Item Reviews for: Korg Prologue 16 Analog Synthesizer  -  KOR PROLOGUE16 LIST
Korg Prologue 16 Analog Synthesizer
review title:

Be prepared to be transported to the warmest part of the synth dimension.

By: Chris W.      Submitted: 3/30/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Rating Product Review This is truly the warmth and lushness of analog's past perfectly melded with the technology of today. I could go on all day about how good this thing sounds, but you're here for the nitty gritty. Here's a quick and dirty list of pros and cons. I'll try to be as unbiased as possible. Pros: the analog VCOs are warm, huge, and exactly as they should be. The filter is Korg. Need I say more? Sharp, bubbly resonance. It is true to Korg form. The digital oscillator sounds very accurate. The ability to load your own algorithms is awesome because it means virtually endless sonic possibilities. And the software is pretty straightforward. I had new oscillators and effects loaded in no time. The key bed is fast and very high quality. The LF comp feature is a beast. I never turn it off. Cons (only because I need to move on from the pros. There are so many more.): OK, cons...no built-in aftertouch. Yeah, I know. What year is it? But honestly, after playing it for a while, I hardly notice. Single LFO. Not a total deal breaker, but if you like going nuts with mod depth, you'll have to find other ways. Doesn't have a fully fleshed out HPF, although it does have a low-cut switch. As a synth nut who has modular gear, I always like semi-modular patching ability, but this is not designed to be that kind of synth so I don't hold it against it. Besides, if they gave this beast much more power, the safety of all my other instruments might be in jeopardy. But TLDR, for real, the best advice I can give you is find one and play it. It took me all of 10 seconds to fall in love with the sound. It's warm when it needs to be. It's sharp and expressive when it needs to be. It's sound is huge and lush. It just sounds good. Go try it. At the very least you might wind up with its little brother the Minilogue XD.
review title:

More synth than I know what to do with!

By: CMG      Submitted: 1/27/2020

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I have a studio full of 80s synthesizers that are great fun but not particularly suited for tone shaping on the fly and building new sounds can be a bit of an ordeal due to menu diving and lack of immediate control. This thing has knobs! Lots of them! I have only just begun scratching the surface of what this machine is capable of but so far it’s full of really good sounds, and the compressor section is a nice addition that I wish all of my synths had. Very happy with this purchase.
review title:

Good Bye VST

By: B E R R A Y È      Submitted: 8/6/2019

Product Rating





Product Review The overall sound and Fullness is unmatched. I don’t even use omnisphere or arturia much anymore. The prologue is easy to use and fun to experiment with and create sounds. As a keys player this board feels great and sounds and I’d highly recommend it.
review title:

Excellent Versatile Synth

By: Alex Hooks      Submitted: 9/26/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I actually have been looking for a synth that could mix well with my musical genre. I picked the Prologue 16 over the others because it is supposedly open source, which I am patiently waiting for. I love the Multi Engine and quality of sounds. This synth is a beauty. I do wish it had auto knobs though. IMO this synth is an instant classic with a sound all it’s own. The ability for programmers to offer expansion effects, oscillators and presets was the main reason I bought it. Of course with AMS I got 12 easy payments which was very quick and painless. This was my first purchase and I plan on many others.
review title:

Really great quality synth a classic.

By: Yoshi      Submitted: 9/5/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review This product is pretty good im liking it.
review title:

The best modern korg synth out now!

By: Luna      Submitted: 8/15/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I prefer the prologue 16 to the minilogue and monologue. Full size keys are nice and synth engine is out of this world! I do wish there were more lfo options and midi thru, but still incredible at this price point!
review title:

New favorite synth

By: Jonathan Johnson      Submitted: 7/21/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I’ve had this Synth for a few months in the studio. It is used on almost every song. Every artist that has come in and even brought their on Juno’s or other synths has ended up using this. The flitters are smooth and have very little stepping even at the highest resonance. The only thing I wish, was that it had more routing options and a second LFO. But, I can always use a prophet or soft-synth for more complex sound design. Most importantly, the ocilators sound incredible. Very happy with this thing.
review title:

Korg does Analog

By: Bob I. Gomez      Submitted: 6/19/2018

Product Rating




verified
Product Review I was skeptical about a 16 VCO analog synth for under $2k. I saved a bit by purchasing the scratch & dent model. It looks fine although there does seem to be an issue with the compressor meter. It basically sits in the red zone with little movement. Otherwise the Prologue is very nice. Keys feel good & build quality is very good.
review title:

Definitely worth the wait!!

By: davydakid      Submitted: 4/22/2018

Product Rating




1 person found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I pre-ordered this bad boy as soon as I saw a picture of it. I waited 2 long months to receive it and when it finally came in, it didn't disappoint. The build quality is superb boasting a sleek aluminum body and smooth knobs that have the perfect amount of resistance. The VPM/wavetable oscillator sounds amazing, allowing for sound design that extends beyond the reach of a typical analog polysynth. I know some people complain that there's only one LFO and no aftertouch, which might be an inconvenience for some but for me I didn't find it to be a problem. The LF Compressor sounds really good too, helping boost the low frequencies while adding rich, warm harmonics to the signal. I can't speak more highly of this product. Great job Korg!
review title:

Unconventional synth great analog sound.

By: Brian      Submitted: 4/20/2018

Product Rating




4 people found this review helpful.
verified
Product Review I wavered on buying this synth due to the “limited” modulation options but really that isn’t true Korg has just given you eccentric pathways to give movement. The multi osc is particularly useful for this. You can crank it up in the mix to give an FM thwack, or blend in a little tuned noise with the traditional oscillators. It’s still very new to me but I’ve had great fun layering Timbres of sounds with rising pitch enveloped then running them through the submarine reverb (which causes the reverb trails to descend). Easy soundscapes with plenty of movement. Drive in the filter is also great both for pads and snarling leads. User oscs and effects should be interesting but nothing exists yet so time will tell. Did not influence my buying decision. I chose the 16 for voice count capabilities when layering timbres, not the compressor. You can have timbre 1 doing 8 voice poly and 2 doing 8 voice unison stack, etc... that’s the strength of the prologue and 8 voice limits this.