Item Reviews for: Heritage Audio HA 73EQ Elite Series Microphone Preamplifier Equalizer  -  HEA HA73EQ LIST

The Closest to the Real Thing
By: Michael Raj,mikeraj13@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/27/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review Honestly, I'm not a fan of going overboard with the whole comparing a clone to the original piece of gear, but the HA 73EQ is a faithful and tasteful recreation of one of the most iconic preamps of all time. I had the warm Audio 73 clone before this but I think heritage got it closer. Of course you are talking about things that are going to be virtually impossible to pull out in a fully mixed songs - but when you take a "get it as close as possible in tracking" approach to music production - every little detail counts. With the HA 73EQ I'm able to dial in to the exact tone I want without worrying about mud or loss of clarity. My go to applications for it are: DI Bass, Vocals, Acoustic Guitar and Overheads. Paired with an 1176 right after it, the HA 73EQ is a way to take the quality of your home or project studio to sounding like a professional setup. I love mine and I'm so Heritage spent the time and money not taking any shortcuts on this creation.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds fantastic
By: Kiko Vazquez      Submitted: 7/27/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I purchase 2 units and they sound fantastic. I am a professional engineer and this units are up to par to any kind of the vintage ones. Sounds fat, punchy and round. if you push the pre amps you get an amazing saturation from the transformers. i have on my list get two more....
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent Quality, Worth Every Penny!
By: Alex Dickson,ftrmusicfactory@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/2/2019

Product Rating




Product Review Having a preamp like this is all new territory for me in the world of outboard gear. Previously I was only using my Audio Interface as my preamp, but now this unit has opened up a new world of tones for me. The base tone without the EQ is beautifully clean when at a normal gain level, but if you do it just right the distortion can excite and make whatever you put into it sound all that much better. The EQ section is really nice as well. I love boosting the low-end for sure, especially on male vocals and bass guitar. Add in some 60hz for that extra warmth and if you need to use the High Pass throw it on 50 and bump the low-end frequency up one click and you get a nice beefy sound. The high-end is really nice on this one too, adds some clarity and a nice sheen to anything you can throw at it. The mids are pretty good too. They're not too harsh when boosted slightly and pulling frequencies out is pretty nice too. Overall, excellent unit! Worth every single penny!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The sound Inwas looking for
By: DOC      Submitted: 1/31/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It gave life to my vocals. Made it warm and punchy. The clean preamps I had before made the vocals flat.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Sounds like a Neve, EQ is actually quite excellent
By: This actually works      Submitted: 11/8/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I've owned several pres both expensive and inexpensive, and I will say this. For under a grand, this unit is the real deal if you live the Neve type sound. Even an SM58 sounds like an expensive mic when ran through this unit. The eq is insanely musical and is definitely NOT an AFTERTHOUGHT!! Another pro is that this unit is made in the EU and NOT China. Also, a feature that is amazing for modern producers who use a DAW is this: You can run any mono track through your interface and into a port in the back of the unit and give any of your tracks some real color/mojo. I can't recommend this unit enough.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well put-together
By: Tim      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Lots of gain available and you can run it clean or push it for over driven harmonics and tone. The EQ is smooth and I like that it can be bypassed or left in. It also has a line-level input on the back that can be used to run signals through after you record them. I'm looking to buy a second one.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
My go to pre
By: Damiane Crenshaw      Submitted: 7/24/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Took my recordings to the next level
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Versatile Gear GREAT Price!
By: Carl Moore Music,carlmooremusic@yahoo.com      Submitted: 7/24/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review In the world of vintage analog clones and digital emulations, Heritage Audio holds its own ground. This piece is a sonic beauty. It responds to sources very well and the EQ is clean. I was very happy with the smooth top end as well has how robust and full it made my sources. I’ve used everything from a c414, sm57, Sennheiser e604, to a wa47 on this unit and it handled well! If needed I can provided listening examples but grab this unit!! You won’t be disappointed!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great neve clone
By: Matthew Cosek      Submitted: 7/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great EQ on this thing. The high band can get harsh if you push on it too hard, but other than that it's perfect. The preamp itself can go from big and clean, to straight up nasty. This so far is the best 1073 clone I've used to date. I like it better than the BAE even, myself. If you're looking for an affordable Neve clone, look no further.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Wow
By: Brian “Izzy”Bullard      Submitted: 6/21/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I love this pre allot works on vocals, guitars, bass and violins. Great price !!! Very neve very vintage sounding.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback