Item Reviews for: Marshall DSL40C Dual Super Lead Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  MAR DSL40C LIST

    I love this thing
    By: Wyatt Groshong      Submitted: 10/12/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? My first tube amp and I'm blown away! Best investment so far. The clean channel is about as clear as you can get and the overdrive is perfect. Do yourself a favor and buy this amp!
    Was this review helpful?
    Best tube amp for the money!!!
    By: Kendoggy      Submitted: 10/9/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? What can you say? It's a Marshall. People say you pay for the name. I always tell them, that's because this name MEANS something. Fat meaty tones, and the ability to go from 20W to 40W make it super versatile for home practice, rehearsal or gigging. It's everything you expect from a Marshall tube amp. The only that would make it better would be if it had a headphone jack, but I have a practice amp for that.
    Was this review helpful?
    I love this Amp....It's a Marshall ...What more is there to say....
    By: Kelly MacKinnon      Submitted: 8/4/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have played guitar since 1966. I have owned many amplifiers. I have loved Marshall's since I first saw them in the early 70's. For a small amp this have great features and big sound without having a stack. One of the best things about this is I got a great deal it was supposed to have a blemish on it but I have found no blemish So I saved a hundred bucks....and didn't have to leave my house to get it...Shipping was free which definately closed the deal for me.
    Was this review helpful?
    "Well worth the money"
    By: Randy Tyson      Submitted: 7/16/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought a Mg100 half stack and it is OK, but for that real Marshall tone I decided to go ahead and get this amp for practice and it has become my go to amp now for jamming with my friend's. I am an intermediate player and this amp just gave me the boost I needed to really push me to practice even more than 2 hours a day. I run a Digitech RP360XP through the effects loop because for one the reverb isn't the greatest but the processor fixed that problem. For the money you can't beat this amp. My next one will be the JVM 215C because it is the bomb for recording with.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love it
    By: Robert Suitto      Submitted: 5/22/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This is a great amp. recently purchased the Code 50, dint like at all. Vibrates on 4 and has air coming from all different directions. Cuts out to at 4 on volume. This amp is whole a lot more for cranked volume and more money but worth it.
    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love this thing!
    By: Chet Manning      Submitted: 5/18/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? After I read Jack Montana's review I knew I had to buy this! It has all the Marshall tube tones in one box! The only things I would change about it our foot switchable between clean and crunch, and digital reverb. Only minor things. This thing is built like a tank. Do yourself a favor if you're reading reviews! Buy it! You won't be upset!
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Go to amp
    By: William Hannum      Submitted: 5/15/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I actually bought this amp a few months ago so I have spent some time with it now . First you need to play it for a while and let the speaker break in . I was not that impressed with it at first and then I found that the speaker indeed needed to be broken in . They are not elastic when they are new . Second the eq is sensitive on this . I was setting the bass and middle like I was on my other amp and it sounded to boomy and the gain didn't sound right . Then I rolled the bass off and the mids and turned up the treble kept the resonance down and the presence at about 12 and there it was presto ! Killer gain and sustain and clarity on the classic crunch and the ultra gain lead 1 Chanel lead 2 is a bit compressed and I need to readjust the eq and roll the gain back a bit after learning the ins and outs I have grown to love this amp . Definately has crunch and roar sounds killer with my Les Paul or Sg . The reverb is all but nonexistent so ya you will need a pedal for that
    Was this review helpful?
    This thing rocks!
    By: Jack Montana      Submitted: 4/9/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Ordered on a Thursday morning and it arrived that Saturday! This thing is unstoppable. Whenever I plug in I have to adjust from 6 to 12!
    5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money
    By: Jerry Dietzel      Submitted: 3/27/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I originally bought the fender bassbreaker this month, it did not turn out to be what I thought it would so I sent it back. Decided to give this DSL40c a shot. I have never owned a Marshall before and thought it would make a good addition to my other tube amps. Well.... It did not let me down. I have only had it for a little over a week and I still have not get through all the tones it can produce. Only tested with strat and LP, and it sounds great. still have to try out my tele, then start trying some pedals on it. I absolutely LOVE the classic gain channel. The lead 1 and 2 are a little ice pick, but I know how to take care of that. If you are thinking about buying this, just do it. it is a great amp at this price, I would say it is worth more.
    1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Excellent amp, I love playing my lespaul supreme through it
    By: Harry      Submitted: 3/4/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Tone quality is excellent. I find the sustain and feedback that can be attained at low volume is quite an attribute. Two features though need to be added. I will be blunt. The digital reverb "sucks" needs to be a spring reverb. Channel switching in the foot pedal adding the crunch features would be a plus. It may be a little more pricy, but worth it.
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    This is a good guitaf amplifier
    By: Joe Radle      Submitted: 2/9/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? As a lead guitarist who performs 4 times a week with 30 years experience this is a solid amp. I owm a 1981 JCM 800. a 1962 ampeg reverb rocket a stereo line 6 and I use the DSL 40 OFTEN at live performances. It takes a while to dial it in at first but after re biasing the tubes it has a great sound.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Nice little amp, but...
    By: glwaggs      Submitted: 2/2/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I decided to wait a couple years before I wrote a review on this amp. When I first purchased this amp I was looking for a portable combo (tired of lugging around half stacks). First off, the amps weights all of the 50lbs. the stats say. I didn't really like the shrill sound I was getting out of the Chinese Celestian speaker. I adjusted and re-adjusted the EQs to no avail. So I decided to swap it out with a Eminence Cannabis Rex. There it was, the sound I was looking for but it added even more weight. Next, I let my son play it and the reverb had quit working (I don't use the in amp reverb because I use my pedal board). The reverb in this amp is digital and a separate circuitry board which I have learned goes out quite commonly and has to be replaced (if you want to use it, or even resell the amp). Just a few things to keep in mind, but overall I really like the tone (w/Eminence) of this amp.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    great sound, dysfunctional reverb
    By: Raymond Jess Lewis      Submitted: 4/22/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This amplifier has a number of very positive features such as a nice distinct sound even at high gain. However, the reverb is substandard. In fact, while the reverb is indeed functioning, it is so light that one can scarcely discern whether or not the reverb is operational even when turned to the highest setting. Unfortunately, an online perusal indicates that this is not an unusual occurrence for this amplifier, and one will find numerous similar complaints. This is really quite a pity. Nonetheless, I am keeping this amp.
    3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Box of Rock
    By: DudeFaceBro      Submitted: 3/27/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I couldn't be happier with the Marshall DSL40C. I chose the dent and scratch and it looks brand new to me. It's a fantastic value, and you get a sweet 1x12 combo with 4 core tones at your disposal between the classic and ultra gain channels plus two modes for each channel. The classic channel takes overdrive and distortion pedals like a champ, and the ultra gain channel goes from high to much higher gain. I've read a lot about mods and speaker upgrades that people do on these amps, but I honestly find the stock sounds to be very usable. It would be a lot cooler if they had made the crunch mode on the classic channel foot-switchable, but for the money you really can't complain.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    True Marshall sound .... LOUD :)
    By: AshbyLee C. "Higgy" Higdon,chris@higgycomm.com      Submitted: 3/10/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I may own others but I play Marshall.Perfect for bedroom to jam to gig.A bit heavey for me (age 65) but toteable, recommend side handlesHigg
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Nice amp,
    By: scott,greatscentsco@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/8/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Solid amp. The digital reverb not so great. Your gonna need a pedal.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Sweet tone
    By: Dave      Submitted: 2/8/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great sound and eq shaping, wish the reverb was better and the pedal had more controls for the amp's different switches on the panel, speaker is ok but could be better
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    This amp is a keeper!!
    By: Schecterlegger      Submitted: 2/2/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Changed the 70/80 speaker as soon as I opened the box. Haven't done any mods yet but it handles all my pedals nicely(8-10). Feels solid and well put together. It has a nice tone on any setting I have played with yet at any volume, and it roars. I plan on using a 2X12 cab with it and can't wait to hear it then. Love it, love everything about it.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    By:       Submitted:

    Was this review helpful?
    Perfect for beginners and professionals. Everyone loves this amp.
    By: Fil      Submitted: 12/1/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Very solid and reliable.
    1 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow the perfect Marshall Combo for gigging and home tonal bliss
    By: TranqB      Submitted: 11/17/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Awesome... Perfect size and the lowest wattage that retains the True Marshall EL 34 tube rock monster Give the speaker time to break in.....Rule 1... New speakers are not flexible yet and therefore resonate more in the higher frequency range. This is a keeper!
    7 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I LOVE IT!!!!
    By: Dustin Henson      Submitted: 11/13/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I just am so happy with this brand new Marshall AMP. It's perfect!! IT was bigger than expected and just cranks!! It's fresh off the line and it just ROCKS!!! I can't stop playing. Thank you Marshall and American Musical. The Item arrived fast, and packaged very well!!!
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Excellent!!
    By: Robert      Submitted: 11/11/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It is so crisp and clean it is a joy to play
    1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    A little dissappointed
    By: Brooks Cardwell      Submitted: 11/9/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Weak reverb.
    4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Hissing crackling noise
    By: Kam      Submitted: 9/6/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Crackling hissing sound after 6 months of using it on weekends in a bedroom. Unacceptable. Marshall is lost it.
    5 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    awsome
    By: mark      Submitted: 7/29/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? So much fun. Thanks ams for making it happen worth every cent!
    2 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Absolutely Marshall Madness
    By: Charles      Submitted: 7/15/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? perfect, needs a speaker change but great!
    3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love this amp
    By: Jack      Submitted: 6/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? well I was going to get the DSL 100. This DSL 40c is plenty it amasing. I mean everything about it. the power.The sound that comes out of it is unreal.
    3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Marshall......Worth much more
    By: K.B      Submitted: 4/23/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have owned this amp for 2 years. I gig with it on a regular basis playing all size rooms. I mic it up through the P.A. Most of the time I use the 20 watt output feature. This allows me to run it a little harder making it really scream! It has been my rock solid go to amp. I have owned Marshall amps for 30 years and I can honestly say that I love it. Soon after I got the amp I swapped out the speaker with a Celestion Creamback. Then I immediately replaced all the tubes with Tung Sol. It totally smoothed out the "fuzzy" edge, added more feel, and low end making this thing sound and respond like one of those rich guy boutique amps. I also added some color LED's on the footswitch so I can read it on a dark stage. My only complaint is the weak digital reverb. Considering my investment I'd say that I have the sound and performance an ideal Marshall live gigging amp.
    14 of 14 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love it !
    By: Mike B      Submitted: 4/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? My first Marshall and it doesn't disappoint !!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Quality Marshall tube tone!!
    By: Darrell      Submitted: 3/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This amp exceeded my expectations. In an era of high price and mediocre quality, this amp is the exception to the rule. Sweet Marshall tone and quality built. The foot switch was better than expected. I purchased another name brand amp and the foot switch was light plastic. This is not the case here. The switch is quite heavy in comparison and is very well made. Two styles of reverb is very nice and overall, Marshall gives you the tools necessary to craft the tone to your liking. I would highly recommend this amp.
    4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    i dont know it does not work
    By: james shipley      Submitted: 2/24/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? it dosent work
    1 of 17 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money .Always wanted a marshall
    By: Bob      Submitted: 1/8/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Fantastic sound great looking well worth the money .If i ever need another amp this will be the one.
    4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money grate sound .
    By: George Baker      Submitted: 1/7/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's a Marshall Sounds fantastic.
    3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Marshall tone!!!
    By: David L. Brown      Submitted: 11/15/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Don't want to repeat what has been already said, I agree with 98% of the Marshall dsl40c reviews. All I can say is that I'm glad I finally got mine! Happy as f#%&!!!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....