Item Reviews for: Line 6 JTV89F James Tyler Variax Electric Guitar  -  LIN JTV89F LIST

I love this guitar
By: Joseph Ballew      Submitted: 9/26/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review The passive pickups on this guitar is to die for. I am not a metal guy either. All the video I seen on YouTube did not give examples I was looking for. Most of the models are spot on but I did have to eq the modeled ones in my Helix. The strats and teles are a little too thin for me is the reason for the eq. I also went into Workbench HD and changed a few things to fatten it up. Also the acoustic have to be worked with to sound great. Once you add a compressor, eq they are really great. I have one preset that I can add reverb, delay, phase, flange, Leslie, or tremelo at will. This guitar and a Helix and you don't need any other guitars. You ask, are is the models great? With eq they are awesome. Stock without eq strats are kinda sterile and acoustics too bright and boomy. Trust me, all can be rectified. AMS did not have or would not order a strat with a humbucker so I bought this one and was real nervous. This guitar will play any style. I like the stock tuning of the 69 and 59 better.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I'm l loving my JTV89!!!
By: Eric Votino,evo111@ymail.com      Submitted: 1/23/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review In my opinion, this is a very well built guitar. Plays great, sounds great playing from the magnetic or electronic pickups. It feels good in my hands, lap or strap on & standing. The blood red looks really good on her. They did a good job with the floating tremlo. It's a bad-a** guitar & I have no cons to speak of.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Wow!!! The Best Ever!!!!!
By: James Noojin      Submitted: 12/22/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Straight up even without the modeling the best guitar I have ever played!! When you plug it into workbench and play and you're looking at the Acoustics. The tele, the strat...well you think that's what your playing, really you do. I put a set of acoustic strings on mine...it's set up perfect ...when you bar a chord, it's perfect! The strings are so close to the fret board it's amazing. Perfect tune, feel is perfect, weight is perfect...just perfect. I like this model better than the other because it felt better to me. It felt different. The other model felt just like a stray. Anyway enough said. Sell all your others and get it. Oh, and the banjo is awesome. I just want play banjo on everything. I just want to play now and write songs using the different guitars. I can't wait until that time. Great job Line 6!!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing guitar
By: shawn skipper      Submitted: 3/1/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Banjo, 12 string and acoustic modeling are awesome.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A great all around guitar
By: Randy Sandmann      Submitted: 11/16/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review As I already have a Jtv 89 and a Jtv 59, I already knew what to expect from this guitar. It came set up with 10's reasonably well out of the box, but as I use 9's, I had to set it up for myself. These guitars generally have higher than normal string tension due to the high break angle over the fixed bridge models. This is intentionally done to keep good pressure on the piezos in the bridge... This Floyd Rose equipped guitar actually had normal string tension. If you've ever played any of the Jtv series guitars, you know how good they sound, and how amazingly versatile they are. If you play in a cover band, you need one of these. Combined with a pod HD or a Helix, there is no sound you cannot cop. If you play with heavy distortion you're not going to hear as much variation in some of the models, just as you would not with the real guitars, but, with cleaner tones they are pretty much spot on. My only complaint abou this guitar, and it's very subjective, is the neck profile.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Had Some Issues
By: Phrankenstrat,guitarwiz007@mail.com      Submitted: 9/30/2015

Product Rating




Product Review First of all, the guitar played great once set up. Quality instrument. I loved most of the models and I really wanted this to work for me. The problem came in the form of the virtual capo and some of the tunings. When bending up the neck with capo, notes would flutter especially on the Reso and Acoustic models. I had to return the guitar. Honestly, if you're just doing metal or such and want the drop tuning, it works great. The guitar sounds very good naturally and the models were really very good. I would be using this live though and it just wasn't going to work for me. I can definitely see revisiting this in a few years though. This WILL be a game changer once all the bugs are out.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Metal Guitar
By: Crowbar UK      Submitted: 8/10/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is the guitar for metal. Buy one and take you shredding to the next level.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Versatile great guitar!!
By: Axejem      Submitted: 1/28/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I own 3 Ibanez Jem guitars and Taylor's so I know about good guitars. This guitar by itself came set up well. It plays well be it sounds fantastic. The whammy stays in tune better than some of the Jems. Beautiful guitar, nice finish. That being said, now let me tell u about the modeling. Very impressive. Tracks perfectly, no glitches. So many variations of guitars and tones. Acoustics are very convincing. Sitar and other exotics are cool. I programmed two other tunings in, the Rain Song and She Talks to Angels and with a flick of a knob they are there! Amazing. Didn't have time to get into the software yet but I looked at it and it looks like you can do a lot with it. I play in a classic rock and blues band and this guitar fits the bill.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Guitar average, software horrible
By: Bob      Submitted: 12/26/2013
verified
Product Rating
















Product Review Very dissappointed. Expecting more. The guitar is just average to begin with. It was bought for the software, which turned out to be unstable. USB to Variax plug would not connect to computer. Computer could not recognize the guitar. Line 6 needs to improve their quality control. Navigating through the website to obtain drivers and software is a waste of time. Do like the POD500 HDX, however the Variax added nothing. Forget the "Dream Rig"....waste of money. If you can get the software to run properly the guitar has a lot of potential. Not much good unless you can connect to a computer. Likely a faulty USB interface. Average. This is a guitar designed for the computer. I am sure the custom built model at $3500 is very nice, but the factory built model is just average. The GraphTech Floyd Rose worked well, no problems. Overall, good. The feel is what I expect for a shred guitar. Computer and software glitches aside, the sound is decent. Again average. The stock pickups are worthy. IT is when you start using the onboard software, where the guitar emulates other guitars that the tone seriously suffers. The variax is not a Telecaster, or a Les Paul. The drop tunings are very handy adn useful, but the onboard emulated guitars are poor quality. Decent....guitar is not a custom shop. Factory built along with thousands just like it. No flaws were noticed. If you want a guitar that does it all, then buy this. However, it suffers at any one single thing. Great concept, if you can get the guitar to connect to a computer. This one went back to American musical. Good. The factory settings were dead on. I have to give the factory high marks on this.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Awesome Instrument
By: Dave Zobel from Redding, CA      Submitted: 9/17/2013
verified
Product Rating
















Product Review First, my three star rating is based entirely on the fact that the guitar arrived as the most poorly set up instrument I've ever received (other than the acoustic I got from the Speigle Catalogue in 1966). After a string set change and two hours of tweaking (the McGuyver kind) I found myself in possession of a first rate electronic instrument. Everything just as Line 6 advertises. The dual humbuckers & the analogue electronics are quiet and cover a great deal of tonal range - good for most styles. Add to that the array of Line-6 axe emulations, which are damned convincintg, and it's nothing short of amazing. The Graph Tech Floyd is one of the nices I've ever dived. Medium weight, comparable to an Ibanez RG - even similar neck to the Prestige Elite. Controls often require a quick move of the whammy to one side or the other, but otherwise accessible and visible - Line 6 LED illuminates the emulation selections when accessed. The pick-ups are hot enough for shred - and are a bit louder than the piezo emulations. Nice array of natural tones & the body is more resonant than the Ibanez RGs. The tone knob rolls in nicely without diminishing attack very much. The blood red finish is sweetly grained. It's as pleasing to look at as it is to play. . .well, almost. The guitar, itself, would be considered a wee bit overpriced - more like a 1200 dollar axe with a 950 street price. It's right at the right listing with the added features. By the way, the "American" Variax of the same model is twice the price - and I can't imagine that it is actually any better (except it would probably be set up more professionally). Don't get me started. The strings were over 1/8 inch up at the 12th fret - truss misadjusted, intonation well off on every saddle. Made harder to adjust by the Floyd Rose. After the adjustments - if I do say so myself - smooth string bends all the way to 2nd E - minimal to no buzz with the strings set low enough for easy bending all the way up. Better playability than my American Strat.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback