Item Reviews for: Fender Eric Johnson Stratocaster with Case  -  FEN 117702 LIST

This is a great Strat
By: Doc Castle      Submitted: 2/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review I fell in love immediately. This is the best Strat I've ever played, and I've play many. I play mainly Blues/Rock and the Eric Johnson Strat is perfect for me. I love the neck and I love the tone of this guitar. I plan to buy another as a backup. If you buy an Eric Johnson Strat you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A masterpiece guitar. Absolutely love it.
By: Joe Haas      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Perfect right out of the case. Great quality Fender Instrument. Very impressed with the feel.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Worth every penny.
By: Bradley Combs      Submitted: 10/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Strat clean chime all day but can still scream. Its as nice as my custom shop strat.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best guitar I’ve ever had
By: Kenny Hughes      Submitted: 9/28/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very well made and sounds great
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The best Strat I’ve ever played!
By: Mike      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This Strat is hands down the best I’ve played. Not only does it sound great, but more importantly it FEELS great. The neck is right up my alley. I searched long and hard for a Strat with a maple neck with this profile, and a nitro finish and this is probably the only non-custom shop version you’ll find with those features. I couldn’t be happier with it. I have another 90’s Strat with Fender CS 69’s in it, initialled by Abby Ybarra, and in tone alone the EJ just smokes it. Would love to buy EJ in the vintage white color too if AMS ever decides to carry it! Couldn’t be happier.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this thing !!
By: Robert      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Smooth as butter
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very beautiful guitar.
By: JJKane      Submitted: 4/9/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Purchased as blemished but could hardly see any flaws.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best strat I've owned
By: Greg      Submitted: 5/19/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is one of the most musical sounding strats I've owned... I've owned may over the years. The neck is just perfect. I adore the rounded edges on the neck. The EJ strat is everything I was hoping for in a "chimey" way.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing Stratocaster. Amazing guitar. Period.
By: Ranger Jay      Submitted: 1/20/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review If you like a Strat with a chunky, firm neck, then you will probably like the EJ. I prefer a neck with some meat, and this fits the bill. It's no baseball bat, but it is a handful. Perfect out of the box. The pickups sound great through an Orange Thunderverb and a Top Hat Emplexador. Quality and finish are up there with my Gibson R8s. It's not just a great Strat. It is a great guitar.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful and fantastic sounding
By: Marlon      Submitted: 1/7/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a wonderful guitar. I lucked out and found one that was only 7lbs. I love the fact that you can choose based off of serial #. The guitar sounds great through my Fender bassbreaker amp. The guitar looks wonderful with the tinted maple neck. Stays in tune and feels great with the soft v neck. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Buy it now!!!!!!!
By: Larry      Submitted: 10/25/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this guitar!!! I have owned many guitars. Mostly Strats and Les Pauls. This is without a doubt my all time favorite. I love the vintage contours and the tuners are amazing. Easiest guitar I've changed strings on. The neck fits my hand perfectly and the action is incredible. It almost plays itself. I love the unique tone set up (the tonal possibilities are almost endless). The pickups have that classic Strat tone I have always loved, only better. I especially like the fact that the bring pickup is extra hot. Great for solos. Last but not least, the nitrocellulose finish is absolutely stunning. Don't think, just buy it! You won't be disappointed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
perfect in every way!
By: William Martin      Submitted: 9/28/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review love this guitar! the finish is flawless. flamed maple neck looks gorgeous and fits my hand perfectly the 12" radius is very similar to My Gibson 63es335 reissue and the two guitars complement each other perfectly.I love the feel of the nitro lacquer finish, and the stickiness goes away very quickly. I can´t imagine the build quality and finish being any better. The 57 body countours are super comfortable. Frets are great, low action. vintage staggerred tuners give it a clean look and stay in tune. the guitar has an incredible resonance. you can feel and see that they have used the finest materials and the special pick ups are just that special. I can go on and on. I will pick up the bound rosewood model next.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Very, very good
By: Scott McFarland      Submitted: 2/10/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am very impressed, this is custom shop quality. The build is perfect and the pickups sound great. I have a $4500 custom shop strat with Abby's and this equals that.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
One of Fenders Best Guitars
By: DMR Guitar      Submitted: 1/2/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Interesting Strat in all the right ways..... I bought the 2-tone "brownie." Unexpected light weight for starters. Special features which make this a real keeper. 12" radius neck with a tinted maple finger board that features a fair amount f flaming, staggered vintage tuners (no string tree required), nitro-cellulous paint lets the wood breath better and makes this guitar very acoustic (unplugged), unique designer custom pick-ups that are spot-on for a huge variety of tones and a really strange electrical set-up which works quite nicely, tone pots for the neck and bridge pups, but the middle pup is wide open (no tone pot). Really helps to redefine the #2 and #4 positions for additional sonic variety. What else? Oh, gee, the case is almost worth the price alone, what a stunner, you have to see it to believe it (inside and outside). Includes a historic "ash tray cover." Neat! Alright, this is basically a "custom shop" quality guitar & holds it's own with my Fender '52 RI Tele
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The One
By: BillyJack      Submitted: 1/2/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I own two USA strata and the EJ strategy I received from AMS is the best sounding and playing by far. If you buy a USA strategy the EJ is the way to go...
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Feel like from Fener's golden era -- fantastic guitar
By: h1pst3r from Boston      Submitted: 2/17/2011

Product Rating














The best. It is the top of the heap for the Artist Series and it screams top-shelf in yor hands. I have a new love for Fender (and EJ) for making this guitar to such specs. I am a modAddict and I will not toouch a single thing on this guitar. My kids will have this in 50 years when I'm gone. They'll smile as much I do when they play it. Thank you Fender & EJ. She is brand new for me but the be warned the lovely nitro finish is THIN. This is of course preferable to let the guitar resonate without a straight-jacket of poly. The body and neck finish are simply stunning Your general opinion of this product. I have had literally dozens of strats. I have personally built more than 15 partscaster -- many with custom shop parts and premium wood. I can build a nice axe... but this EJ is special. From the minute I delicately opened the AMS box to see the beautiful G&G case to the initial wiff of the nitro upon unbuckling it -- I knew this was a special guitar. I can't say enough. I have a couple of wonderful strats in house now and wondered that the heck I was doing getting another for this price. I went ahead and did it because I'd never had a "brand new Strat" and because the EJ is exactly how I would build a strat if I could blue sky it. It is far beyond expectations and my expectations were extremely high. Light, fast, comfy, and toneful. I passed up a used Custom Clasic last week to buy the EJ and I have zero regrets. The other reviewers here are correct -- this IS a Fender custom shop guitar. Honestly it killed the custom classic I played. It does it all. The EJ pups can do what the Fralin special blues do, but they can't do what the EJ can do. The Custom shop 69's aren't as flexible. It may be the lack of tone control on the middle pup in the EJ, but the 2&4 positions are gorgeous. It can quack with the best of them, can sear, can be dark and smooth, and can cut like nobody's business. Best pups I'm played. So nice -- so very nice. The two-piece select alder body with deep cut finished in that thin nitro is the stuff that made Fender a legend. I truly felt as if I was transported to 1957 and was opening my new strat. It looks like the pics you see in the Fender history book -- maybe better as the frets are jumbo, the nec is modern and the pups are a gift from the gods. To be honest I am not a huge 2TS fan but didn't want black and couldn't wait for the RW EJ. The finish on this 2TS is the best sunburst I've ever seen. I thought for sure my EJ would be with my tech immediately, but the action is actually perfect. For the price of an EJ most stores will definitely do a free setup so I had a small bit of buyers remorse going the AMS route. I was so happy to see the action set beautifully low but with out any buzzing. Kudos AMS and Fender!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Custom shop quality in a production guitar!
By: Rich from Michigan USA      Submitted: 3/5/2009

Product Rating














Very well built from the quartersawn neck to the two piece body to the wonderfull custom wound pickups. A+ to Fender on this one. Have not had it long, but appears to be a workhorse. Your general opinion of this product. Sometimes you don't know what you are getting into with production strats, but they nailed this one. Before shelling out $1200-1500 bucks on an American standard or deluxe, you may want to check out the EJ. Did"nt like the stock strings (10s), so replaced them with 9s and was blown away. neck is great, did'nt think I would like the flat 12 inch radius, but I sure do now. Wide range of tones. Really like the tone control on the bridge pickup. Killer 2 tone sunburst. Thin nitro lacquer though, so it will need to be taken care of. Set up was good out of the box. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Exceeded my expectations
By: TNourse from Arkansas, trevorr.nourse@gmail.com      Submitted: 1/8/2009

Product Rating














Right out of the box the EJ is stunning and in tune with no flaws that I can tell at this point. Seems to be well made and expect will be a pleasure to play for years to come. Your general opinion of this product. I must agree with those that state it is the best production model Fender has IMO. Also I do like Eric Johnson but isn’t my reason for buying the guitar. I like the specification more than anything else. Love the neck. WOW… The 12” radius makes playing a dream. But I can see some not liking the size if you’re into the 7 or 9’s. But give it a chance as AMS has a great program. Test Drive for up to 45 days which is more than enough time to be sure. I purchased the 2 tone, wanted red but AMS doesn’t sell although it’s the one they show first. Either remove it or offer the Red EJ please! Tone – For days my friends. Very dynamic response and each of the 5 positions offer their own color. The setup just makes sense to me. Yes there is a little hum but if that is really a concern for you plug in an area 61 in the bridge and 58’s in the middle and neck. I don’t think it will hurt the tone but will be different. Noise Gate would be my suggestion or volume pedal when you’re not playing. Very clean! Nicely done but will have my guitar guru check it out anyway.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Most comfortable Strat
By: Frankie from Suffern, NY      Submitted: 4/19/2008

Product Rating














Amazing craftmanship for this production line strat. The neck is beautiful and you can tell that it's from 1/4 swan one pice maple. Some guitars with maple necks are two piece with the fretboard glued on. The frets are higly polished and leveled, the neck has a nice light amber tint to it with nitro finish. Although the nitro finish seems sticky at first and I've heard many people complained about this but a couple of days playing it actually smoothes out. I can go on for days about the quality of this strat...even the factory stock strings are great! I just recently purchased it and put it through a good test run so we have yet to see how it holds up. But it feels like its going to be a work horse guitar. Your general opinion of this product. Awesome! I've had this dinky Japanese Strat that I've been banging on for a while and a les paul standard and I tell you what - this guitar has put the fire back into my playing. I enjoy playing more and I'm just more excited and motivated to pick it up. The Neck is amazingly comfortable. The soft v shape holds up well for fast playing as well as strumming. Don't be afraid of the 12" radius fretboard - its pretty comfortable for chordal work. The deep contour just forms to your body and the weight of it makes playing those 3 hour gigs effortless and pain free. This guitar is like my favorite tshirt and jeans - just fits me When plugged in straight to my Marshall 1987x it was godly. The neck pick up is my favorite - its warm and crisp tone makes it so versitile. When I roll back the tone knob it becomes almost humbucker quality but you can tell it was still a strat. The middle pickup produces a little more high and puts out great scooped mid sound. The bridge pickup is fantastic - not too heavy on the highs which is great because I like my bridge pickups with high outputs but not that ear bleeding high. The lows on all the pickups weren't muddy are too deep at all - just "right" which I find hard to believe because it's too good to be true to find a guitar with the right combination of pickups. I usually swap them out but man...these are here to stay. These pickups are modeled to Eric Johnson's specs who is a tone king. I was so suprised that a production model could sound like this. The pickups seem like they are custom shop quality. My EJ strat is in Black and the pain job is great. Smooth, shiny but not too glossy. The action was perfect for me. Usually I have to set it up myself but it was done right straight out of the box. And the intonation was correct.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
best of the custom artists series did what counts on this one
By: james saunders from ofallon mo usa, sjimijames@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/12/2008

Product Rating














noticable quality upgrade love the body contour love the nitro-cell finish love it 0 maintainance problems Your general opinion of this product. seemed pricey till i got it in my hands. I've owned and still do lots of guitars as time goes by this is abetter value every time I pick it up a must acclimate guitars but worth the time and effort you want it you you got it depth and clerity like some true late fiftys and sixtys I've heard and played dreamy great got it from a small pro shop
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This guitar holds up to all the positive reviews I have read
By: Gary      Submitted: 4/3/2008

Product Rating














Great materials and features,all my guitar playing buds simply can not get over the defined sound this strat has,custom shop material and sound Quality Not owned long but stays in tune well Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is a bargain for the features and materials it is made of It feels smooth and soft (love the nitro finish) nothing compares great neck and the pick ups are awesome CLEAR and DEFINED Very full sound sharp but yet refined highs and clear bass response no mush on this strat neck is a work of art great color. I am thinking that being quarter sawn the grain glows under good lighting and mine has the greyish blond that lets the grain shine thru Action was very good for a stock box guitar
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fender got it right!
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
The fit and finish is impeccable. It looks incredible.

FEATURES:
I love the way this guitar is set up electronically. It looks beautiful and with the small headstock, it has that vintage vibe. I love the look it has sans string tree.

EASE OF USE:
Plays like butter! But I still don't sound like Eric Johnson-

VALUE:
A great value, much cheaper than Fender custom shop models- although my wife thinks it is a waste of money!

SOUND:
This is where the guitar really shines! The neck pickup is hotter, and the 2nd and 4th position sound like a humbucker when you roll the treble off. The tone pots control the neck and bridge pickups, snd the middle pickup is wired in phase, so when you select the 2nd or fourth switch position and roll the treble off, you don't have that out of phase fender sound- you get a great bluesy woman tone-

STYLE:
If it's got a beat, I play it!

MUSIC E
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
for my style is the best guitar
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

STYLE:
ritchie blackmore,jimi hendrix

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
37 years

OVERALL:
if i have a cance to buy this guitar i will never replace
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Shop at Guitar Centers
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Perfect

FEATURES:
Basic Strat

EASE OF USE:
lowest action I have ever had on a strat

VALUE:
I would always want lower prices...Lets keep It real people...

SOUND:
tone for daze and daze
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Toys from the Tone God.....
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Best Strat Ive ever played and I've owned about 5 of them already.

FEATURES:
I love the neck with it's vintage tint, but hey....those pickups. When you can get ANYTHING that Eric Johnson had a hand in designing. It's well worth the money spent getting toys from the tone god.

EASE OF USE:
It's a Strat......DUH!!!!

VALUE:
It's an Eric Johnson Strat. No home should be without one. I'm actually amazed this wasn't a special order custom shop job.

SOUND:
A nice well rounded tone from this axe. It's lighter than your typical strat but that's ok. The sound is certainly NOT comprimised. The pickups are VERY very versatile.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
THINK RELIC INSTEAD OF ERIC
By: EDDIE from TUCSON, AZ. USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sweeter than Sweet!
By: Jef Bode from Brewster NY USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
First class workmanship- not 1 flaw

FEATURES:
Hot bridge pickup and alterd wiring

EASE OF USE:
Uh, yeah- it's easy to use!

VALUE:
I think it is a bargain-

SOUND:
You can dial in everything from twangy strat to gibson tone-

STYLE:
a-z

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
Since the 60's

OVERALL:
No, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
You definitely NEED one of these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By: Joe V      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
A very well made SWEET guitar! The quarter sawn maple neck is a wonderful golder color with a delicate flame.

FEATURES:
I gave it a four because the truss rod is not readily accessible. The adjustment is not located at the head stock but rather the other end of the neck requiring a little disassembly to access.

EASE OF USE:
It was great right out of the box.

VALUE:
I firmly believe that in years to come this guitar will be sought after.

SOUND:
FANTASTIC!

STYLE:
Rock/Blues

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
30 years+

OVERALL:
I have been a devout Les Paul player and never cared for Strats save for their sound. While I will never give up my Pauls completely this axe has made me a believer. For strat lovers this could be the ultimate stratocaster but remember this guitar has a 12 inch radiused fingerboard.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The EJ Strat, best production Strat on the market.
By: Johnny D from Delaware      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating














Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
This is a fantastic version of the famous Fender Strat. The workmanship is superb.

FEATURES:
The finish is awsome.

EASE OF USE:
The feel of this Strat is so comfortable, very easy to play.

VALUE:
Spend the extra bucks, this Strat is worth every penney.

SOUND:
I always judge a good strat by it's acoustic sound. If it sounds good unplugged, it usually sounds great once plugged in. The EJ Strat sounds great ....nuff said.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback