 12/10/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I was thoroughly surprised by how quickly I was able to get a good overdriven sound and how usable the gain is on all channels. The sound is very articulate with great bottom. Highs are not harsh. The tone is not fizzy or thin. Very versatile amp. Love the sound!
    Was this review helpful?
    Throw away your distortion pedals
    By: Andrew W K      Submitted: 5/5/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I was both surprised and amazed at how fast this amp arrived to my house, after ordering it online, next day delivery. Only given it four stars because the volume difference between Channel 1 and channel 2. I use a fender 65 Reverb for my clean sound and switch back to the EVH 5150 on an A/B switch. I would have given this and a 4.5 star. If you're looking at purchasing this and then you probably know much other its capabilities so I won't go into much detail other than to say it's a great, fantastic & awesome head. When played through a stereo cabinet makes it sound even sweeter. The preamp tubes scream. Don't buy this amp, because I want to be the one with the baddest dance around.
    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Professional Rock Guitarist Amp Head
    By: Doc Montana      Submitted: 3/16/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This is the second EVH amp I have bought and got the head and the 1x12 bottom for portability. These amps are loud with great crunch, blues breakup, metal, whatever. I would again have to say these amps are built for the working rock/blues/metal guitarist. Even with the EVH 1x12 cabinet you could play anywhere from small clubs to big clubs..or mic it for big shows. All I can say is these EVH amps are bad A$$ !!!!
    Was this review helpful?
    Way better than expected
    By: Marco Z      Submitted: 8/20/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I purchased this amp on a whim through watching random videos without having previously played the amp and I was blown away once it actually got here. In all the videos I watched the amp sounded a little thin but the tone seemed decent. Once I got to play it for myself I quickly noticed that it does have a tendency to sound thin but if I leave the presence knob set at or below 3 that it got rid of the problem. I also didn't really notice the huge volume jump in between channel 1 and 2 but I definitely wish that it did have a separate volume knob. All the reviews stating that the blue channel sounded like a hot rodded Marshall were actually correct for once! I've only tinkered around on the red channel a little bit but I've noticed that it does sound a little more compressed and has a ridiculous amount of gain even with the knob set at around 3. All in all this amp is somewhat of a bargain for what you get and its nice that it is lightweight and compact so it doesn't kill my back.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    ehhh
    By: Joe      Submitted: 6/28/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The verdict is still out for me on this one. The volume difference between the clean and the crunch channel is a negative. Don't understand why they can't be the same volume when you switch channels. For what I paid for it I think it should have more. Effects loop doesnt seem to like my delay and time based pedals.It's a loud little bugger. More gain than I need. Nice footswtch. Resonance control is nice. I can make it work and get but I was hopeing I would'nt have to make it work if you know what I mean. I still have to try slamming the front end with my proco rat. I dont do this for more gain just more sensitivity.
    4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Awesome amplifier!
    By: Donald      Submitted: 6/2/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought this Amplifier used,and it was in mint condition,I'm guessing it was a customer return.I am very satisfied with this amp,3 channels,I expecially like the blue channel.I ran a delay and a overdrive in front of the amp and the tones were Sweeeet!Even at bedroom volumes there is plenty of gain and distortion to be had.And clean channel is quite smooth,although I'll never use it(LOL)I am running amp through a 4x12 Seismic cabinet,not the best speakers in the world,but it still sounds really nice.I only paid $779.00 for the amp and it is well worth the money.
    Was this review helpful?
    I love this Amp. Has all the features I wanted.
    By: Hollywood 1821      Submitted: 5/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's a great amp. I would have liked a reverb option. Other than that It's perfect.
    0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Can't play eoungh
    By: Scott S,ses120169@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/25/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have been "tone searching" for well over a year now. Read several reviews, watched countless videos, talked to a lot of people about amps, pedals, processors, etc. A friend had a 5150iii mini and said, "you gotta try this thing, I think it is actually what you are looking for. Yes it was!! So I ordered one for myself. I can't play this amp enough!! It has everything I was looking for as far as the range of tones I needed for my band. I've read about the channel 1 to 2 volume jump, but I use a processor for effects, run thru the loop, adjusted the volume levels in the processor, GONE! Even when the gain on channel 1 is above 5, it's not that bad. The blue channel is where it's at on this amp. The red channel is great for leads or get that nu metal tone. I can't praise this amp emough.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    WOW!!!!!
    By: Leonard      Submitted: 3/2/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great amp way loud cant even put it on one in the house get blown awy lol! very easy to use incredible brown sound , I would definitely buy it again.
    Was this review helpful?
    bad a$$!!
    By: B.Law      Submitted: 2/16/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Loud as hell and fat tone! Tones of range. Love it!!
    Was this review helpful?
    When i got the amp, it didnt even completely work, and i have to get it fixed now
    By: Michael Carter Lee      Submitted: 2/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The amp itself is amazing, but the service from your company was awful. Multiple charges for one item, when I finally get the item it doesn't even work, and then I can't exchange it and have to take it an hour away from my home to have it fixed under Fenders warranty.
    3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    awsome amp
    By: Michael      Submitted: 12/31/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's almost impossible to get a bad sound! it stands up to anything out there, even amps costing 3 times as much. You can have rounded, full body cleans all the way to full bore metal. If that's not enough, the second channel has the brown sound but even more articulate. Fair warning, it will reveal sloppy playing but it rewards good playing with so much detail it's like high definition vs VHS. Eddie outdid himself on this one!
    Was this review helpful?
    Amazing metal tones. Super good cleans!
    By: Chris      Submitted: 12/28/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Very loud for a 50 watt head, a lot louder then my line 6 spider valve 40 watt combo. You can feel it, simply amazing. Tone for days in my opinion best amp for a grand new.
    Was this review helpful?
    Loading....