Item Reviews for: Gibson SG Standard 2018 Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB SGS18 LIST

Excellent play great sound I love it.
By: Gary C      Submitted: 6/5/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Excellent play great sound I love it. Great value.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Overall good guitar
By: J. Henderson      Submitted: 5/30/2019

Product Rating




Product Review The sound an playability is what made me keep this guitar. It didn’t have the greatest paint job, has a blemish on the back of the top horn. This is the first flaw I’ve ever found in a guitar that I purchased from AMS. Was very disappointed in that. I can’t complain too much though, the sound and feel of the guitar I couldn’t get over. Love it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Another Greatness Hit
By: Dallas      Submitted: 5/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Wowed me from day one with the quality and comfort, definitely worth the money especially with the 18 month payment plan.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Wow!!
By: Jeremy Mundell      Submitted: 4/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have always wanted an SG. This guitar has a solid sound with amazing tone. I play heavy music and I cannot believe how this guitar delivers the heavy. It is easy to play and feels great. Highly recommend this guitar to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This guitar is amazing. This is the fastest neck Ive played on a guitar in a long while very comfort
By: Dave B      Submitted: 4/30/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review These guitars play very well. This neck is my favorite over all the Gibson's and Ibanez Guitars I own. I own a 55 Gibson and a Les Paul and an Explorer HP and this is the one I play for most all my studio recording and writing. I swapped out the nut with a tusk XL and the hardware with tone pros and a Willie Adler Fishman Fluence set and Im in drop A most of the Time and people write bad reviews about the tuning but If your playing with heavier strings you have to adjust the nut or swap it, Also mine stays in tune better than most all of my guitars so Remember to set it up to your needs and this will serve you well. We are recording with this guitar for my project Time and you can check out the tone there soon to be released in July. With a brutal lineup myself Adler and Brad from TOny Danza it will be available for review tone then.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Only a Gibson is good enough
By: Frank Craven      Submitted: 4/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I've seen a lot people on line complaining about the quality at Gibson going down. I see no evidence of that with this beautiful instrument. The fit and finish is remarkable. it was set up and ready to play right out of the box. Even after receiving it a full year after it was built! Great tuning stability with the locking Grover tuners. I've owned many Gibson guitars over the years and have rarely been disappointed. Looking forward to see where the new CEO takes this brand.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfect
By: Robert Johnson      Submitted: 4/12/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Everything I thought it would be and more., Pickups are amazing. Neck is excellent
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent Guitar very pleased
By: Joe Balls      Submitted: 4/9/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is the second Gibson SG that I purchased within the last year or so. My first SG was sent back the same day I received it because of some QC issues that stood out. Some months past and I decided to purchase this one and I must say that I am very happy with it. The guitar is simply awesome and I am glad that I gave Gibson another chance. The finish is beautiful, the construction and components are very good. It plays excellent, it was absolutely worth the price I payed for it. Thank you AMS and Gibson
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The right stuff
By: James Gunnip      Submitted: 4/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is my second try at an SG. The first didn't go so well. This one is everything a Gibson is supposed to be! Came to me set up well, the frets were polished and even! The finish was flawless. Great guitar and was on sale cause it was last years model, so I won!!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar!
By: Josh      Submitted: 4/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Purchased this as an upgrade from an epiphone g400 pro and what a difference.plays great sounds great.well worth the money.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love my SG
By: Skip      Submitted: 4/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It felt great right out of the case, a nice hard case. It needed some setting up to what I like and it plays great.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The devils guitar
By: TEXAS STRAT HOUSE      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review We all know the Gibson sg is directly related to the devil himself. Doors / Santana / and so many more just got the memo Early on and we had to learn this the hard way. In the name of all rock - long live the SG and the Les Paul both. Rock on!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
“ Truly an iconic guitar to behold”
By: Aaron G.      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a skillfully crafted instrument. The setup was excellent and I haven’t been this thrilled with a guitar in ages. It sounds incredible and responds like no other guitar I have owned.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This Guitar Slays
By: Shawn Crabtree,STRINGSLINGER13@GMAIL.COM      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Being a long time Gibson user, I always wanted a black SG Standard for a workhorse. Does this thing ever deliver! I was blown away by how good the guitar feels and sounds, I’m thinking already of getting another one to keep the other one company!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
My second SG Standard, got a black to go with my cherry.
By: Jon      Submitted: 3/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I just love the tone, look and feel of the SG. I've played Les Pauls and Strats my whole life, and would always switch up guitars during shows. Once I got my first SG I was hooked. The mahogany body has such a warm bright tone, that I can get were I need to go with a turn of the volume knob or switch of the pick up selector. I was so knocked out by my cherry standard that I got a black one. They are both mainstays in my live performances. The Cherry is a 2016 with the wide pickguard and the neck feels slightly fatter than my black 2018, with the smaller pickguard. They both have their own feel and personality. I knick named them Fire and Brimstone respectively. I can understand why Tony Iommi and Angus Young are loyal to the SG.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money
By: David Swift      Submitted: 3/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great guitars the neck is just perfect the pickups are great the action is nice you can't go wrong with a Gibson SG
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing! Well worth the money!
By: Tony      Submitted: 3/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Guitar has a phenomenal fit and finish to it, plays and feels perfect. Frets are great and the pickups are really beefy for stock passives. I play modern metal and use fishman modern actives and these stock pickups really surprised me. Setup was great and the case is nice as well. I would definitely highly recommend this guitar to anyone and it truly is a versatile guitar you want to add to your collection!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Pleasantly surprised.. and happy as hell.
By: Jack Hazelwood      Submitted: 3/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I’m shocked that I really like it.. a few neck truss rod adjustments and bridge height and it plays great.. sounds great, I’m really satisfied.. I installed a Bigsby and I’m happy with that too.. it’s just like back in the 70’s.. the value and quality at this price range is astounding and it’s made in USA.. what more could you want. I’ve been played for over 45 years and have owned several hundred guitars and amps.. I’m really into Strats but I played Les Paul customs for about 15 years.. I had several SG Custom Reissues and never liked them.. but this standard feels and plays completely different. I’ll play this guitar.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful guitar
By: Zacheriah Broussard      Submitted: 3/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The 2018 Gibson SG Standard I ordered through AMS was top notch and ready to play out of the box. Tuning and intonation were spot on. The action was a little high for my taste but quick tap on the truss rod took care of that. It came with the tools needed for anything to be done on the guitar and an awesome hard case. Sounds great, plays great. I use American Music Supply for almost all of my musical purchases and usually get the products in the next day.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful instrument with major tuning issues rendering the guitar unplayable currently.
By: Aaron      Submitted: 3/21/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I received the SG in perfect condition. The actual sound of the instrument is incredible. Meaty, aggressive, well balanced pickups, lightweight and a very accessible fretboard. It was exactly what I was looking for...however, the instrument will not stay in tune for more than a few seconds at a time. I have heard of the legendary SG tuning problems but this is a bit ridiculous for a guitar that costs so much money. It should be at LEAST playable. I am investigating some solutions but this is the first time I've been utterly disappointed by a purchase from AMS. Hopefully the solutions will work, otherwise, the guitar will either be returned or sold after market.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is a fun guitar!
By: barry johnson      Submitted: 3/20/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This SG really rocks! Kind of sterile out of the box....After putting some 10's on it...and making a slight neck adjustment, it started warming up. Great through Brit HI types as well as clean. Comes with case, locking tuners, Gibson strap, AND a nice Gibson multi tool. The 61 pickups really scream through a driven amp! Neckwork and binding is the best of any of my Gibsons. It is feeling better as it breaks in!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Old school SG .
By: Bill Hannum      Submitted: 3/10/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this guitar. I have a 2017 SG standard in Ebony and I just knew I had to have 1 in heritage Cherry so I ordered the 2018 from AMS in heritage cherry. I like the new pickups the 2018. They have a crispier high and an accentuated bottom in which works well with the mahogany body on the SG which is very mid range and slightly dark sounding so these pickups accentuate the high frequencies and low frequencies and balance well with the guitars mahogany body this thing came out to me out of the box set up perfectly there is nothing I would change on the setup and please greasy fast and smooth. Two humbuckers and a 3-way switch. I run this through my fender supersonic 22 and a Marshall jvm half stack and it is just a snarling beast of a guitar great sustain this thing kicks but for hard Rock and even blues. If you don't want to spend the money on a Les Paul or you are looking for an alternative this is it. You get all the killer gibson tone in a very affordable well-built high-quality package. Yes people Gibson still knows how to build a great guitar and this is a classic a must have for players and collectors. I got this one at a great price as it was a 2018 clearance and I love it because of the small 61 pickguard which I am a fan of. Or when these guitars are a great deal if you're thinking about it do it man you won't regret it these are a reasonably priced american-made guitar that is built to perform. Gibson got this right and thank you again ams for another great purchase and your customer service
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love it
By: Thomas Nichols      Submitted: 3/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Always loved gibson guitars and this s g just made it better.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Absolutely awesome guitar.
By: Eddy      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Can't find one thing wrong with this guitar. Plays perfect. I usually do upgrades to my guitars but this one stay stock. Ebony sg with case. Tone for days. What's better than a sg through a marshall stack.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Incredible Guitar
By: Rob J.      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Very Happy with this instrument. It plays great.. sounds fantastic. Visually flawless. Gibson is making incredible guitars...locking grovers. New 61 pups impressive. Great frets. Gibson USA Is the real deal. Don’t miss out . AMS is the best!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Dream come true
By: Dylan Reeder      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I’ve wanted this guitar for my entire life and it is more amazing than I had ever imagined. Plays great, sounds awesome, great tone, amazing quality. Will be buying more Gibsons in the future.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Gibson SG Standard, a great guitar!
By: Terrell      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is a great deal on a pro quality guitar. It is light weight, well made, sounds great and is a joy to play! So glad I bought it, one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
2018 Gibson SG Standard WOW!
By: Steve C,Sj_clark@comcast.net      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review So I had bought a limited edition Gibson SG from another online retailer last year. I returned 2 and got my money back as both SG's had issues I felt an $1800 guitar shouldn't have. Fast forward to about a week and a half ago, and I'm on the AMS website looking for another SG :) Found a 2018 leftover in ebony for an incredible price. Too good to dismiss. Well, thanks to the excellent customer service at AMS, I received the guitar in less than 2 days. Let me say, this guitar is EXACTLY what I have come to expect from Gibson. Absolute stellar guitar. The 61 pickups to me are the perfect pickup for this guitar. I've had SG's with 57 classics but to me the 61s are more articulate and allow me to easily go from cleans to blues to 80s hard rock and metal. They aren't muddy at all. And the finish is perfect! No blemishes at all! Just did a minor truss rod adjustment to level out the fretboard as I do with all my guitars and she was good to go. There was also a pic inside the case of the guitar on the guitar techs workbench at Gibson. Pretty cool! So if your on the fence about buying a guitar online, rest easy. I bought a breedlove last year from AMS that is equally awesome. AMS is now my go to for online purchases. Thanks AMS!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
love this guitar it was instantly my favorite
By: Doug Wade Hatt      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Gibson really hit a home run with the 2018 SG standard
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Finally got my SG!
By: Jay Vanert      Submitted: 3/2/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Smooth,beautiful,work of art....Love playing this guitar.And we have several.This was "on my list"and lived up to my expectations.Sounds Great even unplugged!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Being a 45-Year Fender Stratocaster player....
By: John      Submitted: 3/1/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I just loved the Strat. But I always wanted a Gibson SG. It can just do what a Fender can't. I think I got one of, if not THE last, 2018 SG Standard in Heritage Cherry. As soon as I ordered it, none were any longer available at any of the large store-distributors. Am I glad I did just under the wire! I got one I'm extremely happy with. I did, however, have to perform a complete setup - minus the truss rod. But I expected that. No one will set up a guitar totally to your liking but you. It's your feel, after all. I haven't run it through an amp yet, but with '61 pups, you can't go wrong. All-in-all, it's a keeper - along with my Rickenbacker 360/12 and my G&L Fullerton Deluxe Legacy "Strat". Life is good here in Guitar Heaven!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome Gear Grab !
By: Drew J      Submitted: 2/28/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this guitfiddle !! Gibson did a great job putting this guitar together with straight up appointments ! I bought the Herritage Cherry finished SG Standard and can’t say anything bad about the fit and finish on the guitar ! Things to know... when I got it I had to do a complete set up. The truss rod had more than ample slack in it so a few quarter turns and she’s right. I restrung it with GHS Burnished nickel rockers(which I love) set the intonation and pickup height and oiled the fret board and now she plays smooth as butter !! Run through my Marshall DSL 100 hr and 1936 Vintage lead cab I’m getting extremely close to the Angus Young tone and love it ! Just a solid straight up great rock n roll tone. Check em out while ya can these are great guitars and better than what Gibson has released in the last couple years ! Glad I jumped on it when I did !
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This guitar is the bomb!
By: LS Arnett      Submitted: 2/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have wanted this guitar since I saw Carlos Santana using it back in the early 70's. I never thought that I could afford this guitar. But! Thanks to AMS, I was fortune enough to purchase it. When it came I took pictures of the unboxing and shared it on the internet. The guitar is magnificent, AMS shipped it and arrived in perfect shape. The case and the craftsmanship of the guitar are outstanding... Thanks AMS for making my dream come true!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the priice!
By: Thomas Langreck      Submitted: 2/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Beautiful guitar. Nice neck. Noticed cleaner highs and lows vs my old 88 SG Standard. Mids not as clear. All and all a great guitar. Was still impressed. Well worth the sale price with a great case!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
It’s what a Gibson should be!
By: David      Submitted: 2/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Gibson stepped their game up after the whole auto tuner debacle. This has just the right combo of old and new. Very little setup needed. And I can find me flaws. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
American Musical is Awesome.
By: Ariel      Submitted: 2/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Firs of all, the customer service at American Musical was great. I received a sub par instrument.. it was sealed by Gibson themselves, so it must have been a Gibson QC problem. Anyhow, AMS helped me get another one at no inconvenience. They were friendly and helpful, especially Allen. Thanks dude! This one came perfect, and was delivered very fast. Thanks guys! As for the guitar: The guitar was good. The binding on these new guitars is thinner. I don’t know if that’s a 60’s appointment. So, i can’t complain since I don’t know. The neck has a very thin profile. I prefer the rounded necks, but I knew that going in. Overall, the quality is great. (Except for the one that I first got.) I mean, anything I have issues with is all preference. Other than that.. sounds great, looks good!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome Guitar
By: Darin Stoddard      Submitted: 2/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great guitar. Fit and and finish was great. Easy to obtain classic tones. I also own a les paul and a Firebird. The sg is a nice addition to the family
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
All I can say is WOW
By: Raymond M      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I own numerous Gibson guitars and this is as good as it gets, love the fit and finish.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Ahh the sweet smell of Vanilla...
By: Dadgad      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Over all quality is good. 2018 was not Gibson's best year and there were rumors the employee's weren't happy. Not a good formula for quality. Everything seems fine so far. Setup was way off. String rubbing the bridge on the back side. Bridge Pickup so high it almost touched the strings and they were waaay high. Some say you can't expect a good setup from the factory. However other brands seem to get it a lot closer for much less money. I'm not unhappy with the Guitar. I am amazed Gibson let it out that way. JC is on the job. Let the healing begin.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Remarkable!
By: The Muniz Music Machine      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I had a Gibson USA SG 19 years ago. I moved into various PRS models and Ibanez. I felt the want come on again to pick up a new SG even with all the backlash craze of Gibson building poor guitar these days did not make sense to me. I ordered Thai particular model and super thrilled! I overlooked that it came with Grover tuners and it was an awesome surprise! Tone for days. Slick look. And action rocks!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
After all these years I finally found my guitar!1!I
By: Rick      Submitted: 2/13/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I have a round neck SG which I am replacing with this slim taper. Best action on any guitar I've tried for lead playing!! Sounds great and is light!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent Gibson Guitar
By: Joe Balls      Submitted: 2/13/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am very pleased with this SG Standard, the quality, build, components, and finish are excellent. It sounds and plays beautifully. Just over a year ago I purchased a Gibson SG Satndard and I immediately sent it back to AMS, the finish was not up to standard and the action was crazy high for some reason, it was no way worth the price. I must say that this particular SG is a beauty, I am not sure what happened with the last one but this one is a keeper. The setup was perfect this time around Thanks Gibson and thanks again AMS for the great price, great customer support and super fast shipping.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
WINNER HERE!!!!!!
By: Tommyb      Submitted: 2/12/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review People say Gibson quality is going down. You can't tell by the looks of this guitar.The fit,finish and playability is excellent! I been a loyal Gibson customer for over 50 years and this one is is definitely at the top. So is American Musical.There sales and servuce was perfect! Six out of five stars for Gibson and American Musical!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Love it!
By: dj shirey      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Excellent quality,fast shipping,and easy terms, what more could you ask for? Ams rocks!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money.
By: Eggie      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I absolutely love the Gibson sg standard. It’s the only guitar that has stayed the same as it was. I have a couple of les Pauls that have all those elections in them and do not like it. The sg has the straight up Electriconics that has worked for years. The sg is my favorite guitar I Own. American music supply is the only place I will shop. Smooth transitions always.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love it!
By: Mike Deese      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Gibson quality! This guitar plays like butter and through a sounds amazing. From rock to blues it delivers amazing tone. Well worth the money and the AMS easy pay plan makes it easy to own this guitar. Cant wait to buy another.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This SG is a beautiful guitar plays great
By: Johnny D. In Dayton oh.      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I own two other Gibson guitars and this SG is as well as my les pauls plays just as good
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
An awesome Axe!
By: Fred Miner      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I need another guitar so I could get my older Les Paul worked on . . . and this turned out to be a great purchase. I love this guitar!!! It came set up ready to rock . . no regrets!. The neck feels like it goes on forever - it's a beautiful, good-sounding guitar. The nice case, locking tuners and a set of "swiss army" style guitar tools were an added bonus! For a mid-priced guitar you can't beat the Gibson SG! AMS rocks - my go-to for everything!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Gibson is coming back
By: Casey      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Awesome specs and price! The 61 reissue pickups sound nice and full with a crisp top end. The guitar came next day and had no damage from shipping. Only gripe is it needed a setup (I'm a guitar tech so I don't mind setting up my own stuff). Gibson QC was pretty top notch on everything else. Way to go Gibson! Starting to be great again.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
i love this thing
By: brandon      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review ive always wanted an sg and this damn thing was exactly what i was expecting
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Beautiful guitar
By: Randy      Submitted: 1/14/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I've had lots of guitars, always wanted an SG. Talked to Adam,great salesperson, and he made me a great deal. Everything went great, got the guitar, it's great. Thanks AMS
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar
By: Myron      Submitted: 1/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Plays as good as it looks
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this guitar
By: Steven James Rider      Submitted: 12/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Everything I thought it would be. Worth every penny.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sometimes The Brand does matter!
By: Warlock      Submitted: 12/28/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The Fit and Finish of this guitar is as perfect as could be,I chose the classic Heritage Cherry The setup was right on straight out of the box, It actually was in tune, I have not found any dead spots on this guitar, It has a very nice slim tapered neck for easy playability, this model came equipped with grover locking tuners, great sustain, the pickups have that classic gibson sound reminicent of Cream, Zepp and the like, came packed in a traditional Gibson tan/gold hard shell case with candy, very happy I held out for the restock of this model (2018), the overall feel of this guitar is excellent not heavy at all very well made as one has come to expect from Gibson, As a guitarist I do have to say I am very impressed with this guitar, I'm mostly a fender man however gotta say I will be rocking this SG quite a bit
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Mixed emotions
By: Earl N      Submitted: 12/28/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Overall I’ve always liked the sg’s. I just received mine. Have admit iwas slightly disappointed. The finish was good, no scratches or dents. But the action was not what I expected from a gibson. The knobs where all a little loose. Haven’t owned a gibson in awhile but with a little adjustments and some set up i think it’ll be a solid guitar. Good price,nice case but could’ve used a little more attention to detail.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
great guitar!!
By: brian      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review setup was perfect from the giddy-up. beautiful finish.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Plays like a dream. Beautiful Guitar. I love it!
By: Keith      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review High quality instrument at a reasonable price. Plays wonderfully
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds great!!!
By: Mark      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Sounds great. It’s has its own sound which is great to get different tones.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Classic
By: JD      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review No flaws, well made, plays great. Maybe Gibson figured it out. About time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great guitar and excellent customer service
By: Nathan      Submitted: 11/19/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this Gibson SG. Unfortunately when I opened the guitar for the first time, it had been shut in the case incorrectly and one of the tuning knobs was broken. This was of course not American Musical’s fault, but their customer service was so easy to deal with and they took care of me. Ended up with new knobs and the guitar plays beautifully.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Arrived in tune !
By: David      Submitted: 10/25/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am very pleased with this SG standard. It is really a nice one. No flaws detected. It even arrived in tune! I bought this after seeing the 2019 SG standard went to the full body pickguard. I prefer the look of the smaller one. This particular guitar is really well made. I have had sketchy results ordering gibsons unseen online in the past but this one is perfect. Plays great. Finish is great. It comes with a nice guitar multi tool too. Way better than the old nut wrench phillips screw driver thing included with past gibsons. If they all came through like this I'd recommend Gibson hands down.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
So glad I pulled the trigger !
By: Ruskil      Submitted: 8/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Just received this guitar today, flawless out of box, not a scratch, pit or even a smudge anywhere. Got the Ebony for the timeless color. My first guitar was a 67 SG in 1979. It was their basic model cherry, but when the guy wanted to buy it back, I was already in love. This one is quite a bit nicer, locking grovers, bound neck, and the 61 pick ups. Tuned it up and strummed it a little, stayed in tune, neck is straight , pickups are pretty in line with the strings. All the cons I read online about this piece, just melted away the more I look into this. I Will plug her in tomorrow, to see how she sounds. Gibson still takes a picture of every guitar on the bench before it ships, now that is friggen Cool !! Will do a second review after I stretch her out a little.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Has issues
By: James      Submitted: 1/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The guitar is beautiful but it wouldn’t stay in tune and the action was too high. Took it to my guitar tech to have it properly setup and found out the neck was bowed. I own several Gibson’s and this is the first time I’ve had a problem with the factory setup.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome guitar.....
By: Randall Barnes      Submitted: 10/4/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is my fourth SG and by far, my favorite... perfect out of the box... looks, action, intonation, etc., all flawless..
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
the string man
By: D.J California      Submitted: 10/4/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This SG has a very good sustain and good action well worth the money. This is my 3rd Gibson I have a Les Paul standard and a Firebird. This SG is right up there with them.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback