Item Reviews for: PreSonus Studio Channel Vacuum Tube Channel Strip Mic Preamp  -  PRS STUDIOCHANNEL LIST

NIce Tube Preamp for the Price, but Better when Upgraded
By: Chuck Cohen      Submitted: 6/25/2019

Product Rating




Product Rating Product Review As a sax player, I was looking for a decent tube preamp for a low cost. It has a noticeable difference in presence and smoothness as compared to PreSonus' stock XMAX preamps in their interfaces. The compressor stage is very flexible and does good job contouring the sound. However, the unit "really" shines and the sound quality increases if you replace the "stock" tube with a better quality 12AX7 tube like a Tung-Sol 12AX7 ECC803S or a Genalex Gold Lion.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
The right buy for the right mix!
By: Rico G.,rico7037@gmail.com      Submitted: 5/29/2019

Product Rating




Product Review I needed a Mic Preamp that provided the quality and ability to handle my setup and boy did this Preamp do the job! My mixes have been upgraded and the perfomance I needed from a preamp has been taken to another level! This is a great buy for those who need the right preamp and an unbeatable price!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth the money!
By: Ronnie Lee      Submitted: 4/28/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I had done quite a bit of research prior to purchase.. although there are many other preamps on the market I felt that I could get a professional sound and not have to spend close to $1k.. It absolutely delivers on that and in my studio has proven to be extremely versatile.. I’ve used for bass, vox, guitar and keyboard.. I’ve been successful in getting professional level tone with just the Presonus Preamp and stock plug-ins! I would highly recommend this for every home studio who wants to add a quality preamp! Best value for the money and then some.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Amazing for the price
By: Daniel Bautista      Submitted: 2/22/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review My Rode NT1 is breathing new life because of this preamp. At this price point it is amazing the flexibility and the quality that comes out of this unit. If you want to take your budget mic to the next level, this preamp won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
A very nice pick up for my home studio
By: JT      Submitted: 1/27/2019
verified
Product Rating




Product Review As soon as I connected it, I could feel the warmth generated in my sound. Decent price, seamless transaction, I'm VERY satisfied with my product. Doing my voice over work, I don't have to do a lot to my tracks after recording them!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Perfect!
By: Jeff dell      Submitted: 12/27/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Does its job and AMS is awesome with the best customer service, payment plans, gear and more...Been dealing with you guys for years and just want to say thanks out doing your competitors.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Studio quality with good bang-for-the-buck
By: Kevin Village-Stone      Submitted: 12/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review We own a studio writing/recording for major film, games, and TV. We researched the reviews on this product before purchasing and since purchasing it, we are happy with our choice. We recently started producing a new show where we have multiple simultaneous interacting voices. We had to add in one more mic and it's associated gear for the show. We needed to match the "hard-to-reproduce" tube tonal quality and compression signature of a vintage Presonus mic preamp from the 90's so the voices sounded consistent. This vintage unit has warmth and clarity hard to find today except in tube vocal processors over $4k. This unit actually exceeds our expectations. Warm consistent sound with good control. After installation we went to immediate recording time and matched the sound of the vintage unit in seconds. Wish it had a desser but that can be applied in pre via DAW. Sound is clean and consistent. Worth three times what we paid for it versus the benefit we have from it in the studio.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Fantastic product
By: Matt      Submitted: 9/26/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Won’t break the bank and definitely warms up vocals, only con is the power switch but hey for the price you can’t complain.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Better than expected
By: Melvis      Submitted: 9/7/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I used to think adding an external preamp was not necessary with the current preamps in audio interfaces. Boy was I wrong. This thing makes my vocals, guitar, and bass great!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love my PreSonus Studio Channel Vacuum Tube Channel Strip Mic Preamp
By: Heath Martin      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review This is my first Preamp and am very impressed! PreSonus knocks this one out of the park with ease of use and true tube sound, what a great addition to my studio and a great price as always from American Musical Supply.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
I love this product
By: Alian      Submitted: 9/5/2018
verified
Product Rating




Product Review The best option for low prices.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great sound
By: Tito Munoz      Submitted: 12/17/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review I am very impressed with the sound quality that is coming out of this thing , I most definitely buy another one , that’s how good is , and I do own high end Universal Audio equipment , but this one has its own character. Very happy
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Well worth my money
By: Brian K. White      Submitted: 9/28/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Definitely made my vocals sound better
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Another winner from Presonus
By: Scott      Submitted: 6/12/2017
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Presonus makes great stuff and this is another winner. Sounds as good as compressors costing upward of 1k. Impressed. I will probably change out the tube but in the near future but I like it a lot.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Excellent as expected
By: AggressiveAudio      Submitted: 4/21/2015
verified
Product Rating




Product Review Great channel strip! captured some bass lines through it already and vocals are next...the recommended settings for each application are really good...but you can definitely spend time tweaking and experimenting... My only criticism is that it takes a pretty hot signal to make the meter work...but all you have to do is listen
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Best Bang For Your Buck!!
By: Tha Kidd from Waco, Tx, United States      Submitted: 12/7/2012

Product Rating














Yes made very well and durable no problems with mine. I like how it have an on board EQ and Compressor along with the tube. That made 3 things in my rack 1! Very Easy to use almost plug and play easy to set to your recording needs. Very nice and warm sound best deal I have come across. Have not had it that long but I know somene that has and that is one of the reasons I Purchased it/ Your general opinion of this product. Best Bang for your Buck!!
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great Mic Pre
By: Eric West from Italy, Texas      Submitted: 6/30/2012

Product Rating














Ive been Using for a while. Solid construction good Feel!! Kindav hard to set 2 units exactly the same unless they are directly in front of your face. The compressor is great and has good tone through the tube. Pretty straight forward if you have any knowledge of channel strips. I didnt even look at the instructions. It has a good tone for a stock tube. If ur looking for something that gives a good growl at hi drive levels i would change out the tube with something like a GrooveTube but for suttle changes its good as is. No probs at all with either one of my units. Your general opinion of this product. Its a great unit for the price range. I will be getting a few more.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback
Great
By: MACKENSON cELESTIN from MEDFORD, MA 02155, mackens7@gmail.com      Submitted: 1/7/2009

Product Rating












this a good product to have and it's very dependable. I like the tube preamplifer and also the compresssor. I think it would great if they added reverb and delay effecft to it. Very easy to use, I hook it up to controller with no difficulty and everything seem to be very simple It sound good Good Your general opinion of this product. The control bottoms are easy to get to and overall I was very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? Thank you for your feedback