Item Reviews for: Hartke 2500 Bass Guitar Amplifier Head  -  HAR 2500 LIST

Dead on arrival
By: Kent Rutherford      Submitted: 7/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Power light came on but no, zero, nada, zippo sound.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Good deal for the price
By: Manny      Submitted: 4/10/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I bought one of these a little while ago to pair with my Hartke 4x10 Transporter, and GK 4x10 at my church. At first it hit really well, during a busy week it began going into protect mode, turns out just needed more power have since upgraded to the H3500, all solid rigs. Would definitely recommend. I keep this one as backup and practice amp at home with a Gallien Kreuger 4x10 cabinet. Good luck!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
After 40 years of playing bass the Hartke 2500 is the best all purpose amp!!
By: John from Washburn, WI USA      Submitted: 10/31/2011

Product Rating
















This is my second Hartke Bass Amp, I have a first model 3500 that I bought second hand.that needs repair. So I bought the 2500 to us e in the meantime and I may not even repair the 3500 because the 2500 works so well. The best feature to me is that it has all the features that it does have and still is cheap enough to be a goos bargain! It's capable of any tone I wamt! All of the controls work well and have a good quality feel to them! I play a 1968 Fender Jazz, 1974 Gibson EB-3 and an MB-5 Squire 5 String Through the amp and get the tone I want for each bass. I use a Carvin 2-10 cabinet. This heading doesn't apply but the Hartke 2500 is easy to haul around.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds great
By: Jim from Oklahoma, USA      Submitted: 4/20/2011

Product Rating
















Very good quality, very dependable. 10 band eq, compression, overall quality. Sounds great, love the eq and compression. Has great tone, love the sounds you can get.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Pro Level Amp Budget Price
By: Billy      Submitted: 1/18/2011

Product Rating
















Everything seems solid. No weird buzzes or noise. 10-band EQ, DI out, optional rack ears included, Useful side handle for easy transport. Great! It thumps. Plenty of power to gig with. Controls are easy to adjust and firm. The 10-band EQ and Hi and Low boost, Pre/Post gains offer plenty of sounds. Whatever you need. The HA2500 came brand new, sealed in the factory box just as it should. N/A
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Just Plain Good
By: John Fuller      Submitted: 12/4/2010

Product Rating
















very well made newer unit has xlr direct out, per or post eq with ground lift anything you want finish on amp very good all lettering easy to read doesn,t apply for action but Hartke packages their producte very well
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
benzotron
By: B. Hill from 97301      Submitted: 7/28/2010

Product Rating
















Fairly well. So far, so good. No crashes and sturdy. It has a good and easy to use EQ. The instruction manual is a little flawed. Two buttons on the back need to be pressed in for ground lift jack and EQ usability. I would have only changed the instruction manual. Hartke and AMS have good support techs, so, no need to get too worried. 250 watts is perfect for practice and good for many gigs too; just have a P.A. system. Versitile and nice. It does, however, like most budget amps put out some buzz and hums if you crank it loud. But, that could depend on your bass guitar too. I have a Squier Vintage jazz bass. So results could vary. The amp itself is a little heavy. It has a very nice side handle for transportation. The controls are easy to use. Pre-amps are for tone, the EQ is primary for tone. The contour low pass is just a bass volume knob; high pass is just treble. Hope this helps. N/A Good. This amp is easier to use than it looks.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Hartke High Score
By: Ted Gilley from Bennington, VT USA, anonmyous27468      Submitted: 6/8/2010

Product Rating
















Solidly made, quiet operation, knobs and sliders well designed. Great EQ, very sensitive; great compression, very useful especially at higher volume. Picks up whatever my Fender MIJ P-bass puts into it.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
More than I expected for the price !!!
By: Jerry (gospel & R&B) Bass Player from Detroit, MI 48234 USA, djlefj@yahoo.com      Submitted: 9/11/2009

Product Rating
















I only got the chance to play it 3 times, and it held up to its name. It's very durable and well built. This head is awesome with or without using the EQ. I'm using a peavey 210 and a peavey 115 cabs, and it sounds as if I'm using more than 250 watts !!! It doesn't need any features, it hittin hard! It sounds like one of those expensive ampeg heads. All the tweaks and toys, I love it !!! My 5 string Fender active Jazz Bass sounds excellent coming through this head ! It weighs a little bit but no where near as both the cabs.The controls are very easy to adjust while playing ! I would have to say, whatever sound you're looking for, you can get it from the Hartke 2500. The looks are real professional. It performed perfect right out of the box straight into the Church .
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
THE Best Amp For Price
By: Old Church Bass Dude from Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA      Submitted: 4/12/2009

Product Rating
















Very Good. I judge an amp first by weight. This thing is heavy with quality components and rugged steel case. Roadworthy to say the least. I looked a long time. This was the winner. Dual preamps for mixing tube emulator and solid state sound. Compression is well done. Don't use the EQ but it is effective when kicked in. I use the low/high pass contour as well. I have become a Hartke fan with this amp. Very clean sound and QUIET. The cooling fan is not an issue. Glad to have it. Lots of power. Makes my P-bass really sound great. Be sure and use a SPEAKER cable to connect out to bass speaker. Instrument cables are too light to handle the power and they mess up the sound. Very pro feel. You can do small to medium gigs without a problem. 180 watts into 8 Ohms is fairly loud. It will put out 250 watts into 4 Ohms. Won't do a big room but not designed to. This amp will give you anything you want. Very versatile. Perfect. Fine workmanship. Pots and sliders feel like quality. Nice looking amp as well. I don't see how you could get more amp quality for less money. This is just a fine product for the bass player of modest means.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent amp, huge bargain!
By: Matt from Avon, Ct U.S., bassmasta99@sbcglobal.net      Submitted: 1/9/2009

Product Rating
















I recieved this product today and it's great. I had been in the market for an amp for a very long time doing reseach and trying to find the perfect amp. I had a tight budget, but was trying to grab a used 3500 on eBay. NOT WORTH IT. I have played on a friends 3500 before and theres not that much of a difference. When you add the prices in (the 3500 goes for around $500!), the 2500 is the way to go. It sounds very high quality, sounds awesome, and looks great. Hartkes big thing is tone. All there amps are devoted to giving a wide range. That was exactly what I needed. I play everything from classic rock to 90's alternative to jazz to funk. Whatever I am playing, I can sound just how I want to with the preamp blending, compression, 10 BAND EQ!, and contour. The one and only draw back for me is that is tube emulation and not real tubes. But again is still sounds great and for the money its phenomenal! Excellent. Even with its versitility, it doesn't compromise any tonal value on any setting. I have it hooked up to a Hartke 410XL and the its again sounds awsome. I've had it for a day and within about an hour had figued out all the settings I needed to play The Who, Chili Peppers, or Rush. You can get almost any kind of tone imaginable with this amp and they all sound great. I also use the Hartke VXL Attack pedal which gives be a wide range of tube distortion and other tone options. All together, Sounds Great This amp looks great. I think the new silver finish is much better than the old black ones. N/A
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
first time hartke customer
By: tjmbass from solvay,N.Y.      Submitted: 4/26/2008

Product Rating
















love the tone shape features and ease of set up. but the cooling fan is very loud and annoying. The compresser. And the tube/solid state preamps. The tone is superb.The 10 band e.q. is very flexable.And being a big fan of compression I realy like the compresser.But did I mention the annoying cooling fan...................
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Underpowered in real use and missing DI -- choose
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Well built

FEATURES:
Nice EQ but missing DI and missing mute or tuner out is a bummer at this price

EASE OF USE:
The EQ section allows for "too much" tweaking. I'd have preferred fewer knobs

VALUE:
The amp is quiet for 250 watts... sound more like a 100watt amp. The missing DI really lowers the value of the amp. A Mag 300H for the same price has much more usable power and a DI.

SOUND:
Has good tones but is underpowered.

STYLE:
praise

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
30 years

OVERALL:
I've used this amp for about 6 months playing in a praise band through a Hartke VX115. It just can't cut through as a bass amp without maxing out all the controls. However it makes a really fine acoustic guitar amplifier
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Play Your Hartke Out
By: AMS Customer from USA      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
The 2500 is a very well constructed unit, and has been a very dependable head.The amp arrived UPS well packed and in perfect condition with all knobs and sliders intact including the sepratly packaged power cord,rack mount bracing, and easy to understand lititure.By the ruggedness of the caseing and the attached handle the unit is easy to transport and should give many years of service. The only feature I would include is a peak light, which if you know your who's and watts it should not be a issue. I give this baby a 5

FEATURES:
Sound , sound, sound two tens and a fifteen make this jewel sound sweet. Sound has always sold me on hartke. Although this particular head is lacking in watts it is just right for a small bar or rehersal studio atmosphere. Pesonally I would add a stereo chorus , and a peak meter but that would make the price go up, and I sure did enjoy the low price for an amp with passive and active inputs, rack mount hardware, and
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Gotcha!!!
By: Carlos Zaldivar from Saltillo, Mexico      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Very solid, very well put together, and durable!! This is my second Hartke amp! The other one I had to sell because of financial difficulties, but I never had any trouble with it at all!! Made to last a lifetime!

FEATURES:
The fact that it has an equalizerlets you adjust your sound so in detail! and it has active and passive input for my active and passive basses, great idea!! I just love the sound! We had a concert recently and the bass sound was the best of the whole band. It stood out not because of being louder but because of presence and quality of sound! Lots of good comments about it from the audience!!

EASE OF USE:
It has everything you need and nothing extra, so how can you go wrong? It is very clearly marked and the clarity of the settings make it so easy to use, mistake proof!!

VALUE:
This is probably the best part! I couldn't believe it! A great Hartcheck that it really was a genuine Hartke!! I w
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
anything but hartke is a mistake
By: d. palmer from nashville tn.      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
yes,i got it and was surprised how well it was made

FEATURES:
the graphics is the best feature,and the price, and power

EASE OF USE:
i set it up in 5 minutes and the sound was terrific

VALUE:
it was well worth the price. i looked at many heads and decided on an ashdown combo. it wasnt the sound i was looking for. it sounded like a toy!!!!!!!!!!!

SOUND:
this thing really surprised me. i only recieved my 1 15 cab. the 2 10 is on the way, but i could do a gig with just this one.

STYLE:
country, alternative, and classic rock

MUSIC EXPERIENCE:
20 plus years

OVERALL:
like i said, i wasnt happy with the ashdown combo, and the hartke is like a $1500.00 head. 250 watts is plenty. the only thing id add is a d.i. email me if you dont believe me.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Hartke for Me
By: K Beck from Laconia, N.H.      Submitted: 2/5/2008

Product Rating
















Your general opinion of this product.

QUALITY:
Very good Quality. Rugged and Dpendable. A little noisy with the Cooling Fan.

FEATURES:
The Ten Band EQ is very Versitile. Line Out Jack would be nice.

EASE OF USE:
Very easy to use.

VALUE:
Well worth the Price.

SOUND:
Sound is Good. I use a Hartke VX410 Cabinet, and slave thru a Peavey TKO115. Great Sound !!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback