Item Reviews for: Fender Exclusive American Special Strat Matching Headstock with Bag  -  FEN 0170239 LIST

Was great service it was just what I expected plays like a drean
By: Wilson Morgan      Submitted: 9/6/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Was great service it was just what I expected plays like a drean
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent pickups & playability right out of the box!
By: Sabreazure      Submitted: 8/30/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I am extremly pleased with this Stratocaster! From the look of the black body & matching headstock to the outstanding pickups. No 60 second hum and fully articulate in sound. This instrument is versatile to say the least! Fit & finish is professional quality. This is why I buy American!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
There is nothing like an American fender
By: Arlie wolf      Submitted: 7/29/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This is my first American fender,I own several fenders ,but this is a step above, the way it sounds, the way it feels in my hands ,I heard someone say that they're just good Mexican fenders that's not true at all thes are great quality now don't get me wrong my Deluxe Roadhouse is a mexican-made guitar it's great quality this is two steps above it I can't put it down I heard the American specials are going away so I thought I better get one before it's too late Wise Choice wish I'd done it 10 years ago
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
made in usa
By: KJ      Submitted: 7/28/2019

Product Rating




Product Review guitar has quality craftsmanship and superior attention to detail, if you get the chance, i would purchase one!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic guitar!
By: The_dUb77      Submitted: 7/27/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Great guitar, AMS made it affordable. Gig bag is awesome! Texas special pickups are my favorite. Hard to beat this deal! A+++++
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Better Than What I Expected
By: Mark L,mlundgren5580@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/23/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This Guitar is all Strat. The Texas Specials sound awesome. It feels great, and the finish is almost perfect. Upon close inspection, I found only one small flaw in the paint. The set-up was pretty good right out of the box. The neck feels amazing. I was on the fence for a few days about buying a Surf Pearl Strat with a matching headstock. I was worried that the paint might look dull or ugly. I couldn't have been more wrong. After ordering, I received the guitar within a couple of days. Anyone thinking about buying this Strat should do it! I'm glad I did!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The Texas Special pickups sound great!
By: Kendyl Wallis      Submitted: 7/10/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This is the first time I have ever bought a new, factory fresh guitar . And on top of that, it was the first time of ever had one shipped to me without trying it out. So I was a little bit ahead apprehensive. The guitar arrived in perfect condition , and I was very pleased at the beautiful finish. The action was near perfect, and the Texas Special pickups sound great. I am very pleased with my purchase.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
My First American Made Strat!
By: Cody Hill,hill.cody@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/10/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This guitar is awesome! Thanks AMS! Quality American made Strat without having to save for years. This guitar turns heads, I get so many envious looks and compliments! The matching headstock stands apart. Comes with a Certificate of Authenticity straight from California.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
AMS customer service
By: Brian Britton,brianbritton58@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/2/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Great customer service. Guitar went up 100.00 2 days before 4 payment option. Went through their price match got it for 999.00. Arrived a day early. When Fed x handed me the box the fender box inside was very unstable. It had no packing at all around the fender box. I nervously opened the box to find it in good shape. However the action is so high it is almost un-playable. Whether it came from Fender that way or got knocked around in shipping I can't say. It's a beautiful guitar and after I go pay for a good set up I can tell you more accurately about the guitar. The volume doesn't come on till about 3.5 and a soft case.USA for a grand??
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great MADE IN USA Strat
By: Greg Mc      Submitted: 6/26/2019

Product Rating




Product Review This is simple a really good guitar and a great deal for the price. As of the new fender line up, this is the ONLY US made strat under 1K. Fit and Finish is great, Neck feel is great. The PU are nice but a little bright. Not keen on the Volume pot. 0-3 no sound 4-8 max no 9 or 10 not a big problem.. but its the first thing I noticed and my only complaint. Great buy, If I could of gotten the gold I would of but waited to long so I go the black. Such a good deal for a US fender I will also get the gold Tele, you will not get another US tele for under 1k
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful guitar
By: Sonny      Submitted: 6/24/2019

Product Rating




Product Review The gold finish on this guitar is gorgeous. Love the jumbo frets and C modern neck shape, it’s my favorite neck on the strats, that’s why I love the American Special. Love the natural wood feel of the neck instead of it being finished like past Special models. Pickups are ok. If you want the true strat sound you’ll love it. But I prefer less bright tone so I upgraded the pickups to EMG S3 and S4.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Strat I’ve Tried!
By: Anthony      Submitted: 5/26/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I can’t resist when I saw the color and as a bonus it has a 70’s headstock and matching color with the body. The pearl finish is amazing, a lot better than what you see in the picture. The neck feels great, I have to lower the string height a little bit and plays like a dream. I’m more of a PRS/Gibson style nut This guitar really blows me away. Can’t put it down once I started playing. Just wish it came with a hard case or a deluxe gig bag.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Ease of playability with classic Fender sound
By: Scott      Submitted: 5/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Review From the classic paint with matching headstock, this Stratocaster has the look, sound and ease of playability of the early 1950s models. Everything you need for the classic Fender sound and look is found in this model. You gotta have at least one!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome
By: Keith      Submitted: 4/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Nice, got the sea foam pearl. Beautiful finish, Texas special pick ups. Tone is pure strat aggressiveness nice smooth satin feel neck this thing plays just like the standards/American pro/Elite less $ but still u.s.a. Made strat.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Inspires me
By: Sam G.      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this guitar. Always wanted an American made strat and wanted the texas special pickups. This model made that possible. Plays amazing, feels amazing, looks amazing. Only complaint would be that it has a 6 point trem, would prefer a 2 point, but that's a minor issue.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar.
By: Jonathan Sayre      Submitted: 4/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Live this guitar. Only problem, it was super dusty and had a couple of soft scratches on the back
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This guitar makes playing a powerful experience
By: Gary D Maestas      Submitted: 4/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Like all american fender products the sound is above and beyond everything in its class allways
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A Strat for all tones
By: Sean Jackson      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Finally broke down and got a real strat. I always wanted one, it I always seemed to be stuck in humbucker land when I got a new axe. Forced myself to get this sss model. I am so glad I did. Great neck, easy to play, and the Texas Special pickups are hot without getting shrill. I love it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic guitar so worth the money!!!!
By: Floyd Lackey      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review 100 percent quality!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Loooove this guitar
By: Robert Stevens,sirpoins@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar has a beautiful sound whether clean or with any type of pedal. Very versitile sound. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar...
By: Levon Bowman      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My guitar is beautiful, plays well and I like it a lot. The only thing I found wrong with it is either a scratch in the paint or a crack in the body. I can't tell which.The bright color hides it in real lighted places. I sent an email with a picture and haven't received a reply yet.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This guitar is phenomenal!!
By: Sean Cassidy      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I ordered an Exclusive Fender American Special w/matching headstock, and it plays so well, I was blown away. I’ve always been a Gibson guy, but I wanted to order another guitar that had single coil pickups. I was torn between a Strat or a Tele. I’m very glad I picked this guitar. It Has a good weight to it, but doesn’t kill you like a les Paul does. The neck is perfect and so smooth. The big 70’s style headstock is a nice tribute, and The Texas Special pickups have a very bright tone, but can also give you a nice warm sound as well. This is a very versatile guitar, and I would highly recommend anyone to buy one. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely beautiful. The gold metal flake is Deep!!!
By: Buck Merrimac      Submitted: 3/1/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Simply a perfect example of a classic. Proof that beauty dont have to be only skin deep.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Head
By: John Hamrick      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I don't know how many musicians have said they have headstock envy. The matching headstock makes the whole guitar pop. Plays good, sounds great.Good buy.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
awesome out of the box.
By: Don      Submitted: 1/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have 36 guitars, mostly Gibson , Epiphone and 3 american made fenders. The finish on this gautar is flawless. It plays as well as any guitar I own. Mine is the aztec Gold. It looks so much better in real life . The pictures don't do it justice. Should cost a lot more in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent perfect and awesome
By: Mark Parise      Submitted: 1/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Fender quality and ams service! Always five star
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Unreal For the price !!
By: WBeaumont      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This beautiful guitar is incredible in both looks & sound!! Having a made in America Strat at this price is a dream come true !! Well happy
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing strat for the money
By: Nathan      Submitted: 1/21/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is one of the best playing strats I’ve ever owned. The jumbo frets took a while to get used to, but I prefer them now. I got this model is Aztec gold, and man is it beautiful. The Texas specials are great pickups, and the satin finish on the neck feels unreal. The matching 70’s style headstock is just icing on the cake. I’m glad I grabbed one of these limited edition gold strats while I could. I’m going to have this guitar for a very long time.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Make in USA, best buy ever.
By: Curtiss L. Carlo      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Enjoying the best of your guitar's you make.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Incredible!!
By: Howard Hanson      Submitted: 12/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Beautiful, great playing guitar. Highly recommend. Thanks AMS..
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Tough Customer likes it. Beautiful Finish. Decent pickups.
By: Bruce G.      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Well, first off, it's beautiful. Yes, there's a LOT of things I might change (like 2 pole bridge, locking tuners, etc) but chatting about basics, it's a decent made stratocaster. The fret edge could be a bit more rounded my biggest beef (hardest for me to easily fix). The finish is awesome as is the headstock. The texas special pickups are actually quite good, and yes, string 5 has a volume slight drop, not my favorite but tolerable. Too bad the basic AM stratocaster doesn't come with a hard shell case, feel cheap but I have tons of hard shell cases so I guess that's OK.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I absolutely love my Golden strat.
By: Tony Love      Submitted: 11/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I opened up the box and began to play it and it's the 2nd one that I bought this year, interestingly enough it actually plays as good as the first one. I saw it the first time and I had to have it. I'm very happy with it happy with American Music Supply excellent service.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great looking, sounding Fender!
By: Dwayne      Submitted: 9/29/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Looks good! Sounds great! My very first electric Fender
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
My new Best Friend
By: Murray L      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review When I am at home just noodling, the clarity of not even plugging it in is fantastic, or I connect to a practice amp amd run through several playlists
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
i love this thing
By: Herb      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I was so happy to pick this up when they had them in aztec gold .. Such a nice guitar for a great price .I truly believe it will only get better with time .
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
"Well worth the money" American made and a good value.
By: John Farringer      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It did come with a small dent on the lower inside bout. American Musical Supply was very good about making it good for me by dropping one payment. I was very satisfied with this. I also have the matching Tele with the matching headstock and it is perfect. Love the Texas Special pickups. I have them both in Surf Pearl. Get one or both of these guitars soon before they are discontinued!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Special-Run Strat
By: Don L.      Submitted: 9/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Love this American Special - the jumbo frets, flatter radius and relatively wide nut width give it a different feel from my other Strats, which have vintage-style necks. The Texas Specials sounds great: classic Strat tones with lower gain, but they really growl when pushed. Lastly the looks, the Aztec Gold with the matching, '70s-style big headstock really set this one apart. Great deal on a unique, American-made Strat!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Probably the best guitar i have ever played! Ilove it love! I lovethe tone the sound it gives me.
By: Jose Perez      Submitted: 9/7/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Amazing sounds love the way it feels! The tremolo on the guitar is just a beauty i couldn’t ask for a better guitar. Loving to play it kore and more everyday I’m so glad i purchased this instrument with this company y’all give musicians a chance to have instruments they dream of.. making it affordable for others to get what they need!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
captures the 70's style Strat in many ways
By: Lar Wolkan      Submitted: 9/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review first let me just say something positive-- This guitar looks stunning!! After that, I was hoping for modern improvements with a look of the 70's, but I was a bit disappointed because it not only captures the look of the 70's but many of the quirks and issues often found in the original early to mid-70's Strats.I still have a 1975 large head stock Strat that i compared it to, so here's a side-by-side analysis: 1975 original Strat Neck - 3-bolt Maple (-1) Intonation issues even with setup (-1) Action - Fast! (+1) Weight - Heavy 10 lbs (-1) Pickups - Medium output (-1) Natural sustain - Mediocre (-1) Total = -4 2017 Gold Special Strat Neck - 4-bolt Maple (+1) Intonation issues even with extensive setup (-1) Action - Fast! (+1) Weight - Lighter 8 lbs (+1) Pickups - Medium output but the B string is noticeably quieter then the rest of the strings even with pickup adjustments (-2) Natural sustain - mediocre (-1) Total = -1
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Plays and sounds fantastic!
By: Brian P      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very satisfied with this guitar. Looks great and plays great. Sounds awesome.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
"Well worth the money" installed fender Custom Shop Pickups has fuller sound more bite
By: mark beaty      Submitted: 8/9/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Nice neck I can do bends past the 12th fret with no fretting out I can't say that about more expensive Fender I have purchased
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Lives Up To The Legendary Name
By: Wayne      Submitted: 7/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Finally, a strat worth every penny of its price. The finish. Fretts, Electronics are spot on. A true players dream. The tone of these pickups is authentic almost gritty. I have used it in Worship service and in a Cover band and it gets the job done. I have had tons of compliments from audiences and friends who say the look and the sound remind them of legendary guitars from Fenders past. In one word. "AWESOME".
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
very pleased with my guitar and AMS.thank you
By: marco fernandez      Submitted: 7/22/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review great product
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Not as great as I hoped
By: DanDeeDan      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Matching surf pearl headstock looks cool. Unfortunately, the neck is uncomfortable (the necks on my Indonesia Squier Surf Strats are significantly more comfortable to play), and there was a minor wood flaw in the (natural) neck. (Granted, for guitars with painted or even stained necks, you would not notice this type of wood flaw.) For comparison, I also have an American Elite Surf Pearl Strat with matching surf pearl regular size headstock -- cost me $600 more (with saved up discounts) and was well worth it. Also have a '75 CBS era, 3-bolt Strat, and even with those issues, and it is a much better player. Maybe it all depends upon the neck shape you prefer. It looks nice, though.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
All the Strat you will ever need!
By: Eddie      Submitted: 5/15/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Had a lot of Fenders over the last 20 years and for the money this one is the best hands down. excellent fit and finish and that neck, OMG!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Guitar and sales service
By: C.Webb      Submitted: 4/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great Guitar,A.M.S has been the best in the business to deal with, My salesman Josh ext: 6125 has helped me with numerous purchases he is very knowledgeable
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
BOOM 1000$ US STRAT WELL WORTH
By: WALKALOVE,petey@killbabyloncoalition.com      Submitted: 2/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Beautiful instrument no complaints at all....yet. except the gig bag cool for the occasional player but I'm on the road playing shows every weekend, that gig bag no gonna make the cut. AT ALLLLL. BUT DAMN LOVE THIS GUITAR!!! I FRIGGIN LOVE YOU AMS!!! OH and I paid the extra overnight ship boom, 23 hours later in my hands!!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Strat I’ve ever played!
By: Ron Podovich      Submitted: 1/19/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Pictures do not do the finish justice. Aztec Gold looks absolutely gorgeous in person. The C shape neck is incredibly comfortable to play on. Sound wise the Texas Special pickups are absolutely amazing. I haven’t been able to put his thing down since I got it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Not as great abs I hoped cool look but not the vibe was expecting
By: Jammin jack      Submitted: 1/7/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The guitar is nice vibe, but don’t be confused. This is not as nice, as American standard specials are almost Mexican grade with made in USA on them, I don’t believe these are corona-built.
9 of 29 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback