Item Reviews for: Gibson 2017 HP Flying V with Case  -  GIB HDSV17 LIST

I love this thing
By: Robert moutardier      Submitted: 5/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review A very nice guitar. Plays and sounds amazing. I’m glad I got it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Special Guitar
By: Ingo Gramm      Submitted: 4/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My 1st Flying V (out of a 30 + guitar collection) and I love it. I would have rated it a 5 instead of 4 if not for the GForce Tuners which I can’t stand and switched them out the day I received the guitar. (Personal preference) Not into the extra weight they add... Besides that simple fix, I love the guitar. Wide neck at the nut but very comfortable. Modern shaped neck with access all the way up to the 22nd fret. Tone and sustain for days... Very comfortable to hold and play and it is a show stopper on stage. Great for classic rock or full shred... The Dirty Fingers Pickups are something unique; the neck reminds me of a rod rodded Seymour Duncan SH-1 59 Neck. Love the tone of the neck pu. The bridge pu is LOUD! Perfect for 80’s style metal. Great for power chords and riffs. The only issue/thing I don’t like about the bridge is that it seems to get too loose and treble-ly sounding on the high EBG Strings when playing clean and I find myself having to turn down the tone knob to even out
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Gibson HP guitars are awesome!!!!
By: Gerald Baer,godsnumber7.jb@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/17/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review excellent V to play,this is my second flying V and my first HP V, no need for any upgrades on this baby Gibson has already done it for you, plays like butter,sounds like a dream, I love the fast access heal,V's are already great guitars for playing the upper register and with FAH its even better. This Guitar totally rocks you will love it, as usual AMS made it easy to get one, super fast shipping. great customer service.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome guitar.
By: Majik      Submitted: 1/26/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Just a slight learning curve to know how to handle and play this guitar. The G-Force tuning system is super user-friendly. The neck and fretboard are very comfortable. The only issue is it's neck heavy and takes a bit to get used to.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome guitar,fits like a glove.
By: Malcolm Mooney      Submitted: 12/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Tuner is funky. Overall more than I had expected. Love it!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfection...with a Couple of Modifications
By: Mike-Honchos-Gibby      Submitted: 12/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review First let me say that AMS is by far the best Musical Company in the Biz. I never have any apprehension purchasing from AMS. This is an awesome guitar for the money. The dirty fingers+ pickups are very hot. The workmanship on the neck and body is world class. The titanium nut is crazy awesome. The chrome truss rod cover is great. So how is the playability? Unbelievable. The neck is fast and the fretboard works with you. I never feel like I'm fighting this guitar. I was skeptical on how I would like the V shape due to the forced classical playing style that happens when you sit down with this instrument. I will tell you that it works perfectly for my style and I'm wondering why I never purchased a V sooner. However, I rate it four stars due to the G-Force auto tuners that it came equipped with. I tried to to let it do its thing and I just didn't care for it. There are others who love the automation but it's not for me. I replaced w/ Graph-Tech locking ratios and now it's perfect.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
WoW Just Great
By: Elric Phares,elric@techoftomorrow.com      Submitted: 11/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I own many Gibson guitars, but the las2 2 I have purchased seemed to be better setup and built than the one I bought a few years back. Out of the box the guitar was perfect for me and I did not even need a setup to have a perfect instrument. The pickups sounded better than I thought they would and I had bought some Seymours to swap, but decided these were great for hard rock and metal. Everything about this V screams quality it has nice features, look that kill and awesome tone. What more can one ask for in a guitar? This is a keeper and a cool addition to my guitar collection/addiction, LOL AMS always make it easy with payments and the case smells like vanilla wafers. MMMMMMMM Gibson goodness here!!! Elric Phares Tech OF Tomorrow
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Incredible.
By: Nathan Gaul      Submitted: 11/23/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This guitar is awesome. The pickups sound incredible, crisp, clear, and fat. I play progressive thrash/death metal and was able to use the tone and sustain on this guitar to actually turn my amp gain down and get a killer old school tone out of it. I'm now able to use the natural sustain of the guitar instead of just buckets of gain from the amp to obtain an even more incredible sound. The neck is incredibly fast and comfortable. I found that it was the first guitar I've owned where fighting the guitar itself wasn't just a part of playing. The G-force tuner was a little weird at first but it's grown on me since. It makes tuning VERY easy but once or twice it got it wrong on the first shot. I'm definitely sold on Gibson's after buying this beast.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This Guitar is awesome
By: Pat      Submitted: 11/19/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I was very impressed the feel on the neck is great and Dirty Finger Pick ups have a great sound.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
He absolutely loves it!
By: Carole Ritoli      Submitted: 11/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Got this flying V for my husband as a surprise anniversary gift. He absolutely loves it! Says it has great sound.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this thing
By: Mike      Submitted: 10/22/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The only problem with this guitar is neck dive. I love the titanium nut and locking bridge. The pickups are super hot with great clarity. The contoured neck heel is nice also. I just wish they would have made more colors.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Better than expected
By: elrodbaer      Submitted: 9/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This thing is a monster. Set up perfect right out of the factory. If you have a chance to get one of these. Don't miss it. I think it's better than the 2019 models. Dirty fingers + and genuine mother of pearl inlay. Just ask one question. Can you tame the beast.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great American Guitar
By: Kurlis      Submitted: 1/20/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Arrived at my doorstep without incident. Was flawless, beautiful and played wonderfully. The action seemed a little high but I left it that way and now i'm used to it. No fret buzz at all and the strings literally sing out. Great rock guitar. I love it. Nice pickups. Highly recommended. An icon of Rock n Roll.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Llke the headstock says, "high performance."
By: glenn taylor      Submitted: 1/26/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Looking for fastest neck possible. The V's neck doesn't slow me down. Built in tuner is cool. Plays like dirty finger humbuckers.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback