Item Reviews for: Fender Super Sonic 22 Tube 1x12 Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 2160000 LIST

    Sounds like an angry dog!!
    By: Zeb      Submitted: 9/23/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This is an awesome amp. The cleans are crystal or shattered whatever you set it to. The burn channel just sounds like a growling angry dog that's about to pummel somebody. It's very durable. I'm not sure how some of these guys are tearing their amps up because I've never had trouble with Fender amps, but I'm careful with my stuff. I put an MXR 10 band EQ in my effects loop to give it some boost for lead and to push the power section a little harder when needed. It's a lot louder than I expected. Very nice surprise. Plugged into my carvin 400w 4x12 cab the bottom just doesn't quit. Really great sound, but I like it best just by itself with only a Crybaby Fasel up front and the EQ in the back. The controls are extremely responsive. You can shape the tone any way you want. The dual gain is a trip! I love it cause it can be dialed in infinitely. I really like it to say the least! I've had a Hotrod Deville 212 and I really liked it, but this is much better in my opinion.
    Was this review helpful?
    High quality
    By: Kris cuddihy      Submitted: 8/23/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I own 2 fender super sonics. They're awesome for our band! Plenty of gain and the clean tones are superb. We always get compliments that neither guitarist is louder than the other. The blend is perfect.
    Was this review helpful?
    Love this amp.
    By: Roger      Submitted: 2/7/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This is one great amp. Here's the deal. Clean channel is basically a Deluxe Reverb. Very sweet and toneful. The burn channel can go from a very cool overdriven tone to a flat out Mesa Boogie grinder. This baby is loud however the clean channel may need a mic if you play ultra loud. One tip I'll tell you. The lightening bolt speaker is "meh." Not a great speaker however get ahold of a Warehouse Reaper HP for $79.00 and this baby sings. This is a keeper. AMS makes it so easy to get great equipment there's no reason not to indulge yourself.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great price more than worth the money
    By: Gordon      Submitted: 6/9/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This amp is so much better than anything else I tried or looked at.
    Was this review helpful?
    Fab Tube Amp
    By: ruben trevino,trevino.ruben@comcast.net      Submitted: 4/14/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Just got a new Super Sonic 22 Black, build is 2016. And, its got fab tube tone, simple, great clean, crunch, and distortion with cascading circuit. Speaker is by Eminence and is tricked out for this amp. It sounds great to me . . . Really cool amp and oodles of tube tone, not nasally like Marshall etc. Just warm, round, fat and fab reverb too! Excellent amp! Oh, cool footswitch for channel switching, normal/fat on the clean channel, reverb and effects. You need to remember that the footswitch has an on/off effect switch, or you'll spend an hour like I did trying to figure why the effect didn't work . . duh!
    7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Very Versatile. Well Made.
    By: Ben      Submitted: 1/21/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? What a versatile amp. I use it with a Gibson SG. On the clean channel, I get a nice jazz tone. On the overdrive channel, with everything turned up, I get a great metal tone. This amp isn't like a Marshall; it doesn't color the tone of your guitar. But it has plenty of gain, plus tube driven spring reverb. And its made better than a Marshall. It's a pcb amp but the tubes are mounted to the chassis not the pcb board. That makes a big difference if you want to experiment with different tubes. I like JJ's over the sovteks the amp came with. I also like a celestion g12h over the stock speaker. But the amp sounds great right out of the box.
    6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Amp!
    By: John Cornett      Submitted: 12/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Coming from a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, this amp is really a step up. It makes the Deluxe sound like garbage. The vintage channel is rich in tone, and hitting the Fat switch adds a rock punch to the clean tones. The burn channel is very versatile going from heavy to texas blues by turning some knobs. I am very happy with this amp and recommend it to anyone sick of so-so tone.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Versitile amp needs better quality tubes
    By: Guitar guy      Submitted: 11/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The amp has a ton of character. Sounds great loud,or not loud with my Dual Fusion pedal or without. Combined i get a lot of different tones even though its technically a 2 channel amp. The reason i give 4 stars is the tubes. Groove tubes do not manufacter tubes. I had JJ tubes installed and biased and wow what a difference. The Groove tubes got muddy if driven too hard where as the JJ's seem to love it. Also the spaeker says made by Eminence but it seemed a bit thin and weighed half of the Wharehouse Vintage 30 i also installed. Fender really needs to step the game up and use better tubes and speakers. I shouldnt have to swap tubes and a speaker on an amp i just payed $1100 for. Still with a few tweaks this amp imho will compete with any if the "hand wired" botique amps out there at a third the price.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow....this amp sounds amazing..better than the 65 Deluxe reverb RI
    By: Beagle master      Submitted: 10/20/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? We were on a mission to find the best sounding Fender tube amp for our studio. The first amp we tried was the Fender 65 Twin Reverb ....beautiful but just way too much power and a real boat anchor to move around. Then we tried the deluxe reverb....legendary clean sounds of course but we wanted to get some Snarly distortion when needed.....this amp stays beautifully clean beyond human hearing. Next, we looked at this Supersonic 22..... Wow ...the clean channel is the same as the 65 Deluxe reverb ...so that's a win.... The burn option on the clean channel gives you that wonderful early breakup that is just right....very musical and controllable with your guitar volume. The dirty channel has 2 gain knobs.....the first gives a wide range of crunch from subtle to Face melting sonic pleasure. Add the second gain knob and the sustain is really a joy.....long luxurious notes of guitar sonic bliss. The reverb is the classic Fender tube powered spring tank and is the best we have heard...
    8 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great amp
    By: Hambone      Submitted: 10/19/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Out of the box, this amp was good. But, the breakup didn't sound right to me even after an appropriate period of burn in. Being one that never seems to leave well enough alone, I dove in to the amp. A good set of tubes & a little higher plate current on the power tubes put this thing into tone nirvana. I have not yet decided on the speaker but it works very well with the above mods. My pedal board has gradually shrunk & my usual suspects boutique amps are collecting dust. The front end takes pedals well as does the effects loop. Noise level is fine without boost or high output pups, acceptable when pushing the gain. Handle broke fairly quickly and was replaced with a custom leather handle. I now have sweet Fender cleans (love the Fat setting), easy breakup for a little grit, & a great distortion that compresses nicely in spite of a solid state rectifier with the ability to dial in sustain as needed on the Burn channel. This thing does it all including acoustic amplification. Love it!!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    So Far So Good
    By: HFS      Submitted: 2/1/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I am still in the break in period and one thing I should mention that I was concerned about due to reviews I read was hum and hiss. I have not had any of that with mine. The best part of this amp for me is it's versatility without a bunch of pedals. Great tone and I can dial up almost anything i want. Plenty of power but performs very well at low volume also. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is the speaker. Many have talked about this a lot in reviews and I do find that even though it sounds pretty good, it does have piercing highs, especially with a tele. So I will probably eventually do a speaker swap with a Cannabis Rex or something else that gives me better high end roll off. Well, also maybe if they had used something else other than groove tubes would have been nice even though they have done well so far. I went through 3 amps before I found the versatility I wanted and this is the one.
    Was this review helpful?
    Loading....