Item Reviews for: Gibson SG Standard 2018 Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB SGS18 LIST

Pleasantly surprised.. and happy as hell.
By: Jack Hazelwood      Submitted: 3/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? I’m shocked that I really like it.. a few neck truss rod adjustments and bridge height and it plays great.. sounds great, I’m really satisfied.. I installed a Bigsby and I’m happy with that too.. it’s just like back in the 70’s.. the value and quality at this price range is astounding and it’s made in USA.. what more could you want. I’ve been played for over 45 years and have owned several hundred guitars and amps.. I’m really into Strats but I played Les Paul customs for about 15 years.. I had several SG Custom Reissues and never liked them.. but this standard feels and plays completely different. I’ll play this guitar.
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful guitar
By: Zacheriah Broussard      Submitted: 3/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? The 2018 Gibson SG Standard I ordered through AMS was top notch and ready to play out of the box. Tuning and intonation were spot on. The action was a little high for my taste but quick tap on the truss rod took care of that. It came with the tools needed for anything to be done on the guitar and an awesome hard case. Sounds great, plays great. I use American Music Supply for almost all of my musical purchases and usually get the products in the next day.
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful instrument with major tuning issues rendering the guitar unplayable currently.
By: Aaron      Submitted: 3/21/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I received the SG in perfect condition. The actual sound of the instrument is incredible. Meaty, aggressive, well balanced pickups, lightweight and a very accessible fretboard. It was exactly what I was looking for...however, the instrument will not stay in tune for more than a few seconds at a time. I have heard of the legendary SG tuning problems but this is a bit ridiculous for a guitar that costs so much money. It should be at LEAST playable. I am investigating some solutions but this is the first time I've been utterly disappointed by a purchase from AMS. Hopefully the solutions will work, otherwise, the guitar will either be returned or sold after market.
Was this review helpful?
This is a fun guitar!
By: barry johnson      Submitted: 3/20/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? This SG really rocks! Kind of sterile out of the box....After putting some 10's on it...and making a slight neck adjustment, it started warming up. Great through Brit HI types as well as clean. Comes with case, locking tuners, Gibson strap, AND a nice Gibson multi tool. The 61 pickups really scream through a driven amp! Neckwork and binding is the best of any of my Gibsons. It is feeling better as it breaks in!
Was this review helpful?
Old school SG .
By: Bill Hannum      Submitted: 3/10/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I love this guitar. I have a 2017 SG standard in Ebony and I just knew I had to have 1 in heritage Cherry so I ordered the 2018 from AMS in heritage cherry. I like the new pickups the 2018. They have a crispier high and an accentuated bottom in which works well with the mahogany body on the SG which is very mid range and slightly dark sounding so these pickups accentuate the high frequencies and low frequencies and balance well with the guitars mahogany body this thing came out to me out of the box set up perfectly there is nothing I would change on the setup and please greasy fast and smooth. Two humbuckers and a 3-way switch. I run this through my fender supersonic 22 and a Marshall jvm half stack and it is just a snarling beast of a guitar great sustain this thing kicks but for hard Rock and even blues. If you don't want to spend the money on a Les Paul or you are looking for an alternative this is it. You get all the killer gibson tone in a very affordable well-built high-quality package. Yes people Gibson still knows how to build a great guitar and this is a classic a must have for players and collectors. I got this one at a great price as it was a 2018 clearance and I love it because of the small 61 pickguard which I am a fan of. Or when these guitars are a great deal if you're thinking about it do it man you won't regret it these are a reasonably priced american-made guitar that is built to perform. Gibson got this right and thank you again ams for another great purchase and your customer service
Was this review helpful?
I love it
By: Thomas Nichols      Submitted: 3/7/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Always loved gibson guitars and this s g just made it better.
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely awesome guitar.
By: Eddy      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Can't find one thing wrong with this guitar. Plays perfect. I usually do upgrades to my guitars but this one stay stock. Ebony sg with case. Tone for days. What's better than a sg through a marshall stack.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Incredible Guitar
By: Rob J.      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Very Happy with this instrument. It plays great.. sounds fantastic. Visually flawless. Gibson is making incredible guitars...locking grovers. New 61 pups impressive. Great frets. Gibson USA Is the real deal. Don’t miss out . AMS is the best!
Was this review helpful?
Dream come true
By: Dylan Reeder      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I’ve wanted this guitar for my entire life and it is more amazing than I had ever imagined. Plays great, sounds awesome, great tone, amazing quality. Will be buying more Gibsons in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Gibson SG Standard, a great guitar!
By: Terrell      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? This is a great deal on a pro quality guitar. It is light weight, well made, sounds great and is a joy to play! So glad I bought it, one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful?
2018 Gibson SG Standard WOW!
By: Steve C,Sj_clark@comcast.net      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? So I had bought a limited edition Gibson SG from another online retailer last year. I returned 2 and got my money back as both SG's had issues I felt an $1800 guitar shouldn't have. Fast forward to about a week and a half ago, and I'm on the AMS website looking for another SG :) Found a 2018 leftover in ebony for an incredible price. Too good to dismiss. Well, thanks to the excellent customer service at AMS, I received the guitar in less than 2 days. Let me say, this guitar is EXACTLY what I have come to expect from Gibson. Absolute stellar guitar. The 61 pickups to me are the perfect pickup for this guitar. I've had SG's with 57 classics but to me the 61s are more articulate and allow me to easily go from cleans to blues to 80s hard rock and metal. They aren't muddy at all. And the finish is perfect! No blemishes at all! Just did a minor truss rod adjustment to level out the fretboard as I do with all my guitars and she was good to go. There was also a pic inside the case of the guitar on the guitar techs workbench at Gibson. Pretty cool! So if your on the fence about buying a guitar online, rest easy. I bought a breedlove last year from AMS that is equally awesome. AMS is now my go to for online purchases. Thanks AMS!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
love this guitar it was instantly my favorite
By: Doug Wade Hatt      Submitted: 3/5/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Gibson really hit a home run with the 2018 SG standard
Was this review helpful?
Finally got my SG!
By: Jay Vanert      Submitted: 3/2/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Smooth,beautiful,work of art....Love playing this guitar.And we have several.This was "on my list"and lived up to my expectations.Sounds Great even unplugged!
Was this review helpful?
Being a 45-Year Fender Stratocaster player....
By: John      Submitted: 3/1/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I just loved the Strat. But I always wanted a Gibson SG. It can just do what a Fender can't. I think I got one of, if not THE last, 2018 SG Standard in Heritage Cherry. As soon as I ordered it, none were any longer available at any of the large store-distributors. Am I glad I did just under the wire! I got one I'm extremely happy with. I did, however, have to perform a complete setup - minus the truss rod. But I expected that. No one will set up a guitar totally to your liking but you. It's your feel, after all. I haven't run it through an amp yet, but with '61 pups, you can't go wrong. All-in-all, it's a keeper - along with my Rickenbacker 360/12 and my G&L Fullerton Deluxe Legacy "Strat". Life is good here in Guitar Heaven!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Awesome Gear Grab !
By: Drew J      Submitted: 2/28/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I love this guitfiddle !! Gibson did a great job putting this guitar together with straight up appointments ! I bought the Herritage Cherry finished SG Standard and can’t say anything bad about the fit and finish on the guitar ! Things to know... when I got it I had to do a complete set up. The truss rod had more than ample slack in it so a few quarter turns and she’s right. I restrung it with GHS Burnished nickel rockers(which I love) set the intonation and pickup height and oiled the fret board and now she plays smooth as butter !! Run through my Marshall DSL 100 hr and 1936 Vintage lead cab I’m getting extremely close to the Angus Young tone and love it ! Just a solid straight up great rock n roll tone. Check em out while ya can these are great guitars and better than what Gibson has released in the last couple years ! Glad I jumped on it when I did !
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
This guitar is the bomb!
By: L S Arnett      Submitted: 2/25/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I have wanted this guitar since I saw Carlos Santana using it back in the early 70's. I never thought that I could afford this guitar. But! Thanks to AMS, I was fortune enough to purchase it. When it came I took pictures of the unboxing and shared it on the internet. The guitar is magnificent, AMS shipped it and arrived in perfect shape. The case and the craftsmanship of the guitar are outstanding... Thanks AMS for making my dream come true!
Was this review helpful?
Well worth the priice!
By: Thomas Langreck      Submitted: 2/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Beautiful guitar. Nice neck. Noticed cleaner highs and lows vs my old 88 SG Standard. Mids not as clear. All and all a great guitar. Was still impressed. Well worth the sale price with a great case!
Was this review helpful?
It’s what a Gibson should be!
By: David      Submitted: 2/24/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Gibson stepped their game up after the whole auto tuner debacle. This has just the right combo of old and new. Very little setup needed. And I can find me flaws. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful?
American Musical is Awesome.
By: Ariel      Submitted: 2/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Firs of all, the customer service at American Musical was great. I received a sub par instrument.. it was sealed by Gibson themselves, so it must have been a Gibson QC problem. Anyhow, AMS helped me get another one at no inconvenience. They were friendly and helpful, especially Allen. Thanks dude! This one came perfect, and was delivered very fast. Thanks guys! As for the guitar: The guitar was good. The binding on these new guitars is thinner. I don’t know if that’s a 60’s appointment. So, i can’t complain since I don’t know. The neck has a very thin profile. I prefer the rounded necks, but I knew that going in. Overall, the quality is great. (Except for the one that I first got.) I mean, anything I have issues with is all preference. Other than that.. sounds great, looks good!
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Guitar
By: Darin Stoddard      Submitted: 2/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Great guitar. Fit and and finish was great. Easy to obtain classic tones. I also own a les paul and a Firebird. The sg is a nice addition to the family
Was this review helpful?
All I can say is WOW
By: Raymond M      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I own numerous Gibson guitars and this is as good as it gets, love the fit and finish.
Was this review helpful?
Ahh the sweet smell of Vanilla...
By: Dadgad      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Over all quality is good. 2018 was not Gibson's best year and there were rumors the employee's weren't happy. Not a good formula for quality. Everything seems fine so far. Setup was way off. String rubbing the bridge on the back side. Bridge Pickup so high it almost touched the strings and they were waaay high. Some say you can't expect a good setup from the factory. However other brands seem to get it a lot closer for much less money. I'm not unhappy with the Guitar. I am amazed Gibson let it out that way. JC is on the job. Let the healing begin.
Was this review helpful?
Remarkable!
By: The Muniz Music Machine      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I had a Gibson USA SG 19 years ago. I moved into various PRS models and Ibanez. I felt the want come on again to pick up a new SG even with all the backlash craze of Gibson building poor guitar these days did not make sense to me. I ordered Thai particular model and super thrilled! I overlooked that it came with Grover tuners and it was an awesome surprise! Tone for days. Slick look. And action rocks!
Was this review helpful?
After all these years I finally found my guitar!1!I
By: Rick      Submitted: 2/13/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I have a round neck SG which I am replacing with this slim taper. Best action on any guitar I've tried for lead playing!! Sounds great and is light!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Excellent Gibson Guitar
By: Joe Balls      Submitted: 2/13/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I am very pleased with this SG Standard, the quality, build, components, and finish are excellent. It sounds and plays beautifully. Just over a year ago I purchased a Gibson SG Satndard and I immediately sent it back to AMS, the finish was not up to standard and the action was crazy high for some reason, it was no way worth the price. I must say that this particular SG is a beauty, I am not sure what happened with the last one but this one is a keeper. The setup was perfect this time around Thanks Gibson and thanks again AMS for the great price, great customer support and super fast shipping.
Was this review helpful?
WINNER HERE!!!!!!
By: Tommyb      Submitted: 2/12/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? People say Gibson quality is going down. You can't tell by the looks of this guitar.The fit,finish and playability is excellent! I been a loyal Gibson customer for over 50 years and this one is is definitely at the top. So is American Musical.There sales and servuce was perfect! Six out of five stars for Gibson and American Musical!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Love it!
By: dj shirey      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Excellent quality,fast shipping,and easy terms, what more could you ask for? Ams rocks!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Well worth the money.
By: Eggie      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I absolutely love the Gibson sg standard. It’s the only guitar that has stayed the same as it was. I have a couple of les Pauls that have all those elections in them and do not like it. The sg has the straight up Electriconics that has worked for years. The sg is my favorite guitar I Own. American music supply is the only place I will shop. Smooth transitions always.
Was this review helpful?
I love it!
By: Mike Deese      Submitted: 2/4/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Gibson quality! This guitar plays like butter and through a sounds amazing. From rock to blues it delivers amazing tone. Well worth the money and the AMS easy pay plan makes it easy to own this guitar. Cant wait to buy another.
Was this review helpful?
This SG is a beautiful guitar plays great
By: Johnny D. In Dayton oh.      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I own two other Gibson guitars and this SG is as well as my les pauls plays just as good
Was this review helpful?
An awesome Axe!
By: Fred Miner      Submitted: 2/3/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I need another guitar so I could get my older Les Paul worked on . . . and this turned out to be a great purchase. I love this guitar!!! It came set up ready to rock . . no regrets!. The neck feels like it goes on forever - it's a beautiful, good-sounding guitar. The nice case, locking tuners and a set of "swiss army" style guitar tools were an added bonus! For a mid-priced guitar you can't beat the Gibson SG! AMS rocks - my go-to for everything!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful?
Gibson is coming back
By: Casey      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Awesome specs and price! The 61 reissue pickups sound nice and full with a crisp top end. The guitar came next day and had no damage from shipping. Only gripe is it needed a setup (I'm a guitar tech so I don't mind setting up my own stuff). Gibson QC was pretty top notch on everything else. Way to go Gibson! Starting to be great again.
Was this review helpful?
i love this thing
By: brandon      Submitted: 1/23/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? ive always wanted an sg and this damn thing was exactly what i was expecting
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful guitar
By: Randy      Submitted: 1/14/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I've had lots of guitars, always wanted an SG. Talked to Adam,great salesperson, and he made me a great deal. Everything went great, got the guitar, it's great. Thanks AMS
Was this review helpful?
Great guitar
By: Myron      Submitted: 1/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Plays as good as it looks
Was this review helpful?
I love this guitar
By: Steven James Rider      Submitted: 12/30/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Everything I thought it would be. Worth every penny.
Was this review helpful?
Sometimes The Brand does matter!
By: Warlock      Submitted: 12/28/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? The Fit and Finish of this guitar is as perfect as could be,I chose the classic Heritage Cherry The setup was right on straight out of the box, It actually was in tune, I have not found any dead spots on this guitar, It has a very nice slim tapered neck for easy playability, this model came equipped with grover locking tuners, great sustain, the pickups have that classic gibson sound reminicent of Cream, Zepp and the like, came packed in a traditional Gibson tan/gold hard shell case with candy, very happy I held out for the restock of this model (2018), the overall feel of this guitar is excellent not heavy at all very well made as one has come to expect from Gibson, As a guitarist I do have to say I am very impressed with this guitar, I'm mostly a fender man however gotta say I will be rocking this SG quite a bit
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Mixed emotions
By: Earl N      Submitted: 12/28/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Overall I’ve always liked the sg’s. I just received mine. Have admit iwas slightly disappointed. The finish was good, no scratches or dents. But the action was not what I expected from a gibson. The knobs where all a little loose. Haven’t owned a gibson in awhile but with a little adjustments and some set up i think it’ll be a solid guitar. Good price,nice case but could’ve used a little more attention to detail.
Was this review helpful?
great guitar!!
By: brian      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? setup was perfect from the giddy-up. beautiful finish.
Was this review helpful?
Plays like a dream. Beautiful Guitar. I love it!
By: Keith      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? High quality instrument at a reasonable price. Plays wonderfully
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Sounds great!!!
By: Mark      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Sounds great. It’s has its own sound which is great to get different tones.
Was this review helpful?
Great Classic
By: JD      Submitted: 11/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? No flaws, well made, plays great. Maybe Gibson figured it out. About time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great guitar and excellent customer service
By: Nathan      Submitted: 11/19/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I love this Gibson SG. Unfortunately when I opened the guitar for the first time, it had been shut in the case incorrectly and one of the tuning knobs was broken. This was of course not American Musical’s fault, but their customer service was so easy to deal with and they took care of me. Ended up with new knobs and the guitar plays beautifully.
Was this review helpful?
Arrived in tune !
By: David      Submitted: 10/25/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? I am very pleased with this SG standard. It is really a nice one. No flaws detected. It even arrived in tune! I bought this after seeing the 2019 SG standard went to the full body pickguard. I prefer the look of the smaller one. This particular guitar is really well made. I have had sketchy results ordering gibsons unseen online in the past but this one is perfect. Plays great. Finish is great. It comes with a nice guitar multi tool too. Way better than the old nut wrench phillips screw driver thing included with past gibsons. If they all came through like this I'd recommend Gibson hands down.
Was this review helpful?
So glad I pulled the trigger !
By: Ruskil      Submitted: 8/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? Just received this guitar today, flawless out of box, not a scratch, pit or even a smudge anywhere. Got the Ebony for the timeless color. My first guitar was a 67 SG in 1979. It was their basic model cherry, but when the guy wanted to buy it back, I was already in love. This one is quite a bit nicer, locking grovers, bound neck, and the 61 pick ups. Tuned it up and strummed it a little, stayed in tune, neck is straight , pickups are pretty in line with the strings. All the cons I read online about this piece, just melted away the more I look into this. I Will plug her in tomorrow, to see how she sounds. Gibson still takes a picture of every guitar on the bench before it ships, now that is friggen Cool !! Will do a second review after I stretch her out a little.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Has issues
By: James      Submitted: 1/11/2018
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? The guitar is beautiful but it wouldn’t stay in tune and the action was too high. Took it to my guitar tech to have it properly setup and found out the neck was bowed. I own several Gibson’s and this is the first time I’ve had a problem with the factory setup.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Awesome guitar.....
By: Randall Barnes      Submitted: 10/4/2017
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? This is my fourth SG and by far, my favorite... perfect out of the box... looks, action, intonation, etc., all flawless..
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
the string man
By: D.J California      Submitted: 10/4/2017
verified
Product Rating




What is your opinion of this product? This SG has a very good sustain and good action well worth the money. This is my 3rd Gibson I have a Les Paul standard and a Firebird. This SG is right up there with them.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?