Item Reviews for: Phil Jones Bass Suitcase Compact BG-400 Bass Combo Amplifier  -  PJB BG400 LIST

Small footprint Big sound ??
By: The Fog      Submitted: 7/24/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review When I first saw this amp I thought it couldn’t be to powerful. Now that I own one I am convinced. Awesome amp??
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This powerhouse amp has altered my reality!
By: Chris C.      Submitted: 3/6/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I received my Phil Jones BG-400 about 1 week ago and have played (2) basses through it. This little amp handles my Schechter Stiletto Studio 5 with absolutely zero effort, big fat B's, high-fi mids & sparkling highs with no clipping or distortion. The active electronics in this bass are so consistent and balanced and the BG-400 really showed up and cranked out those groves. My Michael Kelley fretless dragonfly w/ D'Addario chrome flatwounds sounds as smooth and buttery as you would expect however Low B string really seems to drop off. I have not noticed this drop off when playing through my usual SansAmp to board or conventional stack. I'm really wondering if an extension cabinet would fix this. I chose the BG-400 as a practice amp that I could drag out to jam sessions and small gigs without having to rent a moving truck to move my mismatched Hartke/Crate/Altek "stack". As is the BG-400 has exceeded my expectations! Already saving my $ to buy the extension cab and sell my stack.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Rich, warm & smooth
By: Russell B.      Submitted: 1/9/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I played this amp for my last gig of 2018 and my first gig of 2019. What an outstanding sound. So rich, warm & smooth and a thumper too. I have played all four of my basses through the PJB BG-400. (An pold German stand-up, a uke bass, and two electrics a fretted and fretless.) They all sound amazing. It is small and compact but plenty of gain and power to fill the room. Easy and logical to set up. My new fav amp.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
So far, I’m floored!
By: Mike C      Submitted: 11/15/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I’m a long time weekend warrior (30+ years) and consider myself a fickle player bouncing from bass to bass and amps/cabs to amp/cabs. Started with Peavey back in the 80s, had Ampeg, Hartke, Markbass, GK and back to Ampeg, with a few others along the way (Bugera, TC, Ashdown...you get it) each time I get new gear I think “This is it baby, my sound!” Then eventually get bored and try new stuff. From what I’ve read, this isn’t uncommon with all of us. Enter AMS and the 12 month thing! Crud. I’m in trouble. Anyhow, I got myself (out of curiosity and reviews) the PJB 4x5 cab which blew me away using my GK MB Fusion 500. Added a GK 112 and I was absolutely amazed with the clarity and depth coming from this cute little box, so I bit the bullet and picked up this combo. Immediately out of the box, paired it with the 4x5 cab and loved everything about it. It’s sturdy, packs a punch, dual channels will be perfect for upright and electric switching ease, I just can’t wait to field test these.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money
By: Penny Duval      Submitted: 11/6/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review It plays loud better then my other amp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
This is a great amp!
By: Reiney      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Playing in bands for 25+ years. Currently in a trio playing covers and doubling on upright and electric. I was gigging with two PJB Briefcases daisy-chained together; but changing EQs and cords a couple of times each set was getting to be a drag. This amp solved all my problems; I'm carrying one less amp, there is EQ with plenty of travel, gain, and a mute switch on each channel, and I don't have to swap cords. Actually, this may be the only 2-channel bass amp on the market that is a true dual-channel amp. It sounds great on both electric (80's P-bass) and upright (60s Kay w/ Underwood pickup). The input impedance does not seem to be as high as the Briefcase; I had to go back to using a preamp on the upright. I made a "Y" 1/4" speaker cable and actually tried it with the two Briefcases set up as a 4x5 bottom cabinet. This was fantastic! I'm getting the extension cab as soon as I pay off the Suitcase. :-)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Compact and Powerful
By: Doc Robinson      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I've played through an Ampeg combo and a Veryon Bugera head with an Eden 4 x 10 cabinet and still not gotten the punch and power I've received from the BG-400. Easy to carry, quick to setup and ready to deliver the low end, mids and highs with awesome clarity.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
You can t beat the Phil Jones for bass amps. Phil knows how to design and build bass amps.
By: Oakman      Submitted: 4/29/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Play through one today. It will blow your socks and shoes off. enjoy .
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
All I can say is wow!
By: Dean Wise      Submitted: 6/26/2016
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Tight, punchy sound and last night it covered an entire banquet hall and didn't need the pa. If I would have known that this thing was this good, I would have purchased it years ago. I'm selling my old stack completely, why do I need it?
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best sound ever!!
By: Smitty      Submitted: 12/2/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is the sound. Sounds like your listening to your bass try a studio monitor. It is tight and focused. Easy amp to carry around and very loud. I plan to get the 8x5 extension cab so I will be covered for any situation. I've owned everything from fender bassmans to euphoric audio and this has the hi fi euphoric audio sound but still has a warmth to it. The small speakers are way better than large ones. Reminds me of the tight focused sound my SWR Silverado cab with 4x8 configuration but way smaller.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Good sounding combo!
By: John Reid      Submitted: 3/9/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I'm a Phil Jones fan so I'm already a bit biased, but I like this amp. It's a bit on the heavy side because it doesn't contain his Neo-power drivers. Instead it uses his regular drivers which I think sound better anyway so the extra weight is not a problem. It has plenty of features and plenty of power. I'm using it mostly for jazz gigs and it has no problem holding it's own, even on louder gigs. The sound is great and the quality is top notch.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback